DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is responsive to Amendment filed on 08/07/2025.
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-12, 27-29 and 31-34 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 8 and 27 are independent claims. This Office Action is made Final.
Examiner Notes
The prior art rejections below cite particular paragraphs, columns, and/or line numbers in the references for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11-12, 27-29, 31 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (“Wang”, US PG-Pub. 2019/0230165 A1) in view of Eberlein (US Patent 9652214 B1).
Re-claim 1,
Wang teaches a distributed cross-device collaboration method, wherein the method comprises:
displaying, by a first device, first information in response to receiving a first operation of a user, wherein the first information comprises device information of the first device and application information of a first application, and the application information of the first application is used by a second device to determine that the first application is installed on the second device (Figs. 2, 3, [0001, 0014, 0025]. Wang describes “…techniques for allowing multiple users to collaboratively access a virtual desktop session by using image scanning and by implementing a web server”; “…Once logged in, the owner may provide input indicating that the virtual desktop session should be shared with one or more other users. In response to detecting the input, the virtual desktop client application displays an image, such as a Quick Response (QR) code inside the virtual desktop graphical user interface (GUI). In one embodiment, the QR code is encoded with information (e.g., IP address) identifying a web server that is executing on the computing device of the virtual desktop owner”; “…Scanning the QR code causes a web browser to be launched on the mobile device 204. The web browser on the mobile device 204 connects to the web server operating on the computing device 202 and executes the web application provided by the web server. The web application operating on the mobile device 204 then sends a request to the web server to access the virtual desktop session”. The “web application” 338 is executed on the mobile device 204);
in response to receiving a channel establishment request of the second device, establishing, by the first device, a communication channel for collaborative display with the second device, wherein the device information of the first device is used to perform security verification when the first device establishes the communication channel for collaborative display with the second device (Figs. 2, 3, [0015]. Wang describes “…Once the QR code (or similar encoded image) is displayed on the virtual desktop client, one or more other users (collaborators) may scan the QR code, for example by utilizing a digital camera of a mobile device, such as a smart phone, laptop or tablet computer. When the QR code is scanned, a web browser is launched on the mobile device and establishes a secured HTTP connection with the web server operating on the computing device of the desktop session owner”); and
collaboratively displaying, by the first device, the first application with the second device by using the communication channel for collaborative display (Figs. 2, 3, [0015, 0016]. Wang describes “…The web browser executes a web application provided by the web server, for sharing the virtual desktop session. In one embodiment, the web application running inside the web browser of the mobile device sends a request to access the virtual desktop session of the owner. The request includes information identifying the collaborator requesting access to the session, such as device information and/or user information”; “When the request is received by the computing device of the virtual desktop session owner, the owner may approve the request to confirm that the requesting collaborator is permitted to access the virtual desktop session of the owner …”),
wherein the application information of the first application is used by the second device to determine that the first application of a first version is installed on the second device, and the first application of the first version having a capability of performing collaborative display by using the communication channel for collaborative display (Figs. 2, 3, [0023, 0025]. Wang describes in paragraph [0025] as “…Scanning the QR code causes a web browser to be launched on the mobile device 204. The web browser on the mobile device 204 connects to the web server operating on the computing device 202 and executes the web application provided by the web server. The web application operating on the mobile device 204 then sends a request to the web server to access the virtual desktop session” and in paragraph [0023] as “…The web server is configured to host a web application that can be executed on a collaborator's device to enable collaboration virtual desktop sessions.”. Thus, the “web application” 338 executed on the mobile device 204 having a capability of performing collaborative display by using the communication channel (i.e. connect to virtual desktop for virtual desktop collaboration) for collaborative display).
Wang fails to teach the first application of the first version supports an application router service.
However, Eberlein teaches the first application of the first version supports an application router service (Fig. 1, col. 3 lines [12-29]. Eberlein describes “Various applications may run simultaneously, together or independently, on one or more of the supported runtimes (142-148), to provide a number of application services at application server 130. In the common scenario, a user (105) accesses an application user interface (UI), e.g., in a browser (125) at a client system (120) to request a particular service … application router (e.g., 135) may be a routing service that dispatches client requests directed to an application package to particular application services implementing requested functionality. In one embodiment, different instances of the application router service may be instantiated, e.g., to subordinate in dispatching application requests”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the collaboration communication teachings of modified Wang with the web application supports an application router service teaching of Eberlein to provide the flexibility and efficiency to integrate the new services to deliver additional functionality without requiring to re-configurate the execution environment.
Re-claim 2,
in addition to what Wang-Eberlein teaches the method in claim 1, Wang also teaches the method, wherein the first operation comprises an operation of triggering, by the user, display of a collaboration code, and the first device displays the first information in a form of the collaboration code (Figs. 2, 3, [0014]. Wang describes “…Once logged in, the owner may provide input indicating that the virtual desktop session should be shared with one or more other users. In response to detecting the input, the virtual desktop client application displays an image, such as a Quick Response (QR) code inside the virtual desktop graphical user interface (GUI). In one embodiment, the QR code is encoded with information (e.g., IP address) identifying a web server that is executing on the computing device of the virtual desktop owner”).
Re-claim 3,
in addition to what Wang-Eberlein teaches the method in claim 2, Wang also teaches the method, wherein the collaboration code comprises at least one of a collaboration QR code or a collaboration barcode (Figs. 2, 3, [0014]. Wang describes “… In response to detecting the input, the virtual desktop client application displays an image, such as a Quick Response (QR) code inside the virtual desktop graphical user interface (GUI). In one embodiment, the QR code is encoded with information (e.g., IP address) identifying a web server that is executing on the computing device of the virtual desktop owner”).
Re-claim 5,
in addition to what Wang-Eberlein teaches the method in claim 1, Wang also teaches the method, wherein the collaboratively displaying, by the first device, the first application with the second device by using the communication channel for collaborative display comprises: synchronously displaying, by the first device, an interface of the first application with the second device by using the communication channel for collaborative display (Figs. 2, 3, [0015, 0016]. Wang describes “…The web browser executes a web application provided by the web server, for sharing the virtual desktop session. In one embodiment, the web application running inside the web browser of the mobile device sends a request to access the virtual desktop session of the owner. The request includes information identifying the collaborator requesting access to the session, such as device information and/or user information”; “When the request is received by the computing device of the virtual desktop session owner, the owner may approve the request to confirm that the requesting collaborator is permitted to access the virtual desktop session of the owner … The virtual desktop GUI continues to be displayed on the owner's computing device, while simultaneously being displayed on the mobile device of the collaborator …”).
Re-claim 6,
in addition to what Wang-Eberlein teaches the method in claim 1, Wang also teaches the method, wherein the collaboratively displaying, by the first device, the first application with the second device by using the communication channel for collaborative display comprises: controlling, by the second device by using the communication channel for collaborative display, the first device to display an application interface of the first application, wherein the first device displays the application interface of the first application, and the second device displays a control interface of the first application (Figs. 2, 3, [0016]. Wang describes “…The virtual desktop GUI continues to be displayed on the owner's computing device, while simultaneously being displayed on the mobile device of the collaborator. In addition, if the owner wishes to grant control to the collaborator's device, any input data, such as mouse, keyboard and touch input events captured on the collaborator's mobile device can be streamed to the virtual desktop client operating on the owner's device. The virtual desktop client can in turn transmit the input data to the virtual desktop on the remote server, to be provided to the guest operating system of the virtual desktop. Any graphical user interface updates caused by the input are transmitted from the virtual desktop on the server to the virtual desktop client operating on the owner's device and then forwarded to the mobile device's web browser in order to continue the collaboration session”).
Re-claim 8,
it is a method claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 1 for the second device side to communicate to the first device mentioned in claim 1 teaching by Wang in view of Eberlein; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 9,
in addition to what Wang-Eberlein teaches the method in claim 8, Wang also teaches the method, wherein the obtaining, by a second device, first information comprises: obtaining, by the second device, the first information by scanning a collaboration code displayed on the first device, wherein the collaboration code comprises the first information; or receiving, by the second device, the first information from the first device (Figs. 2, 3, [0025]. Wang describes “…Scanning the QR code causes a web browser to be launched on the mobile device 204. The web browser on the mobile device 204 connects to the web server operating on the computing device 202 and executes the web application provided by the web server. The web application operating on the mobile device 204 then sends a request to the web server to access the virtual desktop session”. The “web application” 338 is executed on the mobile device 204).
Re-claim 11,
in addition to what Wang-Eberlein teaches the method in claim 8, claim 11 is a method claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 5; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 12,
in addition to what Wang-Eberlein teaches the method in claim 8, claim 12 is a method claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 6; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 27,
Wang teaches a first device, wherein the first device comprises:
at least one processor; one or more memories (Fig. 6, [0047]. Wang describes the processor 602 and memory 601) coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations similar in scope of claim 1 teaching by Wang in view of Eberlein; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 28,
in addition to what Wang-Eberlein teaches the method in claim 27, claim 28 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 2; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 29,
in addition to what Wang-Eberlein teaches the method in claim 28, claim 29 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 3; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 31,
in addition to what Wang-Eberlein teaches the method in claim 27, claim 31 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 5; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 33,
in addition to what Wang-Eberlein teaches the method in claim 27, claim 33 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 1; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 34,
in addition to what Wang-Eberlein teaches the method in claim 27, claim 34 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 6; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 7 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Eberlein, and further in view of Joo et al. (“Joo”, EP 2821911 A1).
Re-claim 7,
Wang-Eberlein teaches in the method of claim 1, but Wang fails to teach a method, wherein the first operation comprises any one of the following:
an operation of tapping, by the user, a virtual button that is on an interface of the first application and that is used to display a collaboration code;
a preset pressing operation performed by the user on a physical button of the first device when the first device displays the interface of the first application;
a preset gesture operation performed by the user on a touchscreen of the first device when the first device displays the interface of the first application;
an operation of holding, by the user, the second device to tap the first device when the first device displays the interface of the first application;
an operation of holding, by the user, the second device to approach the first device when the first device displays the interface of the first application; and
an operation of shaking, by the user, the first device and the second device at the same time when the first device displays the interface of the first application.
However, Joo teaches:
wherein the first operation comprises any one of the following:
an operation of tapping, by the user, a virtual button that is on an interface of the first application and that is used to display a collaboration code;
a preset pressing operation performed by the user on a physical button of the first device when the first device displays the interface of the first application;
a preset gesture operation performed by the user on a touchscreen of the first device when the first device displays the interface of the first application;
an operation of holding, by the user, the second device to tap the first device when the first device displays the interface of the first application;
an operation of holding, by the user, the second device to approach the first device when the first device displays the interface of the first application (Figs. 4, 11, [0193, 0194]. Joo describes the external device B 200 approaching to portable device A to display a directional layer); and
an operation of shaking, by the user, the first device and the second device at the same time when the first device displays the interface of the first application.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the collaboration communication teachings of modified Wang with the approach to connect devices teaching of Joo to execute a connection event conveniently for user operation.
Re-claim 32,
in addition to what Wang-Eberlein teaches in claim 27, claim 32 is a device claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 7; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument filed on 08/07/2025 with respect to claims 1, 8 and 27 have been considered but is moot to new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUAN S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179