DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 22, 24, 25, 29-33, 35, 39, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MARGADOUDAKIS (US 2016/0037345).
Regarding claim 21, Margadoudakis discloses a method, applied to a system comprising a first device (Fig. 1, wearable device 100) and a second device (Fig. 1, host device 102), the first device being connected to the second device (Fig. 4, step 402; p. [0087]), and the method comprising:
receiving, by the second device, first information (p. [0095], [0088]; the host device (i.e., second device) can detect an event that triggers a user alert such as an incoming call or text message (i.e., first information)), and sending the first information to the first device (Fig. 4, step 406; the host device (i.e., second device) sends a notification/alert indicating an incoming call, text message, or email (i.e., first information), the notification includes a prompt), wherein the first information indicates to perform a target operation (p. [0088]-[0089]; the screen prompt the user to response to the call (i.e., target operation));
outputting, by the first device, the first information after receiving the first information (p. [0088]-[0089]; at block 406, the wearable device (i.e., first device) can present an alert and a prompt, the prompt can include a visual prompt on display (i.e., output));
receiving, by the first device, a first operation (Fig. 4, step 408; p. [0092]; the wearable device can receive a user input (i.e., first operation) in response to the prompt);
sending, by the first device, a first notification to the second device in response to receiving the first operation (Fig. 4, step 410; p. [0092]; the wearable device can transmit a response (i.e., first notification) to the host (i.e., second device) based on the received user input); and
performing, by the second device, the target operation after receiving the first notification (p. [0098]; the host device processes the received response (i.e., first notification), for example, in response to answer button being selected, the host device can answer the call (i.e., target operation)).
Regarding claim 22, Margadoudakis discloses the method of claim 21, further comprising:
after receiving the first information, identifying, by the second device, that the first information indicates to perform the target operation (p. [0095],[0088]; the host device (i.e., second device) can detect an event that triggers a user alert such as an incoming call or text message (i.e., first information)); and
before receiving, by the first device, the first operation, sending, by the second device, a second notification to the first device (Fig. 4, steps 406, 408; [0088], [0092]; the wearable device (i.e., first device) receives a notification/alert (i.e., second notification) regarding an incoming phone call, text message, or email prior to receiving user input (i.e., first operation) at step 408); and
wherein sending, by the first device, a first notification to the second device in response to receiving the first operation comprises:
sending, by the first device, the first notification to the second device in response to receiving the first operation after receiving the second notification (Fig. 4, steps 404, 408, 410; p. [0092]; in response to the user input (i.e., first operation), the wearable device transmits a response message (i.e., first notification) to the host device).
Regarding claim 24, Margadoudakis discloses the method of claim 21, wherein before receiving, by the first device, the first operation, the method further comprises:
after receiving the first information, identifying, by the first device, that the first information indicates to perform the target operation, wherein the first notification comprises indication information of the target operation (p. [0089]; the event notification/alert (i.e., first information) received from the host device, includes a prompt for selection to answer the call (i.e., target operation)).
Regarding claim 25, Margadoudakis discloses the method of claim 22, wherein the second notification indicates to the first device to enable a function of receiving the first operation (Fig. 4, steps 406, 408; [0088], [0089]; the wearable device (i.e., first device) receives a notification/alert (i.e., second notification) regarding an incoming phone call, text message, or email prior including a prompt which can include a visual prompt that enables receiving user input (i.e., first operation) at step 408).
Regarding claim 29, Margadoudakis discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the first device is a wearable electronic device (Fig. 1, wearable device 100) and the second device is a mobile terminal device (Fig. 1, host device 102).
Regarding claim 30, Margadoudakis discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the target operation comprises at least one of the following operations: starting a first application, displaying a first interface, or enabling or disabling a first function (p. [0098]; the host device processes the received response (i.e., first notification), for example, in response to answer button being selected, the host device can answer the call (i.e., enabling a function/call)).
Regarding claim 31, Margadoudakis discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the first information is instant messaging information or a short message service (SMS) message (p. [0095]; the host device (i.e., second device) can detect an event that triggers a user alert such as an incoming call or text message (i.e., SMS)).
Regarding claim 32, Margadoudakis discloses a system comprising:
a first device (Fig. 1, wearable device 100) and
a second device (Fig. 1, host device 102) connected to the first device (Fig. 4, step 402; p. [0087]), wherein the second device is configured to:
receive first information (p. [0095], [0088]; the host device (i.e., second device) can detect an event that triggers a user alert such as an incoming call or text message (i.e., first information)), and
send the first information to the first device (Fig. 4, step 406; the host device (i.e., second device) sends a notification/alert indicating an incoming call, text message, or email (i.e., first information), the notification includes a prompt), wherein the first information indicates to perform a target operation (p. [0088]-[0089]; the screen prompt the user to response to the call (i.e., target operation));
wherein the first device is configured to:
output the first information after receiving the first information (p. [0088]-[0089]; at block 406, the wearable device (i.e., first device) can present an alert and a prompt, the prompt can include a visual prompt on display (i.e., output));
receive a first operation (Fig. 4, step 408; p. [0092]; the wearable device can receive a user input (i.e., first operation) in response to the prompt);
send a first notification to the second device in response to receiving the first operation (Fig. 4, step 410; p. [0092]; the wearable device can transmit a response (i.e., first notification) to the host (i.e., second device) based on the received user input); and
wherein the second device is configured to perform the target operation after receiving the first notification (p. [0098]; the host device processes the received response (i.e., first notification), for example, in response to answer button being selected, the host device can answer the call (i.e., target operation)).
Regarding claim 33, Margadoudakis discloses the system of claim 32, wherein the second device is further configured to:
after receiving the first information, identify that the first information indicates to perform the target operation (p. [0095],[0088]; the host device (i.e., second device) can detect an event that triggers a user alert such as an incoming call or text message (i.e., first information)); and
before the first device receives the first operation, send a second notification to the first device (Fig. 4, steps 406, 408; [0088], [0092]; the wearable device (i.e., first device) receives a notification/alert regarding an incoming phone call, text message, or email prior to receiving user input (i.e., first operation) at step 408); and
wherein the first device is configured to:
when the first device sends the first notification to the second device in response to the first operation, send the first notification to the second device in response to receiving the first operation after receiving the second notification (Fig. 4, steps 404, 408, 410; p. [0092]; in response to the user input (i.e., first operation), the wearable device transmits a response message (i.e., first notification) to the host device).
Regarding claim 35, Margadoudakis discloses the system of claim 32, wherein the first device is further configured to: before the first device receives the first operation, and after the first device receives the first information, identify that the first information indicates to perform the target operation, wherein the first notification comprises indication information of the target operation (p. [0089]; the event notification/alert (i.e., first information) received from the host device, includes a prompt for selection to answer the call (i.e., target operation)).
Regarding claim 39, Margadoudakis discloses the system of claim 32, wherein the first device is a wearable electronic device (Fig. 1, wearable device 100) and the second device is a mobile terminal device (Fig. 1, host device 102).
Regarding claim 40, Margadoudakis discloses the system of claim 32, wherein the first information is instant messaging information or a short message service (SMS) message (p. [0095]; the host device (i.e., second device) can detect an event that triggers a user alert such as an incoming call or text message (i.e., SMS)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23, 26-28, 34, 36, 37, and 38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(a)Heo et al. (US 2015/0065052) – Executing applications in conjunction with other devices.
(b)Lee et al. (US 2015/0061862) – Method of providing notification and electronic device thereof.
Conclusion
/MARISOL FIGUEROA/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2643