This Office Action is in reply to Applicants’ correspondence of 09/28/2026.
Applicants’ remarks and amendments have been fully and carefully considered but are not found to be sufficient to put the application in condition for allowance. Any new grounds of rejection presented in this Office Action are necessitated by Applicants’ amendments. Any rejections or objections not reiterated herein have been withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims or as discussed in this Office Action.
This Action is made FINAL.
Please Note: The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Election/Restrictions
In the reply filed on 1/20/2026 Applicants elected without traverse the invention of Group 2 (methods of treating including genotype consideration), and the particular gene that is AOX1.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 -Indefiniteness
The rejections of claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as set forth on pages 2-3 of the Office Action of 04/01/2026, are withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims.
Maintained Claim Rejection - Improper Markush Grouping
Modified / Newly applied as Necessitated by Claim Amendments
Claims 8, 9 and 11-14 are rejected on the basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hozumi, 3 USPQ2d 1059, 1060 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1984). A Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives defined by the Markush group (i.e., alternatives from which a selection is to be made in the context of a combination or process, or alternative chemical compounds as a whole) share a “single structural similarity” and a common use.
A Markush grouping meets these requirements in two situations. First, a Markush grouping is proper if the alternatives are all members of the same recognized physical or chemical class or the same art-recognized class, and are disclosed in the specification or known in the art to be functionally equivalent and have a common use. Second, where a Markush grouping describes alternative chemical compounds, whether by words or chemical formulas, and the alternatives do not belong to a recognized class as set forth above, the members of the Markush grouping may be considered to share a “single structural similarity” and common use where the alternatives share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. See MPEP § 2117.
The Markush grouping of the claims, which recites in the alternative a list of independent and distinct genotypes of different single nucleotide polymorphisms in different genes is improper because the alternatives (i.e.: SNPs) defined by the Markush grouping do not share both a single structural similarity and a common use for the following reasons:
In the instant case each different element is considered to be a method comprising analysis of a different gene sequence to determine the presence of a different genotype of polymorphisms. In the instant case Applicants have elected the particular gene that is AOX1, where the claims include “a CC genotype at single nucleotide polymorphism (SNP) rs6729738 in an AOX1 gene”.
The recited alternative elements do not share a single structural similarity, as each method relies on detection of a different polynucleotide sequence (i.e.: a particular locus of a different gene sequence). Each polynucleotide (i.e.: each different gene, and the polymorphic locus of each gene) has a different chemical structure in that it consists of a different nucleotide sequence. Each polynucleotide has a different biological activity in that it has a different specificity of hybridization and encodes a different protein each with different biological activity and a different role in the physiology of a cell. Thus, the different elements (e.g.: each different recited genotype) do not share a single structural similarity or biological activity. The only structural similarity present is that all of the genotype loci are composed of nucleic acids. The fact that the genotypes are composed of nucleic acids does not per se support a conclusion that they have a common single structural similarity because the structure of comprising a nucleic acid alone is not essential to the asserted common activity of being related to response to treatment of epilepsy with CBD, as asserted by the instant application. Accordingly, while the different elements are asserted to have the property of having alleles associated with response to treatment of epilepsy with CBD, they do not share a single structural similarity essential to this activity. Here it is clear that any asserted common use does not flow from any broadly ascribed common structure (see MPEP 2117). The asserted common use of being a biomarker for response to treatment of epilepsy with CBD is particular to each different biomarker (i.e.: each particular gene and its specific allele at a particular locus) based on the specific content of the biomarker and not based on some particular common structural feature shared among the different biomarkers.
Note that when the Markush grouping is for alternatives of chemical compounds, the alternatives are regarded as being of a similar nature where the following criteria are fulfilled:
(A) all alternatives have a common property or activity; AND
(B)(1) a common structure is present, that is, a significant structural element is shared by all of the alternatives; OR
(B)(2) in cases where the common structure cannot be the unifying criteria, all alternatives belong to a recognized class of chemical compounds in the art to which the invention pertains.
The phrase “significant structural element is shared by all of the alternatives” refers to cases where the compounds share a common chemical structure which occupies a large portion of their structures, or in case the compounds have in common only a small portion of their structures, the commonly shared structure constitutes a structurally distinctive portion in view of existing prior art, and the common structure is essential to the common property or activity.
The phrase “recognized class of chemical compounds” means that there is an expectation from the knowledge in the art that members of the class will behave in the same way in the context of the claimed invention, i.e. each member could be substituted one for the other, with the expectation that the same intended result would be achieved.
In the present situation, there is no evidence of record to establish that it is clear from their very nature that the different genotypes of the particular genes recited in the claims are associated with response to treatment of epilepsy with CBD. Additionally, the different biomarkers themselves behave differently, with each having different levels of association (i.e.: different odd ratios; different p-values) with response to treatment of epilepsy with CBD.
Following this analysis, the claims are rejected as containing an improper Markush grouping.
Response to Remarks
Applicants have traversed the rejection of claims as encompassing a improper Markush style group of alternative elements. Applicants’ arguments (p. 4 of the Remarks of 09/28/2026) have been considered but are not persuasive to withdraw the rejection. Applicants have asserted that “the genes recited in amended claim 8 share the structural feature of containing specific genotypes at SNPs of genes”. This argument is not persuasive because the different genotypes themselves each contain a unique genomic sequence; i.e.: each locus is distinguishable from each other locus on the basis of its own sequence required for its detection and analysis. Applicants further argue that “these genotypes are associated with improving the anti-seizure effect of CBD.” In this regard the Examiner maintains that while the application may assert this common use of the different SNPs, and the different genotypes comprising them, there is no evidence of record to establish that it is clear from their very nature that the different genotypes of the particular genes recited in the claims are associated with response to treatment of epilepsy with CBD, and there is no common structural element shared among the different genotypes that is mainly responsible for the asserted association with response to treatment of epilepsy with CBD.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 – Written Description
The rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as set forth on pages 6-8 of the Office Action of 04/01/2026 is withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Modified and Newly Applied as Necessitated by Claim Amendments
Claim(s) 8-14 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Szarflarski et al (2018) (cited on the IDS of 03/25/2024).
In the rejection of claims as anticipated by the prior art, the practical requirements of the claimed methods are noted. The claims are directed to treating epilepsy in a patient comprising administering CBD to the patient. The claims further set forth that the patient “a CC genotype at single nucleotide polymorphism (SNP) rs6729738 in an AOX1 gene” (as recited in claims 8, 9 and 10, as consonant with the election). The claims do not set forth as any practical step of analysis (i.e.: the claims do not require detecting genotype content in a sample from the patient, or comparing a gene sequence from the patient to a reference/control sequence).
With regard to claims 8-14, Szarflarski et al teaches the details of a study including treatment of 607 human patients in which cannabidiol (CBD) was administered for the treatment of treatment‐resistant epilepsies (TREs) (e.g.: Table 1; p.1541- Methods). Where Szarflarski et al teaches the administration of CBD to 607 human subjects, such a treatment population includes subjects with the required CC genotype at rs6729738.
With regard to the limitations of rejected claims 11-14, Szarflarski et al teaches (e.g.: p.1541 – 2.2 Procedures that “patients received a plant‐derived, pharmaceutical formulation of purified CBD (100 mg/mL) in oral solution (Epidiolex; GW Research Ltd) at a gradually increasing dose starting at 2‐10 mg/kg/d until tolerability limit or a maximum dose of 25‐50 mg/kg/d”. The pharmaceutical product Epidiolex meets the limitations of claim 11-13, and the dosage range meets the limitations of claim 14.
Response to Remarks
Applicants have traversed the rejection of claims under 35 USC 102 as anticipated by Szarflarski et al (2018), as maintained above. Applicants’ arguments (p.5 of the Remarks of 09/28/2026) have been fully considered but are not persuasive to withdraw the rejection. Applicants have argued that:
Amended claim 8 requires that the patient has particular genotypes at SNPs in various genes that Applicant has determined to lead to an improved anti-seizure effect after administration of cannabidiol. Szaflarski et al. does not expressly or inherently disclose these particular genotypes.
In maintaining the rejection the examiner notes that MPEP 706 addresses the process of making a rejection of claims, and provides:
The standard to be applied in all cases is the “preponderance of the evidence” test. In other words, an examiner should reject a claim if, in view of the prior art and evidence of record, it is more likely than not that the claim is unpatentable.
In the instant case, where the prior art teaches the treatment of 607 human patients, and given the allele frequency of the C and T alleles of rs6729738 (as provided in submitted SNP(ss) Details: ss1301205829 (2014) cited in the previous Office Action), it is reasonable to conclude that a least some of the subjects of the cited prior art possess the required CC genotype at rs6729738. Such a conclusion is further supported by the teachings of the instant application (e.g.: specification at page 22) which provide that in a population of 112 subjects, 30 subjects (approx. 27%) had a CC genotype at rs6729738.
Additionally, where the cited prior art teaches treating subject with Epidiolex (GW Research Ltd) at a gradually increasing dose starting at 2‐10 mg/kg/d until tolerability limit or a maximum dose of 25‐50 mg/kg/d, the conclusion that Epidiolex meets the limitations of the claims is supported by the related art of Hilderbarnd et al (2018) (i.e.: “GW Pharmaceuticals has received a number of patents that apply to the Epidiolex® which has a purity of at least 98% (w/w) CBD and THC is less than 0.15% (w/w) at a dose of 10 mg/kg/day”) and Citti et al (2019) (i.e.: “In 2018 CBD was approved by FDA …and it is now commercialized by GW Pharmaceuticals (UK) …with the name of Epidiolex®. ….. In its application patent entitled “Use of cannabinoids in the treatment of epilepsy”, GW Pharmaceuticals lists the impurities in the extracted cannabidiol including cannabidiolic acid (CBDA) 0.15% w/w, cannabidivarin (CBDV, Fig. 1) 1% w/w, Δ9-THC 0.15% w/w and CBD-C4 (Fig. 1) 0.5% w/w.”), and US Patent 9,474,726 (cited on the IDS of 03/25/2024).
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Necessitated by Claim Amendments
Claim(s) 8-14 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) Adult CBD Program18 Clinical Trials NCT02700412 Study Detail Record version 6 (04/24/2020).
The study details for Clinical Trial NCT02700412 teaches the treatment of 80 subjects ( e.g.: p.7 – Enrollment) with Epidiolex (e.g.: p.7 – Arms and Interventions) at starting a dose of 5 mg/kg/day in twice daily dosing and titrated by 5 mg/kg/2 weeks up to 25 mg/kg/day with additional increases in dosing, by 5 mg/kg/day up to a maximum of 50 mg/kg/day.
Claim(s) 8-14 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) Adult CBD Program18 Clinical Trials NCT02695537 Study Detail Record version 5 (12/18/2019).
The study details for Clinical Trial NCT02695537 teaches the treatment of 89 subjects ( e.g.: p.7 – Enrollment) with Epidiolex (e.g.: p.7 – Arms and Interventions) at a dose of 5 mg/kg/day.
In the rejection of claims as anticipated by the cited prior art of Clinical Trials NCT02700412 Study Detail Record version 6 (04/24/2020) and Clinical Trials NCT02695537 Study Detail Record version 5 (12/18/2019), the related art of Davis et al (2021) (NPL citation 157 on the IDS of 03/25/2024) is informative of the genotypes inherent in the treated population of the prior art. Davis et al teaches an analysis including genotyping of the 169 patients in NCT02695537 and NCT02700412 (e.g.: p.1369 – Study population; Genotyping and quality control; p.1370 - Study population), and teaches that the population of subjects includes subjects with the AOX1 rs6729738 CC genotype (e.g.: p.1370 - Genetic predictors of CBD response).
Relevant to rejection of claims 11-14,where the cited prior art teaches treating subjects with Epidiolex, the related prior art is informative of the inherent properties of the pharmaceutical product Epidiolex. Hilderbarnd et al (2018) teaches “GW Pharmaceuticals has received a number of patents that apply to the Epidiolex® which has a purity of at least 98% (w/w) CBD and THC is less than 0.15% (w/w) at a dose of 10 mg/kg/day”. And Citti et al (2019) provides “in 2018 CBD was approved by FDA …and it is now commercialized by GW Pharmaceuticals (UK) …with the name of Epidiolex®. … In its application patent entitled “Use of cannabinoids in the treatment of epilepsy”, GW Pharmaceuticals lists the impurities in the extracted cannabidiol including cannabidiolic acid (CBDA) 0.15% w/w, cannabidivarin (CBDV, Fig. 1) 1% w/w, Δ9-THC 0.15% w/w and CBD-C4 (Fig. 1) 0.5% w/w.”). And US Patent 9,474,726 (cited on the IDS of 03/25/2024) teaches the relevant purity limitations of CBD for treatment of epilepsy.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Necessitated by Claims Amendments
The claims have been rejected above in this Office Action under 35 USC 102 as anticipated in view of the prior art which teaches administering Epidiolex at 5mg/kg/day to about 50mg/kg/day to a population that includes subject with the AOX1 rs6729738 CC genotype. The instant rejection is made to include in the cited prior art an explicit disclosure of CBD drug substance purity specifications (relevant to claims 11-13).
Claim(s) 8-14 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) Adult CBD Program18 Clinical Trials NCT02700412 Study Detail Record version 6 (04/24/2020), University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) Adult CBD Program18 Clinical Trials NCT02695537 Study Detail Record version 5 (12/18/2019) and US Patent 9,474,726 (cited on the IDS of 03/25/2024).
The study details for Clinical Trial NCT02700412 teaches the treatment of 80 subjects ( e.g.: p.7 – Enrollment) with Epidiolex (e.g.: p.7 – Arms and Interventions) at starting a dose of 5 mg/kg/day in twice daily dosing and titrated by 5 mg/kg/2 weeks up to 25 mg/kg/day with additional increases in dosing, by 5 mg/kg/day up to a maximum of 50 mg/kg/day.
The study details for Clinical Trial NCT02695537 teaches the treatment of 89 subjects ( e.g.: p.7 – Enrollment) with Epidiolex (e.g.: p.7 – Arms and Interventions) at a dose of 5 mg/kg/day.
The patient population of NCT02700412 and NCT02695537 includes subjects with the AOX1 rs6729738 CC genotype.
Both NCT02700412 and NCT02695537 teach administration of Epidiolex to subjects. The reference do not explicitly recite aspects of the purity of the drug preparation, as recited in claims 11-13. However, such aspects of CBD in a purified form for the treatment of epilepsy were known in the prior art and art taught by US Patent 9,474,726.
US Patent 9,474,726 teaches that a CBD drug substance may be at least 98% (col 1, lns 19-25) (relevant to claim 11), and may have impurities such as THC, CBDV, CBD-C4 (col. 7 lns. 46-48) (relevant to claim 12), with impurities levels including: CBDA NMT 0.15% w/w; CBDV NMT 1.0% w/w; Δ9 THC NMT 0.15% w/w; CBD-C4 NMT 0.5% (Table 1) (relevant to claim 13). US Patent 9,474,726 teaches that purified CBD may be used at doses greater than 5 mg/kg/day (e.g.: col. 4 lns. 45-48) (relevant to claim 14).
It would have been prima facie obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the relevant art before the effective filing date of the rejected claims to have used the purified CBD of US Patent 9,474,726 with patient populations of the clinical trials of NCT02700412 and NCT02695537. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to use the CBD of US Patent 9,474,726 based on the expressed teachings of US Patent 9,474,726 that purified CBD is for use in the treatment of epilepsy, and the expressed teachings of both NCT02700412 and NCT02695537 that the studies are directed to the analysis of treatment of subjects with epileptic conditions.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Stephen Kapushoc
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1683
/STEPHEN T KAPUSHOC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1683