DETAILED ACTION
ABSTRACT
This application does not contain an abstract of the disclosure as required by 37 CFR 1.72(b). An abstract on a separate sheet is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaiardo et al (US20160016200) (“Gaiardo”) in view of Wettstein et al (US5699724)(“Wettstein”).
Referring to claim 1. Gaiardo discloses a “Pneumatic Product Sorting Apparatus”. See Figs. 1-9 and respective portions of the specification. Gaiardo further discloses a pneumatic device (1) comprising modules, each module having valves (3) and actuated windings (36) for supplying compressed air, wherein one or more of a modules windings may be selectively energized to open the corresponding one or more conveying channels (¶¶0040-0057, 0082-0085) outlet nozzles (8) for discharging one or more air jets coming from the modules according to the number of modules/valves activated (¶¶0082-0085), the nozzles having aligned outlet orifices, all firing nozzles aligned along a common plane (¶0088). Gaiardo further discloses that the apparatus interacts with a channel along which products to be selected travel, generating jets of pressurized fluid directed at the product in the channel to remove undesired elements from the flow (¶¶0002, 0033). Gaiardo further discloses Gaiardo does not disclose that the intensity of the compressed air jet delivered by a module is variable as a function of the specific combination of valves activated. Wettstein discloses a “Cleaning and Sorting Bulk Material”. See Figs. 1-13 and respective portions of the specification. Wettstein further discloses an air blast nozzle (42) is fed through a first valve (410) and a computing unit (404) additionally triggers a second valve (413) connecting the same nozzle to a pressure accumulator (409) when the storing energy available through the first valve alone is not sufficient (See Col. 19 L. 25 – Col. 20 L. 5) and that air blast nozzle (408) fed through a plurality of pressure reducing valves (414-4147), with each of these valves adjusted to a different pressure value, being switchable by the computing unit so that a good adaptation of the energy required for the current needs can be accomplished by opening and closing each valve (See Col. 20 L. 2-10). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gaiardo’s device such that the intensity of the compressed air jet delivered by each module is variable a function of the combination of valves activated, as taught by Wettstein, in order to allow a module/nozzle group to reliably eject objects of differing mass, size and characteristics through a channel without requiring a separately calibrated actuator for each anticipated object type.
Referring to claim 7. Gaiardo in view of Wettstein discloses the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 1. Gaiardo does not disclose a pressure sensor at the inlet of the modules, capable of measuring the pressure losses caused by successive opening of the valves. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Gaiardo’s device to include a pressure sensor at the inlet modules capable of measuring pressure losses from the opening of valves, so that during successive opening of the valves to try to reach intended intensity, you can ensure the supply is at its intended pressure and is not sagging from recent opening giving a weaker pressure than what the control unit believes/intends to separate the objects based on their characteristics.
Referring to claim 11. Gaiardo in view of Wettstein disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 1. Wettstein further discloses a chamber for analyzing the characteristics of the objects to be sorted using a camera (34) determining color, size, and/or shape of each object carried past on rotating drum (33) situated in casing (36), wherein the particles are analyzed while pass through the enclosure. Likewise, Wettstein further discloses at least one sorting pathway towards which the objects are deflected by actuating one or more air jets according to characteristics analyzed, wherein the computing unit actuates nozzles (41, 42) such that a selected particle is thrown into a trough (43) or duct (44) while non-selected particles fall into a separate duct (45) (See at least Col. 9 L. 60 – Col. 10 L. 10). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Wettstein so that articles could be visually analysed and then deflected depending on what target objects are targeted for their characteristics to be deflected/dispersed.
Referring to claims 12-13. Gaiardo in view of Wettstein disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 1. Gaiardo doesn’t disclose a control unit activating all or some of the modules and valves as a function of the characteristics of the objects analyzed in the analysis chamber or activated as function of the pressure available upstream of the valves. Wettstein discloses a computing unit (44) that receives particle characteristic information from the analysis chamber and based on that information controls the relevant valves to actuate the corresponding nozzles. Likewise, it would have been obvious for a control unit to control the modules and the valves as function of the pressure available upstream of the valves to ensure the pressure was available at its intended pressure and is not sagging from recent opening giving a weaker pressure than what the control unit believes/intends to separate the objects based on their characteristics.
Claim(s) 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaiardo et al (US20160016200) (“Gaiardo”) in view of Wettstein et al (US5699724)(“Wettstein”) and in further view of Ito (WO2016088558).
Referring to claim 2. Gaiardo in view of Wettstein disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 1. Gaiardo discloses a pneumatic device with multiple solenoid valves (modules) mounted around a central manifold, directing compressed air to nozzles arranged in a linear, aligned row (See Sects. 0039-0047 & at least Fig. 1). Gaiardo doesn't disclose wherein the modules are arranged in a fan-like pattern relative to the nozzles. Ito discloses an "Ejector For Granular Material Color Sorting Machine". See Figs. 1-9 and respective portions of the specification. Ito further discloses a pneumatic device (1) comprising solenoid valve devices (9), outlet nozzles (10, outlet nozzles), nozzle unit (15), solenoid valve unit (13), manifold unit (14), and nozzle devices (16). Ito further discloses nozzle units detachably connected to solenoid valves with each nozzle aligned to discharge compressed air from the module and aligned nozzle orifices in the ejector units (See at least Figs. 5-7). Ito discloses arranging nozzle units on a manifold in a fan-like pattern to achieve compact spacing and improved access to individual components (See at least Figs. 2, 5-6). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the modules of Gaiardo in a fan-like configuration as taught by Ito in order to achieve a more compact design while maintaining aligned nozzle discharge.
Claim(s) 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaiardo et al (US20160016200) (“Gaiardo”) in view of Wettstein et al (US5699724)(“Wettstein”) and in further view of Wygnanski (US7021603).
Referring to claim 3. Gaiardo in view of Wettstein disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 1. Gaiardo discloses connecting conduits (10) providing fluid communication between the outlet orifices (6) of the valve modules and the firing nozzles (¶¶0034, 0070-0079). Gaiardo doesn’t disclose wherein the modules have a conduit directing the compressed air from the valves towards the nozzles, the valves being on either side of the conduit with respect to the flowing orientation of the compressed air in the conduit. Wygnanski discloses an “Electromagnetic Actuator and Integrated Actuator and Fluid Flow Control Valve”. See Figs. 1-31 and respective portions of the specification. Wygnanski further discloses (See Fig. 8), three valves (A,B,C) each with a differently sized orifice, arranged in parallel between a first chamber (72) and a second chamber (74), such that the combination of valves opened determines the overall flow delivered downstream. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gaiardo’s conduit arrangement to incorporate valves positioned to feed a shared conduit from multiple sides, as taught by Wygnanski’s parallel multi valve chamber arrangement, in order to reduce the overall volume occupied by the valve to nozzle configuration within each module.
Referring to claim 4. Gaiardo in view of Wettstein disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 1.Gaiardo discloses valves connected to respective conduits for directing compressed air toward the nozzles (¶¶0034, 0070-0079). Gaiardo does not disclose wherein the valves are connected by an orifice to the conduit, each valve having a different orifice diameter. Wygnanski discloses three valves each having a different sized orifice arranged in parallel to provide digital control having eight discrete flow rates depending on which of the valves is open (See Fig. 8) and that each chamber includes an orifice and the orifices differ in size (See Summary of Invention). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Wygnanski’s teaching of differently sized valve orifices into Gaiardo’s valve to conduit connections, in order to achieve a combinatorial range of discrete flow rates from a fixed number of valves, because the combination of different sized orifices allows for more variability and control of the strength of jet streams.
Referring to claim 5. Gaiardo in view of Wettstein disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 1. Gaiardo does not disclose wherein the valves are arranged along the conduit according to the diameter of the orifices, the valve with the orifice of smallest diameter being at the distal end of the conduit with respect to the nozzles. Wygnanski teaches that the valve orifice diameter is a result effective variable for controlling delivered flow rate in a shared conduit, multi-valve arrangement (See Summary of Invention & Fig. 8). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate differently sized valve orifices and to arrange the valves along the conduit with the smallest diameter orifice positioned at the distal end relative to the nozzles, because doing so would reduce the disturbance of the smaller orifice flow from the large orifice valves flow, making the combination of flows more standardized so that different combinations of valves could reach intended intensity and velocity.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaiardo et al (US20160016200) (“Gaiardo”) in view of Wettstein et al (US5699724)(“Wettstein”) in view of Ito (WO2016088558) and further in view of Wygnanski (US7021603).
Referring to claim 6. Gaiardo in view of Wettstein disclose the combination as set forth above as applied to claim 1. Gaiardo doesn’t disclose six modules, each module comprising at least four valves, preferably five valves. Gaiardo discloses multiple valves connected via manifolds, capable of supporting several valves per module (¶¶033-0047, 0088). Ito discloses ejector assemblies where each module houses four or five valves and further discloses that the valves are not limited. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Gaiardo’s modules to include six modules of at least four valves each, preferably five, as means of the device comprising several modules and valves, so that enough intensity could be reached so that objects of various size and characteristics could be sorted.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TERRELL H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653