DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to Applicants amendment filed 01/30/2026 which has been entered. No Claims have been amended. No Claims have been cancelled. No Claims have been added. Claims 1-16 are still pending in this application, with Claims 1, 6, 10 and 13-16 being independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 01/30/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of Claims 1-16 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunz et al (2018/0191786 A1) in view of KISS et al (2019/0069338 A1).
As per Claim 1, Kunz teaches a method of processing a registration request from a user terminal of a communication network, referred to as a home network (Abstract; Figure 1 – References 3 and 40; Figure 4: Step 2; Page 2, Paragraph [0033]; Page 5, Paragraph [0067]), the home network being configured to provide multimedia services to the terminal, the terminal being attached to another communication network, referred to as a visited network, interconnected with the home network, wherein the method is implemented at a local facility of the home network (Figure 1 – References 17 and 30; Page 2, Paragraph [0033]; Page 3, Paragraphs [0035], [0041] and [0042]; Page 4, Paragraph [0053]).
Kunz also teaches on reception of a registration request from the terminal of the user, the registration request having been transmitted by the visited network, , and in that the emergency number table being received from the visited network by the home network following reception of the registration request or a previous registration request from a user terminal attached to the visited network.
(Note: In paragraphs [0067] and [0068], Kunz describes user equipment [UE] located in a visited public land mobile network [VPLMN] registering with the IP multimedia subsystem [IMS] and sending a SIP REGISTER message to a proxy call service control function [P-CSCF] located in a home public land mobile network [HPLMN]. The P-CSCF may use a PLMN ID to determine local emergency numbers associated with the identified location [e.g. VPLMN])
(Note: In paragraph [0071], Kunz describes determining the UE is roaming in a VPLMN and initiating a query for local emergency numbers. In paragraph [0139], Kunz indicates the local emergency number could be in the form of a telephone URI, a SIP URI or any other format to enable proper addressing to a public safety answering point [PSAP])
Kunz does not teach obtaining an emergency number table of the visited network, the table associating with at least one emergency number local to the visited network a uniform resource identifier. However, Kiss teaches obtaining an emergency number table of the visited network, the table associating with at least one emergency number local to the visited network a uniform resource identifier (Abstract; Page 7, Paragraph [0049] – Page 8, Paragraph [0055]).
(Note: In paragraph [0049], Kiss describes a user device [UE] querying a server for emergency services local numbers applicable to a visited region in which the UE is currently operating in. In paragraph [0054], Kiss indicates the server responds to the query with a list of emergency services local numbers [i.e. emergency number table of the visited network] that are characterized and formatted as described in paragraph [0055])
(Note: Modifying the P-CSCF to perform the querying process described by Kiss results in the query being sent to a visited network and having the visited network return a list of emergency services local numbers. A table functions as a list of related items which is what is shown and described in paragraph [0055] of Kiss and is also reflected in Figure 3 of the drawings in Applicant’s Specification)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Kunz with the method taught by Kiss to ensure immediate error-free connections to local emergency services when roaming internationally or in a region geographically different than their home PLMN; thereby speeding up critical first responder dispatch.
As per Claim 2, Kunz teaches sending a request for transmission of the emergency number table to a control facility of the home network for relaying to the visited network, the control facility being configured to manage network resources provided for the terminal of the user, and receiving a response comprising the table as described in Claim 1.
As per Claim 5, Kunz teaches wherein the request for transmission of the emergency number table is inserted in a request message for obtaining the identifier of the visited network, the message being transmitted following reception of the registration request of the terminal of the user by the local facility as described in Claim 1.
As per Claim 6, the combination of Kunz and Kiss teaches a method of providing in a communication network of a user terminal, referred to as a home network, an emergency number table of another communication network, referred to as a visited network, to which the terminal is attached, the table associating to at least one emergency telephone number local to the visited network, a uniform resource identifier corresponding to the number, uniform resource identifiers corresponding to the numbers, wherein the method is implemented in the home network by a control facility of network resources provided for the terminal as described in Claim 1.
(Note: Claim 6 differs from Claim 1 in that Claim 1 is directed to a registration request whereas Claim 6 is directed to providing information associated with an emergency number table to a P-CSCF in the home network) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Kunz with the method taught by Kiss to ensure immediate error-free connections to local emergency services when roaming internationally or in a region geographically different than their home PLMN; thereby speeding up critical first responder dispatch.
As per Claim 7, Kunz teaches wherein the signaling message received from the visited network further comprises a request for the creation of a session for the terminal of the user as described in Claim 1.
As per Claim 8, Kunz teaches wherein the method comprises, upon reception of a request from the local facility of the home network, transmitting the table to the local facility as described in Claim 1.
As per Claim 9, Kunz teaches wherein the method comprises receiving a request for transmission of the table from the local facility and relaying the request to the visited network as described in Claim 1.
As per Claim 10, the combination of Kunz and Kiss teaches a method of managing a table of emergency numbers of a communication network as described in Claim 1. Kunz also teaches a mobility management facility of the terminal of the visited network (Figure 1 – Reference 7; Page 3, Paragraphs [0036] and [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Kunz with the method taught by Kiss to ensure immediate error-free connections to local emergency services when roaming internationally or in a region geographically different than their home PLMN; thereby speeding up critical first responder dispatch.
As per Claim 11, the combination of Kunz and Kiss teaches wherein the table is transmitted in a signaling message comprising a request for the creation of a session for the terminal of the user with the home network as described in Claim 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Kunz with the method taught by Kiss to ensure immediate error-free connections to local emergency services when roaming internationally or in a region geographically different than their home PLMN; thereby speeding up critical first responder dispatch.
As per Claim 12, the combination of Kunz and Kiss teaches wherein the table is transmitted upon reception of a request from the home network, the request having been received following the transmission by the visited network to the home network of a registration request from the terminal of the user as described in Claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Kunz with the method taught by Kiss to ensure immediate error-free connections to local emergency services when roaming internationally or in a region geographically different than their home PLMN; thereby speeding up critical first responder dispatch.
As per Claim 13, the combination of Kunz and Kiss teaches a device for processing a registration request from a user terminal of a communication network as described in Claim 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus taught by Kunz with the method and apparatus taught by Kiss to ensure immediate error-free connections to local emergency services when roaming internationally or in a region geographically different than their home PLMN; thereby speeding up critical first responder dispatch.
As per Claim 14, the combination of Kunz and Kiss teaches a device for providing by a communication network of a user of a terminal, referred to as a home network, an emergency number table of another communication network as described in Claim 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus taught by Kunz with the method and apparatus taught by Kiss to ensure immediate error-free connections to local emergency services when roaming internationally or in a region geographically different than their home PLMN; thereby speeding up critical first responder dispatch.
As per Claim 15, the combination of Kunz and Kiss teaches a device for managing an emergency number table of a communication network as described in Claim 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and apparatus taught by Kunz with the method and apparatus taught by Kiss to ensure immediate error-free connections to local emergency services when roaming internationally or in a region geographically different than their home PLMN; thereby speeding up critical first responder dispatch.
As per Claim 16, the combination of Kunz and Kiss teaches a system for managing a registration request for a user terminal to a communication network to which it is subscribed, referred to as a home network, the terminal of the user being attached to another communication network, referred to as a visited network, as described in Claims 1 and 13.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and system taught by Kunz with the method and system taught by Kiss to ensure immediate error-free connections to local emergency services when roaming internationally or in a region geographically different than their home PLMN; thereby speeding up critical first responder dispatch.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunz et al (2018/0191786 A1) in view of KISS et al (2019/0069338 A1) as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in view of Bakker (2020/0100202 A1).
As per Claim 3, the combination of Kunz and Kiss teaches the method of processing according to Claim 2; but does not teach upon reception of an identifier from the visited network, checking that an emergency number table is already available in the home network for that identifier; and sending the transmission request when no emergency number table is available or when the available emergency number table is associated with an out-of-date validity indicator.
However, Bakker teaches upon reception of an identifier from the visited network, checking that an emergency number table is already available in the home network for that identifier; and sending the transmission request when no emergency number table is available or when the available emergency number table is associated with an out-of-date validity indicator (Page 5: Table 2; Page 5, Paragraph [0026]; Page 6, Paragraph [0028]; Page 9, Paragraph [0070]).
(Note: As described above in Claim 1, Kunz teach obtaining a PLMN ID associated with a VPLMN. In paragraphs [0026] and [0028], Bakker describes procedures for the presence of emergency numbers in a PLMN checking and making a determination as to the validity of the obtained emergency numbers)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Kunz and Kiss with the method taught by Bakker to leverage a public land mobile network identifier which uniquely identifies the mobile network a user is connected to which helps route emergency calls to the correct local public safety answering point to allow emergency responders to respond in a timely fashion if called upon.
As per Claim 4, the combination of Kunz, Kiss and Bakker teaches wherein the request for transmission of the emergency number table is transmitted in a message comprising the identifier of the visited network. (Note: It is found to be obvious to associate the relevant emergency number information in a message along with the PLMN ID of the visited network to ensure that the correct information is paired with the correct network)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Kunz and Kiss with the method taught by Bakker to leverage a public land mobile network identifier which uniquely identifies the mobile network a user is connected to which helps route emergency calls to the correct local public safety answering point to allow emergency responders to respond in a timely fashion if called upon.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lauster (2018/0049010 A1), Bakker et al (2019/0208393 A1), Milinski et al (2013/0148550 A1), BUCKLEY et al (2018/0288582 A1) and Bakker (2020/0323001 A1). Each of these describes systems and methods of registering mobile devices in public land mobile networks.
KHARYE POPE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2693
/KHARYE POPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693