DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s submission of amendment with remarks/arguments, dated January 26, 2026. Claims 2, 6, 7, 18, 19, 31, 41, 44, 46, and 57 have been amended.
Upon entering the amendment, claims 1, 2, 4, 6-9, 12, 15, 16, 18-20, 23, 26, 27, 31, 32, 35, 36, 40-42, 44, 46, 47, 50-52, 55, 57, 58, 61, 63, and 78 remain pending. This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s submission of information disclosure statement (IDS), dated on January 7, 2026 after the mailing date of the previous office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 2, 4, 9, 15, 16, 18-20, 23, 35, 36, 40-42, 44, 47, 55, 57, 58, 61, and 78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vilaipornsawai et al. (US 2020/0015200).
Regarding claim 1, Vilaipornsawai et al. teach the apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (paragraphs [0060] lines 1-12 & [0098] lines 1-6; Examiner’s Notes: electronic device (ED) 110a depicted in FIG. 1 and 110 depicted in FIG. 3A of the prior art teaches the limitation of “user equipment (UE)” in the instant application), comprising:
one or more memories (paragraph [0098] lines 1-6; Examiner’s Notes: memory 308 in ED 110 depicted in FIG. 3A of the prior art teaches the limitation of “one or more memories” in the instant application); and
one or more processors (paragraph [0098] lines 1-6; Examiner’s Notes: processing unit 300 in ED 110 depicted in FIG. 3A of the prior art teaches the limitation of “one or more memories” in the instant application) coupled with the one or more memories, the one or more processors configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a base station, downlink control information comprising a joint beam indication (paragraph [0056] lines 1-28; Examiner’s Notes: the downlink control information (DCI) indicating information associated with different beams in the prior art teaches the limitation of “downlink control information comprising a joint beam indication;”
in fact, receiving, from BS 170a, the DCI indicating information associated with different beams as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “receive, from a base station, downlink control information comprising a joint beam indication” in the instant application),
the joint beam indication comprising an indication of a group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a reference signal (paragraph [0056] lines 15-28; Examiner’s Notes: the TCI states associated with a RS in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a reference signal;”
in fact, the information/indication (associated with different beams) indicating the TCI states associated with a RS in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the joint beam indication comprising an indication of a group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a reference signal” in the instant application);
communicate a message on a physical channel using a first transmission configuration indicator state of the group of transmission configuration indicator states (paragraph [0109] lines 1-21; Examiner’s Notes: communicating a message/information on a physical channel, e.g., a PDSCH, using a TCI state of the TCI states in the prior art teaches the limitation of “communicate a message on a physical channel using a first transmission configuration indicator state of the group of transmission configuration indicator states” in the instant application); and
communicate a repetition of the message on the physical channel using a second transmission configuration indicator state of the group of transmission configuration indicator states (paragraph [0196] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: communicating/facilitating PDSCH repetitions using a TCI state of the TCI states in the prior art teaches the limitation of “communicate a repetition of the message on the physical channel using a second transmission configuration indicator state of the group of transmission configuration indicator states” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 2, Vilaipornsawai et al. further teach the apparatus, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive a control message on a physical downlink control channel, receive a data message on a physical downlink shared channel, or any combination thereof (paragraph [0106] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: receiving a message on a PDCCH from BS 170a as illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receive a control message on a physical downlink control channel;”
in fact, the cited prior art teaches the limitation of “receive a control message on a physical downlink control channel, receive a data message on a physical downlink shared channel, or any combination thereof” in the instant application as well).
Regarding claim 4, Vilaipornsawai et al. further teach the apparatus, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a control message on a physical uplink control channel, transmit a data message on a physical uplink shared channel, or any combination thereof (paragraph [0196] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: transmitting a message on a PUCCH to BS 170a as illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmit a control message on a physical uplink control channel;”
in fact, the cited prior art teaches the limitation of “transmit a control message on a physical uplink control channel, transmit a data message on a physical uplink shared channel, or any combination thereof” in the instant application as well).
Regarding claim 9, Vilaipornsawai et al. further teach the apparatus, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
determine a repetition mode for communicating the message and the repetition of the message (paragraph [0196] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: determining/facilitating PDSCH repetitions in the prior art teaches the limitation of “determine a repetition mode for communicating the message and the repetition of the message” in the instant application); and
communicate the message and the repetition of the message according to the repetition mode (paragraph [0196] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: communicating, with BS 170a, the message and the repetition of the message according to the determined PDSCH repetitions as illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “communicate the message and the repetition of the message according to the repetition mode” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 15, Vilaipornsawai et al. further teach the apparatus, wherein the physical channel is located on a single component carrier (paragraph [0089] lines 1-22; Examiner’s Notes: a single carrier with Single Carrier Frequency Division Multiple Access in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a single component carrier;”
In fact, the physical channel, e.g., 190, regards to a single carrier withe Single Carrier Frequency Division Multiple Access as illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the physical channel is located on a single component carrier” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 16, Vilaipornsawai et al. further teach the apparatus, wherein the physical channel is located on multiple component carriers (paragraph [0089] lines 1-15; Examiner’s Notes: multicarriers with Low Density Signature Multicarrier Code Division Multiple Access in the prior art teaches the limitation of “multiple component carriers;”
In fact, the physical channel, e.g., 190, regards to the multicarriers with Low Density Signature Multicarrier Code Division Multiple Access as illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the physical channel is located on multiple component carriers” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 18, Vilaipornsawai et al. further teach the apparatus, wherein the downlink control information comprises a downlink UE-specific downlink control information message, an uplink UE-specific downlink control information message, or a group common downlink control information message (paragraph [0196] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: the DCI indicating antenna port (AP) value of the UE in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the downlink control information message comprises a downlink UE-specific downlink control information message” in the instant application;
in fact, the cited prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the downlink control information message comprises a downlink UE-specific downlink control information message, an uplink UE-specific downlink control information message, or a group common downlink control information message” in the instant application as well).
Regarding claim 19, Vilaipornsawai et al. teach the apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (paragraphs [0060] lines 1-12 & [0098] lines 1-6; Examiner’s Notes: electronic device (ED) 110a depicted in FIG. 1 and 110 depicted in FIG. 3A of the prior art teaches the limitation of “user equipment (UE)” in the instant application), comprising:
one or more memories (paragraph [0098] lines 1-6; Examiner’s Notes: memory 308 in ED 110 depicted in FIG. 3A of the prior art teaches the limitation of “one or more memories” in the instant application); and
one or more processors (paragraph [0098] lines 1-6; Examiner’s Notes: processing unit 300 in ED 110 depicted in FIG. 3A of the prior art teaches the limitation of “one or more memories” in the instant application) coupled with the one or more memories, the one or more processors configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a base station, a downlink control information message comprising at least one of a first beam indication and a second beam indication (paragraph [0056] lines 1-28; Examiner’s Notes: the downlink control information (DCI) indicating information associated with different beams in the prior art teaches the limitation of “downlink control information message comprising at least one of a first beam indication and a second beam indication;”
in fact, receiving, from BS 170a, the DCI indicating information associated with different beams as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “receive, from a base station, a downlink control information message comprising at least one of a first beam indication and a second beam indication” in the instant application),
the first beam indication comprising a first indication of a first group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a first reference signal (paragraph [0056] lines 15-28; Examiner’s Notes: the TCI states associated with a RS in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a first group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a first reference signal;”
in fact, the beam information/indication (associated with different beams) indicating a group of the TCI states associated with a RS the prior art teaches the limitation of “the first beam indication comprising a first indication of a first group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a first reference signal” in the instant application) and
the second beam indication comprising a second indication of a second group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a second reference signal (paragraph [0056] lines 15-28; Examiner’s Notes: a group of the TCI states associated with a RS in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a second group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a first reference signal;”
in fact, the beam information/indication (associated with a group of different beams) indicating a group of the TCI states associated with a RS the prior art teaches the limitation of “the second beam indication comprising a second indication of a second group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a second reference signal” in the instant application);
receive, from the base station using the first group of transmission configuration indicator states, one or more messages on a physical downlink channel (paragraph [0109] lines 1-21; Examiner’s Notes: receiving, from BS 170a, a message/information on a physical channel, e.g., a PDCCH, using a group of the TCI states as illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receive, from the base station using the first group of transmission configuration indicator states, one or more messages on a physical downlink channel” in the instant application); and
transmit, to the base station using the second group of transmission configuration indicator states, one or more messages on a physical uplink channel (paragraph [0196] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: transmitting, to BS 170a, a message/information on a physical channel, e.g., a PUCCH, using a group of the TCI states in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmit, to the base station using the second group of transmission configuration indicator states, one or more messages on a physical uplink channel” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 20, Vilaipornsawai et al. further teach the apparatus, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive a message on the physical downlink channel using a first transmission configuration indicator state of the first group of transmission configuration indicator states (paragraph [0109] lines 1-21; Examiner’s Notes: receiving, from BS 170a, a message/information on a physical channel, e.g., a PDCCH, using a TCI state of the TCI states as illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receive a message on the physical downlink channel using a first transmission configuration indicator state of the first group of transmission configuration indicator states” in the instant application); and
receive a repetition of the message on the physical downlink channel using a second transmission configuration indicator state of the first group of transmission configuration indicator states (paragraph [0196] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: receiving a PDSCH repetition using a TCI state of the TCI states in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receive a repetition of the message on the physical downlink channel using a second transmission configuration indicator state of the first group of transmission configuration indicator states” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 23, Vilaipornsawai et al. further teach the apparatus, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a message on the physical uplink channel using a first transmission configuration indicator state of the second group of transmission configuration indicator states (paragraph [0196] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: transmitting, to BS 170a, a message/information on a physical channel, e.g., a PUCCH, using a TCI state of the TCI states as illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmit a message on the physical uplink channel using a first transmission configuration indicator state of the second group of transmission configuration indicator states” in the instant application); and
transmit a repetition of the message on the physical uplink channel using a second transmission configuration indicator state of the second group of transmission configuration indicator states (paragraph [0196] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: transmitting, to BS 170a, a repetition of a message on a physical channel, e.g., a PUCCH, using a TCI state of the TCI states as illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmit a repetition of the message on the physical uplink channel using a second transmission configuration indicator state of the second group of transmission configuration indicator states” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 35, Vilaipornsawai et al. further teach the apparatus, wherein the physical downlink channel is located on a single component carrier (paragraph [0089] lines 1-22; Examiner’s Notes: a single carrier with Single Carrier Frequency Division Multiple Access in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a single component carrier;”
In fact, the physical channel, e.g., 190, from BS 170a to ED 110a regards to a single carrier withe Single Carrier Frequency Division Multiple Access as illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the physical downlink channel is located on a single component carrier” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 36, Vilaipornsawai et al. further teach the apparatus, wherein the physical downlink channel is located on multiple component carriers (paragraph [0089] lines 1-15; Examiner’s Notes: multicarriers with Low Density Signature Multicarrier Code Division Multiple Access in the prior art teaches the limitation of “multiple component carriers;”
In fact, the physical channel, e.g., 190, from BS 170a to ED 110a, regards to the multicarriers with Low Density Signature Multicarrier Code Division Multiple Access as illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the physical channel is located on multiple component carriers” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 40, Vilaipornsawai et al. further teach the apparatus, wherein the downlink control information message comprises a downlink UE-specific downlink control information message, an uplink UE-specific downlink control information message, or a group common downlink control information message (paragraph [0196] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: the DCI indicating antenna port (AP) value of the UE in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the downlink control information message comprises a downlink UE-specific downlink control information message” in the instant application;
in fact, the cited prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the downlink control information message comprises a downlink UE-specific downlink control information message, an uplink UE-specific downlink control information message, or a group common downlink control information message” in the instant application as well).
Regarding claim 41, Vilaipornsawai et al. teach the apparatus for wireless communications at a base station (paragraphs [0060] lines 1-12 & [0098] lines 1-6; Examiner’s Notes: base station (BS) 170a depicted in FIG. 1 and 170 depicted in FIG. 3B of the prior art teaches the limitation of “base station” in the instant application), comprising:
one or more memories (paragraph [0098] lines 1-6; Examiner’s Notes: memory 358 in BS 170 depicted in FIG. 3B of the prior art teaches the limitation of “one or more memories” in the instant application); and
one or more processors (paragraph [0098] lines 1-6; Examiner’s Notes: processing unit 350 in BS 170 depicted in FIG. 3B of the prior art teaches the limitation of “one or more memories” in the instant application) coupled with the one or more memories, the one or more processors configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), downlink control information comprising a joint beam indication (paragraph [0056] lines 1-28; Examiner’s Notes: the downlink control information (DCI) indicating information associated with different beams in the prior art teaches the limitation of “downlink control information comprising a joint beam indication;”
in fact, transmitting, to ED 110a, the DCI indicating information associated with different beams as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmit, to a user equipment (UE), downlink control information comprising a joint beam indication” in the instant application),
the joint beam indication comprising an indication of a group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a reference signal (paragraph [0056] lines 15-28; Examiner’s Notes: the TCI states associated with a RS in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a reference signal;”
in fact, the information/indication (associated with different beams) indicating the TCI states associated with a RS the prior art teaches the limitation of “the joint beam indication comprising an indication of a group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a reference signal” in the instant application);
communicate a message on a physical channel using a first transmission configuration indicator state of the group of transmission configuration indicator states (paragraph [0109] lines 1-21; Examiner’s Notes: communicating a message/information on a physical channel, e.g., a PDSCH, using a TCI state of the TCI states in the prior art teaches the limitation of “communicate a message on a physical channel using a first transmission configuration indicator state of the group of transmission configuration indicator states” in the instant application); and
communicate a repetition of the message on the physical channel using a second transmission configuration indicator state of the group of transmission configuration indicator states (paragraph [0196] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: communicating/facilitating PDSCH repetitions using a TCI state of the TCI states in the prior art teaches the limitation of “communicate a repetition of the message on the physical channel using a second transmission configuration indicator state of the group of transmission configuration indicator states” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 42, Vilaipornsawai et al. further teach the apparatus, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a control message on a physical downlink control channel, transmit a data message on a physical downlink shared channel, or any combination thereof (paragraph [0106] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: transmitting a message on a PDCCH to ED 110a as illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmit a control message on a physical downlink control channel;”
in fact, the cited prior art teaches the limitation of “transmit a control message on a physical downlink control channel, transmit a data message on a physical downlink shared channel, or any combination thereof” in the instant application as well).
Regarding claim 44, Vilaipornsawai et al. further teach the apparatus, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive a control message on a physical uplink control channel, receive a data message on a physical uplink shared channel, or any combination thereof (paragraph [0196] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: receiving a message on a PUCCH from ED 110a as illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receive a control message on a physical uplink control channel;”
in fact, the cited prior art teaches the limitation of “receive a control message on a physical uplink control channel, receive a data message on a physical uplink shared channel, or any combination thereof” in the instant application as well).
Regarding claim 47, Vilaipornsawai et al. further teach the apparatus, the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
determine a repetition mode for communicating the message and the repetition of the message (paragraph [0196] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: determining/facilitating PDSCH repetitions in the prior art teaches the limitation of “determine a repetition mode for communicating the message and the repetition of the message” in the instant application); and
communicate the message and the repetition of the message according to the repetition mode (paragraph [0196] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: communicating, with BS 170a, the message and the repetition of the message according to the determined PDSCH repetitions as illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “communicate the message and the repetition of the message according to the repetition mode” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 55, Vilaipornsawai et al. further teach the apparatus, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to the UE, carrier aggregation configuration information for operating in a carrier aggregation mode (paragraph [0089] lines 1-15; Examiner’s Notes: multicarriers with Low Density Signature Multicarrier Code Division Multiple Access in the prior art teaches the limitation of “operating in a carrier aggregation mode;”
In fact, transmitting, to ED 110a, information regards to the multicarriers with Low Density Signature Multicarrier Code Division Multiple Access as illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmit, to the UE, carrier aggregation configuration information for operating in a carrier aggregation mode” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 57, Vilaipornsawai et al. teach the apparatus for wireless communications at a base station (paragraphs [0060] lines 1-12 & [0098] lines 1-6; Examiner’s Notes: base station (BS) 170a depicted in FIG. 1 and 170 depicted in FIG. 3B of the prior art teaches the limitation of “base station” in the instant application), comprising:
one or more memories (paragraph [0098] lines 1-6; Examiner’s Notes: memory 358 in BS 170 depicted in FIG. 3B of the prior art teaches the limitation of “one or more memories” in the instant application); and
one or more processors (paragraph [0098] lines 1-6; Examiner’s Notes: processing unit 350 in BS 170 depicted in FIG. 3B of the prior art teaches the limitation of “one or more memories” in the instant application) coupled with the one or more memories, the one or more processors configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a downlink control information message comprising at least one of a first beam indication and a second beam indication (paragraph [0056] lines 1-28; Examiner’s Notes: the downlink control information (DCI) indicating information associated with different beams in the prior art teaches the limitation of “downlink control information message comprising at least one of a first beam indication and a second beam indication;”
in fact, transmitting, to ED 110a, the DCI indicating information associated with different beams as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a downlink control information message comprising at least one of a first beam indication and a second beam indication” in the instant application),
the first beam indication comprising a first indication of a first group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a first reference signal (paragraph [0056] lines 15-28; Examiner’s Notes: the TCI states associated with a RS in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a first group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a first reference signal;”
in fact, the beam information/indication (associated with different beams) indicating a group of the TCI states associated with a RS the prior art teaches the limitation of “the first beam indication comprising a first indication of a first group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a first reference signal” in the instant application) and
the second beam indication comprising a second indication of a second group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a second reference signal (paragraph [0056] lines 15-28; Examiner’s Notes: a group of the TCI states associated with a RS in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a second group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a first reference signal;”
in fact, the beam information/indication (associated with a group of different beams) indicating a group of the TCI states associated with a RS the prior art teaches the limitation of “the second beam indication comprising a second indication of a second group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a second reference signal” in the instant application);
transmit, to the UE using the first group of transmission configuration indicator states, one or more messages on a physical downlink channel (paragraph [0109] lines 1-21; Examiner’s Notes: transmitting, to ED 110a, a message/information on a physical channel, e.g., a PDCCH, using a group of the TCI states as illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmit, to the UE using the first group of transmission configuration indicator states, one or more messages on a physical downlink channel” in the instant application); and
receive, from the UE using the second group of transmission configuration indicator states, one or more messages on a physical uplink channel (paragraph [0196] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: receiving, from ED 110a, a message/information on a physical channel, e.g., a PUCCH, using a group of the TCI states in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receive, from the UE using the second group of transmission configuration indicator states, one or more messages on a physical uplink channel” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 58, Vilaipornsawai et al. further teach the apparatus, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a message on the physical downlink channel using a first transmission configuration indicator state of the first group of transmission configuration indicator states (paragraph [0109] lines 1-21; Examiner’s Notes: transmitting, to ED 110a, a message/information on a physical channel, e.g., a PDCCH, using a TCI state of the TCI states as illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmit a message on the physical downlink channel using a first transmission configuration indicator state of the first group of transmission configuration indicator states” in the instant application); and
transmit a repetition of the message on the physical downlink channel using a second transmission configuration indicator state of the first group of transmission configuration indicator states (paragraph [0196] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: transmitting a PDSCH repetition using a TCI state of the TCI states in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmit a repetition of the message on the physical downlink channel using a second transmission configuration indicator state of the first group of transmission configuration indicator states” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 61, Vilaipornsawai et al. further teach the apparatus, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive a message on the physical uplink channel using a first transmission configuration indicator state of the second group of transmission configuration indicator states (paragraph [0196] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: receiving, from ED 110a, a message/information on a physical channel, e.g., a PUCCH, using a TCI state of the TCI states as illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receive a message on the physical uplink channel using a first transmission configuration indicator state of the second group of transmission configuration indicator states” in the instant application); and
receive a repetition of the message on the physical uplink channel using a second transmission configuration indicator state of the second group of transmission configuration indicator states (paragraph [0196] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: receiving, from ED 110a, a repetition of a message on a physical channel, e.g., a PUCCH, using a TCI state of the TCI states as illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receive a repetition of the message on the physical uplink channel using a second transmission configuration indicator state of the second group of transmission configuration indicator states” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 78, Vilaipornsawai et al. teach the method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (paragraphs [0060] lines 1-12 & [0098] lines 1-6; Examiner’s Notes: electronic device (ED) 110a depicted in FIG. 1 and 110 depicted in FIG. 3A of the prior art teaches the limitation of “user equipment (UE)” in the instant application), comprising:
receiving, from a base station, downlink control information comprising a joint beam indication (paragraph [0056] lines 1-28; Examiner’s Notes: the downlink control information (DCI) indicating information associated with different beams in the prior art teaches the limitation of “downlink control information comprising a joint beam indication;”
in fact, receiving, from BS 170a, the DCI indicating information associated with different beams as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “receive, from a base station, downlink control information comprising a joint beam indication” in the instant application),
the joint beam indication comprising an indication of a group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a reference signal (paragraph [0056] lines 15-28; Examiner’s Notes: the TCI states associated with a RS in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a reference signal;”
in fact, the information/indication (associated with different beams) indicating the TCI states associated with a RS the prior art teaches the limitation of “the joint beam indication comprising an indication of a group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a reference signal” in the instant application);
communicating a message on a physical channel using a first transmission configuration indicator state of the group of transmission configuration indicator states (paragraph [0109] lines 1-21; Examiner’s Notes: communicating a message/information on a physical channel, e.g., a PDSCH, using a TCI state of the TCI states in the prior art teaches the limitation of “communicating a message on a physical channel using a first transmission configuration indicator state of the group of transmission configuration indicator states” in the instant application); and
communicating a repetition of the message on the physical channel using a second transmission configuration indicator state of the group of transmission configuration indicator states (paragraph [0196] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: communicating/facilitating PDSCH repetitions using a TCI state of the TCI states in the prior art teaches the limitation of “communicating a repetition of the message on the physical channel using a second transmission configuration indicator state of the group of transmission configuration indicator states” in the instant application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 6, 26, 46, and 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vilaipornsawai et al. (US 2020/0015200) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2019/0254120).
Regarding claim 6, Vilaipornsawai et al. teach the apparatus without explicitly teaching performing a beam sweep procedure using at least the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state.
Zhang et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, perform, based at least in part on receiving the downlink control information, a beam sweep procedure using at least the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state (paragraph [0011] lines 1-26; Examiner’s Notes: the beam sweep correspond to TCI states in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a beam sweep procedure using at least the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state;”
in fact, performing the beam sweep correspond to TCI states based on the DCI in the prior art teaches the limitation of “perform, based at least in part on receiving the downlink control information, performing a beam sweep procedure using at least the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Zhang et al. in the system of Vilaipornsawai et al.
The motivation for performing a beam sweep procedure using at least the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state, is to further enhance the mechanism for hierarchical beamforming, that helps reduce network traffic overhead for transmission of beam indication (information) and enable efficient Transmission Configuration Indication, while facilitating beam tracking between a base station(s) and a mobile device(s) during downlink communications.
Regarding claim 26, Vilaipornsawai et al. teach the subject matter without explicitly teaching performing a beam sweep procedure using at least the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state.
Zhang et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, performing, based at least in part on receiving the downlink control information message, a beam sweep procedure using at least the first group of transmission configuration indicator states and the second group of transmission configuration indicator states (paragraph [0011] lines 1-26; Examiner’s Notes: the beam sweep correspond to TCI states in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a beam sweep procedure using at least the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state;”
in fact, performing the beam sweep correspond to TCI states based on the DCI in the prior art teaches the limitation of “perform, based at least in part on receiving the downlink control information message, a beam sweep procedure using at least the first group of transmission configuration indicator states and the second group of transmission configuration indicator states” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Zhang et al. in the system of Vilaipornsawai et al.
The motivation for performing a beam sweep procedure using at least the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state, is to further enhance the mechanism for hierarchical beamforming, that helps reduce network traffic overhead for transmission of beam indication (information) and enable efficient Transmission Configuration Indication, while facilitating beam tracking between a base station(s) and a mobile device(s) during downlink communications.
Regarding claim 46, Vilaipornsawai et al. teach the apparatus without explicitly teaching performing a beam sweep procedure using at least the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state.
Zhang et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, perform, based at least in part on receiving the downlink control information message, a beam sweep procedure using at least the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state (paragraph [0011] lines 1-26; Examiner’s Notes: the beam sweep correspond to TCI states in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a beam sweep procedure using at least the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state;”
in fact, performing the beam sweep correspond to TCI states based on the DCI in the prior art teaches the limitation of “perform, based at least in part on receiving the downlink control information message, performing a beam sweep procedure using at least the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Zhang et al. in the system of Vilaipornsawai et al.
The motivation for performing a beam sweep procedure using at least the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state, is to further enhance the mechanism for hierarchical beamforming, that helps reduce network traffic overhead for transmission of beam indication (information) and enable efficient Transmission Configuration Indication, while facilitating beam tracking between a base station(s) and a mobile device(s) during downlink communications.
Regarding claim 63, Vilaipornsawai et al. teach the subject matter without explicitly teaching performing a beam sweep procedure using at least the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state.
Zhang et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, performing, based at least in part on receiving the downlink control information message, a beam sweep procedure using at least the first group of transmission configuration indicator states and the second group of transmission configuration indicator states (paragraph [0011] lines 1-26; Examiner’s Notes: the beam sweep correspond to TCI states in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a beam sweep procedure using at least the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state;”
in fact, performing the beam sweep correspond to TCI states based on the DCI in the prior art teaches the limitation of “perform, based at least in part on receiving the downlink control information message, a beam sweep procedure using at least the first group of transmission configuration indicator states and the second group of transmission configuration indicator states” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Zhang et al. in the system of Vilaipornsawai et al.
The motivation for performing a beam sweep procedure using at least the first transmission configuration indicator state and the second transmission configuration indicator state, is to further enhance the mechanism for hierarchical beamforming, that helps reduce network traffic overhead for transmission of beam indication (information) and enable efficient Transmission Configuration Indication, while facilitating beam tracking between a base station(s) and a mobile device(s) during downlink communications.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 7, 8, 12, 27, 31, 32, and 50-52 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1, 19 or 41, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim(s).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach "wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
compare a value of a parameter associated with the message with a second value of a second parameter associated with the repetition of the message; and
select the first transmission configuration indicator state for communicating the message and the second transmission configuration indicator state for communicating the repetition of the message based at least in part on the comparing,” in combination with other limitation of the claim(s).
Regarding claim 12, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach "wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
determine that a second physical channel does not support a repetition mode; and
communicate a second message on the second physical channel using the first transmission configuration indicator state based at least in part on determining that the second physical channel that does not support the repetition mode,” in combination with other limitation of the claim(s).
Similar limitations are included in claim 50.
Regarding claim 27, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach "wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
determine a first repetition mode for receiving the one or more messages on the physical downlink channel and a second repetition mode for transmitting the one or more messages on the physical uplink channel;
receive the one or more messages on the physical downlink channel according to the first repetition mode; and
transmit the one or more messages on the physical uplink channel according to the second repetition mode,” in combination with other limitation of the claim(s).
Regarding claim 31, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach "wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
determine that a second physical downlink channel does not support a repetition mode; and
receive, using a first transmission configuration indicator state of the first group of transmission configuration indicator states, one or more messages on the second physical downlink channel based at least in part on determining that the second downlink physical channel does not support the repetition mode,” in combination with other limitation of the claim(s).
Regarding claim 32, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach "wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
determine that a second physical uplink channel does not support a repetition mode; and
transmit, using a first transmission configuration indicator state of the second group of transmission configuration indicator states, one or more messages on the second physical uplink channel based at least in part on determining that the second physical uplink channel does not support the repetition mode,” in combination with other limitation of the claim(s).
Regarding claim 51, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach "wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to the UE, a second downlink control information message activating the group of transmission configuration indicator states from a plurality of groups of transmission configuration indicator states, wherein communicating the message using the first transmission configuration indicator state and communicating the repetition of the message using the second transmission configuration indicator state are based at least in part on transmitting the second downlink control information message,” in combination with other limitation of the claim(s).
Regarding claim 52, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach "wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to the UE, a second downlink control information message adding the group of transmission configuration indicator states to a plurality of groups of transmission configuration indicator states, or removing a second group of transmission configuration indicator states from the plurality of groups of transmission configuration indicator states, or any combination thereof, wherein communicating the message using the first transmission configuration indicator state and communicating the repetition of the message using the second transmission configuration indicator state are based at least in part on transmitting the second downlink control information message,” in combination with other limitation of the claim(s).
Response to Remarks/Arguments
9. Claims Objections: in the Response, filed January 26, 2026, Applicants amended claim(s) for the purpose of correcting the informalities. Therefore, the previous objections to the claim(s) are withdrawn.
10. Claims Art Rejections: Applicants’ amendments with arguments filed January 26, 2026 have been fully considered and they are not persuasive.
On pages 13-14 of the Response with respects to claim 1, Applicants assert the prior art doesn't teach “receive, from a base station, downlink control information comprising a joint beam indication, the joint beam indication comprising an indication of a group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a reference signal.”
The prior art teaches providing mechanisms to inform an electronic device, such as a user equipment (UE), of multiple QCL information, thereby allowing a repetition of physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) information to be transmitted from multiple transmit receive points (TRPs) or beams from one or more TRPs. More generally, the present disclosure provides mechanisms to inform the UE of various different transmission parameters used for configuring the UE for receiving a repetition of PDSCH information from multiple TRPs. Other types of transmission parameters may include redundancy version, modulation order and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) initialization. Several different processes are disclosed for informing the UE of the transmission parameters. In the particular case of QCL information, the QCL relationships can be associated with transmission configuration indication (TCI) states, each TCI state associated with a respective TRP (or beam) or respective RS and DMRS antenna port (or port group), or both, and the TCI states are provided to the UE. In another case, a TCI state is configured with parameters that define the QCL information. With different QCL information in different TCI states, each TCI state can be associated with a different TRP or beam. In some embodiments, different QCL information can be defined in one TCI state, and each QCL information can be associated with a different TRP or beam. In some embodiments, the TCI states can be provided to the UE using dynamic signaling by downlink control information (DCI) (paragraph [0056] lines 1-28, Vilaipornsawai et al.; Examiner’s Notes: the downlink control information (DCI) indicating information associated with different beams in the prior art teaches the limitation of “downlink control information comprising a joint beam indication;”
in fact, receiving, from BS 170a, the DCI indicating information associated with different beams as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “receive, from a base station, downlink control information comprising a joint beam indication” in the instant application;
the TCI (transmission configuration indicator) states associated with a RS in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a reference signal;”
in fact, the information/indication (associated with different beams) indicating the TCI states associated with a RS in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the joint beam indication comprising an indication of a group of transmission configuration indicator states associated with a reference signal” as Applicants argued).
Based on the fact, Examiner respectfully disagrees that the prior art cited does not teach the independent claim 1 as mentioned by Applicants. The elements of independent claims 19, 41, 57, and 78 that Applicants argued are similar to claim 1’s, so the cited passages also teach claims 19, 41, 57, and 78. Furthermore, the cited passages teach dependent claims 2, 4, 6, 9, 15, 16, 18, 20, 23, 26, 35, 36, 40, 42, 44, 46, 47, 55, 58, 61, and 63 as well.
Conclusion
11. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEI ZHAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479