DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 4-5, 8, 12, 15, 18-19, 22 and 27 have been amended, claims 29-31 have been newly added. Claims 2-3, 9, 13-14, 16-17, 24-26 and 28 have been cancelled. The status of claims 1, 4-8, 10-12, 15, 18-23, 27 and 29-31 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 15 and 27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Note, even though new prior art being cited here but old prior art Cariou et al (US20210274500A1, Pro 63026289 Priority Date: May 18, 2020) still considered as teaching of the amended claim limitations.
Cariou’500 discloses: If an first AP of an AP MLD 808 transmit an element involved in changes to the operation of the first AP (e.g., performing an Extended Channel Switch announcement procedure), then the other APs of the AP MLD 808 transmit in their beacon and probe response frames (and optionally in public action frames) the information in the element from the first AP (e.g., the other APs transmit an Extended Channel Switch Announcement element for the first AP1 until the intended channel switch time) (par 0115);
beacon frames and probe response frames sent by an AP (AP1 830, AP2 832, or AP 834) of an AP MLD 808 include a field called Change Sequence (e.g., BSS parameters change count 1408 or a field within per-STA profile 1504) that indicates a change of system information of another AP within the same AP MLD 808 when a critical update to the Beacon frame in another AP has occurred (par 0122);
the AP of the AP MLD 808 that is sending an element of another AP of the same AP MLD 808 such as a Public Action frame for an Extended Channel Switch Announcement frame, indicates the frame or element is for the other AP by including an ID field of the other AP. In some embodiments, an additional ID field in the frame is used to indicate which AP the frame or element is for. The ID field may be a MAC address of the AP or a link ID field (par 0123).
Here Cariou’500 discloses: sending link ID along with Extended Channel Switch Announcement when AP of the AP MLD sending an element of another AP of the same AP MLD via beacon frame. beacon and probe response frames (and optionally in public action frames) all match the condition of “sending an element of another AP of the same AP MLD …for an Extended Channel Switch Announcement frame” even though only Public Action frame being raised as an example in par 0123 (par 0115, 0123).
Therefore Cariou’500 discloses:
sending the first message frame,
wherein the first information comprises a first identifier and a second identifier,
the first identifier is configured to indicate the change in the system information on the at least one link of the plurality of links, and
the second identifier corresponds to the at least one link of the plurality of links.
To speed up the processing, new prior art cited here discloses the amended claim limitation in a straightforward way.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 12, 15, 22, 27 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou et al (US20210274500A1, Pro 63026289 Priority Date: May 18, 2020) in view of Wu et al (US20230403638A1, PCT Foreign Priority Date: Nov. 2, 2020).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Cariou’500 discloses a multi-link communication method, performed by a multi-link access point device (see, Fig. 6 and 8, MLD AP communicates with MLD STAs by switching to different link, par 0079, 0104-0105), comprising:
determining a first message frame (see, beacon frame, par 0122) on a first link (see, Fig. 8, AP sends (and thus builds/determines) beacon frame to STA through link between the AP and the STA, par 0113, 0122), wherein the first message frame (see, beacon frame, par 0122) comprises first information (see, Change Sequence field, par 0122) about a change in system information of an access point device (see, change of system information of another AP within AP MLD, par 0122) corresponding to at least one link of a plurality of links (see, Change Sequence field in beacon frame indicates change of system information of another AP within AP MLD for ECSA (extended Channel Switch Announcement), par 0122), and the first message frame (see, beacon frame with Change Sequence field, par 0122) indicates a station (see, STA specified by per-STA profile, par 0122) on the at least one link (see, Fig. 8, the link that STA connected with AP switching channel, par 0109, 0123) to receive a second message frame (see, management frame or request and response frame, par 0125) sent by the access point device (see, first AP send update to its parameters of system information, par 0124) so as to acquire changed system information (see, Fig. 8, beacon frame with Change Sequence field indicates change of system information of another AP to associated STA on the link and associated STA receives update to AP’s parameters from the corresponding AP through management frame or request and response frame, par 0119-0120, 0122, 0125);
sending the first message frame (see, AP sends beacon frame with Change Sequence field, par 0120),
wherein the first information comprises a first identifier (see, beacon frame with Change Sequence field indicates a change of system information of another AP, par 0122),
wherein the first identifier (see, Change Sequence field with sequence num, par 0122) is configured to indicate the change in the system information (see, change of system information of another AP, par 0122) on the at least one link (see, ID field of the other AP on link of multi-link, par 0123) of the plurality of links (see, Fig. 8, Change Sequence field with sequence num indicates change of system information of another AP on associate link of multi-link with STA, par 0122-0123).
Cariou’500 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
sending the first message frame,
wherein the first information comprises a first identifier and a second identifier,
the first identifier is configured to indicate the change in the system information on the at least one link of the plurality of links, and
the second identifier corresponds to the at least one link of the plurality of links.
However Wu’638 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, method for transmitting multi-link information, par 0044) discloses:
sending the first message frame (see, Fig. 1 S102, AP MLD sends broadcast message Beacon frame, the message includes RNR information, par 0069),
wherein the first information (RNR information can be equated to first information, par 0069) comprises a first identifier and a second identifier (see, RNR information in Beacon frame including Change Sequence value and link ID, table 4, par 0069-0070),
the first identifier (Change Sequence value can be equated to first identifier, table 4, par 0070) is configured to indicate the change in the system information on the at least one link of the plurality of links (see, Change Sequence in MLD parameter is used for indicating whether critical information is update in a current system message for link ID of MLD, par 0054-0055. Noted, change sequence field if for second network access device and linked with link id (for reported AP), table 4, par 0062), and
the second identifier (link id can be equated to second identifier, table 4, par 0070) corresponds to the at least one link of the plurality of links (see, link ID used to identify one link corresponding to the currently reported AP in one AP MLD, table 4, par 0070).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Wu’638 into that of Cariou’500. The motivation would have been to satisfy scenario of the multi-link network access device without changing the existing mechanism (par 0066).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), Cariou’500 discloses the multi-link communication method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 6 and 8, MLD AP communicates with MLD STAs by switching to different link, par 0079, 0104-0105), wherein the first information further comprises a multi-link device identifier (see, Fig. 14, MLD parameters in (TBTT of) channel switch announcement element including MLD ID indicates ID of AP MLD, par 0130, 0134),
wherein the multi-link device identifier (see, Fig. 14, MLD ID, par 0134) corresponds to a multi-link device (see, AP MLD, par 0134) to which a link with a change in system information belongs (see, Fig. 14, MLD ID indicates the ID of the AP MLD reported AP ( that changes system information) is affiliated, par 0122, 0134).
Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), Cariou’500 discloses the multi-link communication method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 6 and 8, MLD AP communicates with MLD STAs by switching to different link, par 0079, 0104-0105), wherein the first information further comprises a multi-link device identifier (see, Fig. 14, MLD parameters in (TBTT of) channel switch announcement element including MLD ID indicates ID of AP MLD, par 0130, 0134), wherein the first information (see, update to its parameters, par 0124) further comprises: a traffic indication map (TIM) elements (see, change of system information further including traffic identification (TID)-to-link mapping, par 0122, 0124),
wherein a number of TIM elements (see, TIMs (traffic indication maps), par 0026) is related to at least one of a number of link switch changes (see, extended Channel Switch Announcement, par 0122) in system information in the plurality of links (see, TIMs of traffic identification (TID)-to-link mapping included in change of system information of another AP for extended Channel Switch Announcement for one link in multi-link, par 0026, 0122-0123), or a number of the plurality of links (note, the examiner picks option to reject).
Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), Cariou’500 discloses a multi-link communication method, performed by a multi-link station device (see, Fig. 6 and 8, MLD STAs communicates with MLD AP by switching to different link, par 0078-0079, 0104-0105), comprising:
receiving a first message frame (see, beacon frame, par 0122) on a first link (see, Fig. 8, STA receives beacon frame from AP through link between the AP and the STA, par 0113, 0122), wherein the first message frame (see, beacon frame, par 0122) comprises first information (see, Change Sequence field, par 0122) about a change in system information of an access point device (see, change of system information of another AP within AP MLD, par 0122) corresponding to at least one link of a plurality of links (see, Change Sequence field in beacon frame indicates change of system information of another AP within AP MLD for ECSA (extended Channel Switch Announcement), par 0122);
determining a link (see, link id, par 0123) with a change in system information (see, change of system information of another AP, par 0122) based on the first message frame (see, link ID in ECSA (Extended Channel Switch Announcement) frame indicates the frame is for the other AP by including an ID field of the other AP and link id, par 0123); and
receiving a second message frame (see, management frame or request and response frame, par 0125) sent by the access point device to acquire changed system information (see, associated STA receives update to AP’s parameters (update to system information) from the corresponding AP, par 0122, 0124); and
receiving a second message frame (see, management frame or request and response frame, par 0125) sent by the access point device to acquire changed system information (see, associated STA receives update to AP’s parameters (update to system information) from the corresponding AP, par 0122, 0124),
wherein the first information comprises a first identifier (see, beacon frame with Change Sequence field indicates a change of system information of another AP, par 0122),
wherein the first identifier (see, Change Sequence field with sequence num, par 0122) is configured to indicate the change in the system information (see, change of system information of another AP, par 0122) on the at least one link (see, ID field of the other AP on link of multi-link, par 0123) of the plurality of links (see, Fig. 8, Change Sequence field with sequence num indicates change of system information of another AP on associate link of multi-link with STA, par 0122-0123).
Cariou’500 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
receiving a second message frame sent by the access point device to acquire changed system information,
wherein the first information comprises a first identifier and a second identifier,
the first identifier is configured to indicate the change in the system information on the at least one link of the plurality of links, and
the second identifier corresponds to the at least one link of the plurality of links.
However Wu’638 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1, method for transmitting multi-link information, par 0044) discloses:
receiving a second message frame sent by the access point device to acquire changed system information (see, Fig. 1 S102, terminal receives from AP MLD the broadcast message Beacon frame with RNR information including Change Sequence value, table 4, par 0069-0070),,
wherein the first information (RNR information can be equated to first information, par 0069) comprises a first identifier and a second identifier (see, RNR information in Beacon frame including Change Sequence value and link ID, table 4, par 0069-0070),
the first identifier (Change Sequence value can be equated to first identifier, table 4, par 0070) is configured to indicate the change in the system information on the at least one link of the plurality of links (see, Change Sequence in MLD parameter is used for indicating whether critical information is update in a current system message for link ID of MLD, par 0054-0055. Noted, change sequence field if for second network access device and linked with link id (for reported AP), table 4, par 0062), and
the second identifier (link id can be equated to second identifier, table 4, par 0070) corresponds to the at least one link of the plurality of links (see, link ID used to identify one link corresponding to the currently reported AP in one AP MLD, table 4, par 0070).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Wu’638 into that of Cariou’500. The motivation would have been to satisfy scenario of the multi-link network access device without changing the existing mechanism (par 0066).
Regarding claim 22 (Currently Amended), Claim 22 recites multi-link communication method performed by a multi-link station device performing the steps recited in claim 8 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 8.
Regarding claim 27 (Currently Amended), Claim 27 encompass limitations about a multi-link access point device that are similar to limitations of claim 1, except
a processor, and
a memory storing a computer program stored in the memory and executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to.
Cariou’500 discloses
a processor (see, Fig. 6, hardware processor, par 0080), and
a memory (see, Fig. 6, storage device including machine readable medium, par 0083) storing a computer program stored in the memory and executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to (see, Fig. 6, instruction stored by storage device including machine readable medium executed by hardware processor to perform the functions, par 0083). Thus, it is rejected with the same rationale applied against claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 29 (New), Cariou’500 discloses the multi-link communication method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 6 and 8, MLD AP communicates with MLD STAs by switching to different link, par 0079, 0104-0105), wherein a value of the first identifier (see, Change Sequence field with sequence num, par 0122) is increased to indicate presence of at least one link on which system information has changed (see, change of system information of another AP, par 0122) in the plurality of links (see, change sequence is initialized to 0 and increments as the critical update is occurred and indicates change of system information of another AP within the same AP MLD, par 0122).
Regarding claim 30 (Currently Amended), Claim 30 recites multi-link communication method performed by a multi-link station device performing the steps recited in claim 29 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 29.
Regarding claim 31 (New), Cariou’500 discloses a multi-link station device (see, Fig. 6 and 8, MLD AP communicates with MLD STAs by switching to different link, par 0079, 0104-0105), comprising:
a processor (see, Fig. 6, processor, par 0080), and
a memory (see, Fig. 6, storage device, par 0083) storing a computer program executable by the processor (see, Fig. 6, main memory storing instructions for processor, par 0083),
wherein the processor is configured to implement the multi-link communication method according to claim 15 (see, Fig. 6, processor executes instructions to perform any one or more of the methodologies of multi-link, par 0079, 0110).
Claims 4-7, 10-11, 18-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cariou’500 in view of Wu’638 as applied to claims 1 and 15 above respectively, and further in view of PATIL et al (US20210321410A1, Pro Priority Date: Apr 8, 2020).
Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended), Cariou’500 discloses the multi-link communication method of claim 1 (see, Fig. 6 and 8, MLD AP communicates with MLD STAs by switching to different link, par 0079, 0104-0105), wherein the change in the system information (see, change of system information of another AP within AP MLD, par 0122) is determined on the at least one link of the plurality of links (see, Fig. 8, Change Sequence field with sequence num indicates change of system information of another AP on associate link of multi-link with STA, par 0122-0123), and the first identifier (see, Change Sequence field with sequence num, par 0122) and the second identifier (see, ID field (MAC address of AP or link ID) of the other AP, par 0123) exist in pair in the first message frame (see, Fig. 14, Change Sequence field with sequence num with corresponding link ID, par 0122-0123),
The combination of Cariou’500 and Wu’638 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
the first identifier and the second identifier exist in pairs in the first message frame, wherein the second identifier corresponds to a link with a change in system information.
wherein the second identifier corresponds to a link with a change in system information.
However PATIL’410 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 17A, multi-link (ML) communication performed between STA of STA MLD and AP MLD including two APs, par 0247) discloses:
wherein the change in the system information is determined on the at least one link of the plurality of links (see, secondary change sequence numbers (CSNs) indicating a presence or absence of a critical update for a corresponding secondary communication link of AP MLD, par 0256), and the first identifier (see, CSN, par 0256) and the second identifier exist in pairs in the first message frame (see, first AP generates frame with RNR including Neighbor AP Information fields and each Neighbor AP Information field with secondary CSN and corresponding link id (and thus pairs), par 0018, 0256, 0278-0279),
wherein the second identifier (see, Link ID in RNR, par 0279) corresponds to a link with a change in system information (see, link ID for RNR with critical update field indicating critical update for a corresponding secondary communication link, par 0279).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the multi-link communication method as taught by PATIL’410 into that of Cariou’500 modified by Wu’638. The motivation would have been to indicate critical updates for communication links associated with multi-link devices (MLDs) (par 0002).
Regarding claim 5 (Currently Amended), Cariou’500 discloses the multi-link communication method of claim 3 (see, Fig. 6 and 8, MLD AP communicates with MLD STAs by switching to different link, par 0079, 0104-0105).
The combination of Cariou’500 and Wu’638 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the second identifier comprises a plurality of bits, wherein the plurality of bits correspond to the plurality of links, respectively.
However PATIL’410 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 17A, multi-link (ML) communication performed between STA of STA MLD and AP MLD including two APs, par 0247) discloses:
wherein the second identifier (see, Link ID field in RNR, par 0279) comprises a plurality of bits (see, Link ID field in RNR comprises unique link IDs (and thus a plurality of bits with each link ID corresponding to bits, par 0279), wherein the plurality of bits (see, total bits in link ID field, par 0279) correspond to the plurality of links, respectively (see, Link ID field in RNR comprises unique link IDs (and thus a plurality of bits with each link ID corresponding to one link, par 0279),.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the multi-link communication method as taught by PATIL’410 into that of Cariou’500 modified by Wu’638. The motivation would have been to indicate critical updates for communication links associated with multi-link devices (MLDs) (par 0002).
Regarding claim 6 (Previously presented), Cariou’500 modified by Wu’638 discloses the multi-link communication method of claim 5 (see, Fig. 6 and 8, MLD AP communicates with MLD STAs by switching to different link, par 0079, 0104-0105).
The combination of Cariou’500 and Wu’638 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein a change in system information is determined on the first link, a value of the first identifier is changed, and a bit of the plurality of bits corresponding to the first link is set to a first value.
However PATIL’410 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 17A, multi-link (ML) communication performed between STA of STA MLD and AP MLD including two APs, par 0247) discloses:
wherein a change in system information is determined on the first link, a value of the first identifier is changed (see, each of secondary change sequence fields carrying CSN or value of the most-recent critical update for corresponding secondary AP of the AP MLD, par 0066), and a bit of the plurality of bits (see, CSNs (and thus plurality of bits), par 0102) corresponding to the first link is set to a first value (see, secondary CSNs each indicating a presence or absence of a critical update for a corresponding secondary communication link of the AP MLD, par 0102. Note, presence or absence of a critical update can be indicated by 1 bit).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the multi-link communication method as taught by PATIL’410 into that of Cariou’500 modified by Wu’638. The motivation would have been to indicate critical updates for communication links associated with multi-link devices (MLDs) (par 0002).
Regarding claim 7 (Previously presented), Cariou’500 modified by Wu’638 discloses the multi-link communication method of claim 5 (see, Fig. 6 and 8, MLD AP communicates with MLD STAs by switching to different link, par 0079, 0104-0105).
The combination of Cariou’500 and Wu’638 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein no change in system information is determined on the first link and changes in system information are determined on the other links, a value of the first identifier is not changed, and bits of the plurality of bits corresponding to other links different from the first link are set to a first value.
However PATIL’410 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 17A, multi-link (ML) communication performed between STA of STA MLD and AP MLD including two APs, par 0247) discloses:
wherein no change in system information is determined on the first link (see, absence of a critical update for a corresponding secondary communication link of the AP MLD, par 0102) and changes in system information are determined on the other links (see, secondary CSNs each indicating presence or absence of critical update for corresponding secondary communication link of the AP MLD, par 0102), a value of the first identifier is not changed (see, CSN indicates absence of a critical update and thus no change of critical updates on parameters of secondary AP with corresponding link ID, par 0102, 0279), and bits of the plurality of bits (see, CSNs each indicating presence or absence and thus plurality of bits, par 0102) corresponding to other links different from the first link are set to a first value (see, secondary CSNs each indicating presence or absence of critical update for corresponding secondary communication link of the AP MLD, par 0102. Noted, each CSN corresponding to one secondary link, in scenario only one secondary AP with critical update and thus other second APs never change as shown Fig. 17 and thus CSN of these secondary APS set to the same value for absence).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the multi-link communication method as taught by PATIL’410 into that of Cariou’500 modified by Wu’638. The motivation would have been to indicate critical updates for communication links associated with multi-link devices (MLDs) (par 0002).
Regarding claim 10 (Previously presented), Cariou’500 modified by Wu’638 discloses the multi-link communication method of claim 8 (see, Fig. 6 and 8, MLD AP communicates with MLD STAs by switching to different link, par 0079, 0104-0105).
The combination of Cariou’500 and Wu’638 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the plurality of links comprise a second link corresponding to a first multi-link access point device and a second multi-link access point device,
wherein in the first multi-link access point device, the second link corresponds to a first access point device, and in the second multi-link access point device, the second link corresponds to a second access point device,
wherein the first information comprises a third identifier, which is configured to indicate that a change in system information of the first access point device is the same as a change in system information of the second access point device.
However PATIL’410 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 17A, multi-link (ML) communication performed between STA of STA MLD and AP MLD including two APs, par 0247) discloses:
wherein the plurality of links comprise a second link corresponding to a first multi-link access point device and a second multi-link access point device (see, AP MLDs associating on one link, par 0065, 0101),
wherein in the first multi-link access point device, the second link corresponds to a first access point device, and in the second multi-link access point device, the second link corresponds to a second access point device (see, AP MLDs dynamically communicate over any link shared between the AO MLDs with each AP associates with one link, par 0065-0066, 0101),
wherein the first information comprises a third identifier (see, single MLA context including link id for a plurality of links shared between multiple MLDs for MLDs, par 0101, 0275-0276, 0279. Note, link id can be equated to third identifier), which is configured to indicate that a change in system information of the first access point device is the same as a change in system information of the second access point device (see, single MLA context including link ids for a plurality of links shared between multiple MLDs for MLDs switching from communicating on first link to second link, par 0101, 0275-0276. Note, link ids can be equated to third identifier).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the multi-link communication method as taught by PATIL’410 into that of Cariou’500 modified by Wu’638. The motivation would have been to indicate critical updates for communication links associated with multi-link devices (MLDs) (par 0002).
Regarding claim 11 (Original), Cariou’500 modified by Wu’638 discloses the multi-link communication method of claim 10 (see, Fig. 6 and 8, MLD AP communicates with MLD STAs by switching to different link, par 0079, 0104-0105).
The combination of Cariou’500 and Wu’638 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
sending a third message frame to carry system information with a same change of the first access point device and the second access point device.
However PATIL’410 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 17A, multi-link (ML) communication performed between STA of STA MLD and AP MLD including two APs, par 0247) discloses:
sending a third message frame (see, frame with MLA, par 0126) to carry system information with a same change (see, CSNs each indicating a presence or absence of a critical update for a corresponding secondary link, par 0102) of the first access point device and the second access point device (see, frame with single MLA context for a plurality of links shared between multiple AP MLDs and MLA including per-link profile subelements carrying the secondary CSN and a complete set of operation parameters for a corresponding secondary link, single MLA context enables AP MLDs to switch from communicating on first link to second link, par 0065, 0101-0102, 0126, 0164. Note, ML communication session between multi-link devices (MLDs) such as (but not limited to) AP MLDs, par 0065).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the multi-link communication method as taught by PATIL’410 into that of Cariou’500 modified by Wu’638. The motivation would have been to indicate critical updates for communication links associated with multi-link devices (MLDs) (par 0002).
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended), Claim 18 recites multi-link communication method performed by a multi-link station device performing the steps recited in claim 4 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 4.
Regarding claim 19 (Currently Amended), Claim 19 recites multi-link communication method performed by a multi-link station device performing the steps recited in claim 5 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Regarding claim 20 (Previously presented), Claim 20 recites multi-link communication method performed by a multi-link station device performing the steps recited in claim 6 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Regarding claim 21 (Previously presented), Cariou’500 discloses the multi-link communication method of 19 (see, Fig. 6 and 8, MLD STAs communicates with MLD AP by switching to different link, par 0078-0079, 0104-0105), wherein determining the link with the change in the system information based on the first message frame (see, Change Sequence field in beacon frame indicates change of system information of another AP (with corresponding link) within AP MLD for ECSA (extended Channel Switch Announcement), par 0122-0123) comprises.
The combination of Cariou’500 and Wu’638 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
determining that a value of the first identifier has not changed and the at least one bit is set to a first value; and
determining that system information has not changed on the first link, and the system information has changed on a link corresponding to at least one bit of the plurality of bits
However PATIL’410 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 17A, multi-link (ML) communication performed between STA of STA MLD and AP MLD including two APs, par 0247) discloses:
determining that a value of the first identifier has not changed (see, CSN indicates absence of a critical update and thus no change of critical updates on parameters of secondary AP with corresponding link ID, par 0102, 0279) and the at least one bit is set to a first value (see, CSNs each indicating presence or absence and thus plurality of bits and thus in scenario only one secondary AP with critical update and thus other second APs never change as shown Fig. 17 (and thus CSN of these secondary APS set to the same value for absence), par 0102); and
determining that system information has not changed on the first link (see, absence of a critical update for a corresponding secondary communication link of the AP MLD, par 0102), and the system information has changed (see, CSN indicating presence of critical update for corresponding secondary link, par 0102) on a link corresponding to at least one bit of the plurality of bits (see, secondary CSNs each indicating presence or absence of critical update for corresponding secondary communication link of the AP MLD, par 0102).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the multi-link communication method as taught by PATIL’410 into that of Cariou’500 modified by Wu’638. The motivation would have been to indicate critical updates for communication links associated with multi-link devices (MLDs) (par 0002).
Regarding claim 23 (Original), Claim 23 recites multi-link communication method performed by a multi-link station device performing the steps recited in claim 10 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al (US 20230164831 A1, Foreign PCT Priority Date: Mar 30, 2020) discloses: When parameter(s) of the AP1 in charge of the first link are changed among parameter(s) (e.g., basic service set (BSS) parameter(s)) for communications applied to each BSS (e.g., per AP of the AP MLD), the AP1 of the AP MLD may transmit a beacon frame (or probe response frame) including the changed parameter(s) in the first link. In addition, the beacon frame (or probe response frame) may further include change sequence information, information indicating a target (e.g., a specific AP, all APs included in the AP MLD, or BSS) to which the updated parameters are applied, information indicating a time period for which the parameters are valid, and/or information indicating an area to which the parameters are applied (e.g., BSS, geographic area). When the parameters are updated, the change sequence information may indicate an increased value (e.g., a value increased by 1) from a previous value (par 0093).
Gan et al (US20230071851A1, PCT Priority Date: Nov 24, 2020) discloses:
Step S201: The first AP of the AP MLD generates group addressed traffic indication information.
The first AP is any AP of the AP MLD.(par 0148-0149).
bits of the group addressed traffic indication information are in a one-to-one correspondence with links (or APs of the AP MLD). For example, each bit of the group addressed traffic indication information is used together with each link identifier. Optionally, each bit of the group addressed traffic indication information is located in a target beacon transmission time (target beacon transmission time, TBTT) information field in a reduced neighbor report (Reduced Neighbor Report, RNR) element (element). Specifically, an MLD (multi-link device, multi-link device) parameters subfield (MLD parameters subfield) shown in FIG. 5 a is added to the TBTT information field, where the MLD parameters subfield includes a multi-link device identifier (MLD ID), a link identifier (link ID), a change sequence (change sequence), and a group addressed traffic indication. The multi-link device identifier indicates an identifier of an MLD in which a reported AP is located, the link identifier is used for identifying a sequence number of the reported AP of the AP MLD, the change sequence number indicates an updated count value of a key BSS parameter of the reported AP, and the group addressed traffic indication indicates whether the reported AP has a group addressed traffic (par 0155);
S202: The first AP sends the group addressed traffic indication information (par 0184).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XUAN LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473