CTNF 18/258,606 CTNF 81636 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-187 AIA 12-239 In view of the Appeal Brief filed on 8/15/2025 , PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New grounds of rejection set forth below. To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options: (1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or, (2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid. A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below: /CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 Drawings The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “at least one analog first and second threshold values” in Figure 7 as described in the specification (waveform labelled as threshold is described as the claimed temporarily approximately sinusoidal current threshold value characteristic). Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Regarding the above Drawing objection, please note that the claimed “instantaneous current threshold values including the at least one analog first and second current threshold values have a temporally approximately sinusoidal current threshold value characteristic” is one of the argued upon limitation in the Appeal Brief and Figure 7 is the only Figure that shows a sinusoidal waveform labelled as threshold and labelling of the claimed “the at least one analog first and second current threshold values” is important for proper examination and prior art search. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 17-20, 24, 26, 27-32, 34-35 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 17 recites, “temporal characteristics of the voltage and the instantaneous current threshold values” in lines 52-53. It is indefinite, whether recited “the voltage” is the voltage associated with/referring to the level of the voltage or the “voltage characteristic associated with/referring to” temporarily sinusoidal voltage characteristic”. For examination purposes, the above phrase is considered as “temporal characteristics of the sinusoidal voltage characteristic and the instantaneous current threshold values”. Claim 32 has similar recitations and similarly rejected and considered. Claims 18 - 20, 24, 26, 27-31 depend from Claim 17 and Claims 34-35 depend from Claim 32 and are rejected due to dependency to a rejected claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 17-20, 24, 26, 27-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Telefus et al. (US 2020/0366078, IDS Document) with Godridge et al. (US 8,902,618) . Regarding Claim 17 , Telefus discloses a circuit breaker device for protecting an electrical low- voltage circuit (Figures 1-29), the circuit breaker device comprising: a housing (101, Figure 1B) having first and second connections for conductors of the low- voltage circuit (comprising 111, 112, Figures 3A, 3B, note that Figures 3A, 3B are used for the reference elements and description, see also corresponding elements in other Figures and respective description in the specification); a series circuit of a mechanical isolating contact unit (302, Figures 3A, 3B) and an electronic interruption unit (comprising 304, Figures 3A, 3B and Figures shows 302 connected in series with 304, see also corresponding elements in other Figures), said series circuit electrically connecting said first and second connections (series circuit of 302, 304 connecting 111, 112, Figures 3A, 3B); wherein said mechanical isolating contact unit has contacts and is able to be switched by opening said contacts so as to avoid a current flow or closing said contacts to allow the current flow in the electrical low-voltage circuit (Paragraph 84, Paragraph 85, “…the air-gap electromagnetic switch 302 may comprise a latching solenoid or relay element that is responsive to control signals from the switch control circuitry 306 to automatically open or close the electrical contacts of the air-gap electromagnetic switch 302”); wherein said electronic interruption unit has semiconductor-based switching elements (Paragraph 88) and is able to be switched by said semiconductor-based switching elements to a high-resistance state of said semiconductor-based switching elements so as to avoid a current flow or into a low-resistance state of said semiconductor-based switching elements so as to allow current flow in the electrical low-voltage circuit (Paragraph 89, “…The solid-state bidirectional switch 304 is controlled by the switch control circuitry 308 to place the solid-state bidirectional switch 304 into a switched-on state or a switched-off state in response to gate control signals generated by the switch control circuitry 308…”); a current sensor (204, Figure 3A, 240, Figure 3B) for ascertaining a level of a current of the electrical low-voltage circuit such that analog instantaneous current values are present (output of 204 sent to 308 via data acquisition and control line 204-1, Figures 3A, 3B, corresponding elements in other Figures, Paragraph 90); a controller (220, 306, 308, Figures 3A, 3B, corresponding elements in other Figures) connected to said current sensor, said mechanical isolating contact unit and to said electronic interruption unit (306, 308 connected to 204, 302, 304, Figures 3A, 3B, corresponding elements in other Figures), wherein said controller has a microprocessor-controlled digital second subunit (220, Figures 3A, 3B) that provides at least one digital first current threshold value (Figures 11, 22-23, Paragraphs 173, 196, 273-280), said controller has an analog first subunit (comprising 935, Figures 9A-B) with an analog first comparator that is connected to said current sensor (comprising 935-2, Figure 9B, current_sense(+) and current_sense (-) signals from the current sensor connected to 935-2 via 935-1, Figures 9A-9B, 2204/2202, Figure 22), said analog first subunit being further connected to said microprocessor-controlled digital second subunit (over current detection output of 935 in Figure 9B to 220 in Figures 3A, 3B), said controller further has a first digital-to-analog converter that converts the at least one digital first current threshold value into at least one analog first current threshold value (Paragraph 196, “…the processor 220 comprises a current digital to analog converter (current DAC) to generate programmable reference current (e.g., Current Threshold, FIG. 9B) and a general-purpose input/output (GPIO) digital signal pin to receive an over-current detection signal generated by a current sensor (e.g., Over_Current_Detection signal generated by the over-voltage comparator 935-2 of the over-current detection block 930 of the current sensor 900, FIG. 9B)”, Paragraphs 198-200), wherein said analog first comparator compares an analog instantaneous current value with the at least one analog first current threshold value (current_sense(+) /current_sense (-) signals compared with current_threshold by 935-2, Figure 9B, Paragraphs 171, 173-174) and, in an event of an exceedance of the at least one analog first current threshold value, said analog first comparator outputs a signal for avoiding the current flow in the electrical low-voltage circuit at an output of said analog first comparator (over current detection output of 935, Figure 9B); a voltage sensor (comprising 206, 208, Figures 3A, 3B) connected to said controller (206, 208 connected to 220 via 206-1, 208-1, Figures 3A, 3B) so as to ascertain a level of a voltage of the electrical low-voltage circuit such that instantaneous voltage values are present (Paragraph 95); a temperature sensor unit connected to said controller for ascertaining a level of at least one temperature in the circuit breaker device such that instantaneous temperature values are present (Paragraph 170, “….the temperature of the intelligent circuit breaker, as determined by a temperature sensor that is integrated with or otherwise coupled to the intelligent circuit breaker”, Paragraphs 188, 193); said microprocessor-controlled digital second subunit is configured such that the at least one first or/and second current threshold value is computed digitally by taking into account, at least one of the level of the temperature, the level of the voltage, or the level of the instantaneous current value (Paragraph 173, “…the Current_Threshold control signal comprises a current that is generated by a current DAC (digital-to-analog converter) in a control processor (e.g., processor 220, FIGS. 2B and 3B”); and the at least one current threshold value adjusted depending on at least one of the level of the temperature, the voltage or of the level of the current such that, in a case of an increasing temperature or a decreasing voltage or an increasing current, the at least one current threshold value is reduced and, in a case of a decreasing temperature or an increasing voltage or a decreasing current, the at least one current threshold value is increased (Paragraphs 169-170, 188, Paragraph 154, “….such as a digital-to-analog converter (DAC), may be utilized to influence and adjust the short-circuit current threshold in real-time, thereby allowing the system to be programmable with regard to the short-circuit current level. This programmability is particularly useful in extending the performance of the system to improve reaction times and reduce nuisance trips”); wherein: the electrical low-voltage circuit has a temporally sinusoidal voltage characteristic (waveform similarly to 2330, Figure 23, Paragraph 278, “…The waveform 2330 represents a simulated AC current waveform of load current that flows through the sense resistor 2040”, note that measured voltages at N1 and N2 of resistor 2040 in Figure 22 to provide the load current waveform 2330 in Figure 23, Paragraphs 273, 279-280); instantaneous current threshold values including the at least one analog first and second current threshold values have a temporally approximately sinusoidal current threshold value characteristic (current threshold values corresponding to VREF1 and VREF2, current threshold values are shown on 23330 waveform at +200A and -200A, Paragraph 276, “….the first comparator 2202 generates and outputs a logic “1” signal (HC1) when the sense voltage V.sub.Sense at node N2 exceeds the first reference voltage VREF1, and the second comparator 2204 generates and outputs a logic 1 signal (HC2) when the sense voltage V.sub.Sense at node N1 exceeds the second reference voltage VREF2…”, Paragraph 279, “…exemplary embodiment of FIG. 23, it is assumed that the short-circuit detection circuit 2200 is configured to detect over-current conditions when the load current waveform 2330 reaches or exceed 200A or more in either half-cycle”, Paragraphs 275, 277-278, 280); temporal characteristics of the voltage and the instantaneous current threshold values are synchronized in terms of phase such that a time of an amplitude of the voltage matches a time of an amplitude of the current threshold value (waveform 2330 labelled as load current is corresponding to the measured voltages at N1 and N2 of resistor 2040 in Figure 22, 2330 shows instantaneous current threshold values at -200A and +200A corresponding to VREF1 and VREF2, Paragraphs 273-280). Regarding the limitation of instantaneous current threshold values including the at least one analog first and second current threshold values have a temporally approximately sinusoidal current threshold value characteristic, it is noted that Godridge discloses at least two current threshold values, for example, IR_TH_U, IR_TH_L in Figures 4-6 that are described as sinusoidal upper current threshold and sinusoidal lower threshold in Claim 1. Please also see 112 rejection regarding the limitation. Regarding Claim 18 , Telefus discloses the protective switching device according to Claim 17, wherein in the event of the analog instantaneous current value exceeding the at least one analog first current threshold value, avoidance of the current flow in the electrical low- voltage circuit is initiated (over current detection output of 935, Figure 9B, Paragraph 90, “….the switch control circuitry 308 comprises short-circuit detection circuitry which is configured to detect a load-side short-circuit fault, and automatically deactivate the solid-state bidirectional switch 304 in response to the detected short-circuit fault”, HC output at logic 1 upon detecting extreme overcurrent conditions, Figure 22). Regarding Claim 19 , Telefus discloses the protective switching device according to Claim 17, wherein said analog first subunit has said analog first comparator and an analog second comparator that are both connected to said current sensor (comparators 960, 970 respectively, Figure 9B, Paragraph 174, 2204/2202 both connected to current sensor 2040, Figure 22), said current sensor provides the analog instantaneous current value for both said analog first comparator and said analog second comparator (current_sense(+)/current_sense(-) coupled to inverting input of 960 via VRMS output from 935-1, output of 960 coupled to 970, Figure 9B, Paragraph 174, 2040 connected to both 2202, 2204, Figure 22), and said analog first and second comparators are further coupled to said microprocessor-controlled digital second subunit (Paragraphs 196, 273- 280); wherein said microprocessor-controlled digital second subunit provides the at least one digital first current threshold value for said analog first comparator and at second least one digital second current threshold value for said analog second comparator (current_threshold to non-inverting input of 960, Figure 9B, Figure 11, Paragraph 174, Paragraph 196, “FIG. 11 is a state diagram that illustrates a control process which is implemented by an intelligent circuit breaker to detect and protect against fault conditions, …. illustrates a state machine which is implemented by a processor of an intelligent circuit breaker (e.g., processor 220 of intelligent circuit breakers 2B and 3B) to detect over-current fault conditions. … the processor 220 comprises a current digital to analog converter (current DAC) to generate programmable reference current (e.g., Current Threshold, FIG. 9B) and a general-purpose input/output (GPIO) digital signal pin to receive an over-current detection signal generated by a current sensor (e.g., Over_Current_Detection signal generated by the over-voltage comparator 935-2 of the over-current detection block 930 of the current sensor 900, FIG. 9B”, Paragraphs197, 217); wherein said controller has a second digital-to-analog converter that converts the at least one digital second current threshold value into at least one analog second current threshold value (Paragraph 196, “FIG. 11 is a state diagram that illustrates a control process which is implemented by an intelligent circuit breaker to detect and protect against fault conditions, …. illustrates a state machine which is implemented by a processor of an intelligent circuit breaker (e.g., processor 220 of intelligent circuit breakers 2B and 3B) to detect over-current fault conditions. … the processor 220 comprises a current digital to analog converter (current DAC) to generate programmable reference current (e.g., Current Threshold, FIG. 9B), Paragraphs197, 217), and said analog first comparator compares the analog instantaneous current value with the at least one analog first current threshold value and, in an event of an exceedance, said analog first comparator outputs a signal for avoiding the current flow in the electrical low-voltage circuit at said output of said analog first comparator(output of 960, Figure 9B, HC2, HC, Figures 22-23, Paragraph 276, “…comparator 2202 is configured to detect an extreme over-current condition of the load (i.e., short-circuit) during negative half-cycles of the AC supply voltage waveform, and the second comparator 2204 is configured to detect an extreme over-current condition of the load (i.e., short-circuit) during positive half-cycles of the AC supply voltage waveform”, Paragraph 273-275, 277-280); and wherein said analog second comparator compares the analog instantaneous current value with the at least one analog second current threshold value and, in an event of an undershoot, said analog second comparator outputs a signal for avoiding the current flow in the electrical low-voltage circuit at an output of said analog second comparator (output of 970, Figure 9B, Paragraph 174, HC1, HC, Figures 22-23, Paragraph 276, “…comparator 2202 is configured to detect an extreme over-current condition of the load (i.e., short-circuit) during negative half-cycles of the AC supply voltage waveform, and the second comparator 2204 is configured to detect an extreme over-current condition of the load (i.e., short-circuit) during positive half-cycles of the AC supply voltage waveform”, Paragraph 273-275, 277-280). Regarding Claim 20 , Telefus discloses the protective switching device according to Claim 19, wherein: in the event of the analog instantaneous current value exceeding the at least one analog first current threshold value, avoidance of the current flow in the electrical low-voltage circuit is initiated (HC2, HC, Figures 22-23, Paragraph 276, “…comparator 2202 is configured to detect an extreme over-current condition of the load (i.e., short-circuit) during negative half-cycles of the AC supply voltage waveform, and the second comparator 2204 is configured to detect an extreme over-current condition of the load (i.e., short-circuit) during positive half-cycles of the AC supply voltage waveform”, Paragraph 273-275, 277-280); in the event of the analog instantaneous current value falling below the at least one analog second current threshold value, avoidance of the current flow in the electrical low-voltage circuit is initiated (HC1, HC, Figures 22-23, Paragraph 276, “…comparator 2202 is configured to detect an extreme over-current condition of the load (i.e., short-circuit) during negative half-cycles of the AC supply voltage waveform, and the second comparator 2204 is configured to detect an extreme over-current condition of the load (i.e., short-circuit) during positive half-cycles of the AC supply voltage waveform”, Paragraph 273-275, 277-280); and in both cases, the electronic interruption unit switches to the high-resistance state (Paragraph 90, “….the switch control circuitry 308 comprises short-circuit detection circuitry which is configured to detect a load-side short-circuit fault, and automatically deactivate the solid-state bidirectional switch 304 in response to the detected short-circuit fault”). Regarding Claim 24 , Telefus discloses the circuit breaker device according to Claim 17, wherein: the at least one analog first current threshold value is one of a plurality of analog instantaneous current threshold values that are dependent on periodic temporal characteristic of the instantaneous voltage values that are present (Figures 20, 22-23, current threshold values corresponding to VREF1 and VREF2 shown on waveform 2330 in Figure 23, Paragraphs 273-280); and the analog instantaneous current values are compared, in terms of phase, with the analog instantaneous current threshold values by way of a least one said analog first and second comparators and in that, in an event of the instantaneous first and/ or second current threshold value being exceeded/fallen below, interruption of the electrical low-voltage circuit is initiated (Figure 23, Paragraphs 90, 273-280). Regarding Claim 26 , Telefus discloses the circuit breaker device according to Claim 25, wherein a region of a zero-crossing of the voltage matches a region of a minimum value of the current threshold value (Figures 22-25, Paragraphs 273-280). Regarding Claim 27 , Telefus discloses the circuit breaker device according to Claim 17, wherein: said first connections are grid-side connections (111 connected to source 110, Figures 3A, 3B) and said second connections are load-side connections (112 connected to load 120, Figures 3A, 3B), and said mechanical isolating contact unit is assigned to said load-side connections and said electronic interruption unit is assigned to said grid-side connections (Paragraph 88, “….The air-gap electromagnetic switch 302 may be disposed on either the line side (as shown in FIG. 3A) of the solid-state bidirectional switch 304 or on the load side of the solid-state bidirectional switch 304…”). Regarding Claim 28 , Telefus discloses the protective switching device according to Claim 18, wherein in the event of the analog instantaneous current value exceeding the at least one analog first current threshold value, avoidance of the current flow in the electrical low- voltage circuit is initiated by said electronic interruption unit switching to the high- resistance state (Paragraph 90, “….the switch control circuitry 308 comprises short-circuit detection circuitry which is configured to detect a load-side short-circuit fault, and automatically deactivate the solid-state bidirectional switch 304 in response to the detected short-circuit fault”). Regarding Claim 29 , Telefus discloses the protective switching device according to Claim 17, wherein said voltage sensor unit is connected to said microprocessor-controlled digital second subunit of said controller (206, 208 connected to 220 via 206-1, 208-1, Figures 3A, 3B). Regarding Claim 30 , Telefus discloses the protective switching device according to Claim 17, wherein said temperature sensor unit is connected to said microprocessor-controlled digital second subunit of said controller for ascertaining at least one temperature of said electronic interruption unit (Paragraph 170, “….the processor or controller can be configured to adjust the gain of the amplifier 912 based on the temperature of the intelligent circuit breaker, as determined by a temperature sensor that is integrated with or otherwise coupled to the intelligent circuit breaker”, Paragraphs188,193). Regarding Claim 31 , Telefus discloses the protective switching device according to Claim 17, wherein: the first and/or the second current threshold value is computed taking into consideration the level of the temperature, the level of the voltage or the level of the instantaneous current value (Paragraphs 169-170); and in the case of the decreasing temperature or the increasing voltage or the decreasing current, the at least one current threshold value is increased up to a maximum value of the at least one current threshold value (Paragraphs 169-170, 188, Paragraph 154, “….such as a digital-to-analog converter (DAC), may be utilized to influence and adjust the short-circuit current threshold in real-time, thereby allowing the system to be programmable with regard to the short-circuit current level. This programmability is particularly useful in extending the performance of the system to improve reaction times and reduce nuisance trips”). Claim 32 basically recites a method for protecting an electrical low-voltage circuit for a circuit breaker device corresponding to the circuit breaker device of Claim 17. Therefore, Claim 32 is rejected at least for the same reasons as for Claim 17 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Telefus et al. (US 2020/0366078, IDS Document) in view of Boe et al. (US 9,767,969) . Regarding Claim 34 , Telefus discloses the method according to Claim 32 including a processor (220, Figures 3A, 3B, Paragraph 98). Telefus does not specifically disclose a non-transitory computer program, comprising computer executable instructions that when executed by a processor carry out the method according to Claim 32. Boe discloses a method for protecting an electrical low-voltage circuit for a circuit breaker device (Figures 1-2), the method comprising: providing a mechanical isolating contact unit (116a, 116b, Figure 1, 116a, 116b, 116c, Figure 2) connected in series with an electronic interruption unit (108a, 108b, Figure 1, 108a, 108b, 108c, Figure 2), a processor (122, Figures 1-2) and a non-transitory computer program, comprising computer executable instructions which, that when executed by a processor carry out the method on the circuit breaker device (Column 2, lines 55-58, Column 8, lines 46-65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide for the method of Telefus, a computer program as taught by Boe, to facilitate universal availability remote operation. Regarding Claim 35 , combination of Telefus and Boe discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing the computer program according to claim 34 (Boe, Column 2, lines 55-58, Column 8, lines 46-65) . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed on 3/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and/or rendered in view of new grounds of rejection addressing the amended limitation . Applicant's arguments on Pages 8-31 of the Appeal Brief filed on 3/13/2025 are directed toward the limitations of Claim 25 included in the amended Claim 17 and Telefus reference are rendered moot in view of new grounds of rejection (amended Claim 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), rendering the arguments toward 103 rejection of Claim 25 moot) and in view of the current rejection updated to correct the typographical errors (argued upon 2300 is corrected to 2330, sinusoidal waveform 2330 in Figure 22-23). Examiner respectfully notes that newly found reference Godridge is referred (in the rejection of Claim 17 limitation of the instantaneous current threshold values including the at least one analog first and second current threshold values have a temporally approximately sinusoidal current threshold value characteristic) , having the disclosure of at least two current threshold values, for example, IR_TH_U, IR_TH_L in Figures 4-6 that are described as sinusoidal upper current threshold and sinusoidal lower threshold in Claim 1 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kuhla et al. (US 2015/0349671) discloses a protective switching device for protecting an electrical low- voltage circuit (Sole Figure), the protective switching device comprising: a series circuit of a mechanical isolating contact unit (comprising 11, 21) and an electronic interruption unit (comprising 12, 22), said series circuit electrically connecting a first and second connections (series circuit of 11, 21 and 12, 22 connecting conductors 10, 20 from a first connection at 3, 3 to a second connections at 4, 4); wherein: said first connections are grid-side connections (3, 3 are grid side connection to power supply 9) and said second connections are load-side connections (4, 4 are load side connections to load 5); Hussmann (US 2021/0296059) discloses a protective switching device for protecting an electrical low- voltage circuit (Sole Figure), the protective switching device comprising: a series circuit of a mechanical isolating contact unit (comprising K1, K2, K3) and an electronic interruption unit (comprising E), said series circuit electrically connecting a first and second connections (series circuit of K1, K2, K3 and E connecting a first connection AK4, AK5, AK6 to a second connection AK1, AK2, AK3); wherein: said first connections are grid-side connections (AK4, AK5, AK6 are grid-side connections) and said second connections are load-side connections (AK1, AK2, AK3 are load/sink side connections, Paragraph 89), and said mechanical isolating contact unit is assigned to said load-side connections and said electronic interruption unit is assigned to said grid-side connections (Paragraph 89); Orchowski (US 2011/0058296) discloses a protective switching device comprising a series circuit of a mechanical isolating contact unit and electronic interruption unit (relay 112 in series with solid state switches 126A, 126B connected between source 102 and load 104, Figure 1). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LUCY M THOMAS whose telephone number is (571)272-6002. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 9:30 am - 5:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Crystal L Hammond can be reached at (571)270-1682. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LUCY M THOMAS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2838, 5/30/2026 /CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/258,606 Page 2 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/258,606 Page 3 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/258,606 Page 4 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/258,606 Page 5 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/258,606 Page 6 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/258,606 Page 7 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/258,606 Page 8 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/258,606 Page 9 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/258,606 Page 10 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/258,606 Page 11 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/258,606 Page 12 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/258,606 Page 13 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/258,606 Page 14 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/258,606 Page 15 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/258,606 Page 16 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/258,606 Page 17 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/258,606 Page 18 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/258,606 Page 19 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/258,606 Page 20 Art Unit: 2838