DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The amendments and arguments filed on 07/09/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-16 are now pending. Claims 2 and 6 are canceled; claim 1 is amended; claims 5 and 7-16 are withdrawn.
Claims 1 and 3-4 will be examined on the merits herein.
Objections/Rejections Withdrawn
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous Office Actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied, and constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 2009000433 A1 (Nair, 2009) in view of US PGPUB 20150374624 A1 (Ragot et al., 2015).
Nair teaches a composition comprising a plant, plant part, or extract of Curcuma longa, Cuminum Cyminum, Sygzygium aromaticum, Zingiber officinale, Foeniculum vulgare, Nigella sativa, Myristica fragrans, Glycyrrhiza glabra, Trigonella foneum-gracium, and Linum usitatissiumum in the amount from about 0.1 wt% to about 20 wt% based on the total weight of the composition (see Nair, paragraph 0021; claims 10-12). MPEP 2144.05 states that "[i]n the case where the claimed ranges 'overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists" quoting In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Nair is silent on the use of Cinnamomum verum, Elettaria cardamom, and Psidium guajava in any amount and is silent on the amount of Linum usitatissimum being 31.5% by weight of the total formulation.
Ragot teaches an infusion composition for making a herbal beverage or tea using hot water extraction (see Ragot, abstract; paragraph 0098) comprising the plant extract of Curcuma longa, Cuminum Cyminum, Sygzygium aromaticum, Zingiber officinale, Foeniculum vulgare, Nigella sativa, Myristica fragrans, Glycyrrhiza glabra, Trigonella foneum-gracium, Linum usitatissiumum, Cinnamomum verum, Elettaria cardamom, and Psidium guajava (see Ragot, paragraphs 0064, 0068). The plant extract is taught to be from the root, leave, and seeds of the plants (see Ragot, paragraphs 0058, 0060-0061). It is taught that the composition comprises more than one of the plant extracts in varying amounts, such as up to 50% (see Ragot, paragraph 0138). As such, it would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to envisage a composition with amounts up to 50% of one plant extract with mixtures of another plant extract. MPEP 2144.05 states that "[i]n the case where the claimed ranges 'overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists" quoting In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
In regards to claim 1, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate the instant composition using the teachings of Nair and Ragot as both references teach nutritional supplements using similar ingredients. Further, both compositions are drawn to herbal extracts from plant materials. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art combine the teachings of Ragot according to the known method of making a dietary nutritional supplement of Nair (see Nair, Example 1) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Further in regard to claim 1, a product-by-process claim drawn to a composition directed towards the composition, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. The combination of Nair and Ragot teach the instantly claimed composition. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). "The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by- process claims because of their peculiar nature" than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing a nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. The teachings of Nair and Ragot teach the composition as instantly claimed, thus the burden shifts to the applicant to come forward with evidence showing that the process of making the composition as instantly claimed produces a materially different product than the composition of Nair and Ragot.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 2009000433 A1 (Nair, 2009) in view of US PGPUB 20150374624 A1 (Ragot et al., 2015) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Adaramola (2016).
The teachings of Nair and Ragot have been described supra.
The teachings of Nair and Ragot are silent on the Syzygium aromaticum extract being extracted from the flower buds.
Adaramola teaches that extracts of clove (i.e., Syzygium aromaticum) are known to come from the clove bud, which is the dried unopened flower bud of the clove tree (see Adaramola, introduction, paragraph 2). It is also taught that the clove extract is extracted using water extraction (see Adaramola, 2.1 Sample collection and preparation).
In regards to claim 3, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate the instant composition using the teachings of Nair and Ragot with Adaramola as both Nair and Ragot teach that the extract comes from a plant part (see Nair, claim 10; Ragot, paragraph 0058) and Adaramola teaches that the extraction is done with clove buds, which are a part of the plant. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art combine the teachings of Adaramola (i.e., to use the clove buds to get an extract of clove) according to the known method of using clove extract as discussed in Nair and Ragot to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The declaration of Siva Vallabhaneni presents data for the compound of claim 4 and is able to establish that the claimed range has unexpected results. As such claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of the modified grounds of rejection as necessitated by amendment for claims 1 and 3.
In regards to applicant’s argument the claim is amended to include the method of making the composition, but a product-by-process claim drawn to a composition directed towards the composition, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. The combination of Nair and Ragot teach the instantly claimed composition. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). "The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by- process claims because of their peculiar nature" than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing a nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. The teachings of Nair and Ragot teach the composition as instantly claimed, thus the burden shifts to the applicant to come forward with evidence showing that the process of making the composition as instantly claimed produces a materially different product than the composition of Nair and Ragot.
In regard to applicant’s arguments that none of the cited references disclose the benefits that are taught in the instant application, it is noted that the fact that applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). In the instant case, the art teaches the claimed range of the claimed compounds and as such, the composition is rendered obvious.
In regard to applicant’s arguments of unexpected results and the declaration of Siva Vallabhaneni, applicant is reminded that whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980). In the instant case, the data presented is enough to overcome the rejection of claim 4 as claim 4 recites the ranges of the amounts of the compounds that are commensurate with the data. However it is not enough to overcome the art rejections of claims 1 and 3 as the ranges of claim 1 are much broader than those presented in the data, which are taught in the prior art as discussed in the rejection. For example, Nigella sativa is claimed in an amount of 1.5%-10%, but the data shows results only for 1.5%. To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960). The data is only enough to show that the claimed amounts of compounds in claim 4 exhibit the beneficial properties as discussed, however it is not enough to establish that the results would be present over the total range of claim 1. With so many individual components this is especially important. As such, the data presented is not commensurate with the claimed ranges of claim 1 and cannot establish unexpected results.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISIS A GHALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/A.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1611