DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment received on December 1st , 2025.
The applicant has cancelled claim 2.
Claims 1, 3-5, and 9-12 are pending and were examined on the merits.
Any objection or rejection not reiterated below is hereby withdrawn.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the instant application. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. The foreign priority date is December 22nd, 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed June 21, 2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein for the lined-through reference has not been considered. The reference without a concise explanation of relevance is Foreign Patent Document 5 (DE-102016117651-A1).
Drawings
Regarding the drawings received on December 1st, 2025:
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Withdrawal of Objections and Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, filed December 1st, 2025, with respect to the objection to claim 11 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to claim 11 has been withdrawn. The applicant has amended claim 1 to correct the typographical error “psoriasiss” to “psoriasis”.
The rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 101 is withdrawn, this claim having been cancelled by the applicant.
Applicant’s arguments, filed December 1st, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. has been withdrawn. The applicant has amended claim 1 to recite a formulation comprising percentages of components of the composition not disclosed by the prior art reference Wilson.
Applicant’s arguments, filed December 1st , 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 3-5, and 9-12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is presented below in view of the applicant's amendmen.
The rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn, this claim having been cancelled by the applicant.
Pending Objections and Rejections
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the term "; the term "Trichosanthes Anguina" should be recited " Trichosanthes anguina" for correct capitalization of this species name. Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the terms Chatillon, Dinolite, and Caselite software, each of which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. Each term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, each term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
The applicant’s assistance is requested in correctly formatting any trade names and trade marks that they become aware of in the instant disclosure, even if these trade name(s) or trade mark(s) are not explicitly pointed out by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term "Murraya koenigil" should be changed to "Murraya koenigii" for correct spelling, and the term “Cifrus X Limon” should be changed to “Citrus X Limon” for correct spelling. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities: ; ; the term "Trichosanthes Anguina" should be recited " Trichosanthes anguina" for correct capitalization of this species name. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “treatment” in claims 10 and 11 is used by the claim to mean “condition,” (as in a bodily condition affecting the hair (claim 10) or scalp (claim 11)) while the accepted meaning is “a process that ameliorates or alleviates a bodily condition or disease”. The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. As a suggested amendment for the applicant to review, the applicant may recite “treatment is treatment of a condition selected from the group consisting of …” (new text underlined) in claims 10 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural product without significantly more.
Applicant's arguments filed December 1st, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection of claims 1 and 3-5 under 35 U.S.C. 101 is maintained for the reasons recited below.
The applicant asserts that the claimed formulation is “man -made” and “synergistic”, having functional characteristics markedly distinct from any naturally occurring materials or simple mixtures thereof. The applicant recites the process of making the instantly claimed composition resulting in a composition that is not naturally occurring. The applicant recites “The resultant formulation exhibits distinct physico-chemical characteristics such as improved solubility, homogeneity, and stability, as well as enhanced bioactivity, as demonstrated in the experimental results on hair growth, strength, and thickness described in the specification at Tables 3 to 15 and figures 1 to 16” (emphasis made by the applicant). The experimental results on hair growth, strength, and thickness described in the specification at Tables 3 to 15 and figures 1 to 16 support the credible utility of the instantly claimed composition, but they do not support improved solubility, homogeneity, and stability, as well as enhanced bioactivity compared to the naturally occurring source materials of the composition. To argue for a synergistic interaction among multiple phytoconstituents, the applicant has cited experimental results on hair density, hair thickness & strength, hair fall reduction, and hair texture shine and thinning. While these results give the instantly claimed composition credible utility, they do not demonstrate that the bioactivity of the claimed composition is a synergistic or non-additive effect of multiple ingredients rather than the cumulative effect of the bioactive properties of each individual ingredient.
The applicant recites that the present invention is a “process-driven, ratio-specific condensate”. However, it is not clear that the process of making the composition, or the ratios of its component parts render a composition with functional characteristics that markedly differentiate it from its naturally occurring source materials.
The applicant recites “the claims recite a specific, practical application that ‘applies, relies on, or uses’ the natural product combination to achieve a concrete technical result, which is improved scalp and hair health”. However, this argument is inapplicable to instant claims 1 and 3-5, because instant claims 1 and 3-5 are drawn to a natural product combination, not a process that applies, relies on, or uses a natural product combination.
The applicant further recites “The claimed composition is limited to a specific formulation with defined constituents and concentration ranges, conferring measurable technical benefits demonstrated by empirical data”. However, it is not clear that the defined constituents and concentration ranges render a composition with functional characteristics that markedly differentiate it from its naturally occurring source materials. Although the empirical data recited in the disclosure supports the utility of the instantly claimed composition, it does not demonstrate functional characteristics different from its naturally occurring source materials.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mosebar, S., "The 25 Foods for Hair Growth You Need to Eat" (September 21, 2020), in view of Rajput, et al. "Medicinal plants: A potential source of novel bioactive compounds showing antimicrobial efficacy against pathogens infecting hair and scalp", Gene Reports, Volume 21, 2020, 100879., and Ganguli, U., "Snake Gourd" (March 11, 2017) and Kim (JP-2020152711-A).
Mosebar, S. teaches several "best foods for hair growth" including chia seeds (i.e. Salvia hispanica, containing protein, fiber and antioxidants needed for hair thickness), flaxseeds (i.e. Linum usitatissimum, nourishing the scalp, preventing dryness and leading to smooth/soft hair), walnuts (i.e. Juglans regia, supplying copper to protect hair color/prevent greying), almonds (i.e. Prunus dulcis, containing biotin for hair thickness, softness and length), peanuts (i.e. Arachis hypogaea, containing biotin for promoting hair growth and preventing hair loss), spinach (i.e. Spinacia oleracea, containing folate and iron for nourishing hair follicles, as well as vitamin C and magnesium to support hair and
skin, sweet potato (i.e. Ipomoea batatas, containing beta-carotene precursor to Vitamin A and iron for hair growth and strength), guava (i.e. Psidium guajava, essential for collagen production and Vitamin C), and cinnamon (i.e. Cinnamomum zeylanicum, promoting healthy hair follicles and growth). Mosebar, S. further broadly teaches beans and legumes provide protein, Vitamin B vitamins, and zinc needed to promote hair health and growth (broadly teaching chickpeas, i.e. Cicer arietinum). Mosebar, S. similarly teaches citrus fruits provide a good dose of Vitamin C essential for collagen production (broadly teaching lemon, i.e. Citrus X Limon), as required in claims 1, 3-5, and 9-12.
Mosebar, S. is silent regarding Trichosanthes anguina L (i.e. snake gourd), Eclipta prostrata (i.e. False Daisy), Murraya koenigii (i.e. Curry), Trigonella foenum-graecum (Moringa), and Cuminum cyminum (i.e. Cumin). Mosebar, S. is further silent regarding the weight percent of each plant ingredient in the herbal formulation, as required in claims 1, 4, and 5.
Rajput, et al., however, teaches topically applied herbal formulations comprising plants/plant extracts/decoctions/pastes can strengthen and nourish hair and scalp, enhance the growth of hair and stop hair fall (Introduction, page 2). Rajput, et al. further teaches key ingredients of some herbal hair oils and herbal shampoos comprising plant ingredient(s) Eclipta alba/officinalis (i.e. Eclipta prostrata), Trigonella foenum-graecum, Cicer arietinum, Citrus limon (i.e. lemon/ lemon oil), and Murraya koenigii (See, for e.g., Tables 2 & 3), as required in claims 1, 3-5, and 9-12. Ganguli, U. teaches application of snake gourd (i.e. Trichosanthes anguina L.) promotes healthy hair, scalp and skin by promoting hydration due to its high vitamin, mineral, moisture and antioxidant content (see page 6), as required in claims 9-12. Ganguli, U. further teaches external application of snake gourd sap helps in treating dandruff and alopecia (e.g. broadly inclusive of male pattern baldness, synonymously known as androgenetic alopecia) (see page 7), as required in claims 9-12.
Regarding the component Cuminum cyminum, Kim (JP-2020152711-A) discloses a shampoo composition comprising an extract of multiple materials including Cuminum cyminum, reciting the shampoo composition is for “improving scalp and hair conditions, which is to alleviate scalp itching and promote blood circulation, thus improving dandruff, dead skin cells, etc. and preventing hair loss” (Abstract). The term “preventing”, recited by Kim is understood broadly, as encompassing inhibiting hair loss, reasonably an effect of an anti-alopecia treatment. Kim discloses it is preferable to use water as the extraction solvent (machine translation page 5 of 8, lines 1-10 from the top). It may also be obvious to try using Cuminum cyminum to treat alopecia as it is among a finite number of species belonging to the family as Apiaceae, the same family as Anethum graveolens, known to treat Staphylococcus aureus and Pseudomonas aeruginosa infections (Rajput Table 3), implicated in folliculitis (Rajput, Table 1 and subheading 3.1.4). Considering the teachings of Kim and Rajput, one of skill in the art would consider Cuminum cyminum as a material useful for treating alopecia, and therefore would be motivated to combine Cuminum cyminum with other materials useful for treating alopecia for the purpose of treating alopecia.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the individual plant ingredients for hair and/or scalp health taught by Mosebar, S. with the additional ingredients taught by Rajput, Ganguli, and Kim, particularly where it was well-known in the art that all of the plant ingredients individually and in combination promoted hair and/or scalp health, and were reasonably useful for treating alopecia. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of the references particularly where Rajput, et al. and Ganguli, U. both taught that the plant ingredients were known in the art to be safe and effective combined in a composition and/or formulation for treating hair and/or scalp (e.g. dandruff and/or alopecia (e.g. broadly including male pattern baldness)). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in modifying Mosebar, S. to combine the plant ingredients taught by the references in a composition because the individual effects of these ingredients is well-documented and predictable in treating hair and/or scalp conditions.
Mosebar, S., Rajput, et al., and Ganguli, U. is/are relied upon for the reasons discussed above. If not expressly taught by the references, based on the overall beneficial teaching provided by the references with respect to the ingredients of the composition(s) and/or method(s) of making using disclosed therein, the adjustments of particular conventional working conditions (E.g. the weight percentage of the plant ingredients, as required in claims ) in which to perform such method is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. As discussed in MPEP section 2144.05(II)(A), "Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. '[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.' In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)." Varying the parameters (i.e. the weight percent of each of the plant ingredients), is not considered to be inventive unless these parameters are demonstrated as critical. In this particular case, there is no evidence that the claimed parameters produces an unexpected result. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of weight percentage of each of the plant ingredients would have been obvious before the effective filing date of applicant's claimed invention.
From the teachings of the reference, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of the contrary.
Please note, since the Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing
Applicants’ composition with the composition of the prior art, the burden is on applicant to show
a novel or unobvious difference between the claimed product and the product of the prior art. See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980), and “as a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith.” In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972).
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection of claims 1, 3-5, and 9-12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained for the reasons recited below.
In response to the applicant’s arguments relying on the process of making the composition implied by the language of amended claim 1 (aqueous extraction, possibly followed by condensation) it is not clear that the components of the composition resulting from aqueous extraction or condensate, as implied by instant claim 1, are not present in the materials as recited by the prior art references. Regarding product-by-process claims, see MPEP § 2113 I. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted)”, and MPEP § 2113 II. "The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature" than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an nonobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to the applicant’s allegation that none of the cited references, either individually or in combination, teaches or suggests that such a defined aqueous extract composition would exhibit a distinct compositional and functional profile compared to its natural plant sources. The applicant has not specifically pointed out the non-natural compositional and functional characteristics that differentiate the instantly claimed invention from the materials recited in the prior art.
Regarding the applicant’s allegation that “This extractive process fundamentally alters the physicochemical and bioactive profiles of the ingredients compared to their natural or powdered forms”; the applicant’s disclosure does not support this argument as it has not recited a comparison of the physicochemical and bioactive profiles of the ingredients compared to their natural or powdered forms. Moreover, the applicant’s arguments have not pointed out the specific non-obvious compositional differences between the instant invention and materials recited in the priori art.
In response to the applicant’s allegation that the claimed formulation has a synergistic effect, the synergistic effect is either absent or the synergistic effect is inherently present, though not enabled by the applicant’s disclosure, considering that the disclosed examples do not demonstrate a non-additive effect from combining the individual ingredients of the instantly claimed composition, but rather the bioactive utility of the composition.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the teachings of the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the motivation to combine the teachings of the prior art references is Regarding the component Cuminum cyminum, Kim (JP-2020152711-A) discloses a shampoo composition comprising an extract of multiple materials including Cuminum cyminum, reciting the shampoo composition is for “improving scalp and hair conditions, which is to alleviate scalp itching and promote blood circulation, thus improving dandruff, dead skin cells, etc. and preventing hair loss” (Abstract). The term “preventing”, recited by Kim is understood broadly, as encompassing inhibiting hair loss, reasonably an effect of an anti-alopecia treatment. Kim discloses it is preferable to use water as the extraction solvent (machine translation page 5 of 8, lines 1-10 from the top). It may also be obvious to try using Cuminum cyminum to treat alopecia as it is among a finite number of species belonging to the family as Apiaceae, the same family as Anethum graveolens, known to treat Staphylococcus aureus and Pseudomonas aeruginosa infections (Rajput Table 3), implicated in folliculitis (Rajput, Table 1 and subheading 3.1.4). Considering the teachings of Kim and Rajput, one of skill in the art would consider Cuminum cyminum as a material useful for treating alopecia, and therefore would be motivated to combine Cuminum cyminum with other materials useful for treating alopecia for the purpose of treating alopecia.
The applicant alleges that the skilled artisan would have no reasonable expectation that combining such chemically diverse plant materials, many of which contain reactive polyphenols and tannins, would yield a stable and synergistically active condensate extract, rather than mutual degradation or precipitation. The synergistic activity of the instantly claimed composition is disputed above by the examiner. Furthermore, the applicant has not cited art demonstrating an expected mutual degradation or precipitation from combining the materials as instantly claimed. Without evidence to the contrary, the examiner holds the position that one of skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success at combining the ingredients recited in the instant claims while maintaining their bioactive properties relevant to treating alopecia.
In response to the applicant’s arguments relying on the weight proportions of plant components of the instantly claimed composition as recited in instant claims 1, 4, and/or 5, these weight proportions are obvious to one of skill in the art over routine optimization, as one of skill in the art could weigh each component, and thereby adjust the weight percent of each component in the composition. One of skill in the art could administer at regular intervals different compositions, differing by the weight percentages of ingredients, to a human subject with alopecia. One of skill in the art could photograph the scalp of the subject over the course of the treatment. One of skill in the art could compare photographs of the scalps of subjects administered different compositions as recited above, and thereby compare the biological effects of each composition on hair growth. Therefore, the weight percent limitations recited in claims 1, 4, and 5, are obvious to one of skill in the art over routine optimization.
Mosebar, Rajput, and Ganguli are relied upon for the reasons discussed above and in the previous office action. If not expressly taught thereby, based upon the overall beneficial teachings provided by the references with respect to providing the herbal formulation for scalp and hair related disorders and diseases, the adjustments of particular conventional working conditions (e.g., the selection from among known components and determining one or more suitable ranges (amounts, proportions, ratios thereof) in which to provide the herbal formulation), is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan.
From the teachings of Mosebar in view of Rajput and Ganguli, the invention as a whole, drawn to an herbal formulation as described in Claims 1 and 3-5, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Please note, since the Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing
Applicants’ composition with the composition of the prior art, the burden is on applicant to show
a novel or unobvious difference between the claimed product and the product of the prior art. See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980), and “as a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith.” In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/R.F.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655