DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I, claims 1, 20, and 21, in the reply filed on March 6, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the special technical feature is not known in the art. This is not found persuasive because the special technical feature of claim 1 is known in the art. Nitta et al. (JP 2017218713) in view of Liu et al. (WO 2020/142388) teach the claimed copolymer of claim 1.
Nitta et al. teaches a silicone-acrylate copolymer (pg. 2) comprising 90 parts by weight of stearyl acrylate/a monomer of the first repeat unit, where R1 has 18 carbon atoms and R2 is hydrogen; 8 parts by weight of a siloxane modified acrylate of the formula
; and 2 parts of hydroxyethyl methacrylate/a monomer of third repeat unit, where R2 is methyl, R7 is an oxygen atom, D3 is an ethylene group, v is zero, and R8 is a hydroxyl group/crosslinkable group (Example 7). Z1 and Z2 are zero in this example.
Nitta et al. does not teach the siloxane modified acrylate as having 10 to 16 silicon atoms. However, Liu et al. teaches a silicone-acrylate copolymer comprising a siloxane modified acrylate of the formula
(¶00257) or
(¶0071). Nitta et al. and Liu et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, silicone-acrylate copolymers. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the monomer of Liu et al. for the siloxane modified monomer of Nitta et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Liu et al. suggests, the claimed monomer provides higher viscosity and improved water contact angle when compared to the monomer of Nitta et al. (Table 2, Example 4 and Comparative Example 2).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 2-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on March 6, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nitta et al. (JP 2017218713) in view of Liu et al. (WO 2020/142388). Note: A machine translation provided by the applicant on June 21, 2023 is being used for JP 2017218713.
Considering Claims 1, 20, and 21: Nitta et al. teaches a silicone-acrylate copolymer (pg. 2) comprising 90 parts by weight of stearyl acrylate/a monomer of the first repeat unit, where R1 has 18 carbon atoms and R2 is hydrogen; 8 parts by weight of a siloxane modified acrylate of the formula
; and 2 parts of hydroxyethyl methacrylate/a monomer of third repeat unit, where R2 is methyl, R7 is an oxygen atom, D3 is an ethylene group, v is zero, and R8 is a hydroxyl group/crosslinkable group (Example 7). Z1 and Z2 are zero in this example.
Nitta et al. does not teach the siloxane modified acrylate as having 10 to 16 silicon atoms. However, Liu et al. teaches a silicone-acrylate copolymer comprising a siloxane modified acrylate of the formula
(¶00257) or
(¶0071). Nitta et al. and Liu et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, silicone-acrylate copolymers. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the monomer of Liu et al. for the siloxane modified monomer of Nitta et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Liu et al. suggests, the claimed monomer provides higher viscosity and improved water contact angle when compared to the monomer of Nitta et al. (Table 2, Example 4 and Comparative Example 2).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 20, and 21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/681,245 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 2 of application ‘245 teaches a composition comprising the claimed copolymer taught in an anticipatory manner. As the claim recites the copolymer, it implicitly teaches the copolymer, even though the claim as a whole is directed towards an emulsion.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767