Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 114-124) in the reply filed on 12/08/2025 is acknowledged. Non-elected claims 125-133 are withdrawn from consideration. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 114 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020/043900A1. Regarding claim 114, WO 2020/043900A1 discloses an aerosol generating device (abstract) comprising an inductive heating arrangement and a power source configured to provide power to the inductive heating arrangement (page 10, lines 9-12, Figures 1, 2), and the method comprising: performing, during a first heating phase during user operation of the aerosol- generating device for producing an aerosol (page 34, line 25 to page 35, line 8 and in particular page 35, lines 3-5), a calibration process comprising measuring one or more calibration values associated with a susceptor inductively coupled to the inductive heating arrangement (page 33, line 19 to page 34, line 14, Figure 5, wherein the calibration process consist on choosing one of the curves T/r), wherein the susceptor is configured to heat an aerosol-forming substrate (page 11, lines 4-22); and during a second heating phase during the user operation of the aerosol-generating device for producing the aerosol, controlling power provided to the inductive heating arrangement such that a temperature of the susceptor is adjusted based on the one or more calibration values (page 31, line 26 to page 32, line 25, wherein the temperature is determined based on the curve chosen during the calibration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 115-118 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/043900A1, in view of WO 2020/064685A1. Regarding claims 115-118, over WO 2020/043900A1 discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention except interrupting provision of power to the inductive heating arrangement when the current value reaches a maximum, wherein the current value at the maximum corresponds to a second calibration temperature of the susceptor, and(iv) monitoring the current value associated with the susceptor until the current value reaches a minimum, wherein the current value at the minimum corresponds to a first calibration temperature of the susceptor. WO 2020/064685A1 discloses the steps of interrupting provision of power to the inductive heating arrangement when the current value reaches a maximum, wherein the current value at the maximum corresponds to a second calibration temperature of the susceptor, and(iv) monitoring the current value associated with the susceptor until the current value reaches a minimum, wherein the current value at the minimum corresponds to a first calibration temperature of the susceptor (page 29, line 1 through page 30, line 29, Figure 4). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to utilize in WO 2020/043900A1 the steps of interrupting provision of power to the inductive heating arrangement when the current value reaches a maximum, wherein the current value at the maximum corresponds to a second calibration temperature of the susceptor, and(iv) monitoring the current value associated with the susceptor until the current value reaches a minimum, wherein the current value at the minimum corresponds to a first calibration temperature of the susceptor as taught by WO 2020/064685A1 in order to optimum detect the temperature of the substrate. Regarding claims 119-122, WO 2020/064685A1 discloses during the first heating phase, performing a pre-heating process, wherein the pre-heating process is performed before the calibration process, and wherein the pre-heating process has a predetermined duration, wherein the pre-heating process comprises the steps of: i) controlling the power provided to the inductive heating arrangement to cause an increase of the temperature of the susceptor, ii) monitoring at least a current value associated with the susceptor, and iii) interrupting provision of power to the inductive heating arrangement when the current value reaches a minimum (page 18, lines 15-25). Regarding claim 123, WO 2020/043900A1 discloses the aerosol-generating device (100) is configured to receive the aerosol-generating article (116), wherein the aerosol-generating article comprises the susceptor (110) and the aerosol-forming substrate (page 25, line 31), and wherein the pre-heating process is performed in response to detecting a presence of the aerosol-generating article (page 24, line 5 through page 25, line 4). Regarding claim 124, WO 2020/043900A1 discloses the controlling the power provided to the inductive heating arrangement (150) during the second heating phase comprises controlling the power to the inductive heating arrangement (150) to cause a step-wise increase of a temperature of the susceptor from a first operating temperature to a second operating temperature (page 30, line 16 through page 31, line 7).
/QUANG T VAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 March 6, 2026