DETAILED ACTION
Election of Species and Status of the Claims
Applicant’s election with traverse of
as the single specific compound in the response filed on December 22nd 2025 is acknowledged. Applicant argues that the compound cited from Whitehead (WO2016/100347A2) in the election of species requirement filed on September 25th 2025 lacks a carbon between the amine and phenyl groups, and thus Whitehead does not serve as art for the instant compounds. However, as demonstrated below, applicant’s compounds are obvious variations of the compounds disclosed by Whitehead. Thus, the election of species requirement is deemed proper. Claims 63-82 are pending and are examined on their merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on February 25th 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered in full. A signed copy of references cited from the IDS is included with this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 78 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon without significantly more. The claim recites the contact of a biological sample with the compound of claim 63 and an observation of said contact (the modulation of EGFR and/or PI3K). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because only the contact of the sample with the compound and the results of said contact are recited. The claim do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the contact of a biological sample with the compound and the modulation of EGFR and/or PI3K in said sample amounts to a standard laboratory experiment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 63-82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whitehead (WO2016/100347A2 published on June 23rd 2016) in view of Brown (Brown, Bioisosteres in Medicinal Chemistry, 2012).
Claims 63-76 are directed towards applicant’s elected species of:
.
Whitehead teaches the compound,
(Whitehead, pg. 11),
which differs from applicant’s compound in just two locations:
.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in developing applicant’s compound from Whitehead’s compound, because both of the aforementioned substitutions (i.e. the replacement of a hydrogen with a chlorine and the replacement of a hydrogen with a methyl) are common bioisosteric replacements, well-known in the art of drug discovery (Brown, pg. 17). Applicant’s compound is thereby an obvious variation of Whitehead’s compound and claims 63-76 are prima facie obvious.
Claim 77 is directed to a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of claim 63. Whitehead teaches such pharmaceutical compositions (Whitehead, pg. 25), and claim 77 is prima facie obvious.
Claim 78 is directed towards a method of modulating an EGFR and/or PI3K enzyme in a biological sample via contact of the sample with the compound of claim 63. Whitehead teaches the inhibition of EGFR and PI3K activity in cells via contact of the cells with Whitehead’s compound (Whitehead, pg. 26), and claim 78 is prima facie obvious.
Claims 79-81 are directed towards the treatment of breast cancer with the compound of claim 63. Whitehead teaches the treatment of breast cancers with the compound (Whitehead, pg. 39), and claims 79-81 are prima facie obvious.
Claim 82 limits the breast cancer treated in claim 81 to triple negative breast cancer. Whitehead tests compounds against the MDA-MB-468 triple negative breast cancer cell line. One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore have a reasonable expectation of success in treating triple negative breast cancer with Whitehead’s compounds, and claim 82 is prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 63-82 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 63-82 of co-pending Application No. 18/307,576 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 63-82 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,673,876 (reference patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent teaches many compounds identical to those found in the instant application. For example, compounds 2, 2R, 2S, 22 and others.
Conclusion
/A.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629