DETAILED ACTION
Response dated 3/3/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunlap (US 20050068182 A1) in view of Bourilkov (WO 2013101652 A1) and DYCHE (CN 112534441 A) and Tuttle (US 8531298 B2).
Re Claim 1: Dunlap discloses a radio frequency identification (RFID) labelled article comprising: a front end; a rear end; and at least one sidewall between the front end and the rear end (fig 4); wherein the at least one sidewall comprises an embedded RFID label (fig 4: 72).
However, Dunlap does not disclose that the radio frequency identification label is curved.
Bourilkov however discloses that the radio frequency identification label is curved (figs 2a-d and fig 3a, The curved sides of the tag antenna closing on the opposing sides of the cylinder).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate Bourilkov’s teaching in the article of Dunlap for the purpose of incorporating label(s) in curved wall(s) of products.
However, Dunlap modified by Bourilkov does not disclose that the radio frequency identification label is an Ultra High Frequency radio frequency identification label; and allowing reading and writing of multiple RFID labelled articles in bulk using a single RFID reader.
DYCHE however discloses that the radio frequency identification label is an Ultra High Frequency radio frequency identification label (abst) and allowing reading and writing of multiple RFID labelled articles in bulk using a single RFID reader (a high density environment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate DYCHE’s teaching in the article of Dunlap modified by Bourilkov for the purpose of allowing bulk reading using a single RFID reader; and thus, allowing items in bulk to be read accurately and cost efficiently.
However, Dunlap modified by Bourilkov and DYCHE does not disclose that an antenna of the Ultra High Frequency radio frequency identification label is sized for the RFID label to be readable from more than one directions.
Tuttle however disclose that an antenna of the radio frequency identification label is sized for the RFID label to be readable from more than one directions (col 3 ll 51: three dimensions of antenna polarity are achieved).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinarily skill in the art to incorporate Tuttle’s teaching in the article of Dunlap modified by Bourilkov and DYCHE for the purpose of allowing RFID labels to be read irrespective of the orientation of the RFID labels with respect to the reader; and thus, allowing items in bulk to be read accurately and cost efficiently.
Re Claim 2: Dunlap modified by Bourilkov DYCHE and Tuttle discloses the RFID labelled article as claimed in claim 1, wherein the RFID label is embedded within the article using in-mould labelling, over moulding, or a combination of both (p12: injection molded and/or blow molded with a small computer or memory chip applied thereto in the injection molding or blow molding process, p13: inserting the RFID in the mold when the plastic article is injection molded).
Re Claim 3: Dunlap modified by Bourilkov DYCHE and Tuttle discloses the RFID labelled article as claimed in claim 1, wherein the article is a rigid needle shield (RNS), a luer lock tip closure, a syringe, a tube, a storage container (fig 4, p12: hollow container), a ring, or a bird ring.
Re Claim 4: Dunlap modified by Bourilkov DYCHE and Tuttle discloses the RFID labelled article as claimed in claim 1, wherein the RFID label is placed either on an inner surface of the at least one sidewall, on an outer surface of the at least one sidewall (p13: The RFID may if desired be applied in the molding process so that it is flush with the outside surface of the article.) or between the inner surface of the at least one sidewall and the outer surface of the at least one sidewall.
Re Claim 5: Dunlap modified by Bourilkov DYCHE and Tuttle discloses the RFID labelled article as claimed in claim 1, except for the thickness of the at least one sidewall being between 0.2 mm and 3 mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the thickness of the at least one sidewall, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Re Claim 6: Dunlap modified by Bourilkov DYCHE and Tuttle discloses the RFID labelled article as claimed in claim 1, except for an antenna of the RFID label having an area up to 1000 sq·mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the area of the antenna of the RFID label, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Re Claim 16: Dunlap modified by Bourilkov DYCHE and Tuttle discloses the RFID labelled article as claimed in claim 1, wherein the antenna of the Ultra High Frequency radio frequency identification label is characterized by absence of a dipole (DYCHE: eliminates the need of the matching loop.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C. §112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C. §103 have been considered but are moot due to the new ground of rejection.
DYCHE discloses that the radio frequency identification label is an Ultra High Frequency radio frequency identification label (abst) and allowing reading and writing of multiple RFID labelled articles in bulk using a single RFID reader (a high density environment).
Tuttle disclose that an antenna of the radio frequency identification label is sized for the RFID label to be readable from more than one directions (col 3 ll 51: three dimensions of antenna polarity are achieved).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAE W KIM/
Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876