DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendments of claims, filed 06/21/2023, has been fully considered.
Status of Claims
Claim 1-14 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) document(s) submitted on 06/21/2023 is compliant with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS document(s) has/have been fully considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 1 recites “the coagulation function”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this term in the claims and it is unclear what applicant is referring to as the coagulation function. Claims 2-14 are also rejected by their dependency from claim 1.
Claim 1 lines 6-7 recite “capable of binding more or less specifically to platelets and fibrin”. A broad range or limitation (i.e. “more or less”) together with a narrow range or limitation (i.e. “specifically”) that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “more or less”, and the claim also recites “specifically” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Additionally, the use of “more or less specifically” creates relativity where it is unclear what the “more or less specifically” is compared to, and therefore a potential infringer would not understand whether a potential invention reads on the relative claim language.
Claim 1 lines 20-21, 22, 24-25, 26, 28, 30 recite “the formation of a platelet aggregate” and “the fibrin formation”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this term in the claims and it is unclear what applicant is referring to as the formation of aggregates. A similar rejection is made over “the number of platelet aggregates”, “the platelet aggregates”, and “the fibrin formation time” in lines 32, 35, and 47.
Claim 2 recites “the adhesion phenomenon of the platelets and fibrin”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this term in the claims and it is unclear what applicant is referring to as the adhesion phenomenon.
Claim 4 recites “the quinacrine probe”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this term in the claims and it is unclear what applicant is referring to as the quinacrine probe. A similar rejection is also made over claim 14.
Claim 6 recites “the venous vessels” and “the arterial vessels”. There in insufficient antecedent basis for these terms in the claims and it is unclear what applicant is referring to by these phrases. A similar rejection is also made over claim 13.
Claim 7 recites “the perfusion chamber comprises at least one cytoadhesive substance”. Claim 1 lines 10-12 previously recite “at least one perfusion chamber … comprising a cytroadhesive substance”. It is unclear if “the perfusion chamber” is referring to “the at least one perfusion chamber” in claim 1. It is also unclear if applicant is referring to the cytoadhesive substance previously defined in claim 1 or if applicant is intending to set forth another cytoadhesive substance in addition to the cytoadhesive substance of claim 1. A similar rejection is also made over “said at least one cytoadhesive substance” in claim 8.
Claim 7 recites “the surface”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the surface” because applicant has not previously established which surface the term is referring to. A similar rejection is also made over “the surface of a glass slide” in claim 8.
Claim 9 recites “a subject”. Claim 1 line 3 previously sets forth “a subject”. It is unclear if applicant is referring to the subject of claim 1 or if applicant is intending to define another subject.
Claim 10 recites “the ex-vivo evaluation of the efficacy of an anticoagulant or antiplatelet treatment on a subject”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this term. Claim 1 is directed to “An ex vivo method for analyzing the coagulation function of a subject’s blood sample”. It is unclear if method is directed towards analyzing a coagulation function or the treatment of a subject. A similar rejection is made over claim 11 with respect to “the ex-vivo evaluation of the risk of thrombogenesis or coagulation defects in a subject not undergoing drug therapy”.
Claim 10 line 4 recites “the parameters of AUC Area, AUC MGV, AUC ID”. However, these are acronyms which have not previously been defined in the claims and it is unclear what applicant is referring to by these acronyms. A similar rejection is also made over claim 11.
Claim 10 line 5 recites “a blood sample of said subject”. Claim 1 line 3 previously recites “a whole-blood sample taken from a subject”. It is unclear if applicant is referring to another blood sample or the whole-blood sample previously introduced in claim 1. A similar rejection is also made over claim 11.
Claim 11 line 26 recites “if the subject’s Lag Time is <210 s, <190 s”. It is unclear if applicant is attempting to define the reference value as <210 s or <190 s.
Claim 14 contains the trademark/trade name “ALEXA Fluor® 488” and “ALEXA Flour® 546”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe fluorescent dyes and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claim 1 is directed toward a method.
Step 2A, Prong One: Identify the law of nature/natural phenomenon/abstract ideas.
Claim 1 recites the abstract ideas “generate a first curve of area covered by illuminated pixels vs. time for the formation of a platelet aggregate and a second curve of area covered by illuminated pixels vs. time for the fibrin information”, “generating a first curve of average fluorescence intensity vs. time for the formation of the platelet aggregate and a second curve of average fluorescence intensity vs. time for the fibrin formation”, “generating a first integrated density curve defined as the product of area and fluorescence intensity vs. time for the formation of the platelet aggregate and a second integrated density curve defined as the product of area and fluorescence intensity vs. time for the fibrin formation”, “generating a curve of particle number vs. time, in which the number of particles is given by the number of platelet aggregates comprising more than 2 illuminated pixels”, “generating a curve of particle size vs. time, in which the particle size is given by the average size of the platelet aggregates comprising more than 2 illuminated pixels”, “generating values of maximum slope, defined as relative maximum points of a first derivative function calculated for the curves of the parameter obtained in one or more of steps e), f), g), h) and i)” “generating values of maximum acceleration, defined as relative maximum points of a second derivative function calculated for the curves of the parameter obtained in one or more of steps e), f), g), h) and i)”, “generating values of F/P ratio, defined as the ratio of the areas under the curve (AUCs) of fibrin to the AUCs of the platelets of the parameter obtained in one or more of steps e), f) and g)”, “generating a lag time value representing the fibrin formation time defined as a time corresponding to a first occurrence of five consecutive images in which the value of the measured area related to fibrin is > 1% of a maximum peak value of the curve”, “generating the AUC (Area Under the Curve) values given by the area under the curve of the parameter obtained in one or more of steps e), f), g), h) and i)” which are mental processes and could be performed by a human person or by pen and paper or by a generic computer and/or mathematical concepts between variables or numbers, but does not preclude the steps from being considered an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsections (I) and (III).
Step 2A, Prong Two: Has the abstract idea been integrated into a particular practical application?
No. Upon generating the curve/values, no further action is performed, and therefore is not a particular practical application.
Claim 1 also recites treating a whole blood sample with an anti-coagulant substance, a recalcification solution, and fluorescent probes with different emission frequencies for marking platelets and fibrin, perfusing the blood sample through a device having a cytoadhesive substance, and acquiring a series of fluorescent images . However, acquire images from a sample that has been treated is interpreted as extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea, and generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use in which to apply the judicial exception, but does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and cannot integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite any elements which are significantly more than the abstract idea?
Claim 1 recites treating a whole blood sample with an anti-coagulant substance, a recalcification solution, and fluorescent probes with different emission frequencies for marking platelets and fibrin, perfusing the blood sample through a device having a cytoadhesive substance, and acquiring a series of fluorescent images. These additional elements do not effectively transform or reduce the system to a different state or thing beyond such that the claims recite significantly more than well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry (See MPEP § 2106.05(c), Particular Transformation and MPEP § 2106.05(d), Well-Understood, Routine, Conventional Activity) as evidenced by Kwon (US 2023/0393120 having a Provisional Application filing date of October 30, 2020 – hereinafter “Kwon”) and Verdoold (WO 2017/093266A2 – hereinafter “Verdoold”). Kwon and Verdoold disclose treating a whole blood sample with an anti-coagulant substance, a recalcification solution, and fluorescent probes with different emission frequencies for marking platelets and fibrin, perfusing the blood sample through a device having a cytoadhesive substance, and acquiring a series of fluorescent images (Kwon; figs. 1B, 1C & 2B-2E, [0032-0036, 0039, 0041-0042, 0046-0048, 0050, 0053-0055, 0066, 0069-0070, 0074-0076, 0079-0081, 0090] and Verdoold; fig. 6, pp. 5-6, 11, 15, 24, 35-36).
Claim 2 recites the analytical device comprises reference marks. However, these additional elements do not effectively transform or reduce the system to a different state or thing beyond such that the claims recite significantly more than well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry (See MPEP § 2106.05(c), Particular Transformation and MPEP § 2106.05(d), Well-Understood, Routine, Conventional Activity) as evidenced by Kwon. Kwon disclose the analytical device comprises reference marks (Colwell; figs. 2F-2G, [0054, 0056]).
Claims 3 further limits the anti-coagulant substance to heparin or citrate salts. However, these additional elements do not effectively transform or reduce the system to a different state or thing beyond such that the claims recite significantly more than well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry (See MPEP § 2106.05(c), Particular Transformation and MPEP § 2106.05(d), Well-Understood, Routine, Conventional Activity) as evidenced by Kwon. Kwon disclose the anti-coagulant substance as citrate salts (Kwon; [0037, 0039, 0079, 0080]).
Claims 4 & 14 further limit the fluorescent probes for marking platelets and fibrin. However, these additional elements do not effectively transform or reduce the system to a different state or thing beyond such that the claims recite significantly more than well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry (See MPEP § 2106.05(c), Particular Transformation and MPEP § 2106.05(d), Well-Understood, Routine, Conventional Activity) as evidenced by Kwon. Kwon disclose fluorescent probes having different emission frequencies for detecting platelets and fibrin; figs. 2B-2E, [0054-0055, 0075, 0079, 0081]. Furthermore, Ahearn et al. (US 2007/0178536 – hereinafter “Ahearn”) and Ruggeri et al. (US 2019/0127442 – hereinafter “Ruggeri”) teach the explicit excitation and emission wavelengths (Ahearn; [0041] and Ruggeri; [0135]).
Claims 5 and 12 further limits the recalcification solution to calcium chloride/salt. However, these additional elements do not effectively transform or reduce the system to a different state or thing beyond such that the claims recite significantly more than well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry (See MPEP § 2106.05(c), Particular Transformation and MPEP § 2106.05(d), Well-Understood, Routine, Conventional Activity) as evidenced by Kwon. Kwon disclose the anti-coagulant substance as citrate salts (Kwon; [0037, 0039, 0079, 0080]).
Claims 6 and 13 further limit the perfusion chamber as comprising a microchannel section configured to obtain a specific shear rate. However, these additional elements do not effectively transform or reduce the system to a different state or thing beyond such that the claims recite significantly more than well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry (See MPEP § 2106.05(c), Particular Transformation and MPEP § 2106.05(d), Well-Understood, Routine, Conventional Activity) as evidenced by Kwon. Kwon disclose a microfluidic channel configured to emulate venous vessels and arterial vessels (Kwon; [0036, 0048, 0053, 0071]).
Claim 7 further limits the cytoadhesive substance of the perfusion chamber. However, these additional elements do not effectively transform or reduce the system to a different state or thing beyond such that the claims recite significantly more than well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry (See MPEP § 2106.05(c), Particular Transformation and MPEP § 2106.05(d), Well-Understood, Routine, Conventional Activity) as evidenced by Kwon. Kwon disclose the cytoadhesive substance comprise collagen hydrogel with tissue factor (figs. 1B & 1C, [0033-0035, 0041, 0047-0048, 0050, 0055, 0070, 0075-0076]).
Claim 8 recites the cytoadhesive substance is placed on a glass slide facing the perfusion chamber, said glass slide forming a surface of the perfusion chamber. However, these additional elements do not effectively transform or reduce the system to a different state or thing beyond such that the claims recite significantly more than well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry (See MPEP § 2106.05(c), Particular Transformation and MPEP § 2106.05(d), Well-Understood, Routine, Conventional Activity) as evidenced by Kwon. Kwon disclose the device constructed on or of glass (figs. 1B, [0030]).
Claim 9 further limits the temperature in the perfusion chamber. However, these additional elements do not effectively transform or reduce the system to a different state or thing beyond such that the claims recite significantly more than well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry (See MPEP § 2106.05(c), Particular Transformation and MPEP § 2106.05(d), Well-Understood, Routine, Conventional Activity) as evidenced by Kwon. Kwon disclose operating the perfusion chamber at 37 degrees to emulate physiological conditions (Kwon; [0025, 0070, 0077-0078]).
Claims 10 and 11 recites the abstract idea of “1) dynamic evaluation of the efficacy of an anticoagulant or antiplatelet treatment on a subject taking one or more therapies” and “comparing the values of said parameters calculated in step 1) with reference values” (step 2A prong 1), but does not integrate the exception under 2A prong 2 because data gathering and generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use in which to apply the judicial exception do not integrate the judicial exception into a particular practical application because data gathering is merely insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity and § 2106.05(f), Mere Instructions To Apply an Exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 2023/0393120 having a Provisional Application filing date of October 30, 2020 – hereinafter “Kwon”).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon disclose an ex vivo method for analyzing the coagulation function of a subject's blood sample (Kwon; [0006]), comprising the following steps:
a) providing a whole-blood sample taken from a subject and added with an anti- coagulant substance (Kwon; [0036, 0042, 0053, 0066, 0070, 0079, 0090];
b) treating the blood sample of step a) with a solution comprising fluorescent probes for marking platelets and for marking fibrin capable of binding more or less specifically to platelets and fibrin and emitting fluorescent light on two different emission frequencies (Kwon; antibodies were fluorescently labeled using the Alexa Fluor antibody labeling kits (488, 568, and 647). The fluorescently-labeled antibodies were used to detect platelets (a-CD61-568), P-selectin (a-CD62P-647), and fibrin (a-Fibrin-488); figs. 2B-2E, [0054-0055, 0075, 0079, 0081]) and of a recalcification solution of the blood sample, wherein the two solutions are separated or combined in a single reagent (Kwon; whole blood was recalcified in the presence of corn trypsin inhibitor and a buffer solution; [0039, 0053, 0079, 0080]);
c) introducing said recalcified blood sample into an analytical device having at least one perfusion chamber (Kwon disclose a blood vessel-on-a-chip microdevice having an intravascular channel 105 for introducing recalcified whole blood sample; figs. 1B & 1C, [0036, 0039, 0042, 0047-0048, 0053, 0055, 0066, 0079-0081, 0090]), in which at least one wall comprises a transparent material comprising a cytoadhesive substance (Kwon disclose the microdevice is optically transparent to allow a user to observe the dynamic process of bleeding and measure the kinetics of platelet accumulation in real-time, where the middle chamber comprise collagen hydrogel containing tissue factor 109; figs. 1B & 1C, [0033-0035, 0041, 0047-0048, 0050, 0055, 0070, 0075-0076]), the blood sample being made to flow into the perfusion chamber in known and measurable flow conditions (Kwon disclose flowing the whole blood through the intravascular channel at a shear rate to recapitulate or emulate the native vascular system; [0032, 0036, 0046, 0048, 0053, 0069-0070, 0074]);
d) during blood flow in the perfusion chamber, alternately acquiring at least two series of fluorescence images, so that at least one series of fluorescence images is acquired at an emission wavelength characteristic of the fluorescent probe for platelets and at least one other series of fluorescence images is acquired at another emission wavelength characteristic of the fluorescent probe for fibrin (Kwon; figs. 2B-2E, [0054-0055]);
e) binarizing the pixels of the acquired images for the platelets and for the fibrin, to generate a first curve of area covered by illuminated pixels vs. time for the formation of a platelet aggregate and a second curve of area covered by illuminated pixels vs. time for the fibrin formation (Kwon; fig. 2G, [0054-0056]);
the method comprising at least one step selected from:
f) generating a first curve of average fluorescence intensity vs. time for the formation of the platelet aggregate and a second curve of average fluorescence intensity vs. time for the fibrin formation (Kwon; fig. 2G, 2H, 2I, 5F, [0054-0058, 0068, 0081, 0084]);
g) generating a first integrated density curve defined as the product of area and fluorescence intensity vs. time for the formation of the platelet aggregate and a second integrated density curve defined as the product of area and fluorescence intensity vs. time for the fibrin formation (Kwon; fig. 2G, 2H, 2I, 5F, [0054-0058, 0068, 0081, 0084]);
h) generating a curve of particle number vs. time, in which the number of particles is given by the number of platelet aggregates comprising more than 2 illuminated pixels (Kwon; fig. 2G, 2H, 2I, 5F, [0054-0058, 0068, 0081, 0084]);
i) generating a curve of particle size vs. time, in which the particle size is given by the average size of the platelet aggregates comprising more than 2 illuminated pixels (Kwon; fig. 2G, 2H, 2I, 5F, [0054-0058, 0068, 0081, 0084]);
j) generating values of maximum slope, defined as relative maximum points of a first derivative function calculated for the curves of the parameter obtained in one or more of steps e), f), g), h) and i) (Kwon; fig. 2G, 2H, 2I, 5F, [0054-0058, 0068, 0081, 0084]);
k) generating values of maximum acceleration, defined as relative maximum points of a second derivative function calculated for the curves of the parameter obtained in one or more of steps e), f), g), h) and i) (Kwon; fig. 2G, 2H, 2I, 5F, [0054-0058, 0068, 0081, 0084]);
l) generating values of F/P ratio, defined as the ratio of the areas under the curve (AUCs) of fibrin to the AUCs of the platelets of the parameter obtained in one or more of steps e), f) and g) (Kwon; fig. 2G, 2H, 2I, 5F, [0054-0058, 0068, 0081, 0084]);
the method further comprising the steps of:
m) generating a lag time value representing the fibrin formation time defined as a time corresponding to which the value of the measured area related to fibrin is a maximum peak value of the curve (Kwon; fig. 2G, 2H, 2I, 5F, [0054-0058, 0068, 0081, 0084]);
n) generating the AUC (Area Under the Curve) values given by the area under the curve of the parameter obtained in one or more of steps e), f), g), h) and i) (Kwon; fig. 2G, 2H, 2I, 5F, [0054-0058, 0068, 0081, 0084]).
Kwon does not explicitly disclose the lag time value representing the fibrin formation time defined as a time corresponding to a first occurrence of five consecutive images in which the value of the measured area related to fibrin is > 1% of a maximum peak value of the curve.
However, Kwon does teach generating a time lag value range representing the fibrin formation time defined as a time within a few minutes of injury when platelets began to form small aggregates over time (Kwon; fig. 2G, 2H, 2I, 5F, [0054-0058, 0068, 0081, 0084]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the lag time value range representing the fibrin formation of Kwon with the lag time value range defined as a time corresponding to a first occurrence of five consecutive images in which the value of the measured area related to fibrin is >1% of a maximum peak value of the curve, because defining the lag time value range to correspond to a first occurrence of five consecutive images in which the value of the measured area related to fibrin is >1% of a maximum peak value of the curve would allow a quantifiable threshold value to be established to show changes over time in the formation of fibrin over the course of the method while eliminating trivial datasets. Further, a prima facie case of obviousness is established when “the claimed range and the prior art range do not overlap but are close enough such that one skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.” In re Peterson, 315 F. 3d at 1329, citing Titanium Metals Crop. V. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since Kwon disclose the formation of small aggregates at 2 minutes and image analysis for select data points (Kwon; figs. 2B-2E & 2G-2I, [0055, 0084]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Kwon teach the method according to claim 1 above, wherein the analytical device comprises reference marks configured to identify a height at which the surface is located on which the adhesion phenomenon of the platelets and fibrin will occur (Kwon teach identifying a region of interest in the vessel wall and plotting the fluorescence intensity aver over the length of the region of interest in terms of negative and positive distances; figs. 2F-2G, [0054, 0056]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kwon teach the method according to claim 1 above, wherein said anti-coagulant substance is heparin or citrate salts (Kwon; [0037, 0039, 0079, 0080]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kwon teach the method according to claim 1 above, wherein the recalcification of the blood sample is conducted by adding a quantity of calcium salt (Kwon; [0079]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kwon teach the method according to claim 1 above, wherein the perfusion chamber comprises at least one microchannel section configured so as to obtain a shear rate, to simulate physiological conditions in the venous vessels(Kwon; [0036, 0048, 0053]), and at least one microchannel section configured so as to obtain a shear rate, to simulate physiological conditions in the arterial vessels (Kwon; [0071]).
Modified Kwon does not explicitly teach a shear rate between 150 sec-1 and 500 sec-1, to simulate the venous vessels or a shear rate between 1000 sec-1 and 2000 sec-1, to simulate the arterial vessels.
However, Kwon does teach perfusion in the intravascular channel at a venous shear rate of 100 sec-1 (Kwon; [0053]), and parallel chambers to recreate arterial conditions by changing hemodynamic parameters such as the flow rate; [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify shear rate of Kwon to be between 150 sec-1 and 500 sec-1, to simulate the venous vessels or between 1000 sec-1 and 2000 sec-1, to simulate the arterial vessels, because adjusting the shear rate to be between 150 sec-1 and 500 sec-1, to simulate the venous vessels or between 1000 sec-1 and 2000 sec-1, to simulate the arterial vessels would allow the method and device of Kwon to emulate conditions in venous vessels or arterial vessels having different dimensions or to emulate fluids having different viscosities. Further, a prima facie case of obviousness is established when “the claimed range and the prior art range do not overlap but are close enough such that one skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.” In re Peterson, 315 F. 3d at 1329, citing Titanium Metals Crop. V. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since Kwon disclose emulating venous vessels and arterials vessels by changing flow rates.
Regarding claim 7, modified Kwon teach the method according to claim 1 above, wherein the perfusion chamber comprises at least one cytoadhesive substance on the surface thereof or on part thereof, said at least one cytoadhesive substance being selected from type I fibrillar Collagen, type I/III Collagen, type VI Collagen, PG-M/versican (vascular), Perlecan Fibronectin, Laminin-1, Vitronectin, Decorin, Biglycan, Fibulin-1, Tenascin-C, Lumican, Thrombospondin-1, emilin and tissue factor (Kwon disclose the microdevice is optically transparent to allow a user to observe the dynamic process of bleeding and measure the kinetics of platelet accumulation in real-time, where the middle chamber comprise collagen hydrogel containing tissue factor 109; figs. 1B & 1C, [0033-0035, 0041, 0047-0048, 0050, 0055, 0070, 0075-0076]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Kwon teach the method according to claim 7 above, wherein said at least one cytoadhesive substance is placed on the surface of a glass slide facing the perfusion chamber, said glass slide forming a surface of the perfusion chamber (Kwon; fig. 1B, [0030]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Kwon teach the method according to claim 1 above, wherein step c) is carried out at a temperature of the perfusion chamber of about 37°C, seas to simulate the physiological conditions of a subject (Kwon; [0025, 0070, 0077-0078]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kwon teach the method according to claim 1 above, for the ex-vivo evaluation of the efficacy of an anticoagulant or antiplatelet treatment on a subject taking one or more therapies, comprising the following steps:
1) dynamic evaluation of the parameters of AUC Area, AUC MGV, AUC ID and Lag Time on a blood sample of said subject, in which the values of said parameters refer to an 8-bit acquisition system (The modification of the lag time value range representing the fibrin formation of Kwon with the lag time value range defined as a time corresponding to a first occurrence of five consecutive images in which the value of the measured area related to fibrin is >1% of a maximum peak value of the curve has previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Kwon disclose dynamic evaluation of the efficacy of an anticoagulant and antiplatelet treatment; figs. 5A-5F, [0015, 0042, 0066-0070, 0081]);
2) comparing the values of said parameters calculated in step 1) with reference values (The modification of the lag time value range representing the fibrin formation of Kwon with the lag time value range defined as a time corresponding to a first occurrence of five consecutive images in which the value of the measured area related to fibrin is >1% of a maximum peak value of the curve has previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Kwon disclose dynamic evaluation of the efficacy of an anticoagulant and antiplatelet treatment; figs. 5A-5F, [0015, 0042, 0066-0070]), in which
if the subject's platelet AUC Area is <4.4x107, and/or
if the subject's platelet AUC MGV is <3.0x104, and/or
if the subject's platelet AUC ID is <5.4x109, and/or
if the subject's fibrin AUC Area is <4.7x107, and/or
if the subject's fibrin AUC MGV is <2.7x104, and/or
if the subject's fibrin AUC ID is <7.0x109, and/or
if the subject's Lag Time is >210 s,
then the subject is likely to be under therapy and said therapy has a medium or high probability of being effective.
Note: “if… then…” are all contingent limitations and do not necessarily have to occur.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. For example, assume a method claim requires step A if a first condition happens and step B if a second condition happens. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. If the claimed invention requires the first condition to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires step A. If the claimed invention requires both the first and second conditions to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires both steps A and B. (See MPEP 2111.04).
Claim limitation “if… then…” is a limitation that requires a condition where the sample platelet or fibrin parameter is less than or greater than a threshold value. Since the method may be practiced by the sample platelet or fibrin parameter being within a threshold value, the above limitation is not required.
Regarding claim 11, modified Kwon teach the method according to claim 1 above, for the ex-vivo evaluation of the risk of thrombogenesis or coagulation defects in a subject not undergoing drug therapy, comprising the following steps:
1A) dynamic evaluation of the parameters of AUC Area, AUC MGV, AUC ID and Lag Time on a blood sample of said subject, in which the values of said parameters refer to an 8-bit acquisition system (The modification of the lag time value range representing the fibrin formation of Kwon with the lag time value range defined as a time corresponding to a first occurrence of five consecutive images in which the value of the measured area related to fibrin is >1% of a maximum peak value of the curve has previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Kwon disclose dynamic evaluation of the efficacy of an anticoagulant and antiplatelet treatment; figs. 5A-5F, [0015, 0042, 0066-0070, 0081]);
2A) comparing the values of said parameters calculated in step 1A) with reference values (The modification of the lag time value range representing the fibrin formation of Kwon with the lag time value range defined as a time corresponding to a first occurrence of five consecutive images in which the value of the measured area related to fibrin is >1% of a maximum peak value of the curve has previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Kwon disclose dynamic evaluation of the efficacy of an anticoagulant and antiplatelet treatment; figs. 5A-5F, [0015, 0042, 0066-0070]), in which
if the subject's platelet AUC Area is <4.4x107, and/or
if the subject's platelet AUC MGV is <3.0x104, and/or
if the subject's platelet AUC ID is <5.4x109, and/or
if the subject's fibrin AUC Area is <4.7x107, and/or
if the subject's fibrin AUC MGV is <2.7x104, and/or
if the subject's fibrin AUC ID is <7.0x109, and/or
if the subject's Lag Time is >210 s,
then said subject has a medium or high risk probability of blood coagulation defects;
or:
if the subject's platelet AUC Area is >4.4x107, and/or
if the subject's platelet AUC MGV is >3.0x104, and/or
if the subject's platelet AUC ID is >5.4x109, and/or
if the subject's fibrin AUC Area is >4.7x107, and/or
if the subject's fibrin AUC MGV is >2.7x104, and/or
if the subject's fibrin AUC ID is >7.0x109, and/or
if the subject's Lag Time is <210 s, <190 s,
then said subject has a medium or high risk probability of thrombogenesis.
Note: “if… then…” are all contingent limitations and do not necessarily have to occur.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. For example, assume a method claim requires step A if a first condition happens and step B if a second condition happens. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. If the claimed invention requires the first condition to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires step A. If the claimed invention requires both the first and second conditions to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires both steps A and B. (See MPEP 2111.04).
Claim limitation “if… then…” is a limitation that requires a condition where the sample platelet or fibrin parameter is less than or greater than a threshold value. Since the method may be practiced by the sample platelet or fibrin parameter being within a threshold value, the above limitation is not required.
Regarding claim 12, modified Kwon disclose the method according to claim 1 above, wherein the recalcification of the blood sample is conducted by adding a quantity of calcium chloride (Kwon; [0079]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Kwon teach the method according to claim 1 above, wherein the perfusion chamber comprises at least one microchannel section configured to obtain a shear rate to simulate the physiological conditions in the venous vessels (Kwon; [0036, 0048, 0053]), and at least one microchannel section configured to obtain a shear rate to simulate the physiological conditions in the arterial vessels (Kwon; [0071]).
Modified Kwon does not explicitly teach a shear rate of about 300 sec-1 to simulate the venous vessels or a shear rate of about 1500 sec-1 to simulate the arterial vessels.
However, Kwon does teach perfusion in the intravascular channel at a venous shear rate of 100 sec-1 (Kwon; [0053]), and parallel chambers to recreate arterial conditions by changing hemodynamic parameters such as the flow rate (Kwon; [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify shear rate of Kwon to be about 300 sec-1 to simulate the venous vessels or about 1500 sec-1 to simulate the arterial vessels, because adjusting the shear rate to be about 300 sec-1 to simulate the venous vessels or about 1500 sec-1 to simulate the arterial vessels would allow the method and device of Kwon to emulate conditions in venous vessels or arterial vessels having different dimensions or to emulate fluids having different viscosities. Further, a prima facie case of obviousness is established when “the claimed range and the prior art range do not overlap but are close enough such that one skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.” In re Peterson, 315 F. 3d at 1329, citing Titanium Metals Crop. V. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since Kwon disclose emulating venous vessels and arterials vessels by changing flow rates.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Ahearn et al. (US 2007/0178536 – hereinafter “Ahearn”), and further in view of Ruggeri et al. (US 2019/0127442 – hereinafter “Ruggeri”).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kwon teach the method according to claim 1 above, wherein the fluorescent probes used in step b) are:
for marking platelets, the quinacrine probe having an excitation wavelength of about 488 nm and an emission wavelength of about 510 nm, or an antiplatelet antibody or a derivative thereof, conjugated with a fluorescent molecule, having an excitation wavelength (Kwon; antibodies were fluorescently labeled using the Alexa Fluor antibody labeling kits (488, 568, and 647). The fluorescently-labeled antibodies were used to detect platelets (a-CD61-568), P-selectin (a-CD62P-647), and fibrin (a-Fibrin-488); figs. 2B-2E, [0054-0055, 0075, 0079, 0081]);
for marking fibrin, an antifibrin antibody conjugated with a fluorescent molecule, having an excitation wavelength (Kwon; antibodies were fluorescently labeled using the Alexa Fluor antibody labeling kits (488, 568, and 647). The fluorescently-labeled antibodies were used to detect platelets (a-CD61-568), P-selectin (a-CD62P-647), and fibrin (a-Fibrin-488); figs. 2B-2E, [0054-0055, 0075, 0079, 0081]).
Modified Kwon does not teach for marking platelets, the antiplatelet antibody conjugated with a fluorescent molecule having an excitation wavelength of about 495 nm and an emission wavelength of about 519 nm. However, Ahearn teach the analogous art of marking platelets using an antiplatelet antibody conjugated with a fluorescent molecule having an excitation wavelength of about 495 nm and an emission wavelength of about 519 nm (Ahearn; [0041]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the fluorescent molecule to mark platelets of modified Kwon to be Alexa Fluor 488, as taught by Ahearn, because Ahear teach the Alexa Fluor 488 fluorescent molecule allows detection for flow cytometry (Ahearn; [0041]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Kwon and Ahearn both teach fluorescent detection of platelets using tagged antibodies.
Modified Kwon does not teach for marking fibrin, the fluorescent molecule, having an excitation wavelength of about 556 nm and an emission wavelength of about 573 nm. However, Ruggeri teach the analogous art of marking marking fibrin using a fluorescent molecule comprising Alexa Fluor 546 (Ruggeri; [0135]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the fluorescent molecule to mark fibrin of modified Kwon to be Alexa Fluor 546, as taught by Ruggeri, because Ruggeri teaching marking fibrin with Alexa Fluor 546 allows visualization specific for the B chain of human fibrin (HB-8545; ATCC) (Ruggeri; [0135]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Kwon and Ruggeri both teach fluorescent detection of fibrin using fluorescent molecules.
Regarding claim 14, modified Kwon teach the method according to claim 1 above, wherein the fluorescent probes used in step b) are:
for marking platelets, the quinacrine probe having an excitation wavelength of about 488 nm and an emission wavelength of about 510 nm, or an antiplatelet antibody or a derivative thereof comprising Fab, or antigen binding fragment, conjugated with a fluorescent molecule, having an excitation wavelength (Kwon; antibodies were fluorescently labeled using the Alexa Fluor antibody labeling kits (488, 568, and 647). The fluorescently-labeled antibodies were used to detect platelets (a-CD61-568), P-selectin (a-CD62P-647), and fibrin (a-Fibrin-488); figs. 2B-2E, [0054-0055, 0075, 0079, 0081]);
for marking fibrin, an antifibrin antibody conjugated with a fluorescent molecule, having an excitation wavelength.
Modified Kwon does not teach for marking platelets, the antiplatelet antibody conjugated with a fluorescent molecule having an excitation wavelength of about 495 nm and an emission wavelength of about 519 nm. However, Ahearn teach the analogous art of an antiplatelet antibody conjugated with a fluorescent molecule, comprising ALEXA Fluor® 488, having an excitation wavelength of about 495 nm and an emission wavelength of about 519 nm (Ahearn; [0041]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the fluorescent molecule of modified Kwon to be Alexa Fluor 488, as taught by Ahearn, because Ahear teach the Alexa Fluor 488 fluorescent molecule allows detection for flow cytometry (Ahearn; [0041]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Kwon and Ahearn both teach fluorescent detection of platelets using tagged antibodies.
Modified Kwon does not teach for marking fibrin, the fluorescent molecule comprising ALEXA Fluor® 546, having an excitation wavelength of about 556 nm and an emission wavelength of about 573 nm. However, Ruggeri teach the analogous art of marking marking fibrin using a fluorescent molecule comprising Alexa Fluor 546 (Ruggeri; [0135]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the fluorescent molecule to mark fibrin of modified Kwon to be Alexa Fluor 546, as taught by Ruggeri, because Ruggeri teaching marking fibrin with Alexa Fluor 546 allows visualization specific for the B chain of human fibrin (HB-8545; ATCC) (Ruggeri; [0135]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Kwon and Ruggeri both teach fluorescent detection of fibrin using fluorescent molecules.
Other References Cited
The prior art of made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure include:
Yu et al. (US 2013/0170730) disclose a method and apparatus for automated platelet identification within a whole blood sample from images.
Schneider et al. (US Patent No. 6,391,568) disclose a method for quantification and assessment of platelet activation in whole blood samples and monitoring of platelet pharmacologic agents.
Cohen (US Patent No. 6,613,573) disclose a blood coagulation analyzer to measure real-time clotting process from the initial fibrin formation through platelet-fibrin interaction to generate coagulation parameters.
Verdoold (WO 2017/093266A2) disclose a method for monitoring of coagulation status and hemostasis in the perioperative setting.
Citations to art
In the above citations to documents in the art, an effort has been made to specifically cite representative passages, however rejections are in reference to the entirety of each document relied upon. Other passages, not specifically cited, may apply as well.
Conclusion
E-mail communication Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
/C.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/BENJAMIN R WHATLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798