DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s reply filed 11/3/25. Claim 10, and 13-31 are amended. Claims 10, and 13-31 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 13-17, and 20-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication No. 2020/0384363 A1 to Kyogoku et al. (hereinafter “Kyogoku”) in view of US Publication No. 2018/0021679 A1 to Ito et al. (hereinafter “Ito”).
Concerning claim 10, Kyogoku discloses a computer-implemented method comprising: detecting a switching operation performed by a user on a switching operation button of a handheld operation device for a game (Figs. 9 and 11, paragraphs [0116]-[0138]);
in response to detecting the switching operation on the switching operation button, switching from a first operation mode in which an aiming position in the game is associated with a movement of the operation device to a second operation mode in which the aiming position in the game is associated with an operation performed by the user on an aiming operation member of the operation device, or from the second operation mode to the first operation mode; generating an operation signal indicating the aiming position based on the switched operation mode of the operation device; and transmitting the operation signal to an information processing device (Figs. 9 and 11, paragraphs [0116]-[0138]).
Kyogoku lacks specifically disclosing, however, Ito discloses an aiming position of an aiming marker in the game is associated with a movement of the operation device, the operation signal causing the information processing device to place the aiming marker at the aiming position on a display device (Figs. 11, 12, paragraphs [0012], [0104], [0140], [0142], [0144]-[0146], [0195], [0270] – the controller functions in two operation modes, the aiming position is shown via a cursor showing on the display corresponding to the position of the controller). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate showing the aiming marker on the display as shown by Ito in the system of Kyogoku in order to improve a user’s aim while playing the game.
Concerning claims 13, 21, and 27, Kyogoku lacks specifically disclosing, however, Ito discloses wherein based on the switched operation mode being the first operation mode, generating the operation signal indicating the aiming position comprises: detecting, using a detection unit of the operation device comprising a gyro sensor and an acceleration sensor, the movement of the operation device held by the user; determining the aiming position of the aiming marker on a screen displayed on the display device based on the movement of the operation device; and executing an aiming operation command to place the aiming marker at the aiming position on the screen displayed on the display device (Figs. 11, 12, paragraphs [0012], [0104], [0140], [0142], [0144]-[0146], [0195], [0270] – the controller functions in two operation modes, the aiming position is shown via a cursor showing on the display corresponding to the position of the controller). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate showing the aiming marker on the display as shown by Ito in the system of Kyogoku in order to improve a user’s aim while playing the game.
Concerning claims 14, 22, and 28, Kyogoku lacks specifically disclosing, however, Ito discloses wherein determining the aiming position of the aiming marker on the screen comprises: estimating, by an aiming position determination unit of the operation device, a posture and an orientation of the operation device with respect to a display area of the display device from the movement of the operation device detected by the detection unit comprising the gyro sensor and the acceleration sensor; and determining a coordinate value of the aiming position in the display area on the basis of the estimated posture and orientation of the operation device (Figs. 11, 12, paragraphs [0012], [0104], [0140], [0142], [0144]-[0146], [0195], [0270] – the controller functions in two operation modes, the aiming position is shown via a cursor showing on the display corresponding to the position of the controller). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate showing the aiming marker on the display as shown by Ito in the system of Kyogoku in order to improve a user’s aim while playing the game.
Concerning claims 15, 23, and 29, Kyogoku lacks specifically disclosing, however, Ito discloses wherein based on the switched operation mode being the second operation mode, generating the operation signal indicating the aiming position comprises: detecting, on the aiming operation member, the operation performed by the user; determining, by an aiming position determination unit of the operation device, the aiming position of the aiming marker on a screen displayed on the display device based on the operation on the aiming operation member; and executing an aiming operation command to place the aiming marker at the aiming position on the screen displayed on the display device (Figs. 11, 12, paragraphs [0012], [0104], [0140], [0142], [0144]-[0146], [0195], [0270] – the controller functions in two operation modes, the aiming position is shown via a cursor showing on the display corresponding to the position of the controller). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate showing the aiming marker on the display as shown by Ito in the system of Kyogoku in order to improve a user’s aim while playing the game.
Concerning claims 16, 24, and 30, Kyogoku lacks specifically disclosing, however, Ito discloses wherein determining the aiming position of the aiming marker on the screen comprises: determining, by the aiming position determination unit of the operation device, a coordinate value of the aiming position in a display area on the basis of the operation on the aiming operation member (Figs. 11, 12, paragraphs [0012], [0104], [0140], [0142], [0144]-[0146], [0195], [0270] – the controller functions in two operation modes, the aiming position is shown via a cursor showing on the display corresponding to the position of the controller). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate showing the aiming marker on the display as shown by Ito in the system of Kyogoku in order to improve a user’s aim while playing the game.
Concerning claims 17, 25, and 31, Kyogoku lacks specifically disclosing, however, Ito discloses wherein the operation device further comprises a proximity sensor, a display unit, and an imaging unit, the method further comprising: detecting, by the proximity sensor, a movement of the user observing the display unit; in response to detecting the movement of the user observing the display unit, switching to a third operation mode in which the aiming position is associated with a captured image obtained by the imaging unit (Figs. 11, 12, paragraphs [0012], [0104], [0140], [0142], [0144]-[0146], [0195], [0270] – the controller functions in two operation modes, the aiming position is shown via a cursor showing on the display corresponding to the position of the controller). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate showing the aiming marker on the display as shown by Ito in the system of Kyogoku in order to improve a user’s aim while playing the game.
Concerning claims 20 and 26, see the rejection of claim 1.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kyogoku, Ito and further in view of US Publication No. 2021/0260479 A1 to Yang (hereinafter “Yang”).
Concerning claim 18, Kyogoku lacks specifically disclosing, however, Yang discloses wherein the operation device further comprises a detection unit comprising a gyro sensor and an error correction unit, the method further comprising, correcting, by the error correction unit, an error of the gyro sensor when the switched operation mode is not the first operation mode (paragraphs [0050]-[0057], [0227], [0229]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the sensor as disclosed by Yang in the system of Kyogoku in order to provide the player a more realistic gaming experience.
Concerning claim 19, Kyogoku lacks specifically disclosing, however, Yang discloses wherein correcting the error of the gyro sensor comprises integrating a first relative position between a display area of the display device and the operation device detected by the gyro sensor and a second relative position between the display area and the operation device derived from a captured image obtained by an imaging unit of the operation device (paragraphs [0050]-[0057], [0227], [0229]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the sensor as disclosed by Yang in the system of Kyogoku in order to provide the player a more realistic gaming experience.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot based on the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892.
MALINA D. BLAISE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/MALINA D. BLAISE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715