DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Re claim 12, line 14: replace “the empty space” with -- empty space --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-8, filed 07/29/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 12 and 18-22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Homa et al. (US 2012/0125596 A1) and the newly cited 김진한 (KR 101067698 B1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Homa et al. (US 2012/0125596 A1) in view of 김진한 (KR 101067698 B1).
Regarding claim 12, Homa et al. teaches a cable (10; [0002], [0014]; FIG. 4) comprising:
a core comprising a plurality of optical fibers (20; [0017]);
an internal reinforcement (“metals strands” 14) radially arranged around the core (see FIG. 4), the internal reinforcement comprising a plurality of steel wires arranged in a ring ([0021] teaches that strands 14 may be made of steel, and a steel “strand” is understood as equivalent to a steel “wire”);
an intermediate sheath (“hollow central tube” 12) radially arranged between the core and the internal reinforcement (see FIG. 4); and
a protective sheath (either or both of “outer tubes” 16, 18; [0021]) radially arranged around the internal reinforcement (see FIG. 4),
Homa et al. further discloses a sensing optical fibers ([0013] teaches that optical fibers 20 may be configured as optical fiber sensors) arranged in a metal tube (fiber 20 in one of strands 14 as shown in FIG. 4, and strands 14 are made from metallic material [0016]), plurality of metal tubes 14 forming part of the internal reinforcement and being arranged in a ring with the steel wires of the internal reinforcement ([0017]; see FIG. 5).
Homa et al. fails to disclose at least two sensing optical fibers 20 tightly arranged against each other, in a tightly bound configuration in a first metal tube 14, at least two sensing optical fibers 20 loosely arranged with respect to each other, in a loosely bound configuration in a second metal tube 14, the empty space in the first metal tube in the tightly bound configuration being filled with a resin or gel, and the protective sheath (16, 18) is made of a polymer material.
However, having at least two optical fibers tightly arranged against each other, in a tightly bound configuration in a first metal tube, at least two sensing optical fibers loosely arranged with respect to each other, in a loosely bound configuration in a second metal tube, and empty space in the first metal tube in the tightly bound configuration being filled with a resin or gel are well-known in the art as evidenced by 김진한. 김진한 teaches at least two optical fibers 222 tightly arranged against each other, in a tightly bound configuration in a first tube 220/226 (fig. 3, English Translation: p. 3, 3rd paragraph to last), at least two optical fibers 312 loosely arranged with respect to each other, in a loosely bound configuration in a second tube 310/316 (English Translation: p. 3, 6th paragraph), empty space in the first metal tube in the tightly bound configuration being filled with a gel (jelly - English Translation: p. 3, 3rd paragraph to last), and the protective sheath (260) is made of a polymer material (English Translation: p. 4, last paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the optical fibers arranged in both tight and loose configurations to create a hybrid composite structure that balances maximum strength with high impact/energy absorption, i.e., tight fibers provide rigid load-bearing support, while loose/open fibers enable ductility, vibration damping, and stress redistribution without catastrophic structural failure. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the protective sheath made of polymer to provide a lightweight, highly flexible, and durable cable, e.g., protecting the cable from both environmental hazards and impact damage. The selection of a known material (e.g., polymer/elastomer) based on its suitability for its intended use (e.g., as a protective sheath for a cable) has been held to be obvious. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claims 20-21, Homa/김진한 discloses the cable according to claim 12, wherein the steel wires (14) and the metal tube (14 with fiber 20 inside; FIG. 4) are of stainless steel ([0021]).
Claim(s) 18 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Homa et al. (US 2012/0125596 A1) in view of 김진한 (KR 101067698 B1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Evans (US 2005/0244116 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Homa/김진한 discloses the cable according to claim 12, wherein the intermediate sheath (12) comprises a metal sheath ([0021] teaches many examples of metals from which sheath 12 may be made).
Homa/김진한 does not explicitly teach that the metal sheath is configured to transmit electrical signals. However, metals such as those disclosed in paragraph [0021] of Homa are known to be electrical conductors, and Homa additionally teaches that the cable may be configured to conduct electrical signals ([0013]). It is well-known in the art that cables which include optical fibers may also include electrical conductors to transmit electrical signals; this is also taught by Evans (Abstract; [0002]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, based on the additional teachings of Homa and 김진한, to configure the metal intermediate sheath to conduct electrical signals for the purpose of allowing the cable to transmit both electrical and optical signals, thereby rendering obvious instant claim 18.
Regarding claim 22, Homa/김진한 discloses the cable according to claim 12, but does not explicitly teach that the cable of claim 12 is used in the method as described in claim 22.
Evans teaches a method for measuring mechanical deformations undergone by a cable (15; [0036], [0043]; FIGs. 2, 6) comprising:
providing, by a laser source (“optical signal source” 18, called “pulsed light source” in FIG. 6), a laser pulse ([0043]: “a laser operating in pulse mode”);
injecting, by an interrogator (“detector” 19 which is an “OTDR instrument”; [0043]), the laser pulse into at least one sensing optical fiber (12; [0036]) of the cable;
detecting, by the interrogator, an optical signal representing the light intensity of the pulse backscattered in the at least one sensing optical fiber ([0043] discloses that the interrogator detects the intensity of Rayleigh scatting reflections in the sensing fiber);
determining, by the interrogator, a mechanical deformation undergone by the cable from the optical signal ([0043] discloses that the interrogator observes the reflected signals and “provides an alarm” if the signals indicate that damage, i.e., “mechanical deformation,” has occurred to the cable).
Homa/김진한 teaches the cable of claim 12 (see rejection re. claim 12 above), and Evans teaches the remaining steps of the method of claim 22. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform a method for measuring mechanical deformations undergone by the cable according to claim 12 comprising all of the claimed method steps, thereby rendering obvious instant claim 22. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so based on the disclosure of Evans that the claimed method is known in the art as desired way to use cables. Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (e.g., to detect mechanical deformation undergone by the cable) has been held to be obvious. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Homa, 김진한, and Evans as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Stamnitz (US 4,952,012 A).
Regarding claim 19, Homa/김진한/Evans discloses the cable according to claim 12, but does not teach an additional reinforcement radially arranged around the protective sheath (16, 18) or an additional protective sheath radially arranged around the additional reinforcement.
Stamnitz teaches a cable (10”; FIG. 3A) comprising an internal reinforcement (“layer” 60) radially arranged around a core (20), the internal reinforcement comprising a plurality of steel wires arranged in a ring (Col. 11, line 17); a protective sheath of polymer material (“elastomeric filling compound” 80a; Col. 11, line 1) radially arranged around the internal reinforcement; an additional reinforcement (“layer” 70) radially arranged around the protective sheath (see FIG. 3A); and an additional protective sheath (“jacket” 80; Col. 11, line 66) radially arranged around the additional reinforcement. Stamnitz teaches that it is desirable to have two layers of reinforcement because they can be arranged contrahelically, which balances the torque on the cable, creating a cable with low cable rotation (Col. 11, lines 16-23). The additional protective sheath protects the additional reinforcement (Col. 10, lines 66-67).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, based on the teachings of Stamnitz, to include in the cable of Homa/김진한/Evans an additional reinforcement radially arranged around the protective sheath and an additional protective sheath radially arranged around the additional reinforcement for the purpose of torque-balancing the cable and protecting the additional reinforcement, thereby rendering obvious instant clam 19. Combining prior art elements (e.g., a cable and reinforcement layers for cables) according to known methods to yield predictable results (e.g., to torque-balance the cable) has been held to be obvious. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Oh et al. (US 7068893 B2) discloses optical fibers arranged loosely in tubes that are arranged in a ring with metal wires.
Okazato et al. (US 4723832 A) discloses optical fibers arranged tightly in tubes that are arranged in a ring with metal wires.
Wang et al. (CN 107037551 A), Miao et al. (CN 213398986 U) and Martin et al. (CA 3086833 A1) disclose both tight and loose arrangement of optical fibers.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874