DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Applicant’s remarks and amendments, filed 19 November 2025 in response to the non-final rejection mailed 19 August 2025, are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Applicant’s amendments to the claims are acknowledged. The listing of claims filed 19 November 2025 replaces all prior versions and listings of the claims.
Claims 1, 3, 5-12, and 15 are pending. Claims 2, 4, 13, and 14 are canceled by Applicant’s amendment. Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, and 12 are amended. Claims 1, 3, 5-12, and 15 are being examined on the merits.
Response to Amendment
Any previous rejection or objection not mentioned herein is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, on page 5 of the reply filed 19 November 2025 with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15 under 35 USC § 101 have been fully considered. The rejections of Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15 are withdrawn due to cancelation and/or amendment of the claims.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, on pages 6-10 of the reply filed 19 November 2025 with respect to the rejection of Claims 1, 6, 11, 12, and 15 under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) or in the alternative under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered. The rejections of Claims 1, 6, 11, 12, and 15 are withdrawn due to amendment of Claims 1 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Marcq et al. (US 2014/0271999 A1) in view of Ahn et al. (Korea Science, 1999, 111-122) and Zhang et al. (Chin Med, 2018, 26 pages).
The instant claims are as of record, drawn to a composition for improving intestinal microbial flora comprising a mixture of a ginseng extract and a column-purified fraction of an aqueous alcohol solution of a ginseng alcohol extract; and sodium propionate, wherein the weight ratio of the mixture to the sodium propionate is 4:1 to 1:4.
Marcq et al. teaches food and beverage compositions for human consumption comprising a functional ingredient (health functional food composition; pharmaceutical composition; Marcq et al., [0004]-[0005]; as required for instant Claim 11). The functional ingredient can be ginseng and compounds derived therefrom (broadly, a fraction thereof; ginseng extract; Marcq et al., [0032], page 4; as required for instant Claims 1 and 12). The composition additionally comprises other botanical extracts (plant extract) and preservatives such as sodium propionate to prevent the growth of bacteria (Marcq et al., [0032]-[0033], page 4; as required for instant Claims 1, 6, 12, and 15).
Marcq et al. do not teach wherein the composition comprises a fraction of a ginseng extract, ratios, growth/inhibition of particular species of bacteria, or wherein the aqueous alcohol solution of a ginseng alcohol extract is column purified.
Ahn et al. teach that water extracts of Panax ginseng facilitate growth of Bifidobacterium longum, B. breve (Ahn et al., Table 1, page 114), Lactobacillus casei, and L. gasseri (promoting growth of beneficial intestinal bacteria; Ahn et al., Table 5, page 116; as required for instant Claims 8 and 9). Methanol extracts of P. ginseng (ginseng alcohol extract) inhibited the growth of Clostridium coccoides, and C. perfringens (inhibiting growth of intestinal harmful bacteria; Ahn et al., Table 6, page 117; as required for instant Claims 8 and 10). Water extracts were obtained by further extracting residues of methanol extracts (broadly, fraction of ginseng extract; Ahn et al., Plant materials and sample preparation, page 112; as required for instant Claims 1 and 12). Additionally, solutions of the test material were prepared using methanol of distilled water (aqueous alcohol solution) as a solvent.
Zhang et al. teach that column chromatography is the main method used in natural product extraction to obtain pure natural products from a complex mixture (Zhang et al., Separation Methods, page 11; as required for instant Claims 1 and 12).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Marcq et al., Ahn et al., and Zhang et al. to arrive at the instant invention. A skilled artisan could use column chromatography to obtain a purified fraction of the extract with a reasonable expectation of success because it is a well-known, commonly used method in the art. The ginseng extracts and fractions of Ahn et al. provide differential inhibition and growth promotion of different types of bacteria, and combining those with the sodium propionate and additional herbal extracts of Marcq et al. provide additional health benefits and inhibition of bacterial growth that can affect shelf life (Marcq et al., [0032]-[0033], page 4). A skilled artisan would additionally be motivated to modify weight ratios of ginseng extract and ginseng extract fraction (Claim 3) in order to arrive at the instant invention and could do so with a reasonable expectation of success.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the weight ratios of ginseng extract to sodium propionate (Claim 5) and ginseng extract to plant extract (Claim 7) as taught by Marcq et al. to arrive at the instant invention. Sodium propionate is a preservative that prevents the growth of bacteria, and thus a skilled artisan could modify the amount present in order to obtain the desired intended use of the composition as claimed. Active agents such as ginkgoflavonoids, tea tannins, anthocyanosides, and polyphenols which can be extracted from plant sources also provide various nutraceutical effects, such as delaying the aging process (Marcq et al., [0032], page 3), and thus their proportion within the claimed composition could be modified by a skilled artisan to achieve desirous effects with a reasonable expectation of success.
If not expressly taught by Marcq et al., Ahn et al., or Zhang et al., based upon the overall beneficial teaching provided by this reference with respect to compositions disclosed therein, the adjustments of particular conventional working conditions (e.g., determining one or more suitable weight ranges in which to make such a composition), is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan.
With respect to the USC 103 rejections above, please note that the intended use of the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is intrinsic to the composition reasonably suggested by the cited references, as a whole. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the prior art composition. In the instant case, the intended use does not create a structural difference, thus the intended use is not limiting (see, e.g., MPEP 2112).
Please note, since the Office does not have the facilities for examining and comparing Applicants’ composition with the composition of the prior art, the burden is on applicant to show a novel or unobvious difference between the claimed product and the product of the prior art. See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977) and In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980), and “as a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith.” In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685,
688 (CCPA 1972).
Prior Art Made of Record but not Relied Upon
Jeong et al. (Front Microbiol, 2019, 13 pages) teaches that sodium propionate inhibits the growth of Staphylococcus aureus, including multi-drug resistant strains.
Sigma Aldrich (2018, 2 pages) teaches that sodium propionate is used in culture media to promote the growth of Bifidobacteria.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that because Marcq does not provide a specific composition comprising ginseng extract and sodium propionate in combination, nor provide any specific weight ratios, all of the elements of the claim are not taught and thus the claims cannot be prima facie obvious, the test for obviousness is not whether the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Applicant argues that the weight ratio of the mixed ginseng extract and ginseng extract fraction to sodium propionate bring about a significantly increased effect versus the mixture of ginseng extracts alone. Applicant further argues that the combination of the ingredients provides an unexpected result over the combination of the prior art, particularly when sodium propionate is included at more than 25% by weight of the composition. This argument is not persuasive, however, because not only was it known in the art that sodium propionate is a preservative used for preventing bacterial growth (Marcq et al., [0032]-[0033], page 4), but also that ginseng extracts provide selective enhancement/inhibition of bacterial growth depending on the solvent used. Water extracts of Panax ginseng facilitate growth of the beneficial bacteria Bifidobacterium longum, B. breve, Lactobacillus casei, and L. gasseri (Ahn et al., Table 1, page 114; Table 5, page 116), whereas methanol extracts of P. ginseng inhibited the growth of the harmful bacteria Clostridium coccoides, and C. perfringens (Ahn et al., Table 6, page 117). Additionally, it is known in the art that sodium propionate may be used in culture media to promote the growth of beneficial Bifidobacteria (Sigma Aldrich, Principle and Interpretation, page 2) and can also be used to inhibit the growth of the harmful bacterium Staphylococcus aureus (Jeong et al., Abstract, page 1). Taken together, it is unsurprising that combining an extract of ginseng with an alcoholic fraction of an extract of ginseng and then adding sodium propionate would have selective enhancement of beneficial bacterial growth.
Additionally, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., selective enhancement of beneficial bacteria, growth of beneficial bacteria forty times higher) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1655
/AARON J KOSAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655