DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 3-4 recite, “the first wireless network communication circuit”, it should be “the first wireless communication circuit”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 recites, “the first control unit”, it should be “a first control unit”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 is objected because of the following informalities: line 3 recites, “when the when the control unit”, one instance of “when” should be deleted.
Claim 9 is objected because of the following informalities: line 3 recites, “when the when the control unit”, one instance of “when” should be deleted.
Claim 35 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 4 recites, “configured to communication”, it should be “configured to communicate”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 36 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 1 recites, “the remote control device of claim 34”, it should be “the remote control device of claim 35”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 37 is objected because of the following informalities: line 3 recites, “when the when the control unit”, the second instance of “when” should be deleted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dimberg et al. (US 20170278383, hereinafter “Dimberg”), and further in view of Beason (US 20090191854, hereinafter “Beason”).
Regarding claim 1, Dimberg discloses,
A remote control device (FIG. 2A and Fig. 2B are a perspective view of an example remote control device) comprising:
a control unit ([0058]: The remote control device 120 may include a control unit) comprising a first input circuit configured to receive user inputs ([0059]: The input devices, such as actuators, a touch sensitive surface (e.g., a capacitive touch circuit response to a capacitive touch surface), a rotary knob, etc. The remote control device 120 may be configured to receive user inputs via the user input devices), a first wireless communication circuit configured to transmit and receive wireless signals via a wireless communication link ([0059]: The remote control device 120 may be configured to receive user inputs via external input devices, such as a battery-powered, remote control device 130…..the remote control device 120 may be operable to transmit wireless signals, for example radio frequency (RF) signals 108, to the controllable light source 110), and a first control circuit configured to cause the first wireless network communication circuit to transmit messages via the wireless signals in response to the user inputs received via the input circuit ([0059]: The remote control device 120 may be configured to receive user inputs via the user input devices, and additionally may be configured to receive user inputs via external input devices, such as a battery-powered, remote control device 130. Accordingly, the remote control device 120 may be configured to translate the user inputs into control data for controlling one or more electrical loads, such as the controllable light source 110), the first control circuit configured to operate in a plurality of operating modes, the first control circuit configured to transmit a first message for controlling a first electrical load when the control unit is operating in a first operating mode of the plurality of operating modes and a second message for controlling a second electrical load when the control unit is operating in a second operating mode of the plurality of operating modes ([0059]: The remote control device 120 may be configured to receive user inputs via the user input devices, and additionally may be configured to receive user inputs via external input devices, such as a battery-powered, remote control device 130. Accordingly, the remote control device 120 may be configured to translate the user inputs into control data for controlling one or more electrical loads, such as the controllable light source 110. [0114]: After the control unit 230 determines the orientation of the control unit 230 with respect to the adapter 210, the control unit 230 may translate a user input received via the user interface (e.g., the capacitive touch circuit) into control data for controlling one or more electrical loads based on the orientation of the control unit 230. That is, the control unit 230 may be configured to generate control data based on the orientation of the control unit 230.); and
a mounting unit to which the control unit is configured to be mounted ([0118]-[0120]: The base portion 310 may be configured to be fixedly attached to the actuator of a mechanical switch, such as the toggle actuator 304 of the light switch 302, and may be configured to maintain the actuator in a current position, such as in the on position. For example, as shown the base portion 310 may include a base 311 that defines a toggle actuator opening 312 that extends therethrough and that is configured to receive at least a portion of the toggle actuator 304), the mounting unit comprising a second input circuit configured to receive user inputs and a second control circuit responsive to the second input circuit of the mounting unit ([0114]: After the control unit 230 determines the orientation of the control unit 230 with respect to the adapter 210, the control unit 230 may translate a user input received via the user interface (e.g., the capacitive touch circuit) into control data for controlling one or more electrical loads based on the orientation of the control unit 230. That is, the control unit 230 may be configured to generate control data based on the orientation of the control unit 230. With knowledge of the orientation of the control unit 230, the control unit 230 can determine the relative location and/or direction of the user input with respect to the user (e.g., which is based on the orientation that the control unit 230 with respect to the adapter)….[0201]: the control unit may be configured to determine the orientation of the device (e.g., and in turn the mounting condition), and be configured to change the functionality of the remote control device accordingly. For example, the remote control device may be configured to adjust its responses (e.g., control data) and/or feedback for one or more inputs based on the orientation of the remote control device. In this regards, the remote control device may be configured to operate differently based on how or what the remote control device is mounted, for example, without requiring user configuration.) However, Dimberg does not disclose, wherein, when the control unit is mounted to the mounting unit, the second control circuit of the mounting unit is configured to transmit a third message to the first control circuit of the control unit in response to receiving a user input via the second input circuit, and the first control circuit of the control unit is configured to change between the plurality of operating modes in response to receiving the third message from the second control circuit of the mounting unit.
In the same field of endeavor, Beason discloses, wherein, when the control unit is mounted to the mounting unit, the second control circuit of the mounting unit is configured to transmit a third message to the first control circuit of the control unit in response to receiving a user input via the second input circuit, and the first control circuit of the control unit is configured to change between the plurality of operating modes in response to receiving the third message from the second control circuit of the mounting unit ([0014]: In an implementation an electronic device provides a variety of functionality through multiple modes of the electronic device. The electronic device may be configured to toggle between modes when inserted into or removed from a corresponding mounting device. For instance, one operational mode may be automatically activated upon insertion of the electronic device into the mounting device. Another operational mode may be automatically activated when the electronic device is removed from the mounting device. In another implementation, multiple different modes of an electronic device may be associated with multiple orientations of the device…..[0023]: Mode manager module 124 is representative of functionality to toggle, select, activate or otherwise manage multiple operational modes of the electronic device 102 responsive to various inputs. For example, operational modes may be activated or toggled based upon insertion or removal of an electronic device 102 into or out of a corresponding mounting device, further discussion of which may be found in relation to FIGS. 3 through 4…..[0044]-[0048]: Referring now to FIG. 4, the example mounting device 402 depicted may be configured in a variety of ways to secure a corresponding position-determining device 202. For example, the mounting device 402 may be arranged as a bracket to secure to a position-determining device 202 when used in a vehicle, such as a boat, automobile, aircraft and so forth. The mounting device 402 may be arranged to include an interface 404, a securing portion 406, and one or more supporting portions 408. The interface 404 may be configured to include various electrical contacts and connectors which may couple the position-determining device 202 to an external power supply, an antenna, a network connection and so forth, when the position-determining device 202 is inserted into the mounting device 402]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Dimberg by specifically providing wherein, when the control unit is mounted to the mounting unit, the second control circuit of the mounting unit is configured to transmit a third message to the first control circuit of the control unit in response to receiving a user input via the second input circuit, and the first control circuit of the control unit is configured to change between the plurality of operating modes in response to receiving the third message from the second control circuit of the mounting unit, as taught by Beason for the purpose of providing a variety of functionality through multiple modes of the electronic device (abstract).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Dimberg discloses,
wherein the control unit comprises a first battery for powering the first input circuit, the first wireless communication circuit, and the first control circuit ([0058]:The control unit may include a power supply (e.g., a battery)…[0078]: The remote control device 120 may be battery-powered (e.g., not wired in series electrical connection between the AC power source 102 and the controllable light source 110)….[0092]: The control unit 230 may be battery-powered. For example, as shown, the insert 234 may define a battery compartment 237 that is configured to retain a battery, for instance the illustrated coin cell battery 280, such that the battery is placed in electrical communication with the flexible circuit board 236).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Dimberg discloses,
wherein the mounting unit comprises an external supply circuit for providing power to the control unit when the control unit is mounted to the mounting unit ([0092]: wherein the mounting unit comprises an external supply circuit for providing power to the control unit when the control unit is mounted to the mounting unit.)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), further Dimberg discloses, further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting unit is configured to be electrically coupled to the control unit for powering the control unit ([0108]: When the magnet and hall-effect sensing circuit are aligned, the hall-effect sensing circuit may detect an electromagnetic field of the magnet and provide feedback to the control circuit of the control unit 230. For instance, the magnet and hall-effect sensor circuit may be aligned when the control unit 230 is attached to the adapter 210 in a first orientation, but not aligned when the control unit 230 is attached to the adapter 210 in a second orientation. Accordingly, the control unit 230 may be configured to determine the orientation of the control unit 230 with respect to the adapter 210 based on whether or not the control unit 230 receives a signal from the hall-effect sensing circuit indicating that magnet and hall-effect sensing circuit are aligned).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting unit comprises pogo pins configured to contact electrical pads on a printed circuit board of the control unit for electrically connecting the mounting unit to the control unit when the when the control unit is mounted to the mounting unit ([0120]-[0121] and Figs. 9-10: as shown the base 311 of the base portion 310 may include resilient snap-fit connectors 314, and the control unit 320 may define corresponding recesses 315 that are configured to receive the snap-fit connectors 314. The base portion 310 may include a release mechanism that is operable to cause the control unit 320 to be released from an attached position relative to the base portion 310.)
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the control unit comprises electrical contacts configured to contact electrical pads on the mounting unit for electrically connecting the mounting unit to the control unit when the when the control unit is mounted to the mounting unit ([0120]-[0121] and Figs. 9-10: as shown the base 311 of the base portion 310 may include resilient snap-fit connectors 314, and the control unit 320 may define corresponding recesses 315 that are configured to receive the snap-fit connectors 314. The base portion 310 may include a release mechanism that is operable to cause the control unit 320 to be released from an attached position relative to the base portion 310.)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 7), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the control unit comprises a battery compartment for receiving the first battery, and the mounting unit may comprise an electrical coupling member configured to be installed in the battery compartment of the control unit for powering the control unit ([0058]:The control unit may include a power supply (e.g., a battery)…[0078]: The remote control device 120 may be battery-powered (e.g., not wired in series electrical connection between the AC power source 102 and the controllable light source 110)….[0092]: The control unit 230 may be battery-powered. For example, as shown, the insert 234 may define a battery compartment 237 that is configured to retain a battery, for instance the illustrated coin cell battery 280, such that the battery is placed in electrical communication with the flexible circuit board 236).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting unit comprises a second battery having a greater energy capacity that the first battery of the control unit, the external supply circuit configured to provide power from the second battery to the control unit when the control unit is mounted to the mounting unit ([0058]:The control unit may include a power supply (e.g., a battery)…[0078]: The remote control device 120 may be battery-powered (e.g., not wired in series electrical connection between the AC power source 102 and the controllable light source 110)….[0092]: The control unit 230 may be battery-powered. For example, as shown, the insert 234 may define a battery compartment 237 that is configured to retain a battery, for instance the illustrated coin cell battery 280, such that the battery is placed in electrical communication with the flexible circuit board 236).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting unit comprises a power terminal configured to be connected to an external power source and an internal charging circuit configured to charge the second battery from the external power source ([0058]:The control unit may include a power supply (e.g., a battery)…[0078]: The remote control device 120 may be battery-powered (e.g., not wired in series electrical connection between the AC power source 102 and the controllable light source 110)….[0092]: The control unit 230 may be battery-powered. For example, as shown, the insert 234 may define a battery compartment 237 that is configured to retain a battery, for instance the illustrated coin cell battery 280, such that the battery is placed in electrical communication with the flexible circuit board 236).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the first control circuit is configured to determine that the control unit is mounted to the mounting unit and operate in a mounted mode when the control unit is mounted to the mounting unit ([0108]: When the magnet and hall-effect sensing circuit are aligned, the hall-effect sensing circuit may detect an electromagnetic field of the magnet and provide feedback to the control circuit of the control unit 230. For instance, the magnet and hall-effect sensor circuit may be aligned when the control unit 230 is attached to the adapter 210 in a first orientation, but not aligned when the control unit 230 is attached to the adapter 210 in a second orientation. Accordingly, the control unit 230 may be configured to determine the orientation of the control unit 230 with respect to the adapter 210 based on whether or not the control unit 230 receives a signal from the hall-effect sensing circuit indicating that magnet and hall-effect sensing circuit are aligned).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting unit comprises a magnet, and the control unit comprises a magnetic sensing circuit configured to detect the presence of the magnet, the first control circuit of the control unit configured to operate in the mounted mode in response to detecting the presence of the magnet ([0108]: When the magnet and hall-effect sensing circuit are aligned, the hall-effect sensing circuit may detect an electromagnetic field of the magnet and provide feedback to the control circuit of the control unit 230. For instance, the magnet and hall-effect sensor circuit may be aligned when the control unit 230 is attached to the adapter 210 in a first orientation, but not aligned when the control unit 230 is attached to the adapter 210 in a second orientation. Accordingly, the control unit 230 may be configured to determine the orientation of the control unit 230 with respect to the adapter 210 based on whether or not the control unit 230 receives a signal from the hall-effect sensing circuit indicating that magnet and hall-effect sensing circuit are aligned).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting unit is configured to transmit wireless signals to the control unit, the first control circuit of the control unit configured to measure a received signal strength magnitude of at least one of the wireless signals and operate in the mounted mode when the received signal strength magnitude of the at least one of the wireless signals exceeds a threshold ([0120]-[0121] and Figs. 9-10: as shown the base 311 of the base portion 310 may include resilient snap-fit connectors 314, and the control unit 320 may define corresponding recesses 315 that are configured to receive the snap-fit connectors 314. The base portion 310 may include a release mechanism that is operable to cause the control unit 320 to be released from an attached position relative to the base portion 310.)
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the control unit comprises an orientation detect circuit, the first control circuit of the control unit configured to determine an orientation of the control unit in response to the orientation detect circuit, the first control circuit of the control unit configured to operate in the mounted mode when the orientation of the control unit is at least one of a vertical orientation or an angled orientation ([0012]: The control unit may be configured to receive the orientation during a configuration mode of the control unit, for example, when the control unit is placed into the configuration mode via a unique user input via the user interface and/or placed into the configuration mode via an external device. The remote control device may also be paired with an electrical load of the load control system during the configuration mode. The control unit may be configured to receive the orientation of the control unit from an external device (e.g., smartphone, tablet, etc.) via the communication circuit).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the first control circuit of the control unit configured to operate in the mounted mode when the control unit is electrically connected to the mounting unit ([0108]: When the magnet and hall-effect sensing circuit are aligned, the hall-effect sensing circuit may detect an electromagnetic field of the magnet and provide feedback to the control circuit of the control unit 230. For instance, the magnet and hall-effect sensor circuit may be aligned when the control unit 230 is attached to the adapter 210 in a first orientation, but not aligned when the control unit 230 is attached to the adapter 210 in a second orientation. Accordingly, the control unit 230 may be configured to determine the orientation of the control unit 230 with respect to the adapter 210 based on whether or not the control unit 230 receives a signal from the hall-effect sensing circuit indicating that magnet and hall-effect sensing circuit are aligned).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the first control circuit is configured to operate in the mounted mode in response to inputs receives via the input circuit during an advanced programming mode ([0012]: The control unit may be configured to receive the orientation during a configuration mode of the control unit, for example, when the control unit is placed into the configuration mode via a unique user input via the user interface and/or placed into the configuration mode via an external device. The remote control device may also be paired with an electrical load of the load control system during the configuration mode. The control unit may be configured to receive the orientation of the control unit from an external device (e.g., smartphone, tablet, etc.) via the communication circuit).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), further Dimberg discloses,
wherein the control unit comprises a battery for powering the input circuit, the wireless communication circuit, and the first control circuit, and a remote charging circuit for charging the battery from the mounting unit, the first control circuit of the control unit configured to control the remote charging circuit to charge the battery through the mounting unit when the control unit is operating in the mounted mode ([0058]:The control unit may include a power supply (e.g., a battery)…[0078]: The remote control device 120 may be battery-powered (e.g., not wired in series electrical connection between the AC power source 102 and the controllable light source 110)….[0092]: The control unit 230 may be battery-powered. For example, as shown, the insert 234 may define a battery compartment 237 that is configured to retain a battery, for instance the illustrated coin cell battery 280, such that the battery is placed in electrical communication with the flexible circuit board 236).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the first control circuit of the control unit is configured to determine control information for controlling one or more electrical loads based on whether the control unit is operating in the mounted mode or not, and transmit a fourth message including the control information via the wireless communication circuit ([0114]: After the control unit 230 determines the orientation of the control unit 230 with respect to the adapter 210, the control unit 230 may translate a user input received via the user interface (e.g., the capacitive touch circuit) into control data for controlling one or more electrical loads based on the orientation of the control unit 230. That is, the control unit 230 may be configured to generate control data based on the orientation of the control unit 230. With knowledge of the orientation of the control unit 230, the control unit 230 can determine the relative location and/or direction of the user input with respect to the user (e.g., which is based on the orientation that the control unit 230 with respect to the adapter)….[0201]: the control unit may be configured to determine the orientation of the device (e.g., and in turn the mounting condition), and be configured to change the functionality of the remote control device accordingly. For example, the remote control device may be configured to adjust its responses (e.g., control data) and/or feedback for one or more inputs based on the orientation of the remote control device. In this regards, the remote control device may be configured to operate differently based on how or what the remote control device is mounted, for example, without requiring user configuration.).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting unit comprises a mounting structure configured to be vertically oriented when mounted ([0005]-[0006] and Figs. 9-10: The control unit configured to be mounted in a plurality of orientations (e.g., attached to the mounting structure in a plurality of orientations, attached to different types of mounting structures, etc.). The control unit may include a rotating portion that is rotatable with respect to the mounting structure. The control unit is rectangular in shape).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the first control circuit of the control unit is configured to determine if the control unit is mounted in one of first or second opposing orientations when the control unit is mounted to the mounting structure ([0007]-0008]: The control unit may include a user interface (e.g., a symmetric user interface), an orientation sensing circuit, and a communication circuit (e.g., a wireless communication circuit). The user interface of the control unit comprises a capacitive touch circuit. The control unit configured to determine an orientation of the control unit via the orientation sensing circuit, and translate a user input from the user interface into control data based on the orientation of the control unit, where the control data configured to control an electrical load of the load control system.)
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 22), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the control unit comprise a visual display configured to be illuminated to indicate feedback information, the first control circuit of the control unit configured to illuminate the visual display to indicate the feedback information in dependence upon whether the control unit is mounted in the first orientation or the second orientation ([0007]-0008]: The control unit may include a user interface (e.g., a symmetric user interface), an orientation sensing circuit, and a communication circuit (e.g., a wireless communication circuit). The user interface of the control unit comprises a capacitive touch circuit. The control unit configured to determine an orientation of the control unit via the orientation sensing circuit, and translate a user input from the user interface into control data based on the orientation of the control unit, where the control data configured to control an electrical load of the load control system.)
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the control unit may also be mounted to a horizontally-oriented pedestal, the first control circuit of the control unit configured to maintain the determined orientation constant at one of the first orientation or the second orientation when the control unit is mounted to the horizontally-oriented pedestal ([0045]-[0047]: Insertion of the device into the mounting device is detected (block 304). For instance, FIG. 4 further illustrated an insertion act 412 in which the position-determining device 202 is mounted into the mounting device 402. The result is an arrangement 414 in which the position-determining device 202 is illustrated as inserted into (e.g., connected to) the mounting device 402. In an implementation, the position-determining device 202 may be configured to be mounted in a landscape orientation as shown. When insertion act 412 occurs, position-determining device 202 may be configured in a variety of ways to detect the insertion act 412. For example, mode manager module 124 may detect the insertion based upon connection of the position-determining device 202 to the interface 404 portion of the mounting device 402.)
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 23), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the control circuit of the control unit is configured to determine a type of mounting unit to which the control unit is mounted ([0005]-[0006] and Figs. 9-10: The control unit configured to be mounted in a plurality of orientations (e.g., attached to the mounting structure in a plurality of orientations, attached to different types of mounting structures, etc.). The control unit may include a rotating portion that is rotatable with respect to the mounting structure. The control unit is rectangular in shape).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting structure is configured to be mounted to a vertical surface ([0005]-[0006] and Figs. 9-10: The control unit configured to be mounted in a plurality of orientations (e.g., attached to the mounting structure in a plurality of orientations, attached to different types of mounting structures, etc.). The control unit may include a rotating portion that is rotatable with respect to the mounting structure. The control unit is rectangular in shape).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting structure is configured to be mounted to a mechanical switch that is mounted to a vertical surface ([0005]-[0006] and Figs. 9-10: The control unit configured to be mounted in a plurality of orientations (e.g., attached to the mounting structure in a plurality of orientations, attached to different types of mounting structures, etc.). The control unit may include a rotating portion that is rotatable with respect to the mounting structure. The control unit is rectangular in shape).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting unit comprises a pedestal configured to rest on a horizontal surface ([0117]-[0119]: The remote control device 300 may include a base portion 310 and a control unit 320 that may be attached to the base portion 310. The control unit 320 may include a rotating portion that is rotatable with respect to the base portion 310. For example, as shown, the control unit 320 may include an annular rotating portion 322 that is configured to be rotatable relative to the base portion 310 when the control unit 320 is attached to the base portion 310.)
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 27), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting unit comprises a circular plate and the control unit comprises a rotation portion, the first input circuit of the control unit comprising a rotational position sensing circuit responsive to rotations of the rotation portion ([0117]-[0119]: The remote control device 300 may include a base portion 310 and a control unit 320 that may be attached to the base portion 310. The control unit 320 may include a rotating portion that is rotatable with respect to the base portion 310. For example, as shown, the control unit 320 may include an annular rotating portion 322 that is configured to be rotatable relative to the base portion 310 when the control unit 320 is attached to the base portion 310.)
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 28), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting unit comprises a plurality of actuators arranged in an upper portion of the circular plate, the second input circuit of the mounting unit comprising one or more mechanical switches configured to be actuated by the actuators of the mounting unit ([0117]-[0119]: The remote control device 300 may include a base portion 310 and a control unit 320 that may be attached to the base portion 310. The control unit 320 may include a rotating portion that is rotatable with respect to the base portion 310. For example, as shown, the control unit 320 may include an annular rotating portion 322 that is configured to be rotatable relative to the base portion 310 when the control unit 320 is attached to the base portion 310.)
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 29), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting unit comprise a mounting tab extending from the circular plate, the control unit configured to be mounted to the mounting tab of the mounting unit ([0117]-[0119]: The remote control device 300 may include a base portion 310 and a control unit 320 that may be attached to the base portion 310. The control unit 320 may include a rotating portion that is rotatable with respect to the base portion 310. For example, as shown, the control unit 320 may include an annular rotating portion 322 that is configured to be rotatable relative to the base portion 310 when the control unit 320 is attached to the base portion 310.)
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 28), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting unit comprises a rectangular plate and control unit comprises a rectangular housing and an actuation portion located in an opening of the housing, the first input circuit of the control unit comprising one or more mechanical switches responsive to actuations of the actuation portion ([0117]-[0119]: The remote control device 300 may include a base portion 310 and a control unit 320 that may be attached to the base portion 310. The control unit 320 may include a rotating portion that is rotatable with respect to the base portion 310. For example, as shown, the control unit 320 may include an annular rotating portion 322 that is configured to be rotatable relative to the base portion 310 when the control unit 320 is attached to the base portion 310….[0124]: The actuation portion 324 may in turn comprise a part or an entirety of a front surface of the control unit 320. For example, the control unit 320 may have a circular surface within an opening defined by the rotating portion 322. The actuation portion 324 may comprise a part of the circular surface (e.g., a central area of the circular surface) or approximately the entire circular surface.)
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 31), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting unit comprises a plurality of actuators arranged in an upper portion of the rectangular plate, the second input circuit of the mounting unit comprising one or more mechanical switches configured to be actuated by the actuators of the mounting unit ([0117]-[0119]: The remote control device 300 may include a base portion 310 and a control unit 320 that may be attached to the base portion 310. The control unit 320 may include a rotating portion that is rotatable with respect to the base portion 310. For example, as shown, the control unit 320 may include an annular rotating portion 322 that is configured to be rotatable relative to the base portion 310 when the control unit 320 is attached to the base portion 310….[0124]: The actuation portion 324 may in turn comprise a part or an entirety of a front surface of the control unit 320. For example, the control unit 320 may have a circular surface within an opening defined by the rotating portion 322. The actuation portion 324 may comprise a part of the circular surface (e.g., a central area of the circular surface) or approximately the entire circular surface.)
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 32), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting unit comprise a platform orientated at an angle with respect to the rectangular plate, the control unit configured to be mounted to the platform of the mounting unit ([0117]-[0119]: The remote control device 300 may include a base portion 310 and a control unit 320 that may be attached to the base portion 310. The control unit 320 may include a rotating portion that is rotatable with respect to the base portion 310. For example, as shown, the control unit 320 may include an annular rotating portion 322 that is configured to be rotatable relative to the base portion 310 when the control unit 320 is attached to the base portion 310….[0124]: The actuation portion 324 may in turn comprise a part or an entirety of a front surface of the control unit 320. For example, the control unit 320 may have a circular surface within an opening defined by the rotating portion 322. The actuation portion 324 may comprise a part of the circular surface (e.g., a central area of the circular surface) or approximately the entire circular surface.)
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the control unit comprises a first short-range communication circuit and the mounting unit comprises a second short-range communication circuit, the first control circuit of the control unit and the second control circuit of the mounting unit configured to communication via the first and second short-range communication circuits ([0059]: the remote control device 120 may be operable to transmit wireless signals, for example radio frequency (RF) signals 108, to the controllable light source 110. The wireless signals may be used to control the one or more characteristics (e.g., intensity, color, etc.) of the controllable light source 110. The controllable light source 110 may be associated with the remote control device 120 (e.g., during a configuration procedure of the load control system 100) such that the controllable light source 110 may be responsive to the RF signals 108 transmitted by the remote control device 120).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 34), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the control unit comprises a first short-range communication circuit and the mounting unit comprises a second short-range communication circuit, the first control circuit of the control unit and the second control circuit of the mounting unit configured to communication via the first and second short-range communication circuits ([0059]: the remote control device 120 may be operable to transmit wireless signals, for example radio frequency (RF) signals 108, to the controllable light source 110. The wireless signals may be used to control the one or more characteristics (e.g., intensity, color, etc.) of the controllable light source 110. The controllable light source 110 may be associated with the remote control device 120 (e.g., during a configuration procedure of the load control system 100) such that the controllable light source 110 may be responsive to the RF signals 108 transmitted by the remote control device 120).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 35), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting unit comprises pogo pins configured to contact electrical pads on a printed circuit board of the control unit for electrically connecting the mounting unit to the control unit when the when the control unit is mounted to the mounting unit ([0120]-[0121] and Figs. 9-10: as shown the base 311 of the base portion 310 may include resilient snap-fit connectors 314, and the control unit 320 may define corresponding recesses 315 that are configured to receive the snap-fit connectors 314. The base portion 310 may include a release mechanism that is operable to cause the control unit 320 to be released from an attached position relative to the base portion 310.)
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 35), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the first and second short-range communication circuits comprise short-range wireless communication circuits to allow for wireless communication between the first control circuit of the control unit and the second control circuit of the mounting unit ([0059]: the remote control device 120 may be operable to transmit wireless signals, for example radio frequency (RF) signals 108, to the controllable light source 110. The wireless signals may be used to control the one or more characteristics (e.g., intensity, color, etc.) of the controllable light source 110. The controllable light source 110 may be associated with the remote control device 120 (e.g., during a configuration procedure of the load control system 100) such that the controllable light source 110 may be responsive to the RF signals 108 transmitted by the remote control device 120).
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 35), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the first and second short-range communication circuits are magnetically couplable together to allow for wireless communication between the first control circuit of the control unit and the second control circuit of the mounting unit ([0071]-0075]: The controllable light source 110 may be associated with a wireless control device (e.g., the remote control device 120) during a configuration procedure of the load control system 100. For example, the association may be accomplished by actuating an actuator on the controllable light source 110 and then actuating (e.g., pressing and holding) an actuator on the wireless remote control device for a predetermined amount of time (e.g., approximately 10 seconds), and/or for example, through the use of an external device (e.g., a smartphone or tablet, a system controller, etc.)
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting unit comprises a temperature sensing circuit configured to measure a temperature in an area around the remote control device, the first control circuit of the control unit configured to transmit a fourth message including the measured temperature via the first wireless communication circuit ([0071]-0075]: The load control system 100 may include other types of input devices, for example, radiometers, cloudy-day sensors, temperature sensors, humidity sensors…The controllable light source 110 may be associated with a wireless control device (e.g., the remote control device 120) during a configuration procedure of the load control system 100. For example, the association may be accomplished by actuating an actuator on the controllable light source 110 and then actuating (e.g., pressing and holding) an actuator on the wireless remote control device for a predetermined amount of time (e.g., approximately 10 seconds), and/or for example, through the use of an external device (e.g., a smartphone or tablet, a system controller, etc.)
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 39), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting unit comprises a temperature sensing circuit configured to measure a temperature in an area around the remote control device, the first control circuit of the control unit configured to transmit a fourth message including the measured temperature via the first wireless communication circuit ([0071]-0075]: The controllable light source 110 may be associated with a wireless control device (e.g., the remote control device 120) during a configuration procedure of the load control system 100. For example, the association may be accomplished by actuating an actuator on the controllable light source 110 and then actuating (e.g., pressing and holding) an actuator on the wireless remote control device for a predetermined amount of time (e.g., approximately 10 seconds), and/or for example, through the use of an external device (e.g., a smartphone or tablet, a system controller, etc.)
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 39), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting unit comprises an occupancy sensing circuit configured to detect an occupancy or vacancy condition in an area around the remote control device, the first control circuit of the control unit configured to transmit a fourth message indicating the occupancy or vacancy condition via the first wireless communication circuit ([0071]-0075]: The controllable light source 110 may be associated with a wireless control device (e.g., the remote control device 120) during a configuration procedure of the load control system 100. For example, the association may be accomplished by actuating an actuator on the controllable light source 110 and then actuating (e.g., pressing and holding) an actuator on the wireless remote control device for a predetermined amount of time (e.g., approximately 10 seconds), and/or for example, through the use of an external device (e.g., a smartphone or tablet, a system controller, etc.)
Regarding claim 43, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting unit comprises a nightlight circuit configured to illuminate a portion of a housing of the mounting unit ([0117]-[0119]: The remote control device 300 may include a base portion 310 and a control unit 320 that may be attached to the base portion 310. The control unit 320 may include a rotating portion that is rotatable with respect to the base portion 310. For example, as shown, the control unit 320 may include an annular rotating portion 322 that is configured to be rotatable relative to the base portion 310 when the control unit 320 is attached to the base portion 310.)
Regarding claim 44, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the second input circuit of the mounting unit comprises one or more mechanical switches configured to be actuated by one or more actuators of the mounting unit ([0071]-0075]: The controllable light source 110 may be associated with a wireless control device (e.g., the remote control device 120) during a configuration procedure of the load control system 100. For example, the association may be accomplished by actuating an actuator on the controllable light source 110 and then actuating (e.g., pressing and holding) an actuator on the wireless remote control device for a predetermined amount of time (e.g., approximately 10 seconds), and/or for example, through the use of an external device (e.g., a smartphone or tablet, a system controller, etc.)
Regarding claim 45, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting unit comprises a mounting structure configured to be vertically oriented when mounted ([0005]-[0006] and Figs. 9-10: The control unit configured to be mounted in a plurality of orientations (e.g., attached to the mounting structure in a plurality of orientations, attached to different types of mounting structures, etc.). The control unit may include a rotating portion that is rotatable with respect to the mounting structure. The control unit is rectangular in shape).
Regarding claim 46, Dimberg discloses,
A remote control device (FIG. 2A and Fig. 2B are a perspective view of an example remote control device) comprising:
a control unit ([0058]: The remote control device 120 may include a control unit) comprising a first input circuit configured to receive user inputs ([0059]: The input devices, such as actuators, a touch sensitive surface (e.g., a capacitive touch circuit response to a capacitive touch surface), a rotary knob, etc. The remote control device 120 may be configured to receive user inputs via the user input devices), a first wireless communication circuit configured to transmit and receive wireless signals via a wireless communication link ([0059]: The remote control device 120 may be configured to receive user inputs via external input devices, such as a battery-powered, remote control device 130…..the remote control device 120 may be operable to transmit wireless signals, for example radio frequency (RF) signals 108, to the controllable light source 110), and a first control circuit configured to cause the first wireless network communication circuit to transmit messages via the wireless signals in response to the user inputs received via the input circuit ([0059]: The remote control device 120 may be configured to receive user inputs via the user input devices, and additionally may be configured to receive user inputs via external input devices, such as a battery-powered, remote control device 130. Accordingly, the remote control device 120 may be configured to translate the user inputs into control data for controlling one or more electrical loads, such as the controllable light source 110); and
a mounting unit to which the control unit is configured to be mounted ([0118]-[0120]: The base portion 310 may be configured to be fixedly attached to the actuator of a mechanical switch, such as the toggle actuator 304 of the light switch 302, and may be configured to maintain the actuator in a current position, such as in the on position. For example, as shown the base portion 310 may include a base 311 that defines a toggle actuator opening 312 that extends therethrough and that is configured to receive at least a portion of the toggle actuator 304), the mounting unit comprising a second input circuit configured to receive user inputs and a second control circuit responsive to the second input circuit of the mounting unit ([0114]: After the control unit 230 determines the orientation of the control unit 230 with respect to the adapter 210, the control unit 230 may translate a user input received via the user interface (e.g., the capacitive touch circuit) into control data for controlling one or more electrical loads based on the orientation of the control unit 230. That is, the control unit 230 may be configured to generate control data based on the orientation of the control unit 230. With knowledge of the orientation of the control unit 230, the control unit 230 can determine the relative location and/or direction of the user input with respect to the user (e.g., which is based on the orientation that the control unit 230 with respect to the adapter)….[0201]: the control unit may be configured to determine the orientation of the device (e.g., and in turn the mounting condition), and be configured to change the functionality of the remote control device accordingly. For example, the remote control device may be configured to adjust its responses (e.g., control data) and/or feedback for one or more inputs based on the orientation of the remote control device. In this regards, the remote control device may be configured to operate differently based on how or what the remote control device is mounted, for example, without requiring user configuration.), the second control circuit of the mounting unit is configured to determine a selected preset for controlling one or more electrical loads in response to receiving a user input via the second input circuit and transmit a first message including the selected preset to the first control circuit of the control unit when the control unit is mounted to the mounting unit ([0114]: After the control unit 230 determines the orientation of the control unit 230 with respect to the adapter 210, the control unit 230 may translate a user input received via the user interface (e.g., the capacitive touch circuit) into control data for controlling one or more electrical loads based on the orientation of the control unit 230. That is, the control unit 230 may be configured to generate control data based on the orientation of the control unit 230. With knowledge of the orientation of the control unit 230, the control unit 230 can determine the relative location and/or direction of the user input with respect to the user (e.g., which is based on the orientation that the control unit 230 with respect to the adapter)….[0201]: the control unit may be configured to determine the orientation of the device (e.g., and in turn the mounting condition), and be configured to change the functionality of the remote control device accordingly. For example, the remote control device may be configured to adjust its responses (e.g., control data) and/or feedback for one or more inputs based on the orientation of the remote control device. In this regards, the remote control device may be configured to operate differently based on how or what the remote control device is mounted, for example, without requiring user configuration.) However, Dimberg does not disclose, wherein, when the control unit is mounted to the mounting unit, the second control circuit of the mounting unit is configured to determine a selected preset for controlling one or more electrical loads in response to receiving a user input via the second input circuit and transmit a first message including the selected preset to the first control circuit of the control unit, the first control circuit of the control unit is configured to receive the first message from the second control circuit of the mounting unit and transmit a second message including the selected preset via the wireless communication circuit.
In the same field of endeavor, Beason discloses, wherein, when the control unit is mounted to the mounting unit, the second control circuit of the mounting unit is configured to determine a selected preset for controlling one or more electrical loads in response to receiving a user input via the second input circuit and transmit a first message including the selected preset to the first control circuit of the control unit, the first control circuit of the control unit is configured to receive the first message from the second control circuit of the mounting unit and transmit a second message including the selected preset via the wireless communication circuit ([0014]: In an implementation an electronic device provides a variety of functionality through multiple modes of the electronic device. The electronic device may be configured to toggle between modes when inserted into or removed from a corresponding mounting device. For instance, one operational mode may be automatically activated upon insertion of the electronic device into the mounting device. Another operational mode may be automatically activated when the electronic device is removed from the mounting device. In another implementation, multiple different modes of an electronic device may be associated with multiple orientations of the device…..[0023]: Mode manager module 124 is representative of functionality to toggle, select, activate or otherwise manage multiple operational modes of the electronic device 102 responsive to various inputs. For example, operational modes may be activated or toggled based upon insertion or removal of an electronic device 102 into or out of a corresponding mounting device, further discussion of which may be found in relation to FIGS. 3 through 4…..[0044]-[0048]: Referring now to FIG. 4, the example mounting device 402 depicted may be configured in a variety of ways to secure a corresponding position-determining device 202. For example, the mounting device 402 may be arranged as a bracket to secure to a position-determining device 202 when used in a vehicle, such as a boat, automobile, aircraft and so forth. The mounting device 402 may be arranged to include an interface 404, a securing portion 406, and one or more supporting portions 408. The interface 404 may be configured to include various electrical contacts and connectors which may couple the position-determining device 202 to an external power supply, an antenna, a network connection and so forth, when the position-determining device 202 is inserted into the mounting device 402]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Dimberg by specifically providing wherein, when the control unit is mounted to the mounting unit, the second control circuit of the mounting unit is configured to determine a selected preset for controlling one or more electrical loads in response to receiving a user input via the second input circuit and transmit a first message including the selected preset to the first control circuit of the control unit, the first control circuit of the control unit is configured to receive the first message from the second control circuit of the mounting unit and transmit a second message including the selected preset via the wireless communication circuit, as taught by Beason for the purpose of providing a variety of functionality through multiple modes of the electronic device (abstract).
Regarding claim 47, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 45), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the first control circuit is configured to operate in a plurality of operating modes, the first control circuit configured to transmit a third message for controlling a first electrical load when the control unit is operating in a first operating mode of the plurality of operating modes and a fourth message for controlling a second electrical load when the control unit is operating in a second operating mode of the plurality of operating modes ([0059]: The remote control device 120 may be configured to receive user inputs via the user input devices, and additionally may be configured to receive user inputs via external input devices, such as a battery-powered, remote control device 130. Accordingly, the remote control device 120 may be configured to translate the user inputs into control data for controlling one or more electrical loads, such as the controllable light source 110. [0114]: After the control unit 230 determines the orientation of the control unit 230 with respect to the adapter 210, the control unit 230 may translate a user input received via the user interface (e.g., the capacitive touch circuit) into control data for controlling one or more electrical loads based on the orientation of the control unit 230. That is, the control unit 230 may be configured to generate control data based on the orientation of the control unit 230.)
Regarding claim 48, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 46), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the mounting unit comprises a switch, and the first control circuit of the control unit is configured to change between the plurality of operating modes in response to actuations of the switch ([0059]: The remote control device 120 may be configured to receive user inputs via the user input devices, and additionally may be configured to receive user inputs via external input devices, such as a battery-powered, remote control device 130. Accordingly, the remote control device 120 may be configured to translate the user inputs into control data for controlling one or more electrical loads, such as the controllable light source 110. [0114]: After the control unit 230 determines the orientation of the control unit 230 with respect to the adapter 210, the control unit 230 may translate a user input received via the user interface (e.g., the capacitive touch circuit) into control data for controlling one or more electrical loads based on the orientation of the control unit 230. That is, the control unit 230 may be configured to generate control data based on the orientation of the control unit 230.)
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dimberg, in view of Beason and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20100229196, hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Dimberg and Beason discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3), however the combination of Dimberg and Beason does not disclose, wherein the control unit comprises a remote charging circuit for charging the battery from the mounting unit.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses, wherein the control unit comprises a remote charging circuit for charging the battery from the mounting unit ([0064]: as shown in the example shown in FIG. 2B, the docking station 200 can be connected to a power source 210. Thus, power source 210 could provide operating and/or charging power to the remote controller 100 via the docking station 200. To accommodate a charging function, the remote controller 100 could include a battery (shown in FIG. 3)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Dimberg and Beason by specifically providing wherein the control unit comprises a remote charging circuit for charging the battery from the mounting unit, as taught by Lee for the purpose of providing a remote controller having a display, wherein the remote controller is operable to control an external device, and is also operable to receive and provide multimedia content [0004].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Dimberg, Beason and Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (claim 4), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the external supply circuit of the mounting unit is magnetically couplable to the remote charge circuit of the control unit via a magnetic coupling for charging the battery from the mounting unit when the control unit is mounted to the mounting unit ([0108]: When the magnet and hall-effect sensing circuit are aligned, the hall-effect sensing circuit may detect an electromagnetic field of the magnet and provide feedback to the control circuit of the control unit 230. For instance, the magnet and hall-effect sensor circuit may be aligned when the control unit 230 is attached to the adapter 210 in a first orientation, but not aligned when the control unit 230 is attached to the adapter 210 in a second orientation. Accordingly, the control unit 230 may be configured to determine the orientation of the control unit 230 with respect to the adapter 210 based on whether or not the control unit 230 receives a signal from the hall-effect sensing circuit indicating that magnet and hall-effect sensing circuit are aligned).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Dimberg, Beason and Lee discloses everything claimed as applied above (claim 4), further Dimberg discloses, wherein the first control unit of the control unit is configured to communicate with the second control unit of the mounting unit via the magnetic coupling ([0108]: When the magnet and hall-effect sensing circuit are aligned, the hall-effect sensing circuit may detect an electromagnetic field of the magnet and provide feedback to the control circuit of the control unit 230. For instance, the magnet and hall-effect sensor circuit may be aligned when the control unit 230 is attached to the adapter 210 in a first orientation, but not aligned when the control unit 230 is attached to the adapter 210 in a second orientation. Accordingly, the control unit 230 may be configured to determine the orientation of the control unit 230 with respect to the adapter 210 based on whether or not the control unit 230 receives a signal from the hall-effect sensing circuit indicating that magnet and hall-effect sensing circuit are aligned).
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
WO 2009094472: he position-determining device (202) has modules are stored in the memory and executable on the processor to monitor connection of the position-determining device to a corresponding mounting device (402). The phone mode is selected to provide mobile phone functionality as active for the position-determining device when the position-determining device is disconnected from the corresponding mounting device.
US 20070129106: The system (30) has a remote controller (32) e.g. voice over Internet protocol phone, including a mode input interface for inputting a mode control code based on a function mode of an electronic device (34) e.g. television. A function input interface inputs a function control code e.g. human interface device code, based on a function instruction of the device, and the controller requires only a set of operation interfaces.
US 20180116039: Provided herein are examples of a remote control device that provides a retrofit solution for an existing switched control system. The remote control device may comprise a control circuit, a rotatable portion, a magnetic ring coupled to the rotatable portion, and first and second Hall-effect sensor circuits configured to generate respective first and second sensor control signals in response to magnetic fields generated by the magnetic elements.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641