Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/22/23 and 3/4/24 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the battery pack" in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests “the plurality of battery packs”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "a plurality of racks" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claims should clearly state the “racks” of claim 1 and “a plurality of racks” of claim 2 are the same claimed element.
Claim 2 recites “in a row” in the last line, which is indefinite. It is unclear how the racks installed in the first inner space and racks installed in the second inner space are disposed in a single row.
Claim 3 recites “that forms a skeleton thereof”, which is indefinite. It is unclear what the limitation “forms a skeleton thereof” encompasses. Note this limitation appears in line 2 and line 4 of claim 3.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the opposite surface of the first and second spacer blocks" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, “the opposite surface” is singular and “the first and second spacer blocks” is plural.
Claim 7 recites “fastened each other” in line 7. Examiner suggests “fastened to each other”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the upper surface" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the pressure" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 10 recites the limitation "the inner space" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner notes claim 1 recites “a first inner space” and “a second inner space”.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the inner spaces" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests “the first inner space of the first housing and the second inner space of the second housing”.
Claim 12 recites “in the case of the heat exchange unit”, which is indefinite. Claim 12 recites the limitation "a heat exchange unit" in line 2 (twice recited). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 12 recites the limitation "these heat exchange units" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "a fluid of a predetermined temperature" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "a space between the rack installed in the first housing and the rack installed in the second housing" in lines 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests “a space between the racks installed in the first inner space and the racks installed in the second inner space”.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "a space between the rack installed in the second housing and the ceiling of the second housing" in lines 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests “a space between the racks installed in the second inner space and a ceiling surface of the second housing”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "a plurality of racks" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 14 recites “in a row”, which is indefinite. It is unclear how the racks installed in the first inner space and racks installed in the second inner space are disposed in a single row.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the rack" and “the space between the rows of the rack” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. In addition, it is unclear how the partition plate is “installed in the rack to open and close the space between the rows of the rack”.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the rack" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 15 recites the limitation "the inner space" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
To the extent the claims are understood in view of the 35 USC 112 rejections above, note the following prior art rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al., KR 2022-0043063 A.
Note US 2023/0344063 A1, as shown on the bibliographic data page of the Korean Patent as “also published as”, will be used as an English language equivalent of Kim et al. to discuss the teaching of the cited reference.
Kim teaches a battery rack including a plurality of battery modules; and a rack case configured to accommodate the plurality of battery modules and mount another rack case above, wherein the rack case includes a fixing unit provided on a lower end portion of the rack case, wherein the fixing unit includes a main body part of a plate shape. The main body part includes a fixing groove formed to be recessed from an edge of the main body part, and wherein the rack case includes at least one bolt provided on an upper end portion of the rack case and configured to be inserted into the fixing groove included in a lower end of the other rack case [abstract]. See at least Figures of Kim. Doors enclosing the inner space of the race case 120B and doors enclosing the inner space of the other rack case 120A are provided.
The battery rack case 120B having an inner space and/or the other battery rack case 120A having an inner space contain battery modules 110 installed within. See at least Figures 3 and 6. Referring to FIG. 2, the energy storage system 200 may include one or more battery racks 100. The battery rack 100 may include the rack cases 120A and 120B stacked in the up-down direction. The energy storage system 200 may be implemented in various forms, such as a smart grid system or an electric charging station (controlling unit) [0101].
Regarding claim 2 see at least Figure 6 that shows the racks are disposed in rows. Regarding claim 3, see at least Figure 2 that shows a first door unit and a second door unit. Regarding claim 4, see at least Figures 2, 6 and 12 that show an anti-sag bracket connecting a frame of the battery rack case 120B and a frame of the other battery rack case 120A.
Regarding claim 7, see at least Figures 7 and 10 that show a bracket 129 (first fastening part) having bolt holes H provided in the battery rack cases. See also [0012-0020] of Kim. The rack case 120A may be configured such that the other rack case 120A may be mounted above. For example, the battery rack 100 may include two or more rack cases 120A and 120B stacked in an up-down direction. Among the two or more rack cases 120A and 120B stacked in an up-down direction, an upper portion of the rack case 120B located relatively below and a lower portion of the rack case 120A located relatively above may be bolt-coupled to each other [0048].
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches a fixing unit 126 (first top plate provided along an upper surface edge of the first housing) having an elastic member (seal) provided in the accommodation groove to pressurize the restraining bar to protrude from the accommodation groove. See at least [0019] and Figures 7-9. As shown in Figure 7, the second housing is seated atop the fixing unit 126.
Thus, the claims are anticipated.
*
Claim(s) 1-3, 7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jourdren, KR 2018-0123535 A.
Jourdren discloses a container for storing at least one electrical energy storage unit, the container is provided with a hatch [title]. The container comprises a top wall 10 forming a roof and a ceiling, a bottom wall 11 forming a bottom, and four vertical perimeters denoted by reference numerals 12-15. The lower wall 11 and preferably also the upper wall 10 comprise means for stacking, positioning and securing several containers of this type (a first housing and a second housing) to each other at four corners. The electrical energy storage unit 4 (plurality of battery packs) is stored in an internal space E of the container 1 and carried on a support rack [0030-0040]. The container may in particular comprise a management means, such as a programmable logic controller, capable of performing one or more measurements of at least one operating parameter of the storage unit. A central processing unit controller is disclosed [0056-0057]. Jourdren relates to a fixed installation for storing electrical energy generated by combining energy production means such as self-contained, fixed electrical installations, i.e. solar panels or wind turbines, with the unit [0001].
Jourdren teaches when a gas overpressure occurs, these gases need to be vented [0008]. The hatch/vent hole is automatically opened to discharge gas to the outside to prevent overpressure of the container preventing fire and damage [0013-0014]. Thus, the claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., KR 2022-0043063 A in view of Lee at al., US 2018/0339636 A1.
Note US 2023/0344063 A1, as shown on the bibliographic data page of the Korean Patent as “also published as”, will be used as an English language equivalent of Kim et al. to discuss the teaching of the cited reference. See the discussion of Kim above regarding at least claim 1.
Kim does not explicitly teach the anti-sag bracket includes a first spacer block and a second spacer block, as recited by at least claim 5. However, Lee teaches container comprising a bottom part, a ceiling part, a sidewall and a rack. The rack 120 is configured to load a battery [0020-0024; Figures 1-6]. The container includes an anchor unit having a plurality of holes. The at least one or more anchor units may be disposed between the reinforcing members. The container may further comprise a reinforcing member 140 disposed on a corner casting part 115 at which two sides of the sidewall part 113, which meet each other at a predetermined angle, and the bottom part 110 meet each other to surround the corner casting part 115. Lee teaches The reinforcing member 140 may absorb or buffer vibration. The anchor unit 150 may comprise a first member 151 facing the first sidewall part 113, a second member 153 extending from a lower end of the first member 151 in a direction parallel to the bottom part 110, a rib member 155 connecting the first member 151 to the second member 153 and supporting the first member 151 and the second member 153, and a protrusion member 157 protruding from the first member 151 to the sidewall part 113 and inserted into the sidewall part 113 [0040-0043]. Therefore, one of skill in the art would have been motivated to provide spacer blocks in the battery rack including a plurality of battery modules of Kim to help absorb and/or buffer vibration as shown by the reinforcing members 140/anchor units 150 of the container of Lee. See also [0025-0039] of Lee.
Lee further teaches in the container 200 according to Embodiment 2, a plurality of racks may be installed to be connected to each other in a line. Each of the racks may comprise a rack post 230 that vertically supports the rack. A bracket 260 may be configured to connect and fix the rack posts 230 to each other. For this, the bracket 260 may comprise adhesion parts 260 adhering to the rack post 230 and a long rod part 263 connecting the plurality of adhesion parts 260 to each other. The bracket 260 may be installed at two points of upper and lower portions of the rack post 230. The container 200 according to Embodiment 2 may comprise the bracket 260 to more surely prevent the container 200 from being shaken in a longitudinal direction of the container 200, and thus, more secure the stability of the battery [0050-0053].
**
Claim(s) 8-9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., KR 2022-0043063 A in view of Song at al., KR 10-1918022 B1.
Note US 2023/0344063 A1, as shown on the bibliographic data page of the Korean Patent as “also published as”, will be used as an English language equivalent of Kim et al. to discuss the teaching of the cited reference. See the discussion of Kim above regarding at least claim 1.
Kim does not explicitly teach a fire extinguishing system and a spray system. However, Song teaches an energy storage system (ESS) including a ESS housing installed in a predetermined space and accommodating a plurality of battery packs and a battery pack stacked and housed in the ESS housing for storing electric power. The stored electric power being produced by various electric power generating devices and supplying the electric power stored as a load. See at least Figure 1 of Song wherein the ESS system includes an air conditioning and extinguishing function. The air conditioner is detachable and individually supplies cold air or warm air to each of the battery packs accommodated in the ESS housing. Song teaches conventional means of air conditioning the battery packs were ineffective to cool a large amount of heat generated in each battery pack, thus, creating a fire risk. Song teaches by using the detachable air conditioning unit disclosed, including a fire extinguishing system, battery fires may be prevented and/or extinguish effectively to minimize damage to the battery pack. Particularly, the fire extinguishing system selectively supplied fire extinguishing aerosols (spray) according to fire detection information (page 4 of translation). Thus, one of skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have been motivated to provide the air conditioning unit comprising a fire extinguishing system of Song for the battery rack including a plurality of battery modules of Kim to effectively extinguish a battery fire and minimize damage to the battery packs. See also page 5-7 of the translation regarding the teachings of Song.
Allowable Subject Matter
To the extent the claims are understood in view of the 35 USC 112 rejections above, claims 13-15 and 17-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 further comprising a heat exchange unit that performs heat exchange by receiving a fluid passing through the first inner space of the first housing and the second inner space of the second housing and wherein a flow forming plate and a partition plate are provided to form a flow plate so that the fluid flows through a space between the rack of the first house and the rack of the second housing, and further, through a space between the rack install in the second housing and a ceiling of the second housing. Claim 17 further comprising a first top plate provided along an upper surface edge of the first housing and a sealing member provided on the firs top plate on which the second housing is seated wherein a waterproof plate connects the first housing and the second housing seated on the sealing member to shield the sealing member.
Conclusion
/TRACY M DOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725