DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/28/2026 and 07/28/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 55-71 and 74-75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holyaoke et al. 2018/0085544 in view of Fukunaga et al. JP 57-02025 and Milne et al. 2016/0045702
Regarding claim 55, Holyoake teaches a multi-lumen assembly (Figure 44a, tubes 2306) for use with a respiratory support system (Machine 2404), the multi- lumen assembly comprising: a plurality of conduits including: a first inspiratory conduit (Inspiratory conduit of 2306) comprising a first conduit inflow end couplable with a first gas outlet of the respiratory support system (First end is connected to anesthetic machine 2404); a second inspiratory conduit (high flow gas conduit 2202) comprising a second conduit inflow end couplable with a second gas outlet of the respiratory support system (0862 states “to supply high flow gas to the cannula”, second gas outlet located on the flowmeter 2124); and an expiratory conduit comprising an expiratory conduit outflow end couplable with an expired gas inlet of the respiratory support system (0932 states “patient expiratory flow will be back into the tube to the bag/anesthetic machine.”).
Holyaoke fails to teach the secondary inspiratory conduit as being part of a multi-lumen assembly. Fukunaga does teach an analogous oxygen supply circuit that does teach a second conduit inflow (Fresh gas supply tube 23, figure 3) within a multi lumen assembly that is couplable with a second gas outlet (Gas from the fresh gas supply unit enters into 22, leading to supply tube 23. This gas supply would be a second gas outlet). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second conduit of Holyaoke to be included within the multi-lumen assembly of 2306 as taught by Fukunaga as this would reduce the cross sectional area of the multiple tubes, which in turn would further improve the operability and economic efficiency of the device (Pages 2 and 7 of the provided machine translated application).
Holyaoke fails to teach a mechanism to retain at least a portion of a length of the plurality of conduits in a group. Milne teaches an analogous multi lumen configuration that does teach a mechanism to retain at least a portion of a length of the plurality of conduits in a group (Figure 11A depicts a retaining mechanism in the middle, holding the plurality of conduits together.). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Holyaoke with the teachings of Milne and include a mechanism to retain at least a portion of a length of the plurality of conduits in a group as this allows for a plurality of individual tubes to be held together for the purposes of keeping conduits organized.
Regarding claim 56, Holyaoke teaches the multi-lumen assembly of Claim 55, wherein the first inspiratory conduit comprises a first conduit outflow end couplable with a first patient interface (outlet of inspiratory tube of 2306 is connected to mask 2300) configured to sealingly engage with and direct flow into an airway of a patient (Figure 3 depicts the mask sealed with the face of the patient).
Regarding claim 57, Holyaoke teaches the multi-lumen assembly of Claim 56, wherein the second inspiratory conduit comprises a second conduit outflow end couplable with a second patient interface configured to direct flow into an airway of the patient (Cannula 2200 is coupled with conduit 2202) and is a non-sealing interface (This is a non-sealing interface as it is a cannula that is placed within the patient’s nostrils).
Regarding claim 58, modified Holyaoke teaches the multi-lumen assembly of Claim 55, wherein the conduits are arranged co-axially for at least a portion of a length of the plurality of conduits (Depicted in figures 4 and 5a of Fukunaga.).
Regarding claim 59, Holyaoke teaches the multi-lumen assembly of Claim 58, wherein, for the portion of the length of the plurality of conduits that is arranged co-axially, an outer wall of an inner lumen of the plurality of conduits defines an inner wall of a co-axially adjacent lumen of the plurality of conduits (Depicted in figures 4 and 5a of Fukunaga).
Regarding claim 61, modified Holyaoke teaches the multi-lumen assembly of Claim 60, wherein the mechanism comprises a webbing arranged between at least pairs of the plurality of conduits at intervals or continuously along at least a length of the plurality of conduits (Figure 11a of Milne depicts a configuration where there is webbing arranged between a plurality of conduits.).
Regarding claim 62, modified Holyaoke teaches the multi-lumen assembly of Claim 61, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the webbing is frangible to facilitate separation of at least a length of one or more of the plurality of conduits from the group. However, making components separable may be considered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would modify modified Holyaoke to make it wherein the webbing is frangible to facilitate separation of at least a length of one or more of the plurality of conduits from the group as this allows for . MPEP § 2144.04-V-C.
Regarding claim 63, modified Holyaoke teaches the multi-lumen assembly of Claim 55, wherein the mechanism comprises a sheath applied around the plurality of conduits (Figure 11b of Milne depicts a sheath applied around a plurality of conduits).
Regarding claim 64, Holyaoke teaches the multi-lumen assembly of Claim 55, wherein the first inspiratory conduit is configured to deliver breathing gases including an anesthetic agent to a patient (Inspiratory conduit of 2306 is connected to anesthetic machine 2404.).
Regarding claim 65, Holyaoke teaches the multi-lumen assembly of Claim 55, wherein the expiratory conduit is configured to return expired gases from a patient to the respiratory support system (0932 states “patient expiratory flow will be back into the tube to the bag/anesthetic machine.”).
Regarding claim 66, Holyaoke teaches the multi-lumen assembly of Claim 55, wherein the second inspiratory conduit is configured to deliver breathing gases to a patient at a flow rate between 20 L/min and 90 L/min (0653 states “a flowrate of gases supplied or provided to an interface or via a system, such as through a flow path, may comprise, but is not limited to, flows of at least about 5, 10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, 80, 90, 100, 110, 120, 130, 140, 150 L/min, or more, and useful ranges may be selected between any of these values (for example, about 40 to about 80, about 50 to about 80, about 60 to about 80, about 70 to about 100 L/min, about 70 to 80 L/min)”).
Regarding claim 67, Holyaoke teaches the multi-lumen assembly of Claim 55, wherein a flow switching mechanism operable to direct flow of breathing gas into the first inspiratory conduit or into the second inspiratory conduit (0354 states “The mechanically activated switch may be activated by a user, or alternatively may be activated by placement of a component of a respiratory delivery system being brought into contact with the switch, such as a subsequent patient interface being brought into contact with the conduit comprising the switch.”).
Regarding claim 68, Holyaoke teaches the multi-lumen assembly of Claim 67, but fails to teach wherein the flow switching mechanism is operatively linked with a respiratory support system controller (0072 states “a controller configured to determine, based on a generated signal or output from the first and second sensors, when the system switches or is to switch between the first and second respiratory modes.”).
Regarding claim 69, Holyaoke teaches the multi-lumen assembly of Claim 68 wherein the respiratory support system controller controls the respiratory support system to deliver breathing gases to the multi- lumen assembly according to operation of the flow switching mechanism by a user (0467 states “The sensor may be a mechanical switch activated by the second patient interface being placed into contact with said sensor, and generating the signal or output. The mechanical switch may comprise an actuatable projection or prong extending from the item, the projection or prong extending from the item at a point which is to come into contact with the second patient interface when the second patient interface is provided in an operational configuration with the patient.”).
Regarding claim 70, Holyaoke teaches the multi-lumen assembly of Claim 68, wherein the respiratory support system controller controls operation of the flow switching mechanism (0476 states “The pressure sensitive switch or sensing system may comprise a pressure sensor within the seal of the second patient interface, and the placement of the second patient interface upon the patient induces a change in pressure within the seal which is sensed by the sensor and a signal or output generated indicative of the presence of the second patient interface on the patient.”).
Regarding claim 71, Holyoake teaches the multi-lumen assembly of Claim 55, wherein the outflow end of the first inspiratory conduit and an inflow end of the expiratory conduit form a common gas flow pathway comprising a single gas exchange conduit which is couplable with a first patient interface (Figure 44A depicts tubes 2306 going into a singular gas flow pathway which is connected to the patient interface).
Regarding claim 74, Holyaoke teaches the multi-lumen assembly of Claim 55, further comprising a gas sampling conduit for monitoring one or more characteristics of gas (Figure 35 depicts sampling line 629 for monitoring pressure).
Regarding claim 75, modified Holyaoke teaches the multi-lumen assembly of Claim 55, wherein the plurality of conduits is arranged coaxially for an entire length of the plurality of conduits (Figures 4 and 5a of Fukunaga depicts the three conduits arranged coaxially).
Claims 72-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Holyaoke, in view of Fitch et al. 2022/0126052
Regarding claim 72, modified Holyaoke teaches the multi-lumen assembly of Claim 55, but fails to explicitly wherein the multi-lumen assembly includes a patient-end connector for coupling: (a) an outflow end of the first inspiratory conduit with a first patient interface; and (b) an outflow end of the second inspiratory conduit with a second patient interface. Fitch does disclose an analogous ventilator interface that does teach wherein the multi-lumen assembly (Multi-lumen tubing 1140) includes a patient-end connector for coupling (Connector containing switch 1162): (a) an outflow end of the first inspiratory conduit with a first patient interface (1112 is connected to a first inspiratory conduit); and (b) an outflow end of the second inspiratory conduit with a second patient interface (tubing 1160 is connected to a second patient interface with a second inspiratory conduit). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Holyaoke with the teachings of Fitch and include a patient end connector as it provides a method of switching the type of therapy that is applied (0056).
Regarding claim 73, modified Holyaoke in view of Fitch teaches the multi-lumen assembly of Claim 72, wherein the patient end connector comprises a switching element operable to switch the connector between a first mode of operation in which the connector directs breathing gas to the first patient interface, and a second mode of operation in which the connector directs breathing gas to the second patient interface (Figure 1 of Fitch, switch 1162, 0056).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 55 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ROHAN PATEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785