The present application, filed on or after
March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-29 are pending in the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I,
,
the species of Compound 8a, disclosed in paragraph [0513] on page 151 (reproduced below),
,
the oxidizing agent hydrogen peroxide (as found in instant claim 6), and the base sodium hydrogen carbonate (as found in instant claim 5),
in the reply filed on June 22, 2026 is acknowledged.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 7-18, 19 (in-part), 20 (in-part), 21 (in-part), 24-27, 28 (in-part) and 29 (in-part) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to
37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 22, 2026.
It is suggested that in order to advance prosecution, the non-elected subject matter in which rejoinder is not applicable be canceled if Applicant files a response to this Office Action.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner has considered the Information Disclosure Statements filed on June 22, 2023 and
July 17, 2023. The Examiner has also considered the Third Party Submission filed on August 6, 2024. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of
37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01. See paragraph [0557] on page 175; and paragraph [0638] on page 214 of the instant specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
the Preliminary Amendment filed June 22, 2023 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure.
35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: the phrase “each of which is hereby incorporated herein by reference in its entirety”.
MPEP 211.02 and MPEP 201.06(c)(IV) state the following in regard to “Incorporation by Reference” and PCT Rule 20.6, Rule 20.7 and Rule 4.18 are directed specifically to International applications:
MPEP 211.02, in-part
For applications filed on or after September 21, 2004, a claim under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or 120 and 37 CFR 1.78 for benefit of a prior-filed provisional application, nonprovisional application, international application designating the United States, or international design application designating the United States that was present on the filing date of the continuation or divisional application, or the nonprovisional application claiming benefit of a prior-filed provisional application, is considered an incorporation by reference of the prior-filed application as to inadvertently omitted material, subject to the conditions and requirements of 37 CFR 1.57(b). The purpose of 37 CFR 1.57(b) is to provide a safeguard for applicants when all or a portion of the specification and/or drawing(s) is (are) inadvertently omitted from an application. See MPEP § 201.06 and 217. However, applicants are encouraged to provide in the specification an explicit incorporation by reference statement to the prior-filed application(s) for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or 120 if applicants do not wish the incorporation by reference to be limited to inadvertently omitted material pursuant to 37 CFR 1.57(b). See 37 CFR 1.57(c). See also MPEP §§ 217 and MPEP § 608.01(p).
When a benefit claim is submitted after the filing of an application, and the later-filed application as filed did not incorporate the prior-filed application by reference, applicant cannot add an incorporation by reference statement of the prior application. An incorporation by reference statement added after an application’s filing date is not effective because no new matter can be added to an application after its filing date (see 35 U.S.C. 132(a) ). See Dart Indus. v. Banner, 636 F.2d 684, 207 USPQ 273 (C.A.D.C. 1980). See also 37 CFR 1.57(b).
MPEP 201.06(c)(IV), in-part
201.06(c) 37 CFR 1.53(b) and 37 CFR 1.63(d) Divisional-Continuation Procedure [R-08.2017]
IV. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE
An applicant may incorporate by reference the prior application by including, in the continuing application-as-filed, an explicit statement that such specifically enumerated prior application or applications are “hereby incorporated by reference.” The statement must appear in the specification. See 37 CFR 1.57(c) and MPEP § 608.01(p). The inclusion of this incorporation by reference statement will permit an applicant to amend the continuing application to include subject matter from the prior application(s), without the need for a petition provided the continuing application is entitled to a filing date notwithstanding the incorporation by reference. For applications filed prior to September 21, 2004, the incorporation by reference statement may appear in the transmittal letter or in the specification. Note that for applications filed prior to September 21, 2004, if applicants used a former version of the transmittal letter form provided by the USPTO, the incorporation by reference statement could only be relied upon to add inadvertently omitted material to the continuation or divisional application.
An incorporation by reference statement added after an application’s filing date is not effective because no new matter can be added to an application after its filing date (see 35 U.S.C. 132(a) ). If an incorporation by reference statement is included in an amendment to the specification to add a benefit claim under 35 U.S.C. 120 after the filing date of the application, the amendment would not be proper. When a benefit claim under 35 U.S.C. 120 is submitted after the filing of an application, the reference to the prior application cannot include an incorporation by reference statement of the prior application. See Dart Indus. v. Banner, 636 F.2d 684, 207 USPQ 273 (C.A.D.C. 1980).
20.6 Confirmation of Incorporation by Reference of Elements and Parts
(a) The applicant may submit to the receiving Office, within the applicable time limit under Rule 20.7, a written notice confirming that an element or part is incorporated by reference in the international application under Rule 4.18, accompanied by:
(i) a sheet or sheets embodying the entire element as contained in the earlier application or embodying the part concerned;
(ii) where the applicant has not already complied with Rule 17.1(a), (b) or (b-bis) in relation to the priority document, a copy of the earlier application as filed;
(iii) where the earlier application is not in the language in which the international application is filed, a translation of the earlier application into that language or, where a translation of the international application is required under Rule 12.3(a) or 12.4(a), a translation of the earlier application into both the language in which the international application is filed and the language of that translation; and
(iv) in the case of a part of the description, claims or drawings, an indication as to where that part is contained in the earlier application and, where applicable, in any translation referred to in item (iii).
(b) Where the receiving Office finds that the requirements of Rule 4.18 and paragraph (a) have been complied with and that the element or part referred to in paragraph (a) is completely contained in the earlier application concerned, that element or part shall be considered to have been contained in the purported international application on the date on which one or more elements referred to in Article 11(1)(iii) were first received by the receiving Office.
(c) Where the receiving Office finds that a requirement under Rule 4.18 or paragraph (a) has not been complied with or that the element or part referred to in paragraph (a) is not completely contained in the earlier application concerned, the receiving Office shall proceed as provided for in Rule 20.3(b)(i), 20.5(b) or 20.5(c), as the case may be.
20.7 Time Limit
(a) The applicable time limit referred to in Rules 20.3(a) and (b), 20.4, 20.5(a), (b) and (c), and 20.6(a) shall be:
(i) where an invitation under Rule 20.3(a) or 20.5(a), as applicable, was sent to the applicant, two months from the date of the invitation;
(ii) where no such invitation was sent to the applicant, two months from the date on which one or more elements referred to in Article 11(1)(iii) were first received by the receiving Office.
(b) Where neither a correction under Article 11(2) nor a notice under Rule 20.6(a) confirming the incorporation by reference of an element referred to in Article 11(1)(iii)(d) or (e) is received by the receiving Office prior to the expiration of the applicable time limit under paragraph (a), any such correction or notice received by that Office after the expiration of that time limit but before it sends a notification to the applicant under Rule 20.4(i) shall be considered to have been received within that time limit.
4.18 Statement of Incorporation by Reference
Where the international application, on the date on which one or more elements referred to in Article 11(1)(iii) were first received by the receiving Office, claims the priority of an earlier application, the request may contain a statement that, where an element of the international application referred to in Article 11(1)(iii)(d) or (e) or a part of the description, claims or drawings referred to in Rule 20.5(a) is not otherwise contained in the international application but is completely contained in the earlier application, that element or part is, subject to confirmation under Rule 20.6, incorporated by reference in the international application for the purposes of Rule 20.6. Such a statement, if not contained in the request on that date, may be added to the request if, and only if, it was otherwise contained in, or submitted with, the international application on that date.
The instant application is a 371 application which has an International filing date of December 22, 2021. See a partial capture of the BIB sheet of the instant application below.
Specifically, PCT/JP2021/047734 was filed without an “incorporation by reference” statement to the earlier filed PCT/JP2020/048082 application. Then, Applicant filed a 371 of the PCT and attempted to amend the specification to include the “incorporation by reference” statement via a Preliminary Amendment filed June 22, 2023, which is after the instant application's International filing date of December 22, 2021. This is considered new matter. MPEP 201.06(c): “An incorporation by reference statement added after an application’s filing date is not effective because no new matter can be added to an application after its filing date (see 35 U.S.C. 132(a)).”
Further, in Box VI of the PCT request form, R0/101, there is a statement regarding “incorporation by reference” which basically fulfills the written notification regarding “incorporation by reference” when the document is signed. This satisfies the written notice according to Rule 4.18 but does not satisfy the conditions of PCT Rule 20.6 (a)(i)-(iv). In the PCT, Applicant is not required to explicitly state “incorporation by reference” within the PCT Specification (description pages).
However, “incorporation by reference” in the PCT must be verified per PCT Rule 20.6 (a)(i)-(iv) for incorporating specific documents which were inadvertently left out of the PCT disclosure and Applicant has only a limited amount of time to explicitly indicate, during PCT prosecution, what the missing part(s) are and to submit those missing parts into the PCT file. Once they are in the file and if they have complied with PCT Rule 20.6 (a)(i)-(iv), the additional sheets, added by “incorporation by reference” will be stamped “incorporation by reference” by WIPO. Therefore, the entirety of the PCT application, including any missing parts added by “incorporation by reference” in the PCT prosecution will be a part of the National Stage application.
Therefore, the rules and requirements surrounding “incorporation by reference” relating to PCT are different than the “incorporation by reference” in US cases, and even if they did incorporate something by reference in the PCT e.g., a page of the specification from a foreign priority document, this does not provide them “incorporation by reference” to the entire foreign priority document. Therefore, inserting “incorporation by reference” into the disclosure on or after the National Stage US filing date would be new matter. For all the reasons given above, the “incorporation by reference” statement being added to the instant specification by way of the Preliminary Amendment is deemed new matter.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
This objection to the specification can be overcome by deleting the phrase “each of which is hereby incorporated herein by reference in its entirety” from the instant specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 4, the phrase “according claim 1,” should be changed to “according to claim 1,”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 refers to “the organic solvent” but independent claim 1 does not refer to an organic solvent. Claim 3 lacks antecedent basis from claim 1 for its limitation of “the organic solvent” since there is no earlier recitation of an organic solvent in claim 1. See MPEP § 2173.05(e). Therefore, claim 3 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5 and 22 are rejected under
35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakatani et al. {US 2004/0110749}.
Applicant claims a process of making a compound of formula (8), which process comprises reacting a compound of formula (7) with an oxidizing agent in the absence of a transition metal and in the presence of a base,
,
wherein
R1, R2 and R3 independently can represent a (C1-C6)
alkyl optionally substituted with one or more
substituents; and
R4 and R5 independently can represent a (C1-C6) alkyl
optionally substituted with one or more
substituents.
Nakatani et al. disclose the process of Example 20 on page 109,
wherein m-chloroperbenzoic acid (i.e., an oxidizing agent) is added to a solution of 5,5-dimethyl-3-(5-methoxy-1-methyl-3-trifluoromethyl-1H-pyrazol-4-ylmethylthio)-2-isoxazoline,
, followed by adding an aqueous sodium hydrogen carbonate (i.e., a base) solution. Therefore, Nakatani et al. anticipate the instant claimed invention.
The comparison showings in the instant specification have been considered. However, the showings are not commensurate in scope with the instant claimed process. In re Greenfield, 197 U.S.P.Q. 227 (1978) and In re Lindner, 173 U.S.P.Q. 356 (1972). Also see MPEP 716.02(d). To establish unexpected, beneficial and superior results of the instant claimed process over the processes of the prior art, Applicant should compare by testing a sufficient number of exemplified process limitations in the prior art (such as various solvents, various bases and various oxidizing agents) with the instant claimed invention. Therefore, the comparison showings in the instant specification are not persuasive for overcoming an obviousness rejection of the instant claimed invention under 35 USC 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 19-23, 28 and 29 are rejected under
35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatani et al. {US 2004/0110749}, taken alone, and in further view of the teachings in Yamawaki et al. {JP 2005-213168 A}. A machine generated English translation of the JP document has been provided with this Office Action and will be referred to hereinafter.
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art (MPEP §2141.01)
Applicant claims a process of making a compound of formula (8), which process comprises reacting a compound of formula (7) with an oxidizing agent in the absence of a transition metal and in the presence of a base,
,
wherein
R1, R2 and R3 independently can represent a (C1-C6)
alkyl optionally substituted with one or more
substituents; and
R4 and R5 independently can represent a (C1-C6) alkyl
optionally substituted with one or more
substituents.
Nakatani et al. teach an oxidation process wherein a compound of formula [5] undergoes oxidation to produce a compound of formula [6],
.
Further, Nakatani et al. especially disclose the process of Example 20 on page 109,
wherein m-chloroperbenzoic acid (i.e., an oxidizing agent) is added to a solution of 5,5-dimethyl-3-(5-methoxy-1-methyl-3-trifluoromethyl-1H-pyrazol-4-ylmethylthio)-2-isoxazoline,
, followed by adding an aqueous sodium hydrogen carbonate (i.e., a base) solution. Additionally, Nakatani et al. disclose Compound No. 3-0054 on page 116, which is known as Pyroxasulfone,
.
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claimed invention (MPEP §2141.02)
The difference, if any, between the process of Nakatani et al. and the process instantly claimed is that Nakatani et al. generically teach various oxidizing agents, bases, and solvents which can be used in the oxidization process and teach products which could be produced by the oxidation process.
Finding of prima facie obviousness--rational and motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
However, Nakatani et al. teach various oxidizing agents which can be used in the oxidation process of (Step 2) such as m-chloroperbenzoic acid, hydrogen peroxide, etc. {paragraph [0106] on page 94}. Nakatani et al. teach various solvents which can be used in the oxidation process of (Step 2) such as chloroform, acetonitrile, etc. {paragraph [0105] on page 94}. Nakatani et al. teach various bases which can be used in his processes such as sodium hydrogen carbonate, sodium carbonate, etc. {paragraph [0100] on page 94}.
Further, Yamawaki et al. {paragraph [0089] on page 222} teach an oxidization process wherein a sulfone compound of formula [9] can be produced from a sulfide derivative of formula [5] in the presence of a solvent and an oxidizer,
.
Yamawaki et al. teach solvents which can be used in the oxidation process such as chloroform, acetonitrile, etc. {paragraph [0081] on page 22} and Yamawaki et al. teach oxidizing agents which can be used in the oxidation process such as m-chloroperbenzoic acid, Oxone, hydrogen peroxide, etc. {paragraph [0082] on page 22}. The claimed process is no more than a selective combination of prior art teachings done in a manner obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since each step of the process appears to be relatively complete in itself and there is no indication of an interaction between steps of such a type that would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to doubt that a substitution of alternative steps known to the art could be made. In re Mostovych, 144 USPQ 38 (C.C.P.A. 1964). The instant claimed invention would have been suggested to one skilled in the art and therefore, the instant claimed invention would have been obvious to one skilled in the art.
The instant claimed process for producing the elected species of Compound 8a,
, using hydrogen peroxide as the oxidizing agent and sodium hydrogen carbonate as the base is not allowable in view of the teachings in Nakatani et al.
Reminder to Applicant
As a reminder, Applicant should specifically point out the support in the original disclosure {i.e., page number(s) and line number(s)} for any new claims or amended claims and for any amendments made to the disclosure. Making generic statements such as “all amendments are fully supported in the originally filed disclosure or the originally filed claims” without specifying page numbers and originally filed claim numbers are insufficient. See MPEP §714.02 and MPEP §2163.06(I).
Telephone Inquiry
Laura L. Stockton
(571) 272-0710.
The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:30 am to 6 pm, Eastern Standard Time.
James Alstrum-Acevedo can be reached on 571/272-5548. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/LAURA L STOCKTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626 Work Group 1620
Technology Center 1600
September 14, 2026
Book XXIX, page 19