DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on October 28, 2025 is acknowledged.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Brief description of Figure 7 is missing.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18, 23-26, 32-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 18, 32 recites “graphite-like” or “cyclohexane-like”; this renders the claim indefinite. The addition of the word “type” to an otherwise definite expression extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite, see Ex parte Copenhaver, 109 USPQ 1 18 (Bd. App. 1955). See also MPEP 2173.05 (B) (e). Claims 23-26, 33-36 are subsumed under the rejection.
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 39 recites “comprising di-tungsten penta-boride, W2B5,”; it is unclear if Applicant is intending to claim two different components or just “W2B5”. For prior art purposes, the Examiner construes this limitation as one component “W2B5” (di-tungsten penta-boride).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 39 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma et al (CN109402477 (already of record, translation provided)).
Regarding claims 39, 41, Ma et al teaches an aluminum composite material for shielding high dose gamma rays and thermal neutrons comprising 75-90wt% of tungsten element, 0.5-3wt% boron element and the balance aluminum or aluminum alloy (Abstract, Paragraph 8). Ma et al further teaches the tungsten material can be tungsten boride and the boron raw material can be tungsten boride, wherein the tungsten boride is W2B5 or W2B (Paragraphs 9-10, 12). Ma et al further teaches preparing a composite comprising 7.8kg or W2B5 and 2.2kg of Al-Si alloy (which satisfies 78wt% W2B5) (Example 5).
Ma et al teaches the limitations of the instant claims; hence, Ma et al anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al (CN109402477 (already of record, translation provided)) in view of Frotscher et al (M2B5 or M2B4 A Reinvestigation of the Mo/B and W/B System (already of record)) in view of Zhang et al (CN103276254 (already of record, translation provided)).
Regarding claims 18, 23-25, Ma et al teaches an aluminum composite material for shielding high dose gamma rays and thermal neutrons comprising 75-90wt% of tungsten element, 0.5-3wt% boron element and the balance aluminum or aluminum alloy (Abstract, Paragraph 8). Ma et al further teaches the tungsten material can be tungsten boride and the boron raw material can be tungsten boride, wherein the tungsten boride is W2B5 or W2B (Paragraphs 9-10, 12). However, Ma et al fails to teach the tungsten boride compound has alternating layers of boron including graphite planar layers and condensed cyclohexane chairs with tungsten atoms located between the alternating boron layers and the boron in the boron layers having a proportion of boron-10 content to total boron content greater than a proportion of boron-10 content to total boron content in naturally occurring boron.
In the same field of endeavor, Frotscher et al teaches the crystal structure of W2B5
(Abstract, Figure 1).
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang et al teaches a composite shielding material comprising boron, tungsten containing substance, B4C, aluminum or aluminum alloy (Abstract). Zhang et al further teaches the tungsten compound is W2B5 and the abundance of 10B in B is 19-99.5 wt% (Paragraphs 11, 15-16). Zhang et al further teaches the abundance of B and the thermal neutron absorption cross section of 10B is more than 50 times that of concrete (Paragraph 26).
With regard to the tungsten boride compound has alternating layers of boron including graphite planar layers and condensed cyclohexane chairs with tungsten atoms located between the alternating boron layers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the tungsten boride compound having alternating layers of boron including graphite planar layers and condensed cyclohexane chairs with tungsten atoms located between the alternating boron layers in Ma et al in view of Frotscher et al as Ma et al teaches W2B5 as the tungsten compound and Frotscher et al teaches the claimed structure.
With regard to the boron in the boron layers having a proportion of boron-10 content to total boron content greater than a proportion of boron-10 content to total boron content in naturally occurring boron, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the proportion of B-10 content to total boron content is greater than the proportion of B-10 content to total boron content in naturally occurring boron in Ma et al and Frotscher et al in view of Zhang et al as Zhang et al teaches adjusting the amount of boron-10 in order to increase the thermal neutron absorption.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al (CN109402477 (already of record, translation provided)) in view of Frotscher et al (M2B5 or M2B4 A Reinvestigation of the Mo/B and W/B System (already of record)) in view of Zhang et al (CN103276254 (already of record, translation provided)) as applied to claims 18, 23-25 above, and in further view of Kingham et al (US Patent Application 2017/0186502).
Regarding claim 26, Ma et al, Frotscher et al and Zhang et al disclose the invention substantially as claimed. Ma et al and Frotscher et al and Zhang et al teach the features above. However, Ma et al, Frotscher et al and Zhang et al fail to specifically disclose the composite aggregate material in a metal matrix.
In the same field of endeavor, Kingham et al teaches a neutron shielding material includes a cemented carbide or boride comprising a binder and an aggregate, the aggregate comprises particles of a carbide or boride (Abstract). Kingham et al further teaches a metal matrix in which comprise particles of the aggregate; the addition of the metal binder cermented aggregates have high thermal conductivity (Paragraph 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the aggregated W2B5 metal composite (cermet) with a metal matrix in order to provide a cermented aggregate with high thermal conductivity as taught in Kingham et al.
Claims 32-33, 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al (CN109402477 (already of record, translation provided)) in view of Frotscher et al (M2B5 or M2B4 A Reinvestigation of the Mo/B and W/B System (already of record)).
Regarding claims 32-33, 36, Ma et al teaches an aluminum composite material for shielding high dose gamma rays and thermal neutrons comprising 75-90wt% of tungsten element, 0.5-3wt% boron element and the balance aluminum or aluminum alloy (Abstract, Paragraph 8). Ma et al further teaches the tungsten material can be tungsten boride and the boron raw material can be tungsten boride, wherein the tungsten boride is W2B5 or W2B (Paragraphs 9-10, 12). Ma et al further teaches preparing a composite comprising 7.8kg or W2B5 and 2.2kg of Al-Si alloy (which satisfies 787wt% W2B5) (Example 5). However, Ma et al fails to teach the tungsten boride compound has alternating layers of boron including graphite planar layers and condensed cyclohexane chairs with tungsten atoms located between the alternating boron layers.
In the same field of endeavor, Frotscher et al teaches the crystal structure of W2B5
(Abstract, Figure 1).
With regard to the tungsten boride compound has alternating layers of boron including graphite planar layers and condensed cyclohexane chairs with tungsten atoms located between the alternating boron layers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the tungsten boride compound having alternating layers of boron including graphite planar layers and condensed cyclohexane chairs with tungsten atoms located between the alternating boron layers in Ma et al in view of Frotscher et al as Ma et al teaches W2B5 as the tungsten compound and Frotscher et al teaches the claimed structure.
Claims 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al (CN109402477 (already of record, translation provided)) in view of Frotscher et al (M2B5 or M2B4 A Reinvestigation of the Mo/B and W/B System (already of record)) as applied to claims 32-33, 36 above, and in further view of Zhang et al (CN103276254 (already of record, translation provided)).
Regarding claims 34-35, Ma et al and Frotscher et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Ma et al and Frotscher et al teaches the features above. However, Ma and Frotscher et al fails to specifically disclose the boron in the boron layers having a proportion of boron-10 content to total boron content greater than a proportion of boron-10 content to total boron content in naturally occurring boron.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang et al teaches a composite shielding material comprising boron, tungsten containing substance, B4C, aluminum or aluminum alloy (Abstract). Zhang et al further teaches the tungsten compound is W2B5 and the abundance of 10B in B is 19-99.5 wt% (Paragraphs 11, 15-16). Zhang et al further teaches the abundance of B and the thermal neutron absorption cross section of 10B is more than 50 times that of concrete (Paragraph 26).
With regard to the boron in the boron layers having a proportion of boron-10 content to total boron content greater than a proportion of boron-10 content to total boron content in naturally occurring boron, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the proportion of B-10 content to total boron content is greater than the proportion of B-10 content to total boron content in naturally occurring boron in Ma et al and Frotscher et al in view of Zhang et al as Zhang et al teaches adjusting the amount of boron-10 in order to increase the thermal neutron absorption.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al (CN109402477 (already of record, translation provided)) as applied to claims 39 and 41 above, and in further view of Zhang et al (CN103276254) (already of record, translation provided)).
Regarding claim 40, Ma et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Ma et al teaches the features above. However, Ma et al fails to teach the boron having a proportion of boron-10 content to total boron content greater than a proportion of boron-10 content to total boron content in naturally occurring boron.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang et al teaches a composite shielding material comprising boron, tungsten containing substance, B4C, aluminum or aluminum alloy (Abstract). Zhang et al further teaches the tungsten compound is W2B5 and the abundance of 10B in B is 19-99.5 wt% (Paragraphs 11, 15-16). Zhang et al further teaches the abundance of B and the thermal neutron absorption cross section of 10B is more than 50 times that of concrete (Paragraph 26).
With regard to the boron in the boron layers having a proportion of boron-10 content to total boron content greater than a proportion of boron-10 content to total boron content in naturally occurring boron, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the proportion of B-10 content to total boron content is greater than the proportion of B-10 content to total boron content in naturally occurring boron in Ma et al in view of Zhang et al as Zhang et al teaches adjusting the amount of boron-10 in order to increase the thermal neutron absorption.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/TANISHA DIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761 March 2, 2026