DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 12, 13, 15, 17-20, 24, 26, 29, 33, 36 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Amendments are noted and claim objections are withdrawn accordingly.
Amendments are noted and 35 USC 112 rejections are withdrawn accordingly.
Applicant's arguments filed 5/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, while amendments substantially change the scope of the claimed subject matter and necessitate new grounds of rejection with new citations of prior art, Examiner respectfully maintains the prior art cited reasonably teaches/suggests the amended limitation(s) of the claim(s).
Regarding remarks on page 10-12, applicants state regarding prior art Yang “…Yang at best broadly describes that "the predefined information does not carry LBT indication information". The abstract of Yang makes no mention of DCI at all, let alone a field in the DCI being 0 bit. On page 4 of the Office Action, the comments regarding claim 5 interprets "not carrying LBT indication information" in Yang as meaning "the field does not exist/is 0 bit". However, "the predefined information does not carry LBT indication information" disclosed in Yang can be implemented in many ways, for example: 1. The predefined information does not include this field; or 2. The predefined information includes this field, but its value is 0 or a specific value to indicate "no LBT indication information". As such, Applicant respectfully submits that Yang fails to specifically limit the implementation manner of "the predefined information does not carry LBT indication information". That is, Yang fails to teach the specific (lower level) limitation of "in a case that the channel access mode is the No-LBT mode, a field related to a channel access type in downlink control information (DCI) is 0 bit" as recited in amended claim 1 of the present application.” However, referring to the prior art, Yang was cited for (see at least Abstract, if the LBT indication is not carried in the information (thus being an absent/non-existent field with no bits), non-LBT process is performed). After amendments clarifying 35 USC 112 issues regarding ‘the DCI’ claim element, Yang was (see rejection of previous claim 13) and is now cited for (see at least Abstract, 0379, information comprising the LBT indication may be indicated through DCI or RRC).
Further, reference is made to Yang Abstract (“…when LBT indication information is carried in the predefined information, performing the LBT mechanism before a transmission device performs transmission according to a predetermined transmission mode, or when the LBT indication information is not carried in the predefined information, performing a predetermined non-LBT processing operation”) and Yang 0379 which lists LBT indication field values (“…For example, the LBT indication IE item includes performing LBT and performing the omnidirectional LBT; and/or performing LBT and performing beam-based LBT; and/or not performing LBT; and/or performing LBT.”). Based on the wording, Yang Abstract may be reasonably interpreted to disclose a case where the predefined information simply does not carry any LBT indication field (the first implementation in applicant’s remarks), as there does not appear to be any disclosure of any other implementations/values of the LBT indication field; thus the field being “not carried” comprises a distinct case where the device does not perform LBT because the predefined information does not have any LBT indication information (the field being absent/0 bit). As aforementioned, the second implementation in applicant’s remarks are not disclosed or hinted at in Yang Abstract or 0379. Therefore Examiner submits the prior art reasonably teaches/submits the limitations of the amended claim(s) including “wherein in a case that the channel access mode is the No-LBT mode, a field related to a channel access type in downlink control information (DCI) is 0 bit”.
Rejections for similar independent and dependent claims are revised and/or maintained accordingly. Claim 6 remains objected to as allowable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 12, 15, 17, 18, 33, 36 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2019/0373635) in view of Do et al. (US 2023/0328775).
For claim 1, Yang teaches: A mode indication method, performed by a terminal device (see at least 0629-634, fig. 1, 21-22, UE and BS may comprise processor/memory for communication), comprising: receiving first indication information sent by a network device through a first signaling, the first indication information being used to indicate a channel access mode of the terminal device in a first unlicensed frequency band (see at least Abstract, 0379, UE may acquire information to determine whether to perform an LBT mechanism before transmission. See at least 0358, unlicensed spectrum may be used),
wherein the channel access mode comprises: a listen before talk (LBT) mode or a no listen before talk (No-LBT) mode (see at least Abstract, UE may either perform an LBT or a non-LBT processing before transmitting, comprising an LBT mode and a non LBT mode),
wherein an LBT mode indication field is an optional configuration field; when there is the LBT mode indication field, the first indication information is used to indicate the channel access mode of the terminal device in the first unlicensed frequency band is the LBT mode, and when there is no LBT mode indication field, the first indication information is used to indicate the channel access mode of the terminal device in the first unlicensed frequency band is the No-LBT mode (see at least Abstract, if the LBT indication is carried in the information, LBT process may be performed. If the LBT indication is not carried in the information, non-LBT process is performed);
wherein in a case that the channel access mode is the No-LBT mode, a field related to a channel access type in downlink control information (DCI) is 0 bit (see at least Abstract, 0379, information comprising the LBT indication may be indicated through DCI or RRC; if the LBT indication is not carried in the information (thus being an absent/non-existent/0 bit field with no bits), non-LBT process is performed).
Yang does not explicitly teach: …wherein in a case that the first indication information about the channel access mode is specific for a cell, the first signaling comprises: system information, or: …field in the system information. Do from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0108, LBT mode may be transmitted as part of system information e.g. SIB1 (comprising cell specific signaling)). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Do to the system of Yang, so the LBT indication may be carried in cell-specific SIB, as suggested by Do. The motivation would have been to enhance channel access configuration by adapting a well known signaling for carrying LBT indication (Do 0108).
For claim 12, Yang, Do teaches claim 1, Yang further teaches: wherein in a case that the first indication information about the channel access mode is specific for the terminal, the first signaling comprises: a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see at least 0379, information comprising the LBT indication may be indicated through RRC (comprising UE specific signaling)).
For claim 15, Yang, Do teaches claim 1, Do further teaches: wherein the first unlicensed frequency band is an unlicensed frequency band where a frequency is higher than 52.6GHz (see at least 0008-0012, 52.6-71GHz bands may be used as part of unlicensed spectrum); and/or, wherein the channel access mode is for an uplink bandwidth part and/or a downlink bandwidth part (see at least 0116, LBT mode may be configured for bandwidth parts). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Do to the system of claim 1, so the unlicensed band is higher than 52.6GHz e.g. 57-71GHz, and the LBT modes may apply to a bandwidth part, as suggested by Do. The motivation would have been to enhance communication by adapting well known higher frequencies for communications and applying LBT modes for bandwidth parts as appropriate (Do 0008-0012, 0116).
For claim 17, Yang, Do teaches claim 1, Do further teaches: wherein after the receiving the first indication information sent by the network device, the method further comprises: determining, in a case that a channel access mode indication specific for the cell and a channel access mode indication specific for the terminal device are obtained, the channel access mode where the terminal device is located according to the first indication information corresponding to the channel access mode indication specific for the terminal device (see at least 0105, if UE receives LBT mode indication in both UE-specific DCI and group common (cell-specific) PDCCH, the UE-specific DCI LBT mode may overwrite the GC-PDCCH LBT mode). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Do to the system of claim 1, so if UE receives LBT mode signaling via both UE-specific DCI and cell-specific GC-PDCCH, the UE may prioritize/use the UE-specific LBT mode, as suggested by Do. The motivation would have been to enhance channel access by adapting an appropriate LBT mode explicitly dedicated to that specific UE (Do 0105).
For claim 18, Yang teaches: A mode indication method, performed by a network device (see at least 0629-634, fig. 1, 21-22, UE and BS may comprise processor/memory for communication), comprising: sending, through a first signaling, first indication information to a terminal device, the first indication information being used to indicate a channel access mode of the terminal device in a first unlicensed frequency band (see at least Abstract, 0379, UE may acquire information to determine whether to perform an LBT mechanism before transmission. See at least 0358, unlicensed spectrum may be used),
wherein the channel access mode comprises: a listen before talk (LBT) mode or a no listen before talk (No-LBT) mode (see at least Abstract, UE may either perform an LBT or a non-LBT processing before transmitting, comprising an LBT mode and a non LBT mode),
wherein an LBT mode indication field is an optional configuration field; when there is the LBT mode indication field, the first indication information is used to indicate the channel access mode of the terminal device in the first unlicensed frequency band is the LBT mode, and when there is no LBT mode indication field, the first indication information is used to indicate the channel access mode of the terminal device in the first unlicensed frequency band is the No-LBT mode (see at least Abstract, if the LBT indication is carried in the information, LBT process may be performed. If the LBT indication is not carried in the information, non-LBT process is performed);
wherein in a case that the channel access mode is the No-LBT mode, a field related to a channel access type in downlink control information (DCI) is 0 bit (see at least Abstract, 0379, information comprising the LBT indication may be indicated through DCI or RRC; if the LBT indication is not carried in the information (thus being an absent/non-existent/0 bit field with no bits), non-LBT process is performed).
Yang does not explicitly teach: …wherein in a case that the first indication information about the channel access mode is specific for a cell, the first signaling comprises: system information, or: …field in the system information. Do from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0108, LBT mode may be transmitted as part of system information e.g. SIB1 (comprising cell specific signaling)). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Do to the system of Yang, so the LBT indication may be carried in cell-specific SIB, as suggested by Do. The motivation would have been to enhance channel access configuration by adapting a well known signaling for carrying LBT indication (Do 0108).
Claim 33 recites an apparatus substantially similar to the method of claim 1 and is rejected under similar reasoning.
Claim 36 recites an apparatus substantially similar to the method of claim 18 and is rejected under similar reasoning.
Claim 2, 3, 7, 19, 20, 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2019/0373635) in view of Do et al. (US 2023/0328775) in view of Li et al. (US 2020/0281018).
For claim 2, Yang, Do teaches claim 1, Do further teaches DCI may comprise LBT mode (see at least 0102, 0109) but not explicitly: wherein the first signaling further comprises at least one of the following: scheduling signaling of system information, master information block, and paging scheduling signaling. Li from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0198, DCI may schedule RMSI or SIB1). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Li to the system of claim 1, so the signaling may comprise downlink signaling e.g. DCI scheduling system information e.g. SIB1, as suggested by Li. The motivation would have been to enhance configuration by signaling various downlink control data along with LBT indication (Li 0198).
For claim 3, Yang, Do, Li teaches claim 2, Li further teaches: wherein in a case that the first signaling comprises the scheduling signaling of the system information, M bit of a reserved bit in the scheduling signaling is used to carry the first indication information, wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (see at least 0291, DCI may comprise LBT type indication, thus some bit(s) must be used for carrying this indication); and/or, wherein the scheduling signaling of the system information comprises: downlink control information (DCI) scrambled by system information radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI) (see at least 0197, DCI may be scrambled by SI-RNTI). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Li to the system of claim 2, so the DCI scheduling SIB may comprise one or more bits for LBT indication, and/or the DCI is scrambled by an SI-RNTI, as suggested by Li. The motivation would have been to enhance configuration by scrambling and signaling various downlink control data along with LBT indication (Li 0197-0198, 0291).
For claim 7, Yang, Do, Li teaches claim 2, Do further teaches: wherein N bit in the system information is used to carry the first indication information, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (see at least 0108, LBT mode may be transmitted as part of system information e.g. SIB1, thus at least some bits may be used). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Do to the system of claim 2, so the LBT indication may be carried in cell-specific SIB bits, as suggested by Do. The motivation would have been to enhance channel access configuration by adapting a well known signaling for carrying LBT indication (Do 0108).
Claim 19 recites a method substantially similar to the method of claim 2 and is rejected under similar reasoning.
Claim 20 recites a method substantially similar to the method of claim 3 and is rejected under similar reasoning.
Claim 24 recites a method substantially similar to the method of claim 7 and is rejected under similar reasoning.
Claim 9, 26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2019/0373635) in view of Do et al. (US 2023/0328775) in view of Li et al. (US 2020/0281018) in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0084683) (hereinafter Li ‘683).
For claim 9, Yang, Do, Li teaches claim 2, but not explicitly: wherein in a case that the first signaling comprises the paging scheduling signaling, K bit of a reserved bit in the paging scheduling signaling is used to carry the first indication information, wherein K is an integer greater than or equal to 1; and/or, wherein the paging scheduling signaling comprises: downlink control information (DCI) scrambled by a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI). Li ‘683 from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0156, paging may be scheduled by a PDCCH with DCI scrambled by a P-RNTI. See at least 0218, DCI may comprise LBT type indication, thus some bit(s) must be used for carrying this indication). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Li ‘683 to the system of claim 2, so the signaling may comprise downlink signaling e.g. DCI scheduling paging and comprising one or more bits for LBT indication, and/or the DCI is scrambled by P-RNTI, as suggested by Li ‘683. The motivation would have been to enhance configuration by signaling various downlink control data along with LBT indication (Li ‘683 0156).
Claim 26 recites a method substantially similar to the method of claim 9 and is rejected under similar reasoning.
Claim 13, 29 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2019/0373635) in view of Do et al. (US 2023/0328775) in view of Cui et al. (US 2020/0236677).
For claim 13, Yang, Do teaches claim 12, but not explicitly: wherein the first indication information is carried in a bandwidth part uplink dedicated field and/or a bandwidth part downlink dedicated field in the RRC signaling. Cui from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0148, base station may indicate LBT type on a corresponding uplink BWP through higher layer signaling e.g. RRC). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Cui to the system of claim 12, so the signaling may comprise RRC signaling indicating an LBT type for a specific bandwidth part level e.g. uplink BWP, as suggested by Cui. The motivation would have been to enhance configuration by applying an LBT configuration to specific BWPs as appropriate (Cui 0148).
For claim 29, Yang, Do teaches claim 18, Yang further teaches: wherein in a case that the first indication information about the channel access mode is specific for the terminal, the first signaling comprises: radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see at least 0379, information comprising the LBT indication may be indicated through RRC (comprising UE specific signaling)) but not explicitly: wherein the first indication information is carried in a bandwidth part uplink dedicated field and/or a bandwidth part downlink dedicated field in the RRC signaling: and/or, wherein a level targeted by the channel access mode is determined by a field carrying the RRC signaling; wherein the level targeted by the channel access mode comprises at least one of the following: terminal device level; uplink bandwidth part level; downlink bandwidth part level. Cui from an analogous art teaches (see at least 0148, base station may indicate LBT type on a corresponding uplink BWP through higher layer signaling e.g. RRC). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Cui to the system of claim 18, so the signaling may comprise RRC signaling indicating an LBT type for a specific bandwidth part level e.g. uplink BWP, as suggested by Cui. The motivation would have been to enhance configuration by applying an LBT configuration to specific BWPs as appropriate (Cui 0148).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
For claim 6 the prior art fails to teach/suggest: wherein in a case that the first signaling comprises the master information block, 1 bit in a reserved field in the master information block is used to carry the first indication information. The closest prior art Do et al. (US 2023/0328775) discloses a system information comprising LBT indication (0108) but not the limitations of the claim(s).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SIREN WEI whose telephone number is (571)272-0687. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Thursday 7-4. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on 571-272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Siren Wei/
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2467