DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 29 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that Newman fails to disclose the claimed roller bearings and associated geometry is not persuasive. The rejection has been modified to include Humphrey, which teaches roller bearings having cylindrical raceway surfaces with normals substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis. Accordingly, the deficiencies alleged with respect to Newman alone are overcome by the combined teachings of Newman and Humphrey.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 2 are not persuasive, as they rely on the deficiencies of Newman alone. As discussed above, the rejection is based on the combination of Newman in view of Humphrey, and further in view of Valster is relied upon only for the additional limitation of tapered raceways directed toward the midpoint. Accordingly, the rejection of claim 2 is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 13 and 14 are not persuasive, as they rely on the deficiencies of Newman alone. As discussed above, the rejection is based on the combination of Newman in view of Humphrey, and further in view of Leuver is relied upon only for the additional limitation of a lubricant channel and reservoir for supplying lubricant to bearings. Accordingly, the rejection of claims 13 and 14 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US 20180291961 A1) in view of Humphrey (US 5261213 A).
Regarding claim 1, Newman teaches a roller (16) for use in an agricultural or mowing machine (12), said roller comprising a pair of tapered roller bearings (62) wherein said tapered roller bearings are closer to the midpoint of said roller than said roller bearings. (See Newman Fig. 3 below)
Newman fails to disclose a pair of roller bearings, wherein the normal to the internal surfaces of the races of each tapered roller bearing are at an angle to the longitudinal axis of the roller, wherein the normal to the internal surfaces of the races of each roller bearing are substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the roller, and
Humphrey teaches a pair of roller bearings (96) and an inner race (98) and outer race (100), wherein the internal raceway surfaces are cylindrical. A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that cylindrical raceways inherently have surface normals that are substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the roller (88). Accordingly, Humphrey teaches the limitation that "the normal to the internal surfaces of the races of each roller bearing are substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the roller." Further, it would have been obvious to include an additional roller bearing at the opposite end to improve stability and load distribution as disclosed in Humphrey Col. 4, lines 15-17.
Humphrey states, "Referring now to FIG. 5, drum 34 is a hollow cylinder 88 capped with end plates 90. End plates 90 have a central hole flanked by a first and second concentric recesses 92 and 94, respectively. A roller bearing 96 with an inner race 98 and an outer race 100 is press fit into first recess 92. Unbalanced shaft 36 is journaled in roller bearing 96. A circular plate 102 with an attached collar 104 is bolted into the second recess 94. The back of circular plate 102 holds roller bearing 96 in first recess 92 and first collar 104 serves as the drum axle. A larger second collar 106 is provided about an aperture in side plate 40. First collar 104 (i.e., the drum axle) is journaled within second collar 106 on a bushing 108. On one end of drum 34, unbalanced shaft 36 extends beyond second collar 106 for connection to driven pulley 84" (Humphrey Col. 3, lines 50-65).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the roller as taught by Newman with roller bearing as disclosed by Humphrey so as to provide a roller bearing at an end of the roller having cylindrical raceways surfaces with normals substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, in order to improve stability, reduce shaft deflection, and more effectively accommodate radial loads during operation.
Regarding claim 3, Newman, as modified by Humphrey, teaches the roller of claim 1, wherein said roller (16) comprises a pair of spacer elements (40), each spacer element intermediate one of the tapered roller (62) bearings and one of the roller bearings (96; taught by Humphrey). Accordingly, claim 3 is unpatentable for the same reasons set forth with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Newman, as modified by Humphrey, teaches the roller of claim 3, wherein each said spacer (40) element abuts one of the tapered roller bearings (62; See Newman annotated Fig. 3 below) and one of the roller bearings (96; taught by Humphrey). Accordingly, claim 4 is unpatentable for the same reasons set forth with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Newman, as modified by Humphrey, teaches the roller of claim 1, wherein each roller bearing (96; taught by Humphrey) is substantially at an end (26) of the roller (16). Accordingly, claim 5 is unpatentable for the same reasons set forth with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Newman teaches the roller of claim 1, wherein said roller (16) is substantially symmetrical. (See Newman annotated Fig. 4 below)
Regarding claim 7, Newman teaches the roller of claim 1, wherein said pair of tapered roller bearing (62) are removable. Newman’s roller bearing (20) is removable (See Newman [0017]) along with the interior bearings (58) also known as (60) and (62). The bearings are secured with fasteners (80) inside chamber (56) (See Newman [0019]) and can be removed for maintenance.
Regarding claim 8, Newman, as modified by Humphrey, teaches the roller of claim 1, wherein said pair of bearings are removable. Roller bearing (20) are removable (See Newman [0017], [0019]) along with the interior bearings (58) also known as (60) and (62). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skilled in the art to provide the roller bearings (96) of Humphrey as removable as taught by Newman in order to facilitate maintenance, replacement, and servicing of the roller assembly. Accordingly, claim 8 is unpatentable for the same reasons set forth with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Newman teaches an agricultural or mowing machine (12), said machine comprising:
a roller (16) comprising a pair of tapered roller bearings (62) wherein said tapered roller bearings (62) are closer to the midpoint of said roller than said roller bearings (60): (See Newman annotated Fig.3 below)
a body portion (86); and
a fixing pin (78) that extends through said body portion (86), (See Newman [0017], "end collar (84) welded to roller tube (86)")
at least one tapered roller bearing (62) and at least one roller bearing (60).
Newman fails to disclose a pair of roller bearings, wherein the normal to the internal surfaces of the races of each tapered roller bearing are at an angle to the longitudinal axis of the roller, wherein the normal to the internal surfaces of the races of each roller bearing are substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the roller, and
Humphrey teaches a pair of roller bearings (96) and an inner race (98) and outer race (100), wherein the internal raceway surfaces are cylindrical. A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that cylindrical raceways inherently have surface normals that are substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the roller (88). Accordingly, Humphrey teaches the limitation that "the normal to the internal surfaces of the races of each roller bearing are substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the roller." Further, it would have been obvious to include an additional roller bearing at the opposite end to improve stability and load distribution as disclosed in Humphrey Col. 4, lines 15-17.
Humphrey states, "Referring now to FIG. 5, drum 34 is a hollow cylinder 88 capped with end plates 90. End plates 90 have a central hole flanked by a first and second concentric recesses 92 and 94, respectively. A roller bearing 96 with an inner race 98 and an outer race 100 is press fit into first recess 92. Unbalanced shaft 36 is journaled in roller bearing 96. A circular plate 102 with an attached collar 104 is bolted into the second recess 94. The back of circular plate 102 holds roller bearing 96 in first recess 92 and first collar 104 serves as the drum axle. A larger second collar 106 is provided about an aperture in side plate 40. First collar 104 (i.e., the drum axle) is journaled within second collar 106 on a bushing 108. On one end of drum 34, unbalanced shaft 36 extends beyond second collar 106 for connection to driven pulley 84" (Humphrey Col. 3, lines 50-65).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the roller as taught by Newman with roller bearing as disclosed by Humphrey so as to provide a roller bearing at an end of the roller having cylindrical raceways surfaces with normals substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, in order to improve stability, reduce shaft deflection, and more effectively accommodate radial loads during operation.
Regarding claim 10, Newman teaches the machine of claim 9, wherein said fixing pin (78) extends through an aperture (70) in said body portion (86). (See Newman [0017], "end collar (84) welded to roller tube (86)").
Regarding claim 11, Newman teaches the machine of claim 10, wherein said aperture (70) and said fixing pin (78) comprise complementary threads (76).
Regarding claim 12, Newman teaches the machine of claim 10, wherein said fixing pin (78) comprises a bolt head (See Newman annotated Fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 15, Newman, as modified by Humphrey, teaches the machine of claim 9, wherein said machine (12) comprises a pair of fixing pins (78), each fixing pin extending through said body portion (24), at least one tapered roller bearing (62) and at least one roller bearing (96; taught by Humphrey). Accordingly, claim 15 is unpatentable for the same reasons set forth with respect to claim 9.
Regarding claim 16, Newman, as modified by Humphrey, teaches the machine of claim 9, wherein said pair of tapered roller bearings (62) and said pair of roller bearings (96; taught by Humphrey) are located within the external perimeter of said body portion (86). Accordingly, claim 15 is unpatentable for the same reasons set forth with respect to claim 9.
Regarding claim 17, Newman teaches the machine of claim 9, wherein, in use, said roller (16) is in substantially continuous contact with the ground (See Newman [0016], "ground roller").
Regarding claim 18, Newman teaches the machine of claim 9, wherein said machine (12) is a mowing machine (See Newman [0016], "industrial mower").
Regarding claim 19, Newman teaches the machine of claim 18, wherein machine (12) is a mower deck. (See Newman annotated Fig. 1 below)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US 20180291961 A1) in view of Humphrey (US 5261213 A). as applied to claims 1, 3-12, and 15-19 above, and further in view of Valster et al. (US 5022132 A).
Regarding claim 2, Newman, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Newman in view of Humphrey, teaches the roller (16) of claim 1, wherein said tapered roller bearings (62) comprise inner (See Newman Fig. 3 below) and (38) outer raceways.
However, Newman in view of Humphrey fails to disclose wherein the inner and outer raceways of each tapered roller bearing taper in the direction of the midpoint of said roller.
Valster teaches wherein the inner and outer raceways (29, 28) of each tapered roller bearing (27) taper in the direction of the midpoint of said roller (10). (See Valster annotated Fig. 2 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the roller as taught by Newman in view of Humphrey with inner and outer raceways as disclosed by Valster so as to orient the inner and outer raceways of the tapered roller bearings to taper in the direction of the midpoint of the roller, in order to direct axial loads towards the center of the roller, thereby balancing opposing forces within the roller and improving bearing performance and service life.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US 20180291961 A1) in view of Humphrey (US 5261213 A). as applied to claims 1, 3-12, and 15-19 above, and further in view of Leuver et al. (US 8790018 B2).
Regarding claim 13, Newman teaches the machine of claim 9 and a fixing pin (78).
However, Newman fails to teach wherein said fixing pin further comprises a lubricant channel extending from an exterior surface of said fixing pin to at least one of said tapered roller bearing and/or said roller bearing.
Leuver discloses wherein said fixing pin (16) further comprises a lubricant channel (15) extending from an exterior surface of said fixing pin to at least one of said tapered roller bearing and/or said roller bearing (14).
Leuver states, " Oil is usually disposed in the interior of the drum tube, serving to lubricate the bearing and also the drive motor arranged for example in the interior of the drum tube. The ends of the tube are correspondingly closed with a respective cover to keep the oil in the interior of the drum tube." (Leuver Col. 1, lines 21-26)
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a
reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the machine as taught by Newman with
the lubricant channel as disclosed by Leuver so as to provide a lubricant channel extending from an exterior surface of the fixing pin to at least one of the bearings, in order to improve lubrication, reduce wear, and enhance operational reliability.
Regarding claim 14, Newman teaches the machine of claim 13.
However, Newman fails to teach wherein each said lubricant channel further comprises a lubricant reservoir.
Leuver discloses wherein each said lubricant channel (12) further comprises a lubricant reservoir (12).
Leuver states a lubricant channel having an enlarged internal volume (e.g., interior (12)) configured to contain lubricant for delivery to the bearings (14). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, such a volume constitutes a lubricant reservoir, as it is capable of storing lubricant for continued lubrication of the roller's bearings.
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the machine as taught by Newman with the lubricant channel and lubricant reservoir as disclosed by Leuver so as to provide a lubricant reservoir, in order to store lubricant, enable continued lubrication, and extend the life span of the bearings.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOSE ANTONIO. MARTINEZ
Examiner
Art Unit 3671
/JOSEPH M ROCCA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671