DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, and 4-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, lines 1-2 claim 9, line 2, applicant recites "roller comprising a pair of tapered roller bearings (62) and a primary set of roller bearings," and claim 9, line 2, applicant recites "roller comprising a pair of tapered roller bearings and a pair of roller bearings." The claim recites both tapered roller bearings and roller bearings. Because a tapered roller bearing is also a type of roller bearing, it is unclear whether "said roller bearing" refers to the separately recited roller bearing or the tapered roller bearings. Consequently, it is unclear which bearings are subject to the limitation "roller bearings," rendering the scope of the claim indefinite.
Claims 2, 4-8, and 10-19 are rejected because they depend on claims 1 and 9, and do not resolve the foregoing ambiguity.
Applicant is advised to clarify the distinction between the recited tapered roller bearings and roller bearings. If the latter are intended to be non-tapered roller bearings, amendment to expressly identify them as such is suggested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US 20180291961 A1) in view of Boulard (FR 2923134 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Newman discloses a roller (16) for use in an agricultural or mowing machine (12), said roller comprising a pair of tapered roller bearings (62) and a primary set of roller bearings (60).
wherein the normal to the internal surfaces of the races of each tapered roller bearing (62) are at an angle to the longitudinal axis of the roller (16),
wherein said tapered roller bearings (62) are closer to the midpoint of said roller (16) than said roller bearings (60).
However, Newman fails to disclose a pair of roller bearings, wherein the normal to the internal surfaces of the races of each roller bearing are substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the roller,
wherein said roller further comprises a pair of spacer elements, each spacer element intermediate one of the tapered roller bearings and one of the roller bearings, and wherein the roller further comprises a pair of fixing pins, each fixing pin extending through at least one of said tapered roller bearings, at least one of said spacer elements, and at least one of said roller bearings to hold said bearings and spacer elements in a compressed arrangement.
Boulard teaches a pair of roller bearings (62; See Boulard Fig. 3), wherein the normal to the internal surfaces of the races of each roller bearing are substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the roller, as taught by Newman (16)
wherein said roller of Newman (16), as modified in view of Boulard, further comprises a pair of spacer elements (66; See Boulard Fig 4), each spacer element intermediate one of Newman's tapered roller bearings (62) and one of Boulard's roller bearings (62), and wherein roller (16; taught by Newman) further comprises a pair of fixing pins (42; taught by Newman), each fixing pin extending through at least one of said tapered roller bearings (See placement of bearings 60, 62 in Newman Fig. 3), at least one of said spacer elements (66; taught by Boulard), and at least one of said roller bearings to hold said bearings and spacer elements in a compressed arrangement (See Newman [0020]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the roller as taught by Newman with the roller bearings and spacer elements as disclosed by Boulard so as to provide a roller bearing at an end of the roller having cylindrical raceways surfaces with normals substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, and to maintain spacing between the bearings for distribution of loads through the bearing arrangement, thereby improve stability, reduce shaft deflection, and more effectively accommodate radial loads during operation.
Regarding claim 4, Newman discloses the roller of claim 1.
However, Newman fails to disclose wherein each said spacer element abuts one of the tapered roller bearings and one of the roller bearings.
Boulard teaches wherein each said spacer (66; See placement in Boulard Fig. 3-4) element abuts one of the tapered roller bearings (62; taught by Newman) and one of the roller bearings (62; taught by Boulard).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the roller as taught by Newman with the roller bearings and spacer elements as disclosed by Boulard so as to maintain spacing and distribute loads between the tapered roller bearings and the roller bearings, thereby improving the stability and performance of the roller during operation.
Regarding claim 5, Newman discloses the roller of claim 1,
However, Newman fails to disclose wherein each roller bearing is substantially at an end of the roller.
Boulard teaches wherein each roller bearing (62) is substantially at an end of Newman's roller (16).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the roller as taught by Newman with the roller bearings as disclosed by Boulard so as to accommodate radial loads at the roller ends without inducing additional axial thrust through tapered raceways.
Regarding claim 6, Newman teaches the roller of claim 1, wherein said roller (16) is substantially symmetrical (See Newman annotated Fig. 4 below).
Regarding claim 7, Newman teaches the roller of claim 1, wherein said pair of tapered roller bearing (62) are removable.
(Note: roller bearing (20) is removable (See Newman [0017]) along with the interior bearings (58) also known as (60) and (62). The bearings are secured with fasteners (80) inside chamber (56); (See Newman [0019]))
Regarding claim 8, Newman, as modified by Boulard, teaches the roller of claim 1, wherein said pair of bearings are removable. Roller bearing (20) are removable (See Newman [0017], [0019]) along with the interior bearings (58) also known as (60) and (62). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skilled in the art to provide the roller bearings (62) of Boulard as removable as taught by Newman in order to facilitate maintenance, replacement, and servicing of the roller assembly. Accordingly, claim 8 is unpatentable for the same reasons set forth with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Newman discloses an agricultural or mowing machine (12), said machine comprising:
a roller (16) comprising a pair of tapered roller bearings (62), a body portion (86).
However, Newman fails to teach a pair of roller bearings, wherein the normal to the internal surfaces of the races of each roller bearing are substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the roller, wherein said tapered roller bearings are closer to the midpoint of said roller than said roller bearings, and wherein said roller further comprises a pair of spacer elements, each spacer element intermediate one of the tapered roller bearings and one of the roller bearings, and wherein the roller further comprises a pair of fixing pins, each fixing pin extending through at least one of said tapered roller bearings, at least one of said spacer elements, and at least one of said roller bearings to hold said bearings and spacer elements in a compressed arrangement; a fixing pin that extends through said body portion (86), at least one tapered roller bearing and at least one roller bearing.
Boulard teaches a pair of roller bearings (62; See Boulard Fig. 3), wherein the normal to the internal surfaces of the races of each roller bearing are substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the roller, as taught by Newman (16)
wherein said tapered roller bearings (62; taught by Newman) are closer to the midpoint of said roller (16; taught by Newman) than said roller bearings (62; taught by Boulard), and
wherein said roller of Newman (16), as modified in view of Boulard further comprises a pair of spacer elements (66; See Boulard Fig 4), each spacer element intermediate one of Newman's tapered roller bearings (62) and one of Boulard's roller bearings (62), and wherein roller (16; taught by Newman) further comprises a pair of fixing pins (42; taught by Newman), each fixing pin extending through at least one of said tapered roller bearings (See placement of bearings 60, 62 in Newman Fig. 3), at least one of said spacer elements (66; taught by Boulard), and at least one of said roller bearings to hold said bearings and spacer elements in a compressed arrangement (See Newman [0020]);
a fixing pin (42; taught by Newman) that extends through said body portion (86; taught by Newman), at least one tapered roller bearings (See placement of bearings 60, 62 in Newman Fig. 3) and at least one roller bearing (62; taught by Boulard).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the roller as taught by Newman with the roller bearings and spacer elements as disclosed by Boulard so as to provide a roller bearing at an end of the roller having cylindrical raceways surfaces with normals substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, and to maintain spacing between the bearings for distribution of loads through the bearing arrangement, thereby improve stability, reduce shaft deflection, and more effectively accommodate radial loads during operation.
Regarding claim 10, Newman teaches the machine of claim 9, wherein said fixing pin (42) extends through an aperture (via insert body 24) in said body portion (86; See Newman [0019]).
Regarding claim 11, Newman teaches the machine of claim 10, wherein said aperture (via insert body 24) and said fixing pin (42) comprise complementary threads (nut 74 inside insert body 24 and threads on shaft 42; See Fig. 3 and [0200]).
Regarding claim 12, Newman teaches the machine of claim 10, wherein said fixing pin (42) comprises a bolt head (44; See Newman Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Newman, as modified by Boulard, teaches the machine of claim 9, wherein said machine (12) comprises a pair of fixing pins (42), each fixing pin extending through said body portion (86), at least one tapered roller bearing (62) and at least one roller bearing (62; taught by Boulard). Accordingly, claim 15 is unpatentable for the same reasons set forth with respect to claim 9.
Regarding claim 16, Newman, as modified by Boulard, teaches the machine of claim 9, wherein said pair of tapered roller bearings (62) and said pair of roller bearings (62; taught by Humphrey) are located within the external perimeter of said body portion (86). Accordingly, claim 15 is unpatentable for the same reasons set forth with respect to claim 9.
Regarding claim 17, Newman teaches the machine of claim 9, wherein, in use, said roller (16) is in substantially continuous contact with the ground (See Newman [0016], "ground roller").
Regarding claim 18, Newman teaches the machine of claim 9, wherein said machine (12) is a mowing machine (See Newman [0016], "industrial mower").
Regarding claim 19, Newman teaches the machine of claim 18, wherein machine (12) is a mower deck; (See Newman annotated Fig. 1 below).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US 20180291961 A1) in view of Boulard (FR 2923134 A1) as applied to claims 1, 4-12, and 15-19 above, and further in view of Valster et al. (US 5022132 A).
Regarding claim 2, Newman, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Newman in view of Boulard, teaches the roller (16) of claim 1, wherein said tapered roller bearings (62; taught by Newman) comprise inner (See Newman Fig. 3 below) and (38) outer raceways.
However, Newman in view of Boulard fails to disclose wherein the inner and outer raceways of each tapered roller bearing taper in the direction of the midpoint of said roller.
Valster teaches wherein the inner and outer raceways (29, 28) of each tapered roller bearing (27) taper in the direction of the midpoint of said roller (10); (See Valster annotated Fig. 2 below).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the roller as taught by Newman in view of Boulard with inner and outer raceways as disclosed by Valster so as to orient the inner and outer raceways of the tapered roller bearings to taper in the direction of the midpoint of the roller, in order to direct axial loads towards the center of the roller, thereby balancing opposing forces within the roller and improving bearing performance and service life.
Claim 13-14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman et al. (US 20180291961 A1) in view of Boulard (FR 2923134 A1) as applied to claims 1, 4-12, and 15-19 above, and further in view of Leuver et al. (US 8790018 B2).
Regarding claim 13, Newman, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Newman in view of Boulard, teaches the machine of claim 9 and a fixing pin (42).
However, Newman in view of Boulard fails to teach wherein said fixing pin further comprises a lubricant channel extending from an exterior surface of said fixing pin to at least one of said tapered roller bearing and/or said roller bearing.
Leuver discloses wherein said fixing pin (16) further comprises a lubricant channel (15) extending from an exterior surface of said fixing pin to at least one of said tapered roller bearing and/or said roller bearing (14).
Leuver states, "Oil is usually disposed in the interior of the drum tube, serving to lubricate the bearing and also the drive motor arranged for example in the interior of the drum tube. The ends of the tube are correspondingly closed with a respective cover to keep the oil in the interior of the drum tube" (Leuver Col. 1, lines 21-26).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the machine as taught by Newman in view of Boulard with the lubricant channel as disclosed by Leuver so as to provide a lubricant channel extending from an exterior surface of the fixing pin to at least one of the bearings, in order to improve lubrication, reduce wear, and enhance operational reliability.
Regarding claim 14, Newman, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Newman in view of Boulard, teaches the machine of claim 13.
However, Newman in view of Boulard fails to teach wherein each said lubricant channel further comprises a lubricant reservoir.
Leuver discloses wherein each said lubricant channel (12) further comprises a lubricant reservoir (12).
Leuver states a lubricant channel having an enlarged internal volume (e.g., interior (12)) configured to contain lubricants for delivery to the bearings (14). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, such a volume constitutes a lubricant reservoir, as it is capable of storing lubricant for continued lubrication of the roller's bearings.
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the machine as taught by Newman in view of Boulard with the lubricant channel and lubricant reservoir as disclosed by Leuver so as to provide a lubricant reservoir, in order to store lubricant, enable continued lubrication, and extend the life span of the bearings.
Conclusion
JOSE A. MARTINEZ
Examiner
Art Unit 3671
/WILLIAM D HUTTON JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3674