5DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7, 9-12, 14-19, 21-22 and 24 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-7, 9-12, 14-19, 21 and 24) in the reply filed on 15 September 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 22 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-7, 9-12, 14-19, 21 and 24 are examined herein.
Examiner is unable to interpret the scope of claim 24. Claim 24 is drawn to the method of claim 9. However, claim 9 does is drawn to a seed obtained from the plant of claim1. Neither claim 9 nor claim 1 recite any active method steps but are instead drawn to products. As the metes and bounds of claim 24 cannot be determined (see rejection of claim 24 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) below), Examiner is unable to assess if claim 24 is free of the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 6, 7, 9, and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a product of nature (i.e. natural phenomenon) without significantly more. Claims 1-2, 6, 7, and 9 are drawn to “a genetically altered plant” comprising at least one mutation in at least one UPL2 promoter (claim 1), wherein the mutation is a loss of function or partial loss of function (claim 2), wherein the UPL2 promoter comprises or consists of SEQ ID NO: 3 or a functional variant or homologue thereof (6), wherein the plant is rice (claim 7), and a seed obtained from the plant of claim 1 (claim 9).
Examiner notes that claim 1 is a “product by process” claim (see MPEP 2113). Thus while claim 1 recites “genetically altered” in the preamble, the claim is interpreted to read on any plant comprising any mutation in a UPL2 promoter, including both naturally occurring mutations and mutations induced, for example, by chemical mutagenesis or genome editing.
Claim 21 is drawn to a plant obtained by the method of claim 10. This claim is a “product by process claim” (see MPEP 2113). Therefore claim is interpreted to read on any plant comprising any decrease or loss of expression of a UPL2 nucleic acid or reduction in activity of a UPL2 polypeptide, including those which are naturally occurring.
By Applicant’s own admission, nearly all indica varieties have a naturally occurring 2.6kb deletion in in the OsUPL2 gene promoter region. Applicant further notes that indica varieties have increased panicle size (i.e. yield) relative to japonica varieties. Applicant further states “Without being bound by theory, it is possible that during evolution, the natural variation in the OsUPL2 promoter (i.e. deletion of 2.6kp sequence) might lead to changes in panicle size between indica and japonica varieties through changing UPL2 expression levels” (see instant specification, page 61, “Example 9”, lines 12-21).
Therefore the claims read on an indica rice variety that inherently comprises the claimed promoter deletion. While claim 1 recites the term “genetically altered”, as these claims are drawn to products, such a limitation constitutes a “product-by-process”, and the patentability of the claim must be considered based on the structure of the claimed product unless there is persuasive evidence that the process by which it is made would confer some structural difference. In the instant case, there would be no way to tell the difference between a plant that had undergone gene editing by Crispr, for example, and a plant with a naturally occurring mutation.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims, in their entirety, read on a naturally occurring indica rice variety. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they do not recite any additional elements that encompass more than a naturally occurring indica rice variety.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, and 9 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to product of nature (natural phenomenon) without significantly more.
The claims recite a genetically altered plant, comprising at least one mutation in a UPL2 gene, wherein said plant is heterozygous for the mutation, wherein the UPL2 gene in said plant comprises a Glu/Asp rich domain and wherein the mutation is in this domain, wherein the UPL2 gene in said plant encodes SEQ ID NO: 2 or a functional fragment or homolog thereof, and a seed obtained or obtainable from said plant.
Regarding claims 1,3, and 9 as explained in the 112(b) rejections below, given the indefiniteness of “UPL2” and “mutation” the plant of claim 1 reads on any plant comprising any HECT-type E3 ubiquitin ligase comprising any nucleotide sequence because a) applicant has not defined UPL2 and it is not an art recognized term that would confer any structural or functional limitations that would differentiate it from other HECT-type E3 ubiquitin ligases and b) applicant has not provided any limitations drawn to a reference gene or sequence against which to compare the claimed “UPL2” gene to infer which nucleotides constitute mutations and which do not. Therefore, relative to some plant, any naturally plant comprising a “UPL2” would inherently have some nucleotides that are considered “mutations” and were generated by the natural processes of molecular evolution (i.e. spontaneous DNA mutation). Thus, the claims read in their entirety on any naturally occurring “UPL2” gene having any nucleotide sequence that differs from another plant comprising a “UPL2” gene. Furthermore, some of these naturally occurring plants comprising a “UPL2” would be heterozygous for one of these “mutations”. Such plants would inherently produce seeds. While claim 1 recites the term “genetically altered”, as these claims are drawn to products, such a limitation constitutes a “product-by-process”, and the patentability of the claim must be considered based on the structure of the claimed product unless there is persuasive evidence that the process by which it is made would confer some structural difference. In the instant case, there would be no way to tell the difference between a plant that had undergone gene editing by Crispr, for example, and a plant with a naturally occurring mutation. Thus, the claims are not directed to significantly more than a product of nature. The claims are likewise not integrated into a practical application because, taken in their entirety, the read on a naturally occurring plant.
Regarding claims 5, 6, and 9 which all depend from claim 1, Applicant’s specification identifies SEQ ID NO: 2 as an OsUPL2 and identifies the Glu/Asp domain as residues 2126-2212 (see also Huang et al, 2021, The Plant Cell 33: 1212-1228, Supplemental Figure 7). Alignment of SEQ ID NO: 2 to UniProt Accession A0A2T7EGM1 (2018, uniprot.org/uniprotkb/A0A2T7EGM1/entry) reveals a “UPL” from a naturally occurring grass species (Panicum hallii var. hallii) which is a homolog of SEQ ID NO: 2 (see instant specification, page 14, lines 31-35, which defines homologs as sequences with as little 25% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 2) with a mutation in the Glu/Asp domain. Such a plant would inherently produce a seed. Thus, the claims are not directed to significantly more than a product of nature as they do not recite any additional elements. The claims are likewise not integrated into a practical application because, taken in their entirety, the read on a naturally occurring plant.
A0A2T7EGM1_9POAL
ID A0A2T7EGM1_9POAL Unreviewed; 3649 AA.
AC A0A2T7EGM1;
DT 18-JUL-2018, integrated into UniProtKB/TrEMBL.
DT 18-JUL-2018, sequence version 1.
DT 08-OCT-2025, entry version 28.
DE RecName: Full=HECT-type E3 ubiquitin transferase {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00012485};
DE EC=2.3.2.26 {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00012485};
GN ORFNames=GQ55_3G393500 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:PUZ66978.1};
OS Panicum hallii var. hallii.
Query Match 88.7%; Score 16438; Length 3649;
Best Local Similarity 88.4%;
Matches 3239; Conservative 205; Mismatches 182; Indels 38; Gaps 23;
Qy 4 AAAMAAHRASFPLRLQQILSGSRAVSPSIKVESEPPAKVKAFIDRVISIPLHDIAIPLSG 63
|||||||||||||||||||:|||||||:||||||||| || ||||||:||||||||||||
Db 2 AAAMAAHRASFPLRLQQILAGSRAVSPAIKVESEPPANVKEFIDRVINIPLHDIAIPLSG 61
Qy 64 FRWEFNKGNFHHWKPLFMHFDTYFKTQISSRKDLLLSDDMAEGDPLPKNTILQILRVMQI 123
|||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||| | |||||||||:|||||||
Db 62 FRWEFNKGNFHHWKPLFMHFDTYFKTYISSRKDLLLSDDMVEADPLPKNTILKILRVMQI 121
Qy 124 VLENCQNKTSFAGLEHFRLLLASSDPEIVVAALETLAALVKINPSKLHMNGKLINCGAIN 183
|:||||||:|| |||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||
Db 122 VVENCQNKSSFTGLEHFKLLLASSDPEIVVAALETLAALVKINPSKLHMNGKLISCGAIN 181
Qy 184 SHLLSLAQGWGSKEEGLGLYSCVVANERNQQEGLCLFPADMENKYDGTQHRLGSTLHFEY 243
:|||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||| |||||:|||||| || ||||:||||
Db 182 THLLSLAQGWGSKEEGLGLYSCVVANEGNQQEGLTLFPADLENKYDGAQHHLGSTVHFEY 241
Qy 244 NLAPAQDPDQSSDKAKPSNLCVIHIPDLHLQKEDDLSILKQCVDKFNVPSEHRFSLFTRI 303
|| | ||||:|||:| ||||||||||:||||||||||||||||||||| ||||:| |||
Db 242 NLGPGLDPDQTSDKSKSSNLCVIHIPDMHLQKEDDLSILKQCVDKFNVPPEHRFALLTRI 301
Qy 304 RYAHAFNSPRTCRLYSRISLLAFIVLVQSSDAHDELTSFFTNEPEYINELIRLVRSEEFV 363
||| |||| ||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||
Db 302 RYARAFNSARTCRLYSRISLLSFIVLVQSSDAHDELTSFFTNEPEYINELIRLVRSEDFV 361
Qy 364 PGPIRALAMLALGAQLAAYASSHERARILSGSSIISAGGNRMVLLSVLQKAISSLSSPND 423
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||||
Db 362 PGPIRALAMLALGAQLAAYASSHERARILSGSSIISAGGNRMVLLSVLQKAISSLNSPND 421
Qy 424 TSSPLIVDALLQFFLLHVLSSSSSGTTVRGSGMVPPLLPLLQDNDPSHMHLVCLAVKTLQ 483
||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 422 TSAPLIVDALLQFFLLHVLSSSSSGTTVRGSGMVPPLLPLLQDNDPSHMHLVCLAVKTLQ 481
Qy 484 KLMEYSSPAVSLFKDLGGVELLSQRLHVEVQRVIG-VDSHNSMVTSDALKSEEDHLYSQK 542
|||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||| || |||||| ||:|||||||||||
Db 482 KLMEYSSPAVSLFKDLGGVDLLSQRLHVEVQRVIGTVDGHNSMVT-DAVKSEEDHLYSQK 540
Qy 543 RLIKALLKALGSATYSPANPARSQSSNDNSLPISLSLIFQNVDKFGGDIYFSAVTVMSEI 602
||||||||||||||||| |||||||| |||||:|||||||||:|||||||||||||||||
Db 541 RLIKALLKALGSATYSPGNPARSQSSQDNSLPVSLSLIFQNVEKFGGDIYFSAVTVMSEI 600
Qy 603 IHKDPTCFPSLKELGLPDAFLSSVSAGVIPSCKALICVPNGLGAICLNNQGLEAVRETSA 662
|||||||||:||||||||||| ||:|||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 IHKDPTCFPALKELGLPDAFLLSVTAGVVPSCKALICVPNGLGAICLNNQGLEAVRETSA 660
Qy 663 LRFLVDTFTSRKYLIPMNEGVVLLANAVEELLRHVQSLRSTGVDIIIEIINKLSSPREDK 722
||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| | :|||
Db 661 LRFLVDTFTSRKYLMPMNEGVVLLANAVEELLRHVQSLRSTGVDIIIEIINKLCSSQEDK 720
Qy 723 SNEPAASSDERTEMETDAEGRDLVSAMDSSEDGTNDEQFSHLSIFHVMVLVHRTMENSET 782
||||| | :|:|:|||| |||||||||||| :| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 SNEPAISEEEKTDMETDVEGRDLVSAMDSSAEGMNDEQFSHLSIFHVMVLVHRTMENSET 780
Qy 783 CRLFVEKGGLQALLTLLLRPSITQSSGGMPIALHSTMVFKGFTQHHSTPLARAFCSSLKE 842
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|
Db 781 CRLFVEKGGLQALLTLLLRPSITQSSGGMPIALHSTMVFKGFTQHHSTPLARAFCSSLRE 840
Qy 843 HLKNALQELDTVASSGEVAKLEKGAIPSLFVVEFLLFLAASKDNRWMNALLSEFGDSSRD 902
|||:||:||: |:|| |::|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||:
Db 841 HLKSALEELNKVSSSIEMSKLEKGAIPSLFVVEFLLFLAASKDNRWMNALLSEFGDASRE 900
Qy 903 VLEDIGRVHREVLWQISLFEEKKVEPE-TSSPLANDSQQ-DAAVGDVDDSRYTSFRQYLD 960
||||||||||||| :|:|||| |:: | :|| |:::|| |:: |:|||||||||||||
Db 901 VLEDIGRVHREVLCKIALFEENKIDSEASSSSSASEAQQPDSSASDIDDSRYTSFRQYLD 960
Qy 961 PLLRRRGSGWNIESQVSDLINIYRDIGRAAGDSQ-----RYPSAGLPSSSSQDQPPSSSD 1015
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||| || : ||| |||||| ||||
Db 961 PLLRRRGSGWNIESQVSDLINIYRDIGRAASDSQRVGSDRYSNQGLP-SSSQDQSSSSSD 1019
Qy 1016 ASASTKSEEDKKRSEHSSCCDMMRSLSYHINHLFMELGKAMLLTSRRENSPVNLSASIVS 1075
|:|| :||| ||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||| |::|
Db 1020 ANASARSEEVKKKSEHSSCCDMMRSLSYHINHLFMELGKSMLLTSRRENSPVNLSPSVIS 1079
Qy 1076 VASNIASIVLEHLNFEGHTISSERETTVSTKCRYLGKVVEFIDGILLDRPESCNPIMLNS 1135
|| |||||||||||||||::|||:| |:|||||||||||||||||:||||||||||:||
Db 1080 VAGNIASIVLEHLNFEGHSVSSEKEIAVTTKCRYLGKVVEFIDGILMDRPESCNPIMVNS 1139
Qy 1136 FYCRGVIQAILTTFEATSELLFSMNRLPSSPMETDSKSVKEDRETDSSWIYGPLSSYGAI 1195
||| ||||||||||:|||||||:|:| |||||:||||: |: :||||||||||||||||:
Db 1140 FYCSGVIQAILTTFQATSELLFTMSRPPSSPMDTDSKTGKDGKETDSSWIYGPLSSYGAV 1199
Qy 1196 LDHLVTSSFILSSSTRQLLEQPIFSGNIRFPQDAEKFMKLLQSRVLKTVLPIWTHPQFPE 1255
:|||||||||||||||||||||||:|::|||||||:|||||||:||||||||| ||||||
Db 1200 MDHLVTSSFILSSSTRQLLEQPIFNGSVRFPQDAERFMKLLQSKVLKTVLPIWAHPQFPE 1259
Qy 1256 CNVELISSVTSIMRHVYSGVEVKNTAINTGARLAGPPPDENAISLIVEMGFSRARAEEAL 1315
||:||||||||||:|| :||||||| | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1260 CNIELISSVTSIMKHVCTGVEVKNTVGNGSARLAGPPPDENAISLIVEMGFSRARAEEAL 1319
Qy 1316 RQVGTNSVEIATDWLFSHPEEPQ-EDDELARALAMSLGNSDTSAQEEDGKSNDLELEEET 1374
||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||| :||||||||||
Db 1320 RQVGTNSVEIATDWLFSHPEEPQEEDDELARALAMSLGNSDTSAQEEDSRSNDLELEEET 1379
Qy 1375 VQLPPIDEVLSSCLRLLQTKESLAFPVRDMLLTMSSQNDGQNRVKVLTYLIDHLKNCLMS 1434
||||||||:| ||||||||||:|||||||||:|:||||||||||||||||||:|| |:|:
Db 1380 VQLPPIDEILYSCLRLLQTKEALAFPVRDMLVTISSQNDGQNRVKVLTYLIDNLKQCVMA 1439
Qy 1435 SDPLKSTALSALFHVLALILHGDTAAREVASKAGLVKVALNLLCSWELEPRQGEISDVPN 1494
|: || | |||||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||:||||||| ||: |:::|||
Db 1440 SESLKDTTLSALFHVLALILHGDTAAREVASEAGLVKVALDLLCSWELGPRESEVAEVPN 1499
Qy 1495 WVPSCFLSIDRMLQLDPKLPDVTELDVLKKDNSNTQTSVVIDDSKKKDSEASSSTGLLDL 1554
|| |||||:|||||::||||||||||||||:||||:||:||||:||||||: || |||:|
Db 1500 WVTSCFLSVDRMLQVEPKLPDVTELDVLKKENSNTKTSLVIDDNKKKDSESLSSVGLLNL 1559
Qy 1555 EDQKQLLKICCKCIQKQLPSATMHAILQLCATLTKLHAAAICFLESGGLHALLSLPTSSL 1614
||||||||||||||:||||||:|||||||||||||:|||||||||||||:||||||| ||
Db 1560 EDQKQLLKICCKCIEKQLPSASMHAILQLCATLTKVHAAAICFLESGGLNALLSLPTGSL 1619
Qy 1615 FSGFNSVASTIIRHILEDPHTLQQAMELEIRHSLVTAANRHANPRVTPRNFVQNLAFVVY 1674
|||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1620 FSGFNNVASTIIRHILEDPHTLQQAMELEIRHSLVTAANRHANPRVTPRNFVQNLAFVVY 1679
Qy 1675 RDPVIFMKAAQAVCQIEMVGDRPYVVLLKDREKEKNKE--KEKDKPADKDKTSGAATKMT 1732
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:::|| |:||||||||| ||||||:|
Db 1680 RDPVIFMKAAQAVCQIEMVGDRPYVVLLKDREKDRSKEKDKDKDKPADKDKASGAATKVT 1739
Qy 1733 SGDMALGSPVSSQGKQTDLNTKNVKSNRKPPQSFVTVIEYLLDLVMSFIPPPRAEDRPDG 1792
|||:| ||| |:||| ||| :||| :||||||||||||:|||||:||:||||:||: |
Db 1740 SGDIAAGSPASAQGKLPDLNARNVKPHRKPPQSFVTVIEHLLDLVISFVPPPRSEDQADV 1799
Qy 1793 ESSTASSTDMDID-SSAKGKGKAVAVTPEESKHAIQEATASLAKSAFVLKLLTDVLLTYA 1851
| ||||:||||| |||||||||||| ||||||::|||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1800 VSCTASSSDMDIDCSSAKGKGKAVAVAPEESKHSVQEATASLAKSAFVLKLLTDVLLTYA 1859
Qy 1852 SSIQVVLRHDADLSNARGPNR--IGISSGGVFSHILQHFLPHSTKQKKERKADGDWRYKL 1909
||||||||||||||| |||| || |||:|:|||||||||: ||||:|| :|||||||
Db 1860 SSIQVVLRHDADLSNMHGPNRPGAGIISGGIFTHILQHFLPHAVKQKKDRKTEGDWRYKL 1919
Qy 1910 ATRANQFLVASSIRSAEGRKRIFSEICSIFVDFTDSPAGCKPPILRMNAYVDLLNDILSA 1969
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|:||||| | |: |:|||||||||||||
Db 1920 ATRANQFLVASSIRSAEGRKRIFSEICSMFLDFTDSSTAYKAPVSRLNAYVDLLNDILSA 1979
Qy 1970 RSPTGSSLSAESAVTFVEVGLVQYLSKTLQVIDLDHPDSAKIVTAIVKALEVVTKEHVHS 2029
|||||||||||||||||||||:| ||:||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1980 RSPTGSSLSAESAVTFVEVGLIQSLSRTLQVLDLDHPDSAKIVTAIVKALEVVTKEHVHS 2039
Qy 2030 ADLNAKGENSSKVVSDQSNLDPSSNRFQALDTT-QPTEMVTDHREAFNAVQTSQSSDSVA 2088
||||||||||||: || :|:| ||||||||||| |||||||| ||| ||||||||||||
Db 2040 ADLNAKGENSSKIASDSNNVDSSSNRFQALDTTSQPTEMVTDDREASNAVQTSQSSDSVE 2099
Qy 2089 DEMDHDRDLDGGFARDGEDDFMHEIAEDGTPNESTMEIRFEIPRNREDDMADDDEDSDED 2148
||||||||:|||||||||||||||:||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||
Db 2100 DEMDHDRDMDGGFARDGEDDFMHEMAEDGTGNESTMEIRFEIPRNREDDMADDDEDTDED 2159
Qy 2149 MSADDGEEVDE-DEDEDEDEENNNLEEDDAHQMSHPDTDQEDREMDEEEFDEDLLEEDDD 2207
||||||:|||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||
Db 2160 MSADDGDEVDEDDEDEDEDEENNNLEEDDAHQMSHPDTDQDDREMDEEEFDEDLLEEDDD 2219
Qy 2208 EDEDEEGVILRLEEGINGINVFDHIEVFGGSNNLSGDTLRVMPLDIFGTRRQGRSTSIYN 2267
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2220 EDEDEEGVILRLEEGINGINVFDHIEVFGGSNNLAGDTLRVMPLDIFGTRRQGRSTSIYN 2279
Qy 2268 LLGRAGDHGVFDHPLLEEPSSVLHLPQQRQQ-ENLVEMAFSDRNHDNSSSRLDAIFRSLR 2326
||||| |||| ||||||||||:|:|| | || |||||||||||||::|||||||||||||
Db 2280 LLGRASDHGVLDHPLLEEPSSILNLPHQGQQPENLVEMAFSDRNHESSSSRLDAIFRSLR 2339
Qy 2327 SGRSGHRFNMWLDDSPQRTGSAAPAVPEGIEELLVSQLRRPTPEQPDEQSTPAGGAEEND 2386
|||:||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||:| |||||||||| | |||| :||:
Db 2340 SGRNGHRFNMWLDDSPQRSGSAAPAVPEGIEELLISHLRRPTPEQPDVQRTPAGATQENE 2399
Qy 2387 QSNQQHLHQSETEAGGDAPTEQNENNDNAVTPAARSELDGSESADPAPP-SNALQREVSG 2445
| : || || :|| |||||: | | | :| ||:|:|||| |: |||:||
Db 2400 QPT----NVSEAEAREEAPAEQNENSVNTVNP-----VDLSENAEPAPPDSDVLQRDVSN 2450
Qy 2446 ASEHATEMQYERSDAVVRDVEAVSQASSGSGATLGESLRSLEVEIGSVEGHDDGDRH--- 2502
|||||||||||||| | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2451 ASEHATEMQYERSDVVARDVEAVSQASSGSGATLGESLRSLEVEIGSVEGHDDGDRHGAS 2510
Qy 2503 GASDRLPLGDLQAASRSRRPPGSVVLGSSRDISLESVSEVPQNQNQESDQNADEGDQEPN 2562
||||||||||:|| :||||| || | ||||||||||||||| ||| ||||:||:|||
Db 2511 GASDRLPLGDMQATARSRRPSGSAVPLGSRDISLESVSEVPQNPNQEPDQNANEGNQEPT 2570
Qy 2563 RAADTDSIDPTFLEALPEDLRAEVLSSRQNQVTQTSNEQPQNDGDIDPEFLAALPPDIRE 2622
|||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||:||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2571 RAADADSIDPTFLEALPEDLRAEVLSSRQNQVAQTSNDQPQNDGDIDPEFLAALPPDIRE 2630
Qy 2623 EVLAQQRAQRL-QQSQELEGQPVEMDAVSIIATFPSEIREEVLLTSPDTLLATLTPALVA 2681
||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2631 EVLAQQRAQRLQQQSQELEGQPVEMDAVSIIATFPSEIREEVLLTSPDTLLATLTPALVA 2690
Qy 2682 EANMLRERFAHRYHSGSLFGMNSRGRRGESSRRGDIIGSGLDRNAGDSSRQPTSKPIETE 2741
||||||||||||||| |||||||| |||||||| ::: :||||| || || ||||||||
Db 2691 EANMLRERFAHRYHSSSLFGMNSRNRRGESSRR-EVMAAGLDRN-GDPSRS-TSKPIETE 2747
Qy 2742 GSPLVDKDALKALIRLLRVVQPLYKGQLQRLLLNLCAHRESRKSLVQILVDMLMLDLQGS 2801
|:||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2748 GAPLVDEDALKALIRLLRVVQPLYKGQLQRLLLNLCAHRDSRKSLVQILVDMLMLDLQGS 2807
Qy 2802 SKKSIDATEPPFRLYGCHANITYSRPQSTDGVPPLVSRRVLETLTYLARNHPNVAKLLLF 2861
|||||| |||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||
Db 2808 SKKSIDGTEPPFRLYGCHANITYSRPQSSDGVPPLVSRRVLETLTYLARSHPNVAKLLLF 2867
Qy 2862 LEFPCPPTCHAETSDQRRGKAVLMEGDSEQNAYALVLLLTLLNQPLYMRSVAHLEQLLNL 2921
|||||| || | ||||||||: ||: |: |:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2868 LEFPCPSRCHTEALDQRRGKAVVEEGE-ERKAFALVLLLTLLNQPLYMRSVAHLEQLLNL 2926
Qy 2922 LEVVMLNAENEITQAKLEAASEKPSGPENATQDAQEGANAAGSSGSKSNAEDSSKLPPVD 2981
||||||||||:| ||:|| :|||||||||| | |: | : ||||||||||||| |||
Db 2927 LEVVMLNAENQINQARLEVSSEKPSGPENAVPDGQDNTNVSESSGSKSNAEDSSK-TPVD 2985
Qy 2982 GESSLQKVLQSLPQAELRLLCSLLAHDGLSDNAYLLVAEVLKKIVALAPFFCCHFINELA 3041
|::|| ||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2986 NENNLQAVLQSLPQPELRLLCSLLAHDGLSDNAYLLVAEVLKKIVALAPFFCCHFINELA 3045
Qy 3042 HSMQNLTLCAMKELHLYEDSEKALLSTSSANGTAILRVVQALSSLVTTLQEKKDPDHPAE 3101
||||||||||||| |||:|||||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||: |||
Db 3046 RSMQNLTLCAMKELRLYENSEKALLSSSSANGTAILRVVQALSSLVTTLQEKKDPELPAE 3105
Qy 3102 KDHSDALSQISEINTALDALWLELSNCISKIESSSEYASNLSPASANAATLTTGVAPPLP 3161
||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||| || ||||||||
Db 3106 KDHSDAVSQISEINTALDALWLELSNCISKIESSSEYVSNLSPASANAPTLATGVAPPLP 3165
Qy 3162 AGTQNILPYIESFFVTCEKLRPGQPDAIQEASTSDMEDASTSSGGQKSSGSHANLDEKHN 3221
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||: |||||||||||||||||:|| |:|||| |
Db 3166 AGTQNILPYIESFFVTCEKLRPGQPDAVHEASTSDMEDASTSSGGQRSSSGQASLDEKQN 3225
Qy 3222 AFVKFSEKHRRLLNAFIRQNPGLLEKSFSLMLKIPRLIEFDNKRAYFRSKIKHQHDHHHS 3281
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3226 AFVKFSEKHRRLLNAFIRQNPGLLEKSFSLMLKIPRLIDFDNKRAYFRSKIKHQHDHHHS 3285
Qy 3282 PVRISVRRAYILEDSYNQLRMRSPQDLKGRLTVHFQGEEGIDAGGLTREWYQLLSRVIFD 3341
|||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||
Db 3286 PVRISVRRAYILEDSYNQLRMRSPQELKGRLTVHFQGEEGIDAGGLTREWYQSLSRVIFD 3345
Qy 3342 KGALLFTTVGNDLTFQPNPNSVYQTEHLSYFKFVGRVVGKALFDGQLLDVHFTRSFYKHI 3401
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||
Db 3346 KGALLFTTVGNDLTFQPNPNSVYQTEHLSYFKFVGRVVGKALFDGQLLDAHFTRSFYKHI 3405
Qy 3402 LGVKVTYHDIEAIDPAYYKNLKWMLENDISDVLDLSFSMDADEEKRILYEKAEVTDYELI 3461
|| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||| |||||||||| |||
Db 3406 LGAKVTYHDIEAIDPAYYKNLKWMLENDISDVLDLTFSMDADEEKLILYEKAEVTDCELI 3465
Qy 3462 PGGRNIKVTEENKHEYVNRVAEHRLTTAIRPQITSFMEGFNELIPEELISIFNDKELELL 3521
||||||:||||||||||:||||||||||||||| :|:|||||||| ||||||||||||||
Db 3466 PGGRNIRVTEENKHEYVDRVAEHRLTTAIRPQINAFLEGFNELIPRELISIFNDKELELL 3525
Qy 3522 ISGLPDIDLDDLKANTEYSGYSIASPVIQWFWEIVQGFSKEDKARFLQFVTGTSKVPLEG 3581
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3526 ISGLPDIDLDDLKANTEYSGYSIASPVIQWFWEIVQGFSKEDKARFLQFVTGTSKVPLEG 3585
Qy 3582 FSALQGISGPQRFQIHKAYGSTNHLPSAHTCFNQLDLPEYTSKEQLQERLLLAIHEANEG 3641
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3586 FSALQGISGPQRFQIHKAYGSTNHLPSAHTCFNQLDLPEYTSKEQLQERLLLAIHEANEG 3645
Qy 3642 FGFG 3645
||||
Db 3646 FGFG 3649
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-7, 9-12, 14-19, 21 and 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. All dependent claims are included in rejections.
Claims 1, 4, 10, 11, 12, 15, and 17 are indefinite in their recitation of “UPL2”. It is not clear which genes and promoters are encompassed by the terms “UPL gene” and “UPL promoter”. Applicant states that UPL2 may be referred to as LARGE2, such terms may be used interchangeably and that “LARGE2 encodes a E3 ubiquitin ligase (UPL2)” (instant specification page 10, lines 18-20). In the art, “UPL” is typically used to refer to HECT-type (i.e. HECT domain containing) E3 ubiquitin ligases. However, the designation of UPL1, UPL2, UPL3 does not appear to have a consistent usage. Downes et al (2003, The Plant Journal 35: 729-742) describes UPL1-7 from Arabidopsis and associated domains (page 731, Figure 1). However, it does not appear that this nomenclature and domain architecture is consistently applied or even appropriate across all plants. For example, Li et al (2019, Genetica 147:391-400), discloses that maize comprises 12 UPL genes, divided into 6 groups, similar to other studies (page 393, column 2, “Identification of maize UPL genes”; Figure 1; Table 2; page 397, column 2, paragraphs 1-2). Their phylogenic analysis places UPL2 from Arabidopsis in a clade with maize UPL3, 9 and 12 in “Group 1” while maize UPL2 clusters with Arabidopsis UPL3, among others, in “Group V”. Xu et al (2016, Molecular Genetics and Genomics 291:635-646) discloses that there are 13 UPL genes in apple (Malus domestica); apple UPL2 clusters with Arabidopsis UPL4 while Arabidopsis UPL2 clusters with apple UPL1 and UPL8 (page 638, columns 1-2, bridging paragraph; Figure 1; Table 1). Applicant states that the E3 ubiquitin ligase UPL2 is characterized by conserved domains: DUF908, DUF913, UBA, DUF4414, AND HECT (instant specification page 15, lines 8-10). Meng et al (2015, International Journal of Molecular Science 16: 8517-8535) discloses that two groupings of soybean HECT type E3 ubiquitin ligases comprise this combination of domains; both Arabidopsis UPL1 and UPL2 occur in the same grouping (Figure 2 and 4). Finally, in instant Table 1, Applicant describes homologs of UPL2 and includes instant SEQ ID NO: 26 as a UPL2 homolog from Brassica napus. However, a BLAST search of SEQ ID NO:26 returns an alignment to a Brassica napus UPL1 with over 99% sequence identity (NCBI Accession number XM_009149223, 2020, ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/nucleotide/XM_009149223.3; the alignment is over 10 pages long, so is not included here beyond the header but is available upon request:
>PREDICTED: Brassica rapa E3 ubiquitin-protein ligase UPL1 (LOC103871016), transcript variant X1, mRNA
Sequence ID: XM_009149223.3 Length: 11421
Range 1: 213 to 11177
Score:20238 bits(10959), Expect:0.0,
Identities:10963/10965(99%), Gaps:0/10965(0%), Strand: Plus/Plus
Thus, the meaning of the term UPL2 is not clear and appears subject to change. It is not clear if UPL2, as recited by applicant, refers to the UPL2 gene from rice (i.e. instant SEQ ID NO: 2), the homologs of UPL2 gene from rice recited in the instant Table 1, any gene referred to as a UPL2 in the prior art, or something altogether different. Therefore, the metes and bounds of claims 1, 4, 10-12, 15, and 17 are not clear.
Claims 2-3, 5, 7, 9, 14, 16, 19, 21, and 24 which depend from claims 1, 4, 10-12, 15, and 17, do not recite any limitations which clarify the metes and bounds of the claim from which the depend and are thus rejected on the same ground.
Claims 1-5, 12, and 14-15 are indefinite in the recitation of “mutation” because in this usage of the term, “mutation” is a relative term. There must be a standard against which the gene or promoter can be compared to ascertain which nucleotides or amino acids constitute a “mutation”. Mutation is the ultimate source of all genetic variation, and what constitutes a “mutation” or a conserved nucleotide or amino acid will vary based on the standard against which it is applied—a nucleotide or amino acid that may appear to be conserved when two sequences from closely related species are compared could, at the same time, be a “mutation” relative to a sequence from a more distantly related species. Without such a standard to make a comparison, the metes and bounds of the claims cannot be determined.
Claims 6, 7, 9, and 24 which depend from the rejected claims, do not recite any limitations which clarify the metes and bounds of the claim from which the depend and are thus rejected on the same ground.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 4, 7, 15, and 19 recite a broad limitation followed by the word “preferably” followed by a narrower limitation. The claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claims cannot be determined.
Claim 5 recites the limitation " the E3 ligase" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 5 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 does not recite any limitations reciting “an E3 ligase”, thus it is not clear to which E3 ligase claim 5 refers. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claims cannot be determined.
The terms “reducing”, “reduce” and “increase” in claims 10 and 11, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Because there is not standard for ascertaining the degree of reduction or increase in these claims, it is not clear what level of expression, activity or phenotypic chance is encompassed by the claims. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claims cannot be ascertained.
Claims 12, 14- 19 and 21, which depend from the rejected claims, do not recite any limitations which clarify the metes and bounds of the claim from which the depend and are thus rejected on the same ground.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the UPL2 promoter" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 18 depends from claim 10. Claim 10 does not recite any limitations reciting “a UPL2 promoter”, thus it is not clear to which UPL2 promoter claim 18 refers. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claims cannot be determined.
Claim 24 is drawn to the method of claim 9. However, claim 9 does is drawn to a seed obtained from the plant of claim1. Neither claim 9 nor claim 1 recite any active method steps but are instead drawn to products. Thus, it is not clear how to practice the method of claim 24. As such, the metes and bounds of claim 24 cannot be determined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Furniss et al 2018 (PLoS Pathology 14(11):e1007447) taken with the evidence of Alonso et al (2003, Science 301: pages 653-656; Supporting online material) and Downes et al (2003, The Plant Journal 35: 729-742).
Furniss et al discloses Arabidopsis plants which are UPL2 knockout mutants (instant claim 1, 2, 10, 11, 12, 14, 18, and 21) wherein the mutants were isolated from SALK_008974 (Abstract; page 4, final paragraph; Materials and Methods, pages 14-15, bridging paragraph).
Alonso provides evidence that SALK_008974 is a knockout mutant of AT1g70320 wherein the insertional mutation is located in an exon (page 364 of Supporting online material).
Downes et al provides evidence that AT1g70320 is a UPL2 gene (i.e. a functional variant or homolog of SEQ ID NO: 2; page 739, column 2, paragraph 2; instant claims 6 and 18).
Regarding claim 11, a knockout mutant of any gene would inherently lack function, which in the case of UPL2 would be E3 ligase function.
Thus, Furniss et al 2018 (PLoS Pathology 14(11):e1007447) taken with the evidence of Alonso et al (2003, Science 301: pages 653-656; Supporting online material) and Downes et al (2003, The Plant Journal 35: 729-742) anticipates all the limitations of claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 18, and 21.
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 10, 16, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al (2017, The Plant Journal 92: 349-362) taken with the evidence of NCBI Accession CP056063 (2021, ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/nuccore/cp056063.1) and Applicant’s admission in the instant specification.
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, and 9 are drawn to “a genetically altered plant” comprising at least one mutation in at least one UPL2 promoter (claim 1), wherein the mutation is a loss of function or partial loss of function (claim 2), wherein the plant is heterozygous for the mutation, wherein the UPL2 promoter comprises or consists of SEQ ID NO: 3 or a functional variant or homologue thereof (6), wherein the plant is rice (claim 7), a seed obtained from the plant of claim 1 (claim 9). The claims are further drawn to a method of reducing expression of a UPL2 nucleic acid (claim 10), wherein the method increases at least one of inflorescence size, grain number per plant, grain width and thousand grain weight, wherein the promoter is a homolog of SEQ ID NO: 3 (claim 18), wherein the plant is rice (claim 19) and a plant made by the method of claim 10 (claim 21).
Examiner notes that claim 1 is a “product by process” claim (see MPEP 2113). Thus while claim 1 recites “genetically altered” in the preamble, the claim is interpreted to read on any plant comprising any mutation in a UPL2 promoter, including both naturally occurring mutations and mutations induced, for example, by chemical mutagenesis or genome editing.
Claim 21 is drawn to a plant obtained by the method of claim 10. This claim is a “product by process claim” (see MPEP 2113). Therefore claim is interpreted to read on any plant comprising any decrease or loss of expression of a UPL2 nucleic acid or reduction in activity of a UPL2 polypeptide, including those which are naturally occurring.
By Applicant’s own admission, nearly all indica varieties have a naturally occurring 2.6kb deletion in in the OsUPL2 gene promoter region relative to japonica varieties. Applicant further notes that indica varieties have increased panicle size (i.e. yield) relative to japonica varieties. Applicant further states “Without being bound by theory, it is possible that during evolution, the natural variation in the OsUPL2 promoter (i.e. deletion of 2.6kp sequence) might lead to changes in panicle size between indica and japonica varieties through changing UPL2 expression levels” (see instant specification, page 61, “Example 9”, lines 12-21).
Li et al teaches F1 crosses of indica variety Zhenshan 97 and japonica variety Nipponbare (page 350, column 2, paragraphs 2-3).
Alignment of SEQ ID NO: 3 with chromosome 12 of Zhenshan 97 (NCBI Accession ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/nuccore/cp056063.1) provides evidence that Zhenshan 97 has a naturally occurring 2.6kb deletion in the OsUPL2 promoter:
Score:660 bits(357), Expect:0.0,
Identities:392/408(96%), Gaps:5/408(1%), Strand: Plus/Plus
Query 1 ACATTAACTGTCCTATATGCGATGTATTTATTGTTATGGTGTATTAAATCATCAGTATAT 60
||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||| ||||||||||||| ||||||||||
Sbjct 13353114 ACATTAACTGTCCTATATGTGATGTATTTATTGGTATGGTGTATTAA---ATCAGTATAT 13353170
Query 61 ATAGTAAAAAACATAACAAAGAGTGCACGACTAATTTAAAAGATAAAAGAAAAAGTAGAG 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||
Sbjct 13353171 ATAGTAAAAAACATAACAAAGAGTGCACGACTAATTTAAAAGATAAAAGAAAAGGTAGAG 13353230
Query 121 TAATTGGGCCACCAAAACTAATGATTTTCGCTACTAGATCGAAGCTCTAGCCtttttttt 180
||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||| | |||
Sbjct 13353231 TAATTGGGCCATCAAAACTAATGATTTTCGCTGCTAGATCGAAGCTCTAGCCTTATATTT 13353290
Query 181 ttttttGCCATAAGCCTGCTTGACATGTATC-TTTTACTTGATTTTAGATGATCCTCATA 239
||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||
Sbjct 13353291 TTTGTTGCCATAAGCCTGCTTGACATGTATCTTTTTACTTGATTTTATATGATCCTCATA 13353350
Query 240 TTCCTTTATTTCTAAACTTCCC-AAGCAATCAAAAGAATAGCAAATGTTCATCTTTACAC 298
|||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13353351 TTCCTTTATTTCTAAACTTCCCAAAGCAATCAAAAGAATAGCAAATGTTCATCTTTACAC 13353410
Query 299 AAATGAAAACTACCATTTTAGCTTGATTGTGTTCTTGGCCCATTCTAGGAAGCTAAAATT 358
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||
Sbjct 13353411 AAATGAAAACTACCATTTTAGCTTGATTGTGTTCTTGGCCCATTCTAGGAAGATAAAATT 13353470
Query 359 ATGAGAAGTAGCCTTTTGGTAGCTAAATTTTGAGAATCTAGAATATAT 406
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||
Sbjct 13353471 ATGAGAAGTAGCCTTTTGGTAGCTAAATTTTGAGAATCTAGATTATAT 13353518
Score:3173 bits(1718), Expect:0.0,
Identities:1804/1845(98%), Gaps:8/1845(0%), Strand: Plus/Plus
Query 3030 AGAATCTAGAATATATAGCTACATATTCTCAAAATCGAATCTGGACTGTTTTGGAGAGTA 3089
|||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13353503 AGAATCTAGATTATATAGCTACATATTCTCAAAATCGAATCTGGACTGTTTTGGAGAGTA 13353562
Query 3090 GCCGCTAGAAACTTCCTAGAAC-AAAACCCTTATATTTGTTCTTTAAGTCACATCATACT 3148
|| |||||||||||||| |||| |||||||||||||||||| ||| ||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13353563 GCTGCTAGAAACTTCCTCGAACAAAAACCCTTATATTTGTT-TTT-AGTCACATCATACT 13353620
Query 3149 TGCTGATGAAATCACTATCCATTAGTTACTCCATCCGTCCCAAAAATACTTAATCTAGGA 3208
|||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||| | ||||||| ||||||||| ||| ||| |
Sbjct 13353621 TGCTCATGAAATCACTATCCATTAGTTACTTCCTCCGTCCGAAAAATACTCAATATAGAA 13353680
Query 3209 GAAGATGTGACTCCTTCTGATACAATAAATTTGGATAAAGAGCTATCAGATTTGTTAGGA 3268
|| ||| ||||| ||| | |||||||||||||| ||||| |||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13353681 GAGGATATGACTTCTTATAATACAATAAATTTGAATAAAAGGCTATCAGATTTGTTAGGA 13353740
Query 3269 TCACACATTTATTTGTAGGTTAAGttttttttAACGGAAGTAGTACGCATAAAGGATTGG 3328
||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13353741 TCACACATTTATTTGTAGGTTAAGTTTCTTTTAACGGAAGGAGTACGCATAAAGGATTGG 13353800
Query 3329 CTTACCCAATTGTTAACCGGCCC-GGCACTGGAACAGAAAGGTCTTGAACCCAAACGGGA 3387
||||||||||||||||||||||| ||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13353801 CTTACCCAATTGTTAACCGGCCCGGGCCCTGGAACAGAAAGGTCTTGAACCCAAACGGGA 13353860
Query 3388 CGCCGAGAAGGCCCTTCCCTGACGAAAGCAAAGGGCTTAATTAGCTAGCAAGAAACCCAA 3447
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13353861 CGCCGAGAAGGCCCTTCCCTGACGAAAGCAAAGGGCTTAATTAGCTAGCAAGAAACCCAA 13353920
Query 3448 ACCGACCCGAGCCCGTCACGCGCCGCGCCCGTGACCTACCGTGCGCTGCGCCGcctcctc 3507
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13353921 ACCGACCCGAGCCCGTCACGCGCCGCGCCCGTGACCTACCGTGCGCTGCGCCGCCTCCTC 13353980
Query 3508 cctcccacctcccttcacaaaagcagcgacccctcctccctccccaagtttcctccccAC 3567
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13353981 CCTCCCACCTCCCTTCACAAAAGCAGCGACCCCTCCTCCCTCCCCAAGTTTCCTCCCCAC 13354040
Query 3568 ACCGCAACCCTtctctct--ctctctctctcccctctcgacttctctcctctccgccgcc 3625
|||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13354041 ACCGCAACCCTTCTCTCTCGCTCTCTCTCTCCCCTCTCGACTTCTCTCCTCTCCGCCGCC 13354100
Query 3626 tccgagtcccgccgcgccgcgcgcccgtcttccccggcggccgATGTGTCTGCCTCGTCG 3685
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||
Sbjct 13354101 TCCGAGTCCCGCCGCGCCGCGCGCCCGTCTTCCCCGGCGGCCGATGTGTCTGCCTCGCCG 13354160
Query 3686 GCACGAAACCCTAGAGGTAAcccgccgcgccgctccccgccgcttcccgccgcgatcggg 3745
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13354161 GCACGAAACCCTAGAGGTAACCCGCCGCGCCGCTCCCCGCCGCTCCCCGCCGCGATCGGG 13354220
Query 3746 ggccctcccccctagggttttcgggggacttttgagggtggatgatttgggggtgtgggg 3805
|||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13354221 GGCCCT-CCCCCTAGGGTTTTCGGGGGACTTTTGGGGGTGGATGATTTGGGGGTGTGGGG 13354279
Query 3806 ggctttgggggCGGTCTAACCTGTTTGTGGTTTCTGGTGCAGGTGCGGTGCAGTTGAGGG 3865
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13354280 GGCTTTGGGGGCGGTCTAACCTGTTTGTGGTTTCTGGTGCAGGTGCGGTGCAGTTGAGGG 13354339
Query 3866 GTCCCGATCGGAGATggcggcggcggcggccatggcggcgCACCGGGCCAGCTTCCCGCT 3925
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13354340 GTCCCGATCGGAGATGGCGGCGGCGGCGGCCATGGCGGCGCACCGGGCCAGCTTCCCGCT 13354399
Query 3926 CCGGCTGCAGCAGATCCTGTCCGGGAGCCGCGCCGTGTCGCCGTCGATCAAGGTGGAGTC 3985
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13354400 CCGGCTGCAGCAGATCCTGTCCGGGAGCCGCGCCGTGTCGCCGTCGATCAAGGTGGAGTC 13354459
Query 3986 CGAGCCGGTGAGTCCCTCGCGCCGTTCCCCTGTTTCCTCGCCCTAGGGTTTTGATCGTCG 4045
|||||||||||||||||| |||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13354460 CGAGCCGGTGAGTCCCTCTCGCCGTCCCCCTGTTTCCTCGCCCTAGGGTTTTGATCGTCG 13354519
Query 4046 GGGTTGAGGGGTTGTAGATGCGAAGTTGAGATGGTATGTAGGATCGAATCCTCCCTAGGT 4105
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13354520 GGGTTGAGGGGTTGTAGATGCGAAGTTGAGATGGTATGTATGATCGAATCCTCCCTAGGT 13354579
Query 4106 GCTTCCTCTAGGGTTTTGATCGGCTGCCTGTGTTGATGTGGCGTGCTGTTGGGGTGAGGT 4165
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13354580 GCTTCCTCTAGGGTTTTGATCGGCTGCCTGTGTTGATGTGGCGTGCTGTTGGGGTGAGGT 13354639
Query 4166 AGTTAGGCCGTAAGGAGTTTGCTCCGTTTATGATCGGTGTTGAGCATGGGGACCAGTGGT 4225
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13354640 AGTTAGGCCGTAAGGAGTTTGCTCCGTTTATGATCGGTGTTGAGCATGGGGACCAGTGGT 13354699
Query 4226 GTGGTGTGCAGGGTAGTTGTTACTGCTTTAGGCCATCTCAAATTTGGGTTTCCTTGGTCA 4285
||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13354700 GTGGTGTGCAGGGTAGTTGTTACTGTTTTAGGCCATCTCAAATTTGGGTTTCCTTGGTCA 13354759
Query 4286 GGGGTAGAAGAGACACCGGTTTGAAGTTTCTGGTTATCTTGCTTGTGCTGTTATTGTACT 4345
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13354760 GGGGTAGAAGAGACACCGGTTTGAAGTTTCTGGTTATCTTGCTTGTGCTGTTATTGTACT 13354819
Query 4346 ATATTGTAGTAGGGATACATGCTCGTGTTATTCTGTTACCTTGTTTAAGCATGTCTATGC 4405
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13354820 ATATTGTAGTAGGGATACATGCTCGTGTTATTCTGTTACCTTGTTTAAGCATGTCTATGC 13354879
Query 4406 CCCTCAATGCTTAGTTGCCGCTGCAGCCGTAATCTTTTAGGCTTAGCCGCTTAGGTATCC 4465
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13354880 CCCTCAATGCTTAGTTGCCGCTGCAGCCGTAATCTTTTAGGCTTAGCCGCTTAGGTATCT 13354939
Query 4466 CCATTACATTTGTATTATCTTGTTATTACTACGGTGTCCCATTGGACATTTATTAGTTCA 4525
|||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13354940 CCATTACATTTGTATTATCTTGTTCTTACTACGGTGTCCCATTGGACATTTATTAGTTCA 13354999
Query 4526 GACTTTCTTGCACTTGTAATTCCTTCTGCAAAACATACGAGTCAATACAGAATGCCACAT 4585
|||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13355000 GACTTTCTTGCATTTGTAATTCCTTCTGCAAAACATACGAGTCAATACAGAATGCCACAT 13355059
Query 4586 CTAGCAAATTACTATGTTATCATTGATGCTTAGGTGCCCATGATCAGTACTTATGGACTT 4645
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13355060 CTAGCAAATTACTATGTTATCATTGATGCTTAGGTGCCCATGGTCAGTACTTATGGACTT 13355119
Query 4646 GTACTGGCCattttataatgttattttttcattctgttattgctatagctttttaatcct 4705
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||
Sbjct 13355120 GTACTGGCCATTTTATAATGTTATTTTTTCATTCTGTTATTGCTATAG-TTTTTAATCCT 13355178
Query 4706 tttttacgtatttttatttCTGTGCACAACTGCACTTATGTTGACCAATCCTGTATCATG 4765
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13355179 TTTTTACGTATTTTTATTTCTGTGCACAACTGCACTTATGTTGGCCAATCCTGTATCATG 13355238
Query 4766 TTTTGGATAATGGCTTACTACATAAATATATGACGTTGGATAGTAGCCTCAAGATTGATG 4825
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13355239 TTTTGGATAATGGCTTACTACATAAATATATGACGTTGGATAGTAGCCTCAAGATTGATG 13355298
Query 4826 CATTGATTTAGTTCACTTGATATTACAGCTCAAGAGTTGAGACAT 4870
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Sbjct 13355299 CATTGATTTAGTTCACTTGATATTACAGCTCAAGAGTTGAGACAT 13355343
Regarding claim 3, an F1 hybrid of Zhenshan 97 and Nipponbare would inherently be heterozygous for the promoter as one parent comprises the deletion and the other does not.
Regarding claim 9, such a hybrid would produce at least some seeds.
Regarding claim 10, by Applicant’s own admission, as set forth above, a 2.6kb deletion in the promoter of OsUPL2 would reduce expression of OsUPL2. Crossing the two plants as disclosed by Li et al would thus anticipate all the limitations of claim 10, which only recites the method steps of reducing expression of a UPL2 nucleic acid.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation is drawn to an intended result of practicing the method of claim 10. Thus, as the prior art anticipates all the active method steps of claim 10, it would likewise produce the intended result of claim 16.
Therefore, Li et al, taken with the evidence of evidence of NCBI Accession CP056063 and Applicant’s admission in the instant specification, anticipates all the limitations of claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 10, 16, 18 and 21.
Claims 1, 5, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by UniProt Accession A0A2T7EGM1 (2018, uniprot.org/uniprotkb/A0A2T7EGM1/entry) taken with the evidence of Huang et al, 2021, The Plant Cell 33: 1212-1228 and Applicant’s admission in the instant specification.
The claims recite a genetically altered plant, comprising at least one mutation in a UPL2 gene (claim 1), wherein the UPL2 gene in said plant comprises a Glu/Asp rich domain and wherein the mutation is in this domain (claim 5), wherein the UPL2 gene in said plant encodes SEQ ID NO: 2 or a functional fragment or homolog thereof (claim 6), and a seed obtained or obtainable from said plant (claim 9).
Examiner notes that claim 1 is a “product by process” claim (see MPEP 2113). Thus while claim 1 recites “genetically altered” in the preamble, the claim is interpreted to read on any plant comprising any mutation in a UPL2 promoter, including both naturally occurring mutations and mutations induced, for example, by chemical mutagenesis or genome editing.
Regarding claims 5 and 6 which all depend from claim 1, Applicant’s specification identifies SEQ ID NO: 2 as an OsUPL2 and identifies the Glu/Asp domain as residues 2126-2212 (instant specification, page 69; see also Huang et al, Supplemental Figure 7).
UniProt Accession A0A2T7EGM1 (2018, uniprot.org/uniprotkb/A0A2T7EGM1/entry) discloses a “UPL” from a naturally occurring grass species (Panicum hallii var. hallii) which is a homolog of SEQ ID NO: 2 (see instant specification, page 14, lines 31-35, which defines homologs as sequences with as little 25% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 2) with a mutation in the Glu/Asp domain. Such a plant would inherently produce a seed.
A0A2T7EGM1_9POAL
ID A0A2T7EGM1_9POAL Unreviewed; 3649 AA.
AC A0A2T7EGM1;
DT 18-JUL-2018, integrated into UniProtKB/TrEMBL.
DT 18-JUL-2018, sequence version 1.
DT 08-OCT-2025, entry version 28.
DE RecName: Full=HECT-type E3 ubiquitin transferase {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00012485};
DE EC=2.3.2.26 {ECO:0000256|ARBA:ARBA00012485};
GN ORFNames=GQ55_3G393500 {ECO:0000313|EMBL:PUZ66978.1};
OS Panicum hallii var. hallii.
Query Match 88.7%; Score 16438; Length 3649;
Best Local Similarity 88.4%;
Matches 3239; Conservative 205; Mismatches 182; Indels 38; Gaps 23;
Qy 4 AAAMAAHRASFPLRLQQILSGSRAVSPSIKVESEPPAKVKAFIDRVISIPLHDIAIPLSG 63
|||||||||||||||||||:|||||||:||||||||| || ||||||:||||||||||||
Db 2 AAAMAAHRASFPLRLQQILAGSRAVSPAIKVESEPPANVKEFIDRVINIPLHDIAIPLSG 61
Qy 64 FRWEFNKGNFHHWKPLFMHFDTYFKTQISSRKDLLLSDDMAEGDPLPKNTILQILRVMQI 123
|||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||| | |||||||||:|||||||
Db 62 FRWEFNKGNFHHWKPLFMHFDTYFKTYISSRKDLLLSDDMVEADPLPKNTILKILRVMQI 121
Qy 124 VLENCQNKTSFAGLEHFRLLLASSDPEIVVAALETLAALVKINPSKLHMNGKLINCGAIN 183
|:||||||:|| |||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||
Db 122 VVENCQNKSSFTGLEHFKLLLASSDPEIVVAALETLAALVKINPSKLHMNGKLISCGAIN 181
Qy 184 SHLLSLAQGWGSKEEGLGLYSCVVANERNQQEGLCLFPADMENKYDGTQHRLGSTLHFEY 243
:|||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||| |||||:|||||| || ||||:||||
Db 182 THLLSLAQGWGSKEEGLGLYSCVVANEGNQQEGLTLFPADLENKYDGAQHHLGSTVHFEY 241
Qy 244 NLAPAQDPDQSSDKAKPSNLCVIHIPDLHLQKEDDLSILKQCVDKFNVPSEHRFSLFTRI 303
|| | ||||:|||:| ||||||||||:||||||||||||||||||||| ||||:| |||
Db 242 NLGPGLDPDQTSDKSKSSNLCVIHIPDMHLQKEDDLSILKQCVDKFNVPPEHRFALLTRI 301
Qy 304 RYAHAFNSPRTCRLYSRISLLAFIVLVQSSDAHDELTSFFTNEPEYINELIRLVRSEEFV 363
||| |||| ||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||
Db 302 RYARAFNSARTCRLYSRISLLSFIVLVQSSDAHDELTSFFTNEPEYINELIRLVRSEDFV 361
Qy 364 PGPIRALAMLALGAQLAAYASSHERARILSGSSIISAGGNRMVLLSVLQKAISSLSSPND 423
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||||
Db 362 PGPIRALAMLALGAQLAAYASSHERARILSGSSIISAGGNRMVLLSVLQKAISSLNSPND 421
Qy 424 TSSPLIVDALLQFFLLHVLSSSSSGTTVRGSGMVPPLLPLLQDNDPSHMHLVCLAVKTLQ 483
||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 422 TSAPLIVDALLQFFLLHVLSSSSSGTTVRGSGMVPPLLPLLQDNDPSHMHLVCLAVKTLQ 481
Qy 484 KLMEYSSPAVSLFKDLGGVELLSQRLHVEVQRVIG-VDSHNSMVTSDALKSEEDHLYSQK 542
|||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||| || |||||| ||:|||||||||||
Db 482 KLMEYSSPAVSLFKDLGGVDLLSQRLHVEVQRVIGTVDGHNSMVT-DAVKSEEDHLYSQK 540
Qy 543 RLIKALLKALGSATYSPANPARSQSSNDNSLPISLSLIFQNVDKFGGDIYFSAVTVMSEI 602
||||||||||||||||| |||||||| |||||:|||||||||:|||||||||||||||||
Db 541 RLIKALLKALGSATYSPGNPARSQSSQDNSLPVSLSLIFQNVEKFGGDIYFSAVTVMSEI 600
Qy 603 IHKDPTCFPSLKELGLPDAFLSSVSAGVIPSCKALICVPNGLGAICLNNQGLEAVRETSA 662
|||||||||:||||||||||| ||:|||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 601 IHKDPTCFPALKELGLPDAFLLSVTAGVVPSCKALICVPNGLGAICLNNQGLEAVRETSA 660
Qy 663 LRFLVDTFTSRKYLIPMNEGVVLLANAVEELLRHVQSLRSTGVDIIIEIINKLSSPREDK 722
||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| | :|||
Db 661 LRFLVDTFTSRKYLMPMNEGVVLLANAVEELLRHVQSLRSTGVDIIIEIINKLCSSQEDK 720
Qy 723 SNEPAASSDERTEMETDAEGRDLVSAMDSSEDGTNDEQFSHLSIFHVMVLVHRTMENSET 782
||||| | :|:|:|||| |||||||||||| :| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 721 SNEPAISEEEKTDMETDVEGRDLVSAMDSSAEGMNDEQFSHLSIFHVMVLVHRTMENSET 780
Qy 783 CRLFVEKGGLQALLTLLLRPSITQSSGGMPIALHSTMVFKGFTQHHSTPLARAFCSSLKE 842
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|
Db 781 CRLFVEKGGLQALLTLLLRPSITQSSGGMPIALHSTMVFKGFTQHHSTPLARAFCSSLRE 840
Qy 843 HLKNALQELDTVASSGEVAKLEKGAIPSLFVVEFLLFLAASKDNRWMNALLSEFGDSSRD 902
|||:||:||: |:|| |::|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||:
Db 841 HLKSALEELNKVSSSIEMSKLEKGAIPSLFVVEFLLFLAASKDNRWMNALLSEFGDASRE 900
Qy 903 VLEDIGRVHREVLWQISLFEEKKVEPE-TSSPLANDSQQ-DAAVGDVDDSRYTSFRQYLD 960
||||||||||||| :|:|||| |:: | :|| |:::|| |:: |:|||||||||||||
Db 901 VLEDIGRVHREVLCKIALFEENKIDSEASSSSSASEAQQPDSSASDIDDSRYTSFRQYLD 960
Qy 961 PLLRRRGSGWNIESQVSDLINIYRDIGRAAGDSQ-----RYPSAGLPSSSSQDQPPSSSD 1015
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||| || : ||| |||||| ||||
Db 961 PLLRRRGSGWNIESQVSDLINIYRDIGRAASDSQRVGSDRYSNQGLP-SSSQDQSSSSSD 1019
Qy 1016 ASASTKSEEDKKRSEHSSCCDMMRSLSYHINHLFMELGKAMLLTSRRENSPVNLSASIVS 1075
|:|| :||| ||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||| |::|
Db 1020 ANASARSEEVKKKSEHSSCCDMMRSLSYHINHLFMELGKSMLLTSRRENSPVNLSPSVIS 1079
Qy 1076 VASNIASIVLEHLNFEGHTISSERETTVSTKCRYLGKVVEFIDGILLDRPESCNPIMLNS 1135
|| |||||||||||||||::|||:| |:|||||||||||||||||:||||||||||:||
Db 1080 VAGNIASIVLEHLNFEGHSVSSEKEIAVTTKCRYLGKVVEFIDGILMDRPESCNPIMVNS 1139
Qy 1136 FYCRGVIQAILTTFEATSELLFSMNRLPSSPMETDSKSVKEDRETDSSWIYGPLSSYGAI 1195
||| ||||||||||:|||||||:|:| |||||:||||: |: :||||||||||||||||:
Db 1140 FYCSGVIQAILTTFQATSELLFTMSRPPSSPMDTDSKTGKDGKETDSSWIYGPLSSYGAV 1199
Qy 1196 LDHLVTSSFILSSSTRQLLEQPIFSGNIRFPQDAEKFMKLLQSRVLKTVLPIWTHPQFPE 1255
:|||||||||||||||||||||||:|::|||||||:|||||||:||||||||| ||||||
Db 1200 MDHLVTSSFILSSSTRQLLEQPIFNGSVRFPQDAERFMKLLQSKVLKTVLPIWAHPQFPE 1259
Qy 1256 CNVELISSVTSIMRHVYSGVEVKNTAINTGARLAGPPPDENAISLIVEMGFSRARAEEAL 1315
||:||||||||||:|| :||||||| | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1260 CNIELISSVTSIMKHVCTGVEVKNTVGNGSARLAGPPPDENAISLIVEMGFSRARAEEAL 1319
Qy 1316 RQVGTNSVEIATDWLFSHPEEPQ-EDDELARALAMSLGNSDTSAQEEDGKSNDLELEEET 1374
||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||| :||||||||||
Db 1320 RQVGTNSVEIATDWLFSHPEEPQEEDDELARALAMSLGNSDTSAQEEDSRSNDLELEEET 1379
Qy 1375 VQLPPIDEVLSSCLRLLQTKESLAFPVRDMLLTMSSQNDGQNRVKVLTYLIDHLKNCLMS 1434
||||||||:| ||||||||||:|||||||||:|:||||||||||||||||||:|| |:|:
Db 1380 VQLPPIDEILYSCLRLLQTKEALAFPVRDMLVTISSQNDGQNRVKVLTYLIDNLKQCVMA 1439
Qy 1435 SDPLKSTALSALFHVLALILHGDTAAREVASKAGLVKVALNLLCSWELEPRQGEISDVPN 1494
|: || | |||||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||:||||||| ||: |:::|||
Db 1440 SESLKDTTLSALFHVLALILHGDTAAREVASEAGLVKVALDLLCSWELGPRESEVAEVPN 1499
Qy 1495 WVPSCFLSIDRMLQLDPKLPDVTELDVLKKDNSNTQTSVVIDDSKKKDSEASSSTGLLDL 1554
|| |||||:|||||::||||||||||||||:||||:||:||||:||||||: || |||:|
Db 1500 WVTSCFLSVDRMLQVEPKLPDVTELDVLKKENSNTKTSLVIDDNKKKDSESLSSVGLLNL 1559
Qy 1555 EDQKQLLKICCKCIQKQLPSATMHAILQLCATLTKLHAAAICFLESGGLHALLSLPTSSL 1614
||||||||||||||:||||||:|||||||||||||:|||||||||||||:||||||| ||
Db 1560 EDQKQLLKICCKCIEKQLPSASMHAILQLCATLTKVHAAAICFLESGGLNALLSLPTGSL 1619
Qy 1615 FSGFNSVASTIIRHILEDPHTLQQAMELEIRHSLVTAANRHANPRVTPRNFVQNLAFVVY 1674
|||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1620 FSGFNNVASTIIRHILEDPHTLQQAMELEIRHSLVTAANRHANPRVTPRNFVQNLAFVVY 1679
Qy 1675 RDPVIFMKAAQAVCQIEMVGDRPYVVLLKDREKEKNKE--KEKDKPADKDKTSGAATKMT 1732
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:::|| |:||||||||| ||||||:|
Db 1680 RDPVIFMKAAQAVCQIEMVGDRPYVVLLKDREKDRSKEKDKDKDKPADKDKASGAATKVT 1739
Qy 1733 SGDMALGSPVSSQGKQTDLNTKNVKSNRKPPQSFVTVIEYLLDLVMSFIPPPRAEDRPDG 1792
|||:| ||| |:||| ||| :||| :||||||||||||:|||||:||:||||:||: |
Db 1740 SGDIAAGSPASAQGKLPDLNARNVKPHRKPPQSFVTVIEHLLDLVISFVPPPRSEDQADV 1799
Qy 1793 ESSTASSTDMDID-SSAKGKGKAVAVTPEESKHAIQEATASLAKSAFVLKLLTDVLLTYA 1851
| ||||:||||| |||||||||||| ||||||::|||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1800 VSCTASSSDMDIDCSSAKGKGKAVAVAPEESKHSVQEATASLAKSAFVLKLLTDVLLTYA 1859
Qy 1852 SSIQVVLRHDADLSNARGPNR--IGISSGGVFSHILQHFLPHSTKQKKERKADGDWRYKL 1909
||||||||||||||| |||| || |||:|:|||||||||: ||||:|| :|||||||
Db 1860 SSIQVVLRHDADLSNMHGPNRPGAGIISGGIFTHILQHFLPHAVKQKKDRKTEGDWRYKL 1919
Qy 1910 ATRANQFLVASSIRSAEGRKRIFSEICSIFVDFTDSPAGCKPPILRMNAYVDLLNDILSA 1969
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|:||||| | |: |:|||||||||||||
Db 1920 ATRANQFLVASSIRSAEGRKRIFSEICSMFLDFTDSSTAYKAPVSRLNAYVDLLNDILSA 1979
Qy 1970 RSPTGSSLSAESAVTFVEVGLVQYLSKTLQVIDLDHPDSAKIVTAIVKALEVVTKEHVHS 2029
|||||||||||||||||||||:| ||:||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1980 RSPTGSSLSAESAVTFVEVGLIQSLSRTLQVLDLDHPDSAKIVTAIVKALEVVTKEHVHS 2039
Qy 2030 ADLNAKGENSSKVVSDQSNLDPSSNRFQALDTT-QPTEMVTDHREAFNAVQTSQSSDSVA 2088
||||||||||||: || :|:| ||||||||||| |||||||| ||| ||||||||||||
Db 2040 ADLNAKGENSSKIASDSNNVDSSSNRFQALDTTSQPTEMVTDDREASNAVQTSQSSDSVE 2099
Qy 2089 DEMDHDRDLDGGFARDGEDDFMHEIAEDGTPNESTMEIRFEIPRNREDDMADDDEDSDED 2148
||||||||:|||||||||||||||:||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||
Db 2100 DEMDHDRDMDGGFARDGEDDFMHEMAEDGTGNESTMEIRFEIPRNREDDMADDDEDTDED 2159
Qy 2149 MSADDGEEVDE-DEDEDEDEENNNLEEDDAHQMSHPDTDQEDREMDEEEFDEDLLEEDDD 2207
||||||:|||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||
Db 2160 MSADDGDEVDEDDEDEDEDEENNNLEEDDAHQMSHPDTDQDDREMDEEEFDEDLLEEDDD 2219
Qy 2208 EDEDEEGVILRLEEGINGINVFDHIEVFGGSNNLSGDTLRVMPLDIFGTRRQGRSTSIYN 2267
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2220 EDEDEEGVILRLEEGINGINVFDHIEVFGGSNNLAGDTLRVMPLDIFGTRRQGRSTSIYN 2279
Qy 2268 LLGRAGDHGVFDHPLLEEPSSVLHLPQQRQQ-ENLVEMAFSDRNHDNSSSRLDAIFRSLR 2326
||||| |||| ||||||||||:|:|| | || |||||||||||||::|||||||||||||
Db 2280 LLGRASDHGVLDHPLLEEPSSILNLPHQGQQPENLVEMAFSDRNHESSSSRLDAIFRSLR 2339
Qy 2327 SGRSGHRFNMWLDDSPQRTGSAAPAVPEGIEELLVSQLRRPTPEQPDEQSTPAGGAEEND 2386
|||:||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||:| |||||||||| | |||| :||:
Db 2340 SGRNGHRFNMWLDDSPQRSGSAAPAVPEGIEELLISHLRRPTPEQPDVQRTPAGATQENE 2399
Qy 2387 QSNQQHLHQSETEAGGDAPTEQNENNDNAVTPAARSELDGSESADPAPP-SNALQREVSG 2445
| : || || :|| |||||: | | | :| ||:|:|||| |: |||:||
Db 2400 QPT----NVSEAEAREEAPAEQNENSVNTVNP-----VDLSENAEPAPPDSDVLQRDVSN 2450
Qy 2446 ASEHATEMQYERSDAVVRDVEAVSQASSGSGATLGESLRSLEVEIGSVEGHDDGDRH--- 2502
|||||||||||||| | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2451 ASEHATEMQYERSDVVARDVEAVSQASSGSGATLGESLRSLEVEIGSVEGHDDGDRHGAS 2510
Qy 2503 GASDRLPLGDLQAASRSRRPPGSVVLGSSRDISLESVSEVPQNQNQESDQNADEGDQEPN 2562
||||||||||:|| :||||| || | ||||||||||||||| ||| ||||:||:|||
Db 2511 GASDRLPLGDMQATARSRRPSGSAVPLGSRDISLESVSEVPQNPNQEPDQNANEGNQEPT 2570
Qy 2563 RAADTDSIDPTFLEALPEDLRAEVLSSRQNQVTQTSNEQPQNDGDIDPEFLAALPPDIRE 2622
|||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||:||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2571 RAADADSIDPTFLEALPEDLRAEVLSSRQNQVAQTSNDQPQNDGDIDPEFLAALPPDIRE 2630
Qy 2623 EVLAQQRAQRL-QQSQELEGQPVEMDAVSIIATFPSEIREEVLLTSPDTLLATLTPALVA 2681
||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2631 EVLAQQRAQRLQQQSQELEGQPVEMDAVSIIATFPSEIREEVLLTSPDTLLATLTPALVA 2690
Qy 2682 EANMLRERFAHRYHSGSLFGMNSRGRRGESSRRGDIIGSGLDRNAGDSSRQPTSKPIETE 2741
||||||||||||||| |||||||| |||||||| ::: :||||| || || ||||||||
Db 2691 EANMLRERFAHRYHSSSLFGMNSRNRRGESSRR-EVMAAGLDRN-GDPSRS-TSKPIETE 2747
Qy 2742 GSPLVDKDALKALIRLLRVVQPLYKGQLQRLLLNLCAHRESRKSLVQILVDMLMLDLQGS 2801
|:||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2748 GAPLVDEDALKALIRLLRVVQPLYKGQLQRLLLNLCAHRDSRKSLVQILVDMLMLDLQGS 2807
Qy 2802 SKKSIDATEPPFRLYGCHANITYSRPQSTDGVPPLVSRRVLETLTYLARNHPNVAKLLLF 2861
|||||| |||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||
Db 2808 SKKSIDGTEPPFRLYGCHANITYSRPQSSDGVPPLVSRRVLETLTYLARSHPNVAKLLLF 2867
Qy 2862 LEFPCPPTCHAETSDQRRGKAVLMEGDSEQNAYALVLLLTLLNQPLYMRSVAHLEQLLNL 2921
|||||| || | ||||||||: ||: |: |:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2868 LEFPCPSRCHTEALDQRRGKAVVEEGE-ERKAFALVLLLTLLNQPLYMRSVAHLEQLLNL 2926
Qy 2922 LEVVMLNAENEITQAKLEAASEKPSGPENATQDAQEGANAAGSSGSKSNAEDSSKLPPVD 2981
||||||||||:| ||:|| :|||||||||| | |: | : ||||||||||||| |||
Db 2927 LEVVMLNAENQINQARLEVSSEKPSGPENAVPDGQDNTNVSESSGSKSNAEDSSK-TPVD 2985
Qy 2982 GESSLQKVLQSLPQAELRLLCSLLAHDGLSDNAYLLVAEVLKKIVALAPFFCCHFINELA 3041
|::|| ||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 2986 NENNLQAVLQSLPQPELRLLCSLLAHDGLSDNAYLLVAEVLKKIVALAPFFCCHFINELA 3045
Qy 3042 HSMQNLTLCAMKELHLYEDSEKALLSTSSANGTAILRVVQALSSLVTTLQEKKDPDHPAE 3101
||||||||||||| |||:|||||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||: |||
Db 3046 RSMQNLTLCAMKELRLYENSEKALLSSSSANGTAILRVVQALSSLVTTLQEKKDPELPAE 3105
Qy 3102 KDHSDALSQISEINTALDALWLELSNCISKIESSSEYASNLSPASANAATLTTGVAPPLP 3161
||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||| || ||||||||
Db 3106 KDHSDAVSQISEINTALDALWLELSNCISKIESSSEYVSNLSPASANAPTLATGVAPPLP 3165
Qy 3162 AGTQNILPYIESFFVTCEKLRPGQPDAIQEASTSDMEDASTSSGGQKSSGSHANLDEKHN 3221
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||: |||||||||||||||||:|| |:|||| |
Db 3166 AGTQNILPYIESFFVTCEKLRPGQPDAVHEASTSDMEDASTSSGGQRSSSGQASLDEKQN 3225
Qy 3222 AFVKFSEKHRRLLNAFIRQNPGLLEKSFSLMLKIPRLIEFDNKRAYFRSKIKHQHDHHHS 3281
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3226 AFVKFSEKHRRLLNAFIRQNPGLLEKSFSLMLKIPRLIDFDNKRAYFRSKIKHQHDHHHS 3285
Qy 3282 PVRISVRRAYILEDSYNQLRMRSPQDLKGRLTVHFQGEEGIDAGGLTREWYQLLSRVIFD 3341
|||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||
Db 3286 PVRISVRRAYILEDSYNQLRMRSPQELKGRLTVHFQGEEGIDAGGLTREWYQSLSRVIFD 3345
Qy 3342 KGALLFTTVGNDLTFQPNPNSVYQTEHLSYFKFVGRVVGKALFDGQLLDVHFTRSFYKHI 3401
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||
Db 3346 KGALLFTTVGNDLTFQPNPNSVYQTEHLSYFKFVGRVVGKALFDGQLLDAHFTRSFYKHI 3405
Qy 3402 LGVKVTYHDIEAIDPAYYKNLKWMLENDISDVLDLSFSMDADEEKRILYEKAEVTDYELI 3461
|| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||| |||||||||| |||
Db 3406 LGAKVTYHDIEAIDPAYYKNLKWMLENDISDVLDLTFSMDADEEKLILYEKAEVTDCELI 3465
Qy 3462 PGGRNIKVTEENKHEYVNRVAEHRLTTAIRPQITSFMEGFNELIPEELISIFNDKELELL 3521
||||||:||||||||||:||||||||||||||| :|:|||||||| ||||||||||||||
Db 3466 PGGRNIRVTEENKHEYVDRVAEHRLTTAIRPQINAFLEGFNELIPRELISIFNDKELELL 3525
Qy 3522 ISGLPDIDLDDLKANTEYSGYSIASPVIQWFWEIVQGFSKEDKARFLQFVTGTSKVPLEG 3581
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3526 ISGLPDIDLDDLKANTEYSGYSIASPVIQWFWEIVQGFSKEDKARFLQFVTGTSKVPLEG 3585
Qy 3582 FSALQGISGPQRFQIHKAYGSTNHLPSAHTCFNQLDLPEYTSKEQLQERLLLAIHEANEG 3641
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 3586 FSALQGISGPQRFQIHKAYGSTNHLPSAHTCFNQLDLPEYTSKEQLQERLLLAIHEANEG 3645
Qy 3642 FGFG 3645
||||
Db 3646 FGFG 3649
Therefore, UniProt Accession A0A2T7EGM1, taken with the evidence of Huang et al and Applicant’s admission in the instant specification anticipates all the limitations of claims 1, 5, 6, and 9.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ALEKSANDAR RADOSAVLJEVIC/Examiner, Art Unit 1662
/BRENT T PAGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663