DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“load measurement part”, “center of gravity calculation part”, “foot motion detection part”, “movement locus calculation part”, “gait recognition part”, “biosignal detection part”, “stimulation application part”, “voluntary control part”, “autonomous control part”, “optimal stimulation adjustment part” in claim 1 and “vibration detection part” in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 5 recite “applying a physical stimulation” however the specification only provides support for electrical stimulation (e.g. [0052]) which in view of MPEP 2163(II)(A)(3)(a)(ii) does not provide sufficient disclosure as it is does not represent a representative number species to satisfy a sufficient description. Electrical stimulation is the only stimulation (e.g. [0052]) that appears to be sufficiently disclosed. While the claims recite the genus of a “a physical stimulation” is extremely broad encompassing a variety of stimulation such as thermal, chemical, optical etc. Thus, the specification does not provide support for enough species to fulfill the written description for the breadth of the genus term “a physical stimulation”.
Claims 1 and 5 recite “applying a physical stimulation”. However the specification only provides support for electrical stimulation (e.g. [0052]) which in view of MPEP 2163(II)(A)(3)(a)(ii) does not provide sufficient disclosure as it is does not represent a representative number species to satisfy a sufficient description. Electrical stimulation is the only stimulation (e.g. [0052]) that appears to be sufficiently disclosed. While the claims recite the genus of a “a physical stimulation” is extremely broad encompassing a variety of stimulation such as thermal, chemical, optical etc. Thus, the specification does not provide support for enough species to fulfill the written description for the breadth of the genus term “a physical stimulation”.
Claim 1 recites “a stimulation application part which has a terminal group”. However, the specification only provides support for electrodes that are being used to provide electrical stimulation (e.g. [0052]) which in view of MPEP 2163(II)(A)(3)(a)(ii) does not provide sufficient disclosure as it is does not represent a representative number species to satisfy a sufficient description. Electrical stimulation is the only stimulation (e.g. [0052]) that appears to be sufficiently disclosed. While the claims recite the genus of a “terminal group for applying a physical stimulation”, it is extremely broad encompassing a variety of terminal groups for applying stimulation such as thermal, chemical, optical etc. Thus, the specification does not provide support for enough species to fulfill the written description for the breadth of the genus term “terminal group for applying a physical stimulation”.
The dependent claims inherit the deficiency.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3, 4, 7 and 8 recite the limitation "the hybrid ratio" in line 5 (in claims 3 and 4) and in line 2 (in claims 7 and 8). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3, 4, 7 and 8 recite the limitation "the optimal stimulation adjustment part corrects the hybrid ratio". It is unclear as to what is being referred to by the term “hybrid ratio” since no hybrid ratio is being calculated for the adjustment to be performed. It raises questions such as is the hybrid ratio of the left/right balance or some other ratio that is being determined and how is it being calculated?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because it is drawn to non-statutory subject matter. Applicant recites part of a human, i.e. “…an electrode group for detecting the wearer’s biosignal each disposed on the wearers body surface area with reference to a joint…” (Claim 1, lines 12-13), “…a terminal group for applying physical stimulation to a body surface of a paralysis site each disposed at the paralysis suite centered around dorsiflexor muscles and plantar flexor muscles of the wearer’s ankle …” (Claim 1, lines 15-17). “sound collecting microphone which is provided to the shoe on a side where the wearer's ankle has a paralysis site” (claim 3 lines3-4), “vibration detection part which is provided to the shoe on a side where the wearer's ankle has a paralysis site (claim 4 lines 3-4). Thus, these claims include a human within the scope and are non-statutory.
A claim directed to or including within its scope a human is not considered to be patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101. The grant of a limited, but exclusive property right in a human being is prohibited by the Constitution. In re Wakefield, 422 F.2d 897, 164 USPQ 636 (CCPA 1970). The examiner suggests using the phrase "adapted to be disposed" when referring to the location of the claimed electrode/ terminal group in relation to the wearer’s body and “adapted to be worn” when referring to the location of the shoe in relation to the wearer’s ankle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edgerton et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2014/0163640 A1, hereinafter “Edgerton” – APPLICANT CITED) in view of Sankai (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2014/0058299 A1, hereinafter “Sankai”).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, a walking support device and method (e.g. [0003],[0009][0011]: the training device may include a treadmill and a weight-bearing device configured to support at least a portion of the patient's body weight when the patient is positioned to use the treadmill, [0060],[0063]:walking, the training device such as a treadmill and a weight-bearing device configured to support at least a portion of the patient's body weight when the patient is positioned to use the treadmill and is configured to assist with physical training (e.g., at least one of standing, stepping), comprising:
a load measurement part which measures a load applied to an underside of the wearer's feet (e.g. [0021],[0041] Fig. 16 shows the load cell readings during stepping and standing);
a center of gravity calculation part which calculates a center of gravity of each of the feet based on a change of each load measured with the load measurement part (e.g. Fig. 15, [0040]);
a foot motion detection part that detects an acceleration and/or an angular rate during movement of the foot (e.g. [0055]-[0057], [0093], [0041] Fig. 16 shows foot motion readings during stepping and standing);
a gait recognition part which recognizes the wearer's gait based on the calculated center of gravity and movement locus of each of the feet (e.g. [0027]);
a biosignal detection part which has an electrode group for detecting the wearer's biosignal each disposed on the wearer's body surface area with reference to a joint associated with the wearer's walking motion (e.g. [0071], [0127], Fig. 16shows EMG detection);
a stimulation application part which has a terminal group (i.e. electrode array) for applying physical stimulation to a body surface of a paralysis site each disposed at the paralysis site centered around dorsiflexor muscles and plantar flexor muscles of the wearer's ankle (e.g. [0023],[0024] [0079]: electrode arrays applied to tissue corresponding to paralysis site, Note: the claim is ddircetd to an apparatus and just requires electrode arrays that are used to apply stimulation at a body surface of a paralysis site);
a voluntary control part which voluntarily controls the stimulation application part so as to generate stimulating power according to the wearer's intention based on the biosignal detected by the biosignal detection part (e.g. [0042],[0061]);
an autonomous control part which autonomously controls the stimulation application part so as to cause the ankle to dorsiflex or plantarflex based on contraction of the dorsiflexor muscles or the plantar flexor muscles of the wearer based on the wearer's walking cycle obtained from a recognition result of the gait recognition part (e.g. [0050],[0107],[0122]); and
an optimal stimulation adjustment part which adjusts the voluntary control by the voluntary control part and the autonomous control by the autonomous control part so that a left/right balance of the wearer's gait recognized by the gait recognition part will fall within a predetermined range (e.g. [0084], [0112]).
Edgerton teaches obtaining load cell readings, EMG and foot motion readings during stepping and standing to adjust voluntary control and autonomous control (e.g. [0118]: EMG, joint angles, footswitch, ground reaction forces and BWS data were collected, [0060]: the objective not to electrically induce a walking pattern or standing pattern of activation, but to enable/facilitate it so that when the subject manipulates their body position the spinal cord can receive proprioceptive information from the legs (or arms) that can be readily recognized by the spinal circuitry. Then, the spinal cord knows whether to step or to stand or to do nothing and this enables the subject to begin stepping) so that the balance of the wearer’s gait is within a predetermined range as discussed above. Edgerton does not specifically teach that the load measuring part is attached to each inner sole part of a pair of left and right shoes of a wearer and a foot motion detection part which is mounted on a predetermined position of each of the shoes and a movement locus calculation part which calculates a movement locus of each of the feet based on each acceleration and/or each angular rate detected by the foot motion detection part.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sankai teaches a walking support device and method (e.g. abstract, Fig.1,2) comprising a control device (e.g. 110 Fig.2) for controlling a user’s movements based on signals obtained from insole sensors (e.g. [0079]-[0081]), measuring foot motion (e.g. [0016],[0045],[0064]) and center of gravity (e.g. 104 Fig.2) and a movement locus detecting unit for determining movement locus of the feet ( i.e. joint angle detecting unit e.g. 103 Fig.2) and recognizing the wearer’s gait based on the calculated center of gravity and movement locus of the feet and a voluntary control unit (e.g. 111 Fig.2) and autonomous control unit 112 Fig.2) that is used determine a drive signal to assist the wearer’s gait training. Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Edgerton to include the insole sensors and above teachings of Sankai and to provide a control of the stimulation signals in Edgerton in order to provide the predictable results of a more customized and effective therapy.
Regarding claims 2 and 6, Edgerton in view of Sankai teaches the claimed invention as discussed above and Edgerton teaches that the stimulation application part adjusts at least one among strength level, pattern and time of applying stimulation to the wearer's paralysis site according to control of the voluntary control part and/or the autonomous control part (e.g. [0079]-[0080]).
Regarding claims 4 and 8, Edgerton in view of Sankai teaches the claimed invention as discussed above and Edgerton teaches collecting footswitch and ground reaction forces data (e.g. [01118]) and adjusting stimulation based on the collected data and therefore they teach a vibration detection part which is provided to the shoe on a side where the wearer's ankle has a paralysis site, and detecting vibration from a floor surface while the wearer is walking, wherein the optimal stimulation adjustment part corrects the hybrid ratio based on the vibration detected with the vibration detection part.
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edgerton et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2014/0163640 A1, hereinafter “Edgerton” – APPLICANT CITED) in view of Sankai (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2014/0058299 A1, hereinafter “Sankai”) and further in view of Takiguchi et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number: US 2002/0107649 A1, hereinafter “Takiguchi”).
Regarding claims 3 and 7, Edgerton in view of Sankai teaches the claimed invention as discussed above and that the optimal stimulation adjustment part corrects the hybrid ratio based on the collected data as discussed above, they do not specifically teach that the data includes data from a sound collecting microphone which is provided in the shoe on a side where the wearer's ankle has a paralysis site to collects sound of footsteps of the shoe.
In a similar field of endeavor, Takiguchi teaches that it is well known to use a microphone in a shoe of a user to collect gait sounds generated by the patient during walking for gait analysis (e.g. abstract, [0016]-[0023],[0151]). Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Edgerton in view of Sankai to include a microphone in the shoe for collecting sounds of the user while walking for gait analysis and use by the controller in order to provide the predictable results of providing more accurate data of the gait of the user.
Conclusion
/MALLIKA D FAIRCHILD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792