DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyodome (US 2021/0257948 A1) as an English translation of earlier publication (WO 2020/021681 A1) and in view of Kimura (US 2015/0308700 A1).
In regards to claim 2, Toyodome discloses a refrigeration cycle apparatus (see figs. 1-2) comprising:
a refrigerant circuit (see fig. 1) comprising a compressor (7, 2, 904), an outdoor heat exchanger (910 or 906), a throttle device (expansion valve 908), an indoor heat exchanger (906 or 910), and a four-way valve (902), refrigerant circulating through the refrigerant circuit (see paragraph 33); and
an inverter (inverter 40) to control the compressor as being variable in speed (see paragraphs 36, 61), wherein the refrigerant circuit is configured to perform a defrosting operation (cooling operation where HX 910 us supplied with refrigerant discharged from compressor 904, see dashed arrows indicating flow of refrigerant, fig. 1 and paragraphs 32-34) in which refrigerant discharged from the compressor (904) is introduced into the outdoor heat exchanger (910) as a result of switching of the four-way valve (see fig. 1 and paragraph 34),
the compressor comprises a compression mechanism portion (904) and a motor (7, 2) to drive the compression mechanism portion (see paragraph 38 and figs. 1-2),
the inverter has, as an operating mode (inverter use at least during part of cooling operation), a speed control mode (low or high speed motor operations by inverter, paragraph 81) and an output control mode (inverter use at least during part of heating operation),
in the speed control mode, the motor being controlled such that a rotation speed of the motor is closer to a rotation speed corresponding to a command value (rotation speed of the motor closer to commanded low or high speeds by inverter control, see paragraphs 81-83),
in the output control mode, a current flowing through the motor being detected (current detector 54 to measure current flowing through the motor, see paragraph 91) and the rotation speed of the motor being controlled (by current command value, see paragraphs 149-151, which controls the speed of the motor 7, see paragraph 83; Also see low speed motor operation, paragraph 81) such that output from the motor is closer to a target value (output torque is at the predetermined value, see paragraph 151),
the inverter is configured to operate by using the output control mode in the defrosting operation (low speed motor operation performed by inverter after the room temperature is close to the set temperature, see paragraph 81, which implies initiation of defrosting/heating mode, which follows cooling mode by switching valve 902), and the output control mode is being selected responsive to a value indicated by an externally provided command value becoming equal to or larger than a rotation speed upper limit value (when zero current control is initiated with upper limit rotational speed decreased to a lower speed, the load torque of the motor is increased/adjusted, see paragraphs 182-184), wherein the speed value (variable signals Sm1-Sm6, that allow variable speed at the motor, see paragraph and fig. 13) is determined by a DC voltage of the inverter (voltage value calculated by voltage command calculator 165, see fig. 13), a characteristic value of the motor (calculated phase angle or phase current values of the motor by produces 161, see fig. 13), and a current in the motor (axis current feedback from calculator 163 to calculator 165, see fig. 13 and paragraphs 144-149).
However, Toyodome does not explicitly teach that heating is used for frost removal.
Kimura teaches that the refrigerant circuit performs defrosting operation (melting frost adhering on outdoor heat exchanger 103) in which refrigerant discharged from the compressor (101) is introduced into the outdoor heat exchanger (103) as a result of switching of the four-way valve (102, see paragraph 49).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the refrigeration cycle of Toyodome by using the heating operation for defrosting the outdoor heat exchanger based on the teachings of Kimura in order to conserve energy by utilizing excess heat of high pressure and high temperature refrigerant from the compressor for defrosting the outdoor heat exchanger and improving efficiency of the overall refrigeration cycle.
Claim(s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyodome (US 2021/0257948 A1) as an English translation of earlier publication (WO 2020/021681 A1) and in view of Kimura (US 2015/0308700 A1) and further in view of Nakayama (US 2005/0150969 A1).
In regards to claim 3, Toyodome discloses a refrigeration cycle apparatus (see figs. 1-2) comprising:
a refrigerant circuit (see fig. 1) comprising a compressor (7, 2, 904), an outdoor heat exchanger (910 or 906), a throttle device (expansion valve 908), an indoor heat exchanger (906 or 910), and a four-way valve (902), refrigerant circulating through the refrigerant circuit (see paragraph 33); and
an inverter (inverter 40) to control the compressor as being variable in speed (see paragraphs 36, 61), wherein the refrigerant circuit is configured to perform a defrosting operation (cooling operation where HX 910 us supplied with refrigerant discharged from compressor 904, see dashed arrows indicating flow of refrigerant, fig. 1 and paragraphs 32-34) in which refrigerant discharged from the compressor (904) is introduced into the outdoor heat exchanger (910) as a result of switching of the four-way valve (see fig. 1 and paragraphs 33-34),
the compressor comprises a compression mechanism portion (904) and a motor (7, 2) to drive the compression mechanism portion (see paragraph 38 and figs. 1-2),
the inverter has, as an operating mode (inverter use at least during part of cooling operation), a speed control mode (low or high speed motor operations by inverter, paragraph 81) and an output control mode (inverter use at least during part of heating operation),
in the speed control mode, the motor being controlled such that a rotation speed of the motor is closer to a rotation speed corresponding to a command value (rotation speed of the motor closer to commanded low or high speeds by inverter control, see paragraphs 81-83),
in the output control mode, a current flowing through the motor being detected (current detector 54 to measure current flowing through the motor, see paragraph 91) and the rotation speed of the motor being controlled (by current command value, see paragraphs 149-151, which controls the speed of the motor 7, see paragraph 83; Also see low speed motor operation, paragraph 81) such that output from the motor is closer to a target value (output torque is at the predetermined value, see paragraph 151),
the inverter is configured to operate by using the output control mode in the defrosting operation (low speed motor operation performed by inverter after the room temperature is close to the set temperature, see paragraph 81, which implies initiation of defrosting/heating mode, which follows cooling mode by switching valve 902), and the output control mode is selected responsive to a value indicated by an externally provided command value becoming equal to or larger than a rotation speed upper limit value (when zero current control is initiated with upper limit rotational speed decreased to a lower speed, the load torque of the motor is increased/adjusted, see paragraphs 182-184), wherein the speed value (variable signals Sm1-Sm6, that allow variable speed at the motor, see paragraph and fig. 13) is determined by a DC voltage of the inverter (voltage value calculated by voltage command calculator 165, see fig. 13), a characteristic value of the motor (calculated phase angle or phase current values of the motor by produces 161, see fig. 13), and a current in the motor (axis current feedback from calculator 163 to calculator 165, see fig. 13 and paragraphs 144-149).
However, Toyodome does not explicitly teach that heating is used for frost removal.
Kimura teaches that the refrigerant circuit performs defrosting operation (melting frost adhering on outdoor heat exchanger 103) in which refrigerant discharged from the compressor (101) is introduced into the outdoor heat exchanger (103) as a result of switching of the four-way valve (102, see paragraph 49).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the refrigeration cycle of Toyodome by using the heating operation for defrosting the outdoor heat exchanger based on the teachings of Kimura in order to conserve energy by utilizing excess heat of high pressure and high temperature refrigerant from the compressor for defrosting the outdoor heat exchanger and improving efficiency of the overall refrigeration cycle.
Toyodome also does not explicitly teach compressor/compressor motor speed control for a first time period and additional compressor/compressor motor speed control after the first time period during defrost operation.
However, Nakayama teaches a defrosting operation (defrost operation by defrost valve, see fig. 3), wherein in the defrosting operation, at time of start of defrosting, the speed control mode of the compressor motor/compressor is selected as the operating mode (at the on state of defrost valve after 10 seconds, compressor operated at first frequency between stages c and e for 30 seconds, fig. 3), and responsive to a certain time period having elapsed since start of defrosting (after an elapse of 40 seconds from the opening of defrost valve, see fig. 4), the operating mode is switched from the speed control mode to the output control mode of compressor, where the compressor is operated at another frequency (see compressor operation at second frequency, which is higher than first frequency, between stages e and f for 30 seconds, fig. 3).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the refrigeration cycle apparatus of Toyodome as modified by performing a defrosting operation, wherein in the defrosting operation, at time of start of defrosting, the speed control mode of the compressor motor/compressor is selected as the operating mode, and after a certain time period has elapsed since start of defrosting, the operating mode is switched from the speed control mode to the output control mode of compressor based on the teachings of Nakayama in order to conserve energy and conserve the heating capacity of the compressor by operating the compressor at low frequency near the start of the defrost to allow the frost to melt and then increase the operating frequency of the compressor.
In regards to claim 9, Toyodome as modified teaches the limitations of claim 3 and further discloses that the refrigerant circuit is configured to perform at least a heating operation (heating operation, see paragraph 32) in which the outdoor heat exchanger (910) functions as an evaporator (see solid arrows indicating refrigerant flow, fig. 1, where outdoor heat exchanger 910 functions as an evaporator, fig. 1 and paragraphs 32-33),
in the defrosting operation (cooling operation, see paragraph 32), refrigerant discharged from the compressor (904) is introduced into the outdoor heat exchanger (910) as a result of switching of the four-way valve (switching four-way valve 902 to direct refrigerant from compressor 904 directly to outdoor heat exchanger 910 as shown by dashed arrows, see fig. 1 and paragraph 33) to a direction reverse of the heating operation (see fig. 1 and paragraphs 32-35),
the target value is a rotation speed value higher than the rotation speed corresponding to the command value (output torque near the predetermined maximum value is higher than the output command value is near the predetermined minimum value, see paragraph 151, where output torque corresponds to the higher rotation speed than the lower rotation speed corresponding to the output command value),
further configured to:
in the heating operation while the operating mode is the speed control mode, switch the four-way valve to the defrosting operation while maintaining the speed control mode (switching four-way valve 902 to reverse flow direction of refrigerant to switch to defrosting operation from the heating operation, see fig. 1 and paragraphs 32-34),
then in the defrosting operation while the operating mode is the output control mode, in response to defrosting time ending, switch the four-way valve to start the heating operation while maintaining the output control mode (switching four-way valve 92 to reverse flow direction of refrigerant to switch to heating operation from the defrost operation, see fig. 1 and paragraphs 32-34).
However, Toyodome does not explicitly teach that the controller switches the valve position; and in the defrosting operation, upon detecting lowering in a discharge temperature from the compressor or once a certain time has elapsed since start of the defrosting operation, switch the operating mode from the speed control mode to the output control mode while maintaining the defrosting operation.
Kimura teaches that the refrigerant circuit performs defrosting operation (melting frost adhering on outdoor heat exchanger 103) in which refrigerant discharged from the compressor (101) is introduced into the outdoor heat exchanger (103) as a result of switching of the four-way valve (102, see paragraph 49) and a controller (50) configured to switch the four-way valve (102) to defrosting and heating modes (see paragraphs 21, fig. 1, where refrigerant discharging compressor 101 is supplied to outdoor heat exchanger 103 or indoor heat exchangers 118, 41).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the refrigeration cycle of Toyodome by using the heating operation for defrosting the outdoor heat exchanger based on the teachings of Kimura in order to conserve energy by utilizing excess heat of high pressure and high temperature refrigerant from the compressor for defrosting the outdoor heat exchanger and improving efficiency of the overall refrigeration cycle. It would also have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the processor and/or electronic circuity and controller of Toyodome to switch the four-way valve to defrosting and heating operation modes based on the teachings of Kimura in order to execute operation of the combined air-conditioning and defrosting operations to maintain efficiency of the refrigeration cycle by frequently performing the defrosting operation by reversing the flow of refrigerant.
Toyodome also does not explicitly teach that in the defrosting operation, once a certain time has elapsed since start of the defrosting operation, switch the operating mode of the compressor from one speed mode to another mode.
However, Nakayama teaches a defrosting operation (defrost operation by defrost valve, see fig. 3), wherein in the defrosting operation, at time of start of defrosting, the speed control mode of the compressor motor/compressor is selected as the operating mode (at the on state of defrost valve after 10 seconds, compressor operated at first frequency between stages c and e for 30 seconds, fig. 3), and after a certain time period has elapsed since start of defrosting (after an elapse of 40 seconds from the opening of defrost valve, see fig. 4), the operating mode is switched from the speed control mode to the output control mode of compressor, where the compressor is operated at another frequency (see compressor operation at second frequency, which is higher than first frequency, between stages e and f for 30 seconds, fig. 3).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the refrigeration cycle apparatus of Toyodome as modified by performing a defrosting operation, wherein in the defrosting operation, at time of start of defrosting, the speed control mode of the compressor motor/compressor is selected as the operating mode, and after a certain time period has elapsed since start of defrosting, the operating mode is switched from the speed control mode to the output control mode of compressor based on the teachings of Nakayama in order to conserve energy and conserve the heating capacity of the compressor by operating the compressor at low frequency near the start of the defrost to allow the frost to melt and then increase the operating frequency of the compressor.
Claim(s) 4, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyodome (US 2021/0257948 A1) as an English translation of earlier publication (WO 2020/021681 A1) and in view of Kimura (US 2015/0308700 A1) and further in view of Kitagishi (US 2010/0218527 A1) and Chen (US 2012/0090337 A1).
In regards to claim 4, Toyodome discloses a refrigeration cycle apparatus (see figs. 1-2) comprising:
a refrigerant circuit (see fig. 1) comprising a compressor (7, 2, 904), an outdoor heat exchanger (910 or 906), a throttle device
In regards to claim 3, Toyodome discloses a refrigeration cycle apparatus (see figs. 1-2) comprising:
a refrigerant circuit (see fig. 1) comprising a compressor (7, 2, 904), an outdoor heat exchanger (910 or 906), a throttle device (expansion valve 908), an indoor heat exchanger (906 or 910), and a four-way valve (902), refrigerant circulating through the refrigerant circuit (see paragraph 33); and
an inverter (inverter 40) to control the compressor as being variable in speed (see paragraphs 36, 61), wherein the refrigerant circuit is configured to perform a defrosting operation (heating operation, see paragraph 32) in which refrigerant discharged from the compressor (904) is introduced into the outdoor heat exchanger (910) as a result of switching of the four-way valve (see fig. 1 and paragraph 33),
the compressor comprises a compression mechanism portion (904) and a motor (7, 2) to drive the compression mechanism portion (see paragraph 38 and figs. 1-2),
the inverter has, as an operating mode (inverter use at least during part of cooling operation), a speed control mode (low or high speed motor operations by inverter, paragraph 81) and an output control mode (inverter use at least during part of heating operation),
in the speed control mode, the motor being controlled such that a rotation speed of the motor is closer to a rotation speed corresponding to a command value (rotation speed of the motor closer to commanded low or high speeds by inverter control, see paragraphs 81-83),
in the output control mode, a current flowing through the motor being detected (current detector 54 to measure current flowing through the motor, see paragraph 91) and the rotation speed of the motor being controlled (by current command value, see paragraphs 149-151, which controls the speed of the motor 7, see paragraph 83; Also see low speed motor operation, paragraph 81) such that output from the motor is closer to a target value (output torque is at the predetermined value, see paragraph 151),
the inverter is configured to operate by using the output control mode in the defrosting operation (low speed motor operation performed by inverter after the room temperature is close to the set temperature, see paragraph 81, which implies initiation of defrosting/heating mode, which follows cooling mode by switching valve 902), and the output control mode is selected responsive to a value indicated by an externally provided command value becomes equal to or larger than a rotation speed upper limit value (when zero current control is initiated with upper limit rotational speed decreased to a lower speed, the load torque of the motor is increased/adjusted, see paragraphs 182-184), wherein the speed value (variable signals Sm1-Sm6, that allow variable speed at the motor, see paragraph and fig. 13) is determined by a DC voltage of the inverter (voltage value calculated by voltage command calculator 165, see fig. 13), a characteristic value of the motor (calculated phase angle or phase current values of the motor by produces 161, see fig. 13), and a current in the motor (axis current feedback from calculator 163 to calculator 165, see fig. 13 and paragraphs 144-149).
However, Toyodome does not explicitly teach that heating is used for frost removal.
Kimura teaches that the refrigerant circuit performs defrosting operation (melting frost adhering on outdoor heat exchanger 103) in which refrigerant discharged from the compressor (101) is introduced into the outdoor heat exchanger (103) as a result of switching of the four-way valve (102, see paragraph 49).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the refrigeration cycle of Toyodome by using the heating operation for defrosting the outdoor heat exchanger based on the teachings of Kimura in order to conserve energy by utilizing excess heat of high pressure and high temperature refrigerant from the compressor for defrosting the outdoor heat exchanger and improving efficiency of the overall refrigeration cycle.
Toyodome also does not explicitly teach discharge temperature sensor and first compressor/motor speed control when discharge temperature is higher than a criterion value and second compressor/motor speed control when discharge temperature is lower than the criterion value.
However, Kitagishi teaches a temperature sensor to measure a discharge temperature of refrigerant discharged by the compressor (temperature sensor attached to the compressor discharge, see paragraph 110), wherein when the discharge temperature is higher than a criterion value, the speed control mode is selected as the operating mode (when the discharge temperature goes beyond temperature range, operation frequency of the compressor is decrease, see paragraph 110). In addition, Chen teaches operating the compressor at lower speed in response to the temperature on the discharge side of the compressor being below a first threshold value (see paragraph 113) and operating the compressor at higher speed in response to the temperature on the discharge side of the compressor exceeding the first threshold value (see paragraph 113).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the refrigeration cycle apparatus of Toyodome as modified by providing a temperature sensor to measure a discharge temperature of refrigerant discharged by the compressor; and when the discharge temperature is higher than a criterion value, the speed control mode is selected as the operating mode; and when the discharge temperature is lower than a criterion value, the output control mode is selected as the operating mode based on the teachings of Kitagishi and Chen in order to avoid liquid accumulation at the compressor by operating the compressor at safe pressure and speed, where the discharge temperature of the compressor allows monitoring the liquid refrigerant state at the compressor.
In regards to claim 6, Toyodome as modified further discloses that the inverter (inverter controller 160) comprises a current command calculator (current command calculator 163, see fig. 13) to control an amplitude (PWM signal based on voltage command from 165 and current command from 163, see figs. 11-13 and paragraph 167) and a phase of a current in the motor (current command valued provides phase angle, see paragraph 151), and the d-axis current command calculator (163) controls a current command value (see fig. 13) to set the current in the motor to a maximum rated value during the output control mode (motor torque set to maximum value, see paragraph 151).
In regards to claim 7, Toyodome as modified further discloses that the inverter (inverter controller 160) detects a q-axis current in the output control mode (torque current component determined at 162, see fig. 13 and paragraph 148), recognizes lowering in load torque of the compressor (shorter zero current control period represents/recognizes lower load torque, see figs. 15 and paragraphs 182-183), and increases a speed command value for the motor (frequency command value at increased state during zero current control period, see paragraph 195 and figs. 15); however, Toyodome is silent about the expression: ω*2= P*/Iq/k; wherein ω*2 represents the speed command value for the motor, P* represents an upper limit value of output from the motor, Iq represents a q-axis current, and k represents a constant.
However, Ohms law for AC current circuits of Toyodome is V (voltage) = I (current) * Z (impedance); and Impedance to a current component (such as Iq torque current component, see paragraph 148, Toyodome) is calculated as, Z (impedance to current component) = j * ω (frequency) * L; Therefore, the above voltage expression is modified by impedance expression as,
V (voltage) = I (current) * j * ω (frequency) * L, which if simplified leads to
V (voltage) = I (current) * ω (frequency) * j * L, which if further simplified leads to
V (voltage) = I (current) * ω (frequency) * k, wherein k = j * L, and when rearranged represents the frequency command value expression,
ω (frequency) = V (voltage) / I (current component) / k.
Therefore, based on the teachings of Toyodome and the well-known scientific principles, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find the claimed expression of speed/frequency command value obvious because rearranging mathematical terms that perform the same function does not lead to unexpected result and the combination remains obvious (see MPEP 2141).
In regards to claim 7, Toyodome as modified further discloses that the inverter (inverter controller 160) detects a q-axis current in the output control mode (torque current component determined at 162, see fig. 13 and paragraph 148), recognizes lowering in load torque of the compressor (shorter zero current control period represents/recognizes lower load torque, see figs. 15 and paragraphs 182-183), and increases a speed command value for the motor (frequency command value at increased state during zero current control period, see paragraph 195 and figs. 15); however, Toyodome is silent about the expression: ω*2= P*/Iq/k; wherein ω*2 represents the speed command value for the motor, P* represents an upper limit value of output from the motor, Iq represents a q-axis current, and k represents a constant.
However, Ohms law for AC current circuits of Toyodome is V (voltage) = I (current) * Z (impedance); and Impedance to a current component (such as Iq torque current component, see paragraph 148, Toyodome) is calculated as, Z (impedance to current component) = j * ω (frequency) * L; Therefore, the above voltage expression is modified by impedance expression as,
V (voltage) = I (current) * j * ω (frequency) * L, which if simplified leads to
V (voltage) = I (current) * ω (frequency) * j * L, which if further simplified leads to
[P (power) / It] = I (current) * ω (frequency) * j * L, wherein V = P (power) / It, and when rearranged represents the frequency command value expression,
ω (frequency) = P (power) / I (current component) / k, (where k = j * L * It).
Therefore, based on the teachings of Toyodome and the well-known scientific principles, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find the claimed expression of speed/frequency command value obvious because rearranging mathematical terms that perform the same function does not lead to unexpected result and the combination remains obvious (see MPEP 2141).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyodome (US 2021/0257948 A1) as an English translation of earlier publication (WO 2020/021681 A1) in view of Kimura and Kitagishi and Chen as applied to claim 4 above and further in view of Jansen (EP 0736234 B1).
In regards to claim 5, Toyodome as modified further discloses that the motor comprises a rotor (rotor and magnets, see paragraphs 63, 81), the rotor comprising a plurality of permanent magnets (permanent magnets, see paragraphs 63, 81) and an iron core (rotor includes a stator iron core, see paragraphs 63-64).
However, Toyodome does not explicitly teach a bridge portion extending in a radial direction on a q axis located between adjacent magnets of the plurality of permanent magnets and holding positions of the adjacent magnets.
Jansen teaches discloses a rotor of a motor (110) with stator core (111) and the iron core including a bridge portion (165), the bridge portion (bridge 165) extending in a radial direction on a q axis (see fig. 27) located between adjacent magnets (165 between magnets 164m see fig. 27) of the plurality of permanent magnets (see fig. 27) and holding positions of the adjacent magnets (see fig. 27 and paragraph 107).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the refrigeration cycle apparatus of Toyodome as modified by providing a bridge portion extending in a radial direction on a q axis located between adjacent magnets of the plurality of permanent magnets and holding positions of the adjacent magnets based on the teachings of Jansen to the rotor iron core of the motor of Toyodome because effective impedance at the stator windings changes with rotor rotational position due to inherent rotor magnetic saliency (see paragraph 107, Jansen).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyodome in view of Kimura as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Nakayama (US 2005/0150969 A1).
In regards to claim 8, Toyodome as modified teaches the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses that the refrigerant circuit is configured to perform at least a heating operation (heating operation, see paragraph 32) in which the outdoor heat exchanger (910) functions as an evaporator (see solid arrows indicating refrigerant flow, fig. 1, where outdoor heat exchanger 910 functions as an evaporator, fig. 1 and paragraphs 32-33),
in the defrosting operation (cooling operation, see paragraph 32), refrigerant discharged from the compressor (904) is introduced into the outdoor heat exchanger (910) as a result of switching of the four-way valve (switching four-way valve 902 to direct refrigerant from compressor 904 directly to outdoor heat exchanger 910 as shown by dashed arrows, see fig. 1 and paragraph 33) to a direction reverse of the heating operation (see fig. 1 and paragraphs 32-35),
the target value is a rotation speed value higher than the rotation speed corresponding to the command value (output torque near the predetermined maximum value is higher than the output command value is near the predetermined minimum value, see paragraph 151, where output torque corresponds to the higher rotation speed than the lower rotation speed corresponding to the output command value),
further configured to:
in the heating operation while the operating mode is the speed control mode, switch the four-way valve to the defrosting operation while maintaining the speed control mode (switching four-way valve 902 to reverse flow direction of refrigerant to switch to defrosting operation from the heating operation, see fig. 1 and paragraphs 32-34),
then in the defrosting operation while the operating mode is the output control mode, in response to defrosting time ending, switch the four-way valve to start the heating operation while maintaining the output control mode (switching four-way valve 92 to reverse flow direction of refrigerant to switch to heating operation from the defrost operation, see fig. 1 and paragraphs 32-34).
However, Toyodome does not explicitly teach that the controller switches the valve position; and in the defrosting operation, upon detecting lowering in a discharge temperature from the compressor or once a certain time has elapsed since start of the defrosting operation, switch the operating mode from the speed control mode to the output control mode while maintaining the defrosting operation.
Kimura teaches that the refrigerant circuit performs defrosting operation (melting frost adhering on outdoor heat exchanger 103) in which refrigerant discharged from the compressor (101) is introduced into the outdoor heat exchanger (103) as a result of switching of the four-way valve (102, see paragraph 49) and a controller (50) configured to switch the four-way valve (102) to defrosting and heating modes (see paragraphs 21, fig. 1, where refrigerant discharging compressor 101 is supplied to outdoor heat exchanger 103 or indoor heat exchangers 118, 41).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the refrigeration cycle of Toyodome by using the heating operation for defrosting the outdoor heat exchanger based on the teachings of Kimura in order to conserve energy by utilizing excess heat of high pressure and high temperature refrigerant from the compressor for defrosting the outdoor heat exchanger and improving efficiency of the overall refrigeration cycle. It would also have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the processor and/or electronic circuity and controller of Toyodome to switch the four-way valve to defrosting and heating operation modes based on the teachings of Kimura in order to execute operation of the combined air-conditioning and defrosting operations to maintain efficiency of the refrigeration cycle by frequently performing the defrosting operation by reversing the flow of refrigerant.
Toyodome also does not explicitly teach that in the defrosting operation, once a certain time has elapsed since start of the defrosting operation, switch the operating mode of the compressor from one speed mode to another mode.
However, Nakayama teaches a defrosting operation (defrost operation by defrost valve, see fig. 3), wherein in the defrosting operation, at time of start of defrosting, the speed control mode of the compressor motor/compressor is selected as the operating mode (at the on state of defrost valve after 10 seconds, compressor operated at first frequency between stages c and e for 30 seconds, fig. 3), and after a certain time period has elapsed since start of defrosting (after an elapse of 40 seconds from the opening of defrost valve, see fig. 4), the operating mode is switched from the speed control mode to the output control mode of compressor, where the compressor is operated at another frequency (see compressor operation at second frequency, which is higher than first frequency, between stages e and f for 30 seconds, fig. 3).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the refrigeration cycle apparatus of Toyodome as modified by performing a defrosting operation, wherein in the defrosting operation, at time of start of defrosting, the speed control mode of the compressor motor/compressor is selected as the operating mode, and after a certain time period has elapsed since start of defrosting, the operating mode is switched from the speed control mode to the output control mode of compressor based on the teachings of Nakayama in order to conserve energy and conserve the heating capacity of the compressor by operating the compressor at low frequency near the start of the defrost to allow the frost to melt and then increase the operating frequency of the compressor.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyodome in view of Kimura and Kitagishi and Chen as applied to claim 4 above and further in view of Nakayama (US 2005/0150969 A1).
In regards to claim 10, Toyodome as modified teaches the limitations of claim 4 and further discloses that the refrigerant circuit is configured to perform at least a heating operation (heating operation, see paragraph 32) in which the outdoor heat exchanger (910) functions as an evaporator (see solid arrows indicating refrigerant flow, fig. 1, where outdoor heat exchanger 910 functions as an evaporator, fig. 1 and paragraphs 32-33),
in the defrosting operation (cooling operation, see paragraph 32), refrigerant discharged from the compressor (904) is introduced into the outdoor heat exchanger (910) as a result of switching of the four-way valve (switching four-way valve 902 to direct refrigerant from compressor 904 directly to outdoor heat exchanger 910 as shown by dashed arrows, see fig. 1 and paragraph 33) to a direction reverse of the heating operation (see fig. 1 and paragraphs 32-35),
the target value is a rotation speed value higher than the rotation speed corresponding to the command value (output torque near the predetermined maximum value is higher than the output command value is near the predetermined minimum value, see paragraph 151, where output torque corresponds to the higher rotation speed than the lower rotation speed corresponding to the output command value),
further configured to:
in the heating operation while the operating mode is the speed control mode, switch the four-way valve to the defrosting operation while maintaining the speed control mode (switching four-way valve 902 to reverse flow direction of refrigerant to switch to defrosting operation from the heating operation, see fig. 1 and paragraphs 32-34),
then in the defrosting operation while the operating mode is the output control mode, in response to defrosting time ending, switch the four-way valve to start the heating operation while maintaining the output control mode (switching four-way valve 92 to reverse flow direction of refrigerant to switch to heating operation from the defrost operation, see fig. 1 and paragraphs 32-34).
However, Toyodome does not explicitly teach that the controller switches the valve position; and in the defrosting operation, upon detecting lowering in a discharge temperature from the compressor or once a certain time has elapsed since start of the defrosting operation, switch the operating mode from the speed control mode to the output control mode while maintaining the defrosting operation.
Kimura teaches that the refrigerant circuit performs defrosting operation (melting frost adhering on outdoor heat exchanger 103) in which refrigerant discharged from the compressor (101) is introduced into the outdoor heat exchanger (103) as a result of switching of the four-way valve (102, see paragraph 49) and a controller (50) configured to switch the four-way valve (102) to defrosting and heating modes (see paragraphs 21, fig. 1, where refrigerant discharging compressor 101 is supplied to outdoor heat exchanger 103 or indoor heat exchangers 118, 41).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the refrigeration cycle of Toyodome by using the heating operation for defrosting the outdoor heat exchanger based on the teachings of Kimura in order to conserve energy by utilizing excess heat of high pressure and high temperature refrigerant from the compressor for defrosting the outdoor heat exchanger and improving efficiency of the overall refrigeration cycle. It would also have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the processor and/or electronic circuity and controller of Toyodome to switch the four-way valve to defrosting and heating operation modes based on the teachings of Kimura in order to execute operation of the combined air-conditioning and defrosting operations to maintain efficiency of the refrigeration cycle by frequently performing the defrosting operation by reversing the flow of refrigerant.
Toyodome also does not explicitly teach that in the defrosting operation, once a certain time has elapsed since start of the defrosting operation, switch the operating mode of the compressor from one speed mode to another mode.
However, Nakayama teaches a defrosting operation (defrost operation by defrost valve, see fig. 3), wherein in the defrosting operation, at time of start of defrosting, the speed control mode of the compressor motor/compressor is selected as the operating mode (at the on state of defrost valve after 10 seconds, compressor operated at first frequency between stages c and e for 30 seconds, fig. 3), and after a certain time period has elapsed since start of defrosting (after an elapse of 40 seconds from the opening of defrost valve, see fig. 4), the operating mode is switched from the speed control mode to the output control mode of compressor, where the compressor is operated at another frequency (see compressor operation at second frequency, which is higher than first frequency, between stages e and f for 30 seconds, fig. 3).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the refrigeration cycle apparatus of Toyodome as modified by performing a defrosting operation, wherein in the defrosting operation, at time of start of defrosting, the speed control mode of the compressor motor/compressor is selected as the operating mode, and after a certain time period has elapsed since start of defrosting, the operating mode is switched from the speed control mode to the output control mode of compressor based on the teachings of Nakayama in order to conserve energy and conserve the heating capacity of the compressor by operating the compressor at low frequency near the start of the defrost to allow the frost to melt and then increase the operating frequency of the compressor.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 3-7 of the Remarks, filed 05/55/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC 103 over Toyodome in view of Kimura have been fully considered and are persuasive regarding claim amendments and additions. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of different embodiment of Toyodome in view of Kimura.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763