DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed 28 April 2026 has been entered.
The amendments have overcome all objections and 112 rejections the previous Non-Final Rejection (28 January 2026). Claims 1-3, 6-12 and 14-20 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant claims the term “constant power control.” The context of Applicant’s use of the term “constant power control” in the specification indicates that “constant” has an equivalent meaning to “persistent” or “always-on.”
“Constant” also has a plain meaning of “unchanging.” The context of Applicant’s specification, indicates that “constant” is NOT used by applicant in the sense of “unchanging.” Applicant’s method includes the step of “controlling the electric oil pump through constant power control, when the power of the electric oil pump is equal to or less than the reference power.” The disclosure indicates that during “constant power control” the power is set to maintain the reference power when the pump is equal to or less than the reference power (Applicant’s disclosed spec, pg 2 ln 11-13; pg 3 ln 10-12, pg 6 ln 17-18). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this indicates that as power drops below reference power, it is increased until it reaches the reference power.
Furthermore, there is no indication that “constant power control” includes mechanisms to limit power rising above said reference power.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that applying the disclosure to claim 1, said “controlling the electric oil pump through constant power control, when the power of the electric oil pump is equal to or less than the reference power” indicates a function where the power is raised back to the refence power.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-12, 14-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beck (US 2010/0231146) in view of Dong (US 2019/0331216).
Regarding claim 1, Beck discloses an electric oil pump (oil as the fluid pump does not limit the pump, See MPEP 2115; oil is an intended use of the pump in the preamble of the claim and will not be considered as limiting See MPEP 2111.02, the pump is structurally complete within the body and the fluid pumped does not inform any structure of the pump claimed within the body) control method comprising the steps of:
receiving a speed command (motor speed command, par 0031) from a transmission control unit (supervisory controller 38, par 0031, controller the plain meaning of transmission control unit because it causes the transmission of drive energy to the pump);
controlling the electric oil pump through speed control according to the speed command (par 0031);
determining whether a power (rotor flux, par 0009) of the electric oil pump is equal to or less than a reference power (rotor flux error is the difference between a reference power / rotor flux command and the rotor flux, par 0009; the reference power is the rotor flux command based on a lookup table for the motor speed, par 0033; the control system linearizes torque via control via magnetic flux control, par 0010, 0029; reasonably controlling flux to control torque meets the reference power control, as applicant’s disclosed invention controls flux based on the flux-torque map, Applicant’s Spec pg 7 ln 16-30) while controlling through the speed control (speed determines the flux command, See par 0033); and
controlling the electric oil pump through constant power control (torque linearization ensures that the throttle control for the motor is near constant, par 0030; constant throttle control for linearized torque reasonably meets the plain meaning of constant power control under a BRI, because throttle is generally recognized as a control of fuel /energy/power to an engine), when the power of the electric oil pump is equal to or less than the reference power (the torque linearizer is used throughout speed error control, par 0036; speed error control also references a lookup table for the flux command, par 0033);
determining whether a difference (speed error estimate u.sub.ee, par 0035, par 0008) between a speed of the speed command and a speed of the electric oil pump is within a first range (speed error estimate u.sub.ee, par 0035; difference between the speed of the rotor, u.sub.me and a commanded speed u.sub.mc, par 0008, 0031, 0032-0033) while controlling through the constant power control (torque linearization is used throughout speed error control, par 0036; at all times of operation the speed error estimate is calculated, par 0035);
terminating the constant power control and performing a second speed control of the electric oil pump when the difference is within the first range (lookup table uses the motor speed estimate to locate the appropriate and corresponding flux rotor command on the lookup table, then controls via that flux rotor command, par 0033; under a BRI, as motor speed changes to such a degree that it requires a new flux rotor command in the lookup table, this new flux rotor command may be considered a terminating the constant power control under the old flux rotor command; the new flux rotor command with its corresponding motor speed may be considered the second speed control),
wherein, in the step of controlling the electric oil pump through constant power control, a flux torque unit (motor vector model 26, par 0025) is configured to calculate the power (rotor flux estimate lambda.sub.re, par 0025-0026) of the electric oil pump from a current command (motor current measurement signals are used to calculate magnetic flux of the rotor, par 0025, 0032; the measurement signal is partially determined by the excitation current command, par 0034, under a BRI the excitation current command meets the current command limitation), and a constant power control unit (rotor flux summation device 28, par 0026; rotor flux command is used to maintain proper torque, par 0026) is configured to receive the calculated power of the electric oil pump from the flux torque unit to perform the constant power control (rotor flux summation device 28 receives the rotor flux estimate, lambda.sub.re, from the motor vector model 26, par 0034)
wherein, in the constant power control, the electric oil pump is controlled to maintain the power of the electric oil pump to be equal to the reference power (a rotor flux error control is meant to reduce rotor flux error, par 0027; rotor flux error is the difference between magnetic flux of the rotor and the rotor flux command, par 0025-0027, 0031-0034), and
wherein, while controlling through the constant power control, the electric oil pump is controlled only by the power of the electric oil pump (rotor flux error is controlled by managing excitation current to the field and phases, par 0034),
wherein, prior to the step of determining whether the power of the electric oil pump is equal to or less than the reference power (consult the speed torque lookup table, par 0033).
Beck is silent on:
(Former claim 4) Comprising steps of determining whether the speed command is a stop command of the electric oil pump;
determining whether a difference between the speed of the electric oil pump and a stop speed of the electric oil pump is within a second range when the speed command is the stop command of the electric oil pump; and
stopping the electric oil pump when the difference between the speed of the electric oil pump and the stop speed of the electric oil pump is within the second range,
wherein the step of determining whether the power of the electric oil pump is less than or equal to a reference power is performed when the speed command is not the stop command of the electric oil pump, and
(Former claim 5) when the difference between the speed of the electric oil pump and the stop speed of the electric oil pump is greater than the second range, the electric oil pump is controlled through the speed control until the difference between the speed of the electric oil pump and the stop speed of the electric oil pump becomes within the second range.
(Former claim 4) Dong teaches a method of switching load between parallel oil pumps (par 0007-0008, 0011, 0021, 0033, 0055) for a vehicle transmission (par 0032) by controlling an electric oil pump to take over for a parallel pump (par 0011) and also stop the electric oil pump (par 0014) where the controller determines whether the target RPM is smaller than the minimum value of a reference RPM range and then stop the driving of the electric oil pump when the target RPM is smaller than the minimum value of the reference RPM range (par 0015, 0019),
determining whether a difference between the speed of the electric oil pump (target RPM, par 0019) and a stop speed (minimum value of the reference RPM, par 0019; this is a stop speed because below this speed the motor is stopped) of the electric oil pump is within a second range (below the minimum RPM value, par 0019) when the speed command is the stop command of the electric oil pump (stop the pump when the target speed smaller than the minimum value of the reference RPM, par 0019, the target speed is a stop command when it is below the minimum RPM value); and stopping the electric oil pump when the difference between the speed of the electric oil pump and the stop speed of the electric oil pump is within the second range (stop the pump when it is below the minimum RPM value, par 0019; “below” meets the plain meaning of a range under a BRI).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pump control of Beck by adding the parallel pump and pump control of Dong in order to maintain oil supply by adding a second pump to enable the first pump to shutdown as needed, where stopping one pump and starting a second pump is the means of transferring pumps (par 0021).
As a result, Beck in view of Dong also makes obvious “wherein the step of determining whether the power of the electric oil pump is less than or equal to a reference power is performed when the speed command is not the stop command of the electric oil pump” because Dong is concerned with maintain pressure during stop commands related to complete transfer of load (par 0019-0022).
(Former claim 5) Dong further teaches wherein when the difference between the speed of the electric oil pump and the stop speed of the electric oil pump is greater than the second range, the electric oil pump is controlled through the speed control until the difference between the speed of the electric oil pump and the stop speed of the electric oil pump becomes within the second range (RPM of the oil pump is maintained at the maximum value in the RPM range and is maintained at the target RPM when pumps are switched in order to maintain oil supply, par 0021).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pump control of Beck by adding the parallel pump and pump control of Dong in order to maintain oil supply by adding a second pump to enable the first pump to shutdown as needed, where stopping one pump and starting a second pump is the means of transferring pumps (par 0021).
Regarding claim 2, Beck in view of Dong teaches the electric oil pump control method according to claim 1, wherein when the difference between the speed of the speed command and the speed of the electric oil pump is greater than the first range (Beck, a greater speed step in the speed flux lookup table, par 0033), the electric oil pump is controlled through the constant power control (rotor flux summation device 28 controls flux to maintain torque, par 0026) until the difference between the speed of the speed command and the speed of the electric oil pump becomes within the first range (speed error estimate is calculate at all times of operation, par 0035; rotor flux summation device 28 repeats during entire operation of pump, par 0034; therefore speed control and flux control are always in operation in beck and meet the limitation).
Regarding claim 3, Beck in view of Dong teaches the electric oil pump control method according to claim 1, wherein the speed control is configured to control the speed of the electric oil pump to be equal to the speed of the speed command (Beck, motor speed error control is structured to reduce the error term to zero, par 0029).
Regarding claim 6, Beck discloses an electric oil pump (oil as the fluid pump does not limit the pump, See MPEP 2115; oil is an intended use of the pump in the preamble of the claim and will not be considered as limiting See MPEP 2111.02, the pump is structurally complete within the body and the fluid pumped does not inform any structure of the pump claimed within the body) control apparatus comprising:
a speed control unit (speed error control 34, par 0029-0031) configured for controlling an electric oil pump (electric pump, used to pump oil, par 0019) through speed control according to a speed command (speed command, par 0031) received from a transmission control unit (supervisory controller 38, par 0031; supervisory controller controls slip of the motor, par 0032-0033; slip of the motor is the transmission of electrical rotational speed to rotational speed); and
a power control unit (torque linearizer 36 with rotor flux error control 30, par 0030-0031) configured for controlling the electric oil pump through constant power control (torque linearization ensures that the throttle control for the motor is near constant, par 0030; constant throttle control for linearized torque reasonably meets the plain meaning of constant power control under a BRI, because throttle is generally recognized as a control of fuel /energy/power to an engine) when power of the electric oil pump is equal to or less than a reference power (the rotor flux command is a reference power, par 0033; reasonably controlling flux to control torque meets the reference power control, as applicant’s disclosed invention controls flux based on the flux-torque map, Applicant’s Spec pg 7 ln 16-30);
wherein the power control unit is configured to control to maintain the power of the electric oil pump to be equal to the reference power (rotor flux error between the flux command and rotor flux, par 0009), only by the power of the electric oil pump
wherein the speed control unit is configured to control the electric oil pump through speed control when a difference between a speed of the speed command and an actual speed of the electric oil pump is within a first range (speed estimate reaches the desired level, par 0033, under a BRI a speed reaching a desired level is equivalent to reaching a range of zero from that desired level) during the constant power control (the flux lookup table determines the power at which to control for said speed, par 0033),
Beck is silent on:
(Former claim 4) wherein when the speed command is a stop command of the electric oil pump; and a difference between the speed of the electric oil pump and a stop speed of the electric oil pump is within a second range, the electric oil pump is configured to stop;
(Former claim 5) wherein when the difference between the speed of the electric oil pump and the stop speed of the electric oil pump is greater than the second range, the electric oil pump is controlled through the speed control until the difference between the speed of the electric oil pump and the stop speed of the electric oil pump becomes within the second range.
(Former claim 4) Dong teaches a method of switching load between parallel oil pumps (par 0007-0008, 0011, 0021, 0033, 0055) for a vehicle transmission (par 0032) by controlling an electric oil pump to take over for a parallel pump (par 0011) and also stop the electric oil pump (par 0014) where the controller determines whether the target RPM is smaller than the minimum value of a reference RPM range and then stop the driving of the electric oil pump when the target RPM is smaller than the minimum value of the reference RPM range (par 0015, 0019),
determining whether a difference between the speed of the electric oil pump (target RPM, par 0019) and a stop speed (minimum value of the reference RPM, par 0019; this is a stop speed because below this speed the motor is stopped) of the electric oil pump is within a second range (below the minimum RPM value, par 0019),
wherein when the speed command is the stop command of the electric oil pump (stop the pump when the target speed smaller than the minimum value of the reference RPM, par 0019, the target speed is a stop command when it is below the minimum RPM value); and a difference between the speed of the electric oil pump and the stop speed of the electric oil pump is within the second range, the electric oil pump is configured to stop (stop the pump when it is below the minimum RPM value, par 0019; “below” meets the plain meaning of a range under a BRI).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pump control of Beck by adding the parallel pump and pump control of Dong in order to maintain oil supply by adding a second pump to enable the first pump to shutdown as needed, where stopping one pump and starting a second pump is the means of transferring pumps (par 0021).
As a result, Beck in view of Dong also makes obvious “wherein the step of determining whether the power of the electric oil pump is less than or equal to a reference power is performed when the speed command is not the stop command of the electric oil pump” because Dong is concerned with maintain pressure during stop commands related to complete transfer of load (par 0019-0022).
(Former claim 5) Dong further teaches wherein when the difference between the speed of the electric oil pump and the stop speed of the electric oil pump is greater than the second range, the electric oil pump is controlled through the speed control until the difference between the speed of the electric oil pump and the stop speed of the electric oil pump becomes within the second range (RPM of the oil pump is maintained at the maximum value in the RPM range and is maintained at the target RPM when pumps are switched in order to maintain oil supply, par 0021).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pump control of Beck by adding the parallel pump and pump control of Dong in order to maintain oil supply by adding a second pump to enable the first pump to shutdown as needed, where stopping one pump and starting a second pump is the means of transferring pumps (par 0021).
Claim 7, Beck in view of Dong teaches the electric oil pump control apparatus according to claim 6, wherein when receiving a speed command (Beck, U.sub.mc) from the transmission control unit (38), the speed control unit (32) controls the electric oil pump (motor speed summation device 32 receives motor speed command from the supervisory controller 38, par 0028),
wherein when the power of the electric oil pump is equal to or less than the reference power, the constant power control unit controls the electric oil pump (flux error control 30, control loop, par 0027) until a difference between a speed of the speed command and a speed of the electric oil pump becomes within a first range (the speed error control 34 reduces speed error to zero, par 0029; under a BRI since the flux error control 30 operates continuously, it is configured to operate when the speed error control 34 reduces speed error to the desired range; the continual operation of the flux error control meets the term “until” under a BRI), and wherein when the difference between the speed of the speed command and the speed of the electric oil pump is within the first range, the speed control unit controls the electric oil pump (speed error control 34 is in operation at all times during operation, par 0035-0036).
Claim 8, Beck in view of Dong teaches the electric oil pump control apparatus according to claim6,wherein the speed control unit controls a speed of the electric oil pump to be a speed of the speed command (Beck, the motor speed summation device 32 and motor speed error control reduces the speed error estimate to zero, par 0028-0029).
Claim 9, Beck in view of Dong teaches the electric oil pump control apparatus according to claim 6. Beck is silent on wherein the constant power control unit does not perform constant power control when a difference between a speed of the speed command and a stop speed of the electric oil pump is within a second range.
Dong further teaches teaches
determining whether a difference between the speed of the electric oil pump (target RPM, par 0019) and a stop speed (minimum value of the reference RPM, par 0019; this is a stop speed because below this speed the motor is stopped) of the electric oil pump is within a second range (below the minimum RPM value, par 0019) when the speed command is the stop command of the electric oil pump (stop the pump when the target speed smaller than the minimum value of the reference RPM, par 0019, the target speed is a stop command when it is below the minimum RPM value); and stopping the electric oil pump when the difference between the speed of the electric oil pump and the stop speed of the electric oil pump is within the second range (stop the pump when it is below the minimum RPM value, par 0019; “below” meets the plain meaning of a range under a BRI).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pump control of Beck by adding the parallel pump and pump control of Dong in order to maintain oil supply by adding a second pump to enable the first pump to shutdown as needed, where stopping one pump and starting a second pump is the means of transferring pumps (par 0021).
Claim 10, Beck in view of Dong teaches the electric oil pump control apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the constant power control unit performs constant power control using PID control (Beck, par 0027).
Regarding claim 11, Beck in view of Dong teaches the electric oil pump control method according to claim 1, wherein the reference power (Beck, flux rotor command, par 0033) is set to a power at which the electric oil pump operates at a speed according to the speed command during shifting (the flux rotor command is set according to a speed estimate in a lookup table; par 0033; shifting from one speed in the lookup table to another speed meets is shifting under a BRI).
Claim 12, Beck in view of Dong teaches the electric oil pump control apparatus according to claim 8, wherein when the difference between the speed of the speed command and the speed of the electric oil pump is within the first range (Beck, the ranges are speed steps in the lookup table, par 0033), the speed control unit controls the electric oil pump (at all times during operation motor speed summation device 32 operates, par 0035).
Claim 14, Beck in view of Dong teaches the electric oil pump control apparatus according to claim 6, comprising: a flux torque unit (Beck, fig 1, error control unit 20 which includes a torque linearizer 36 and a rotor flux error control 30, par 0031) configured to output a current command (excitation current command E.sub.ic, par 0034) according to a signal from the speed control unit (U.sub.mc is a motor speed command from a supervisory controller 38, par 0031) or the constant power control unit; a current control unit (motor vector model 26, par 0031, receives motor current measurement signals, par 0024) configured to control the current of the electric oil pump according to the current command of the flux torque unit (par 0025); and
an outer loop unit (supervisory controller 38) configured to output a magnetic flux command (lamda.sub.rc is a flux command from 38, par 0031) to the flux torque unit using the voltage of the current control unit (supervisory controller 38 receives a T.sub.me and U.sub.me signal from motor vector model 26, which the motor vector model derives from a measurement v.sub.mm voltage signal, par 0024-0025, 0033), the speed of the electric oil pump motor (supervisor controller 38 receives signal u.sub.me which is a motor speed estimate, par 0025, 0033), and the input voltage (v.sub.m is an input voltage to the motor, par 0019, 0021, 0024 which is processed by 20 to provide the T.sub.me and u.sub.me outputs to the supervisory controller 38; par 0025 in order to change the v.sub.m as feedback, par 0034).
Claim 15, Beck in view of Dong teaches the electric oil pump control apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the flux torque unit outputs a current command (Beck, e.sub.ic excitation current, par 0023) according to the signal from the speed control unit when speed control unit operates (Beck, the motor speed command u.sub.mc is sent to error control unit 20 via the supervisory controller 38, par 0028).
Claim 16, Beck in view of Dong teaches the electric oil pump control apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the flux torque unit outputs a current command (Beck, e.sub.ic excitation current, par 0023) according to the signal from the constant power control unit when constant power control unit operates (Beck considers an error correction for Torque T.sub.ec, based upon a motor speed error control 34, par 0023-0025; where as noted earlier torque at a specified speed is equivalent to power).
Claim 19, Beck in view of Dong teaches the electric oil pump control apparatus according to claim 14,
wherein the current control unit comprises a three-phase bridge (Beck, the rotor flux device controls phases of the generator and motor, par 0034; there are three phases, par 0024; since the three phases sum to zero, and the control is measuring current of only two phases to determine the third phase, par 0024; the phases therefore have a common connection which makes it a bridged circuit as is known in the art).
Claim 20, Beck in view of Dong teaches the electric oil pump control apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the reference power (Beck, flux rotor command, par 0033) is set to a power at which the electric oil pump operates at a speed according to the speed command during shifting (the flux rotor command is set according to a speed estimate in a lookup table; par 0033; shifting from one speed in the lookup table to another speed meets is shifting under a BRI).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beck in view of Dong in view of Jayanth (US 2009/0119036).
Claim 17, Beck in view of Dong teaches the electric oil pump control apparatus according to claim 14,wherein the flux torque unit calculates the power of the current electric oil pump (Beck, Motor Vector Model 26 takes voltage V.sub.mm and current I.sub.mm representative of measured voltage v.sub.m and current i.sub.m signal, par 0032-0034) according to the current command being outputted (Beck, e.sub.ic excitation current, par 0023, which changes the voltages and current of the motor, par 0034).
Beck is silent on calculating the power based upon said voltage and current signals.
Jayanth teaches a pump with a power consumption and alert module where power is calculated based on current and voltage (par 0119).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Flux Torque Unit of Beck by adding the power consumption and alert module of Jayanth in order to display power consumption of the motor for the user to be apprised of the status of the pump motor.
Claim 18, Beck in view of Dong in view of Jayanth teaches the electric oil pump control apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the constant power control unit receives the power of the current electric oil pump and determines whether it is less than or equal to a reference power (Jayanth, variations in power supply may receive an alert, par 0119, inherently there must be at least two power values to determine a variation, either of those values is a reference power).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case, applicant’s amendments incorporated dependent claims 4 and 5 into claims 1 and 6. Claims 4 and 5 were previously rejected under a combination of Beck in view of Dong in the Non-Final Rejection 28 January 2026, wherein Dong was shown to teach the elements of claims 4 and 5 which Beck did not disclose.
Applicant’s arguments against Beck that it does not disclose the stop command features of claim 1 (previously in claims 4 and 5) are acknowledged, and aligned with Graham factors laid out by the examiner in the previous office action.
Applicant does not substantially address the obviousness rejection of the same material under Beck in view of Dong in the previous rejection. Applicant makes one conclusory statement that “Dong fails to cure the deficiencies” (Remarks, page 3), but offers no specific arguments or reasoning distinguishing Dong from the claims or disclosed invention. Since applicant has offered no substantial arguments in opposition, it is reasonable to maintain the combination of Beck in view of Dong.
Since the current claim 1 does not differ in subject matter from the previous claims 4 and 5, the previous rejection under Beck in view of Dong of claim 4 and 5 is reapplied to amended claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEOFFREY S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746