Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-5 are rejected under Chen (US 2019/0074751) and in view of Yin (TW I502862).
As to claim 1, Chen discloses A motor comprising: a bearing (114; Fig. 1); a stator housing
including an inner peripheral portion having a bearing holder (Fig. 1), an outer peripheral portion (Fig.
1), and a coupling portion coupling the inner peripheral portion and the outer peripheral portion (Fig. 1);
a stator supported by the outer peripheral portion of the stator housing (Fig. 1); a rotor housing
covering the stator housing and the stator (Fig. 1); and a magnet supported by an outer peripheral
portion of the rotor housing (Fig. 1), wherein the rotor housing includes a rotation axis (Fig. 1), the stator
includes an upper surface portion provided at an inner side of the magnet (Fig. 1), supported by the
outer peripheral portion of the stator housing and positioned at the outer peripheral portion of the
stator housing in a rotation axis direction (Fig. 1), and a lower surface portion opposing an outside in the
rotation axis direction (Fig. 1), and a surface of the magnet supported by the rotor housing is provided at
a side of the upper surface portion of the stator in the rotation axis direction (Fig. 1).
Chen fails to disclose a coupling portion extending in a radial direction between the inner peripheral portion and the outer peripheral portion, and the coupling portion extends further in the radial direction than in the rotation axis direction.
Yin, however, discloses a coupling portion extending in a radial direction between the inner peripheral portion and the outer peripheral portion (Fig. 8), and the coupling portion extends further in the radial direction than in the rotation axis direction (Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor of Chen with a coupling portion extending in a radial direction between the inner peripheral portion and the outer peripheral portion, and the coupling portion extends further in the radial direction than in the rotation axis direction, as disclosed by Yin, to enhance the structure of the motor.
As to claim 2, the combination of Chen and Yin discloses the motor according to claim 1, wherein a gap is formed between the upper surface portion of the stator and the rotor housing in the rotation axis direction (Fig. 1 of Chen).
As to claim 4, the combination of Chen and Yin discloses the motor according to claim 1, wherein the rotor housing includes a positioning portion configured to position the surface of the magnet supported by the rotor housing in the rotation axis direction (Fig. 1 of Chen).
As to claim 6, the combination of Chen and Yin discloses the motor according to claim 1, wherein the positioning direction of the stator and the positioning direction of the magnet are same with each other in the rotation axis direction (Fig. 1).
As to claim 7, the combination of Chen and Yin discloses the motor according to claim 1, wherein the stator includes a stator core including an annular portion and a plurality of magnetic pole units (Para 003 of Chen), the annular portion includes the upper surface portion and the lower surface portion (Fig. 1 of Chen).
As to claim 8, the combination of Chen and Yin discloses the motor according to claim 1, wherein an inner peripheral surface of the stator is opposed to an end portion of the outer peripheral portion of the stator housing at the lower surface portion side (Fig. 8 of Yin).
As to claim 9, the combination of Chen and Yin discloses the motor according to claim 1, wherein the positioning portion of the stator housing protrudes in the radial direction (Fig. 8 of Yin).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (20190074751), Yin, and in view of Masaaki (JP 2019154082).
As to claim 3, the combination of Chen and Yin discloses the motor according to claim 1.
Chen fails to disclose the stator housing includes a positioning portion configured to position the
first surface of the stator in a rotation axis direction.
Masaaki, however, discloses the stator housing includes a positioning portion configured to
position the first surface of the stator in a rotation axis direction (Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor of Chen with the stator housing includes
a positioning portion configured to position the first surface of the stator in a rotation axis direction, as
disclosed by Masaaki, in order to properly align the stator.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Yin, and in view of Chen780 (US 20220302780).
As to claim 5, the combination of Chen and Yin discloses the motor according to claim 4, and a rotor housing.
Chen fails to disclose a second positioning portion protruding from the positioning portion in the
rotation axis direction.
Chen780, however, discloses a second positioning portion protruding from the positioning
portion in the rotation axis direction (Fig. 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the motor of Chen with a second positioning
portion protruding from the positioning portion in the rotation axis direction, as disclosed by Chen780,
in order to properly align the magnet.
Conclusion
should be directed to ETHAN N VO whose telephone number is (571)270-7593. The examiner can
normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30am - 5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher M Koehler can be reached on 571 272 3560. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199
(IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834