DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-4 in the reply filed on 03/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03/30/2026.
It should be noted that this case has been transferred to another examiner due to Applicant’s election of Group I.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/23/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/09/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/07/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The amendment to the specification has been considered and entered for the record.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1-3, 5 and 6 of copending Application No. 18/259,237 (reference application) in view of Watanabe (JP 04-330277 A – hereafter ‘277 and reference will be made the enclosed machine translation). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because S/N 18/259,237 discloses the following limitations:
S/N18/259,237
S/N 18/259,250
1. (Original) A cell culture member having at least a holding region that holds an adherent cell and contains a polymer compound, wherein at least a part of the holding region is a surface- modified region in which a fluorine atom is directly chemically bonded to a part of carbon atoms and/or silicon atoms constituting the polymer compound.
. (Original) A cell culture member having at least a holding region that holds an adherent cell and contains a polymer compound, wherein at least a part of the holding region is a surface- modified region in which a functional group containing a nitrogen atom is directly chemically bonded to a part of carbon atoms and/or silicon atoms constituting the polymer compound.
2. (Original) The cell culture member according to claim 1, wherein a fluorine atom is directly chemically bonded to a part of other carbon atoms and/or other silicon atoms constituting the polymer compound in the surface-modified region.
2. (Original) The cell culture member according to claim 1, wherein a peak value of binding energy of the fluorine atom, as measured by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy, is in a range of 680 eV to 690 eV.
3. (Original) The cell culture member according to claim 2, wherein a peak value of binding energy of the nitrogen atom, as measured by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy, is in a range of 396 eV to 410 eV, anda peak value of binding energy of the fluorine atom, as measured by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy, is in a range of 680 eV to 690 eV.
3. (Currently Amended) The cell culture member according to claim 1[[ or 2]], wherein a surface-modifying group is directly chemically bonded to a part of other carbon atoms and/or other silicon atoms constituting the polymer compound in the surface-modified region,the surface-modifying group is at least one selected from a group consisting of an -OR' group; a -COOR2 group; a -COR3 group; a hydrocarbon group; a silyl group; a hydrocarbon group having at least one of a hetero atom, a halogen atom, or an unsaturated bond; a silyl group having at least one of a hetero atom, a halogen atom, or an unsaturated bond; a cyano group; a nitro group; a nitroso group; a phosphate group; a sulfonyl group; a thiol group; a thionyl group; and a halogen atom excluding a fluorine atom,R1 and R2 are each independently a hydrogen atom; a metal atom; a hydrocarbon group; a silyl group; a hydrocarbon group having at least one of a hetero atom, a halogen atom, or an unsaturated bond; or a silyl group having at least one of a hetero atom, a halogen atom, or an unsaturated bond, and R3 is a hydrocarbon group; a hydrocarbon group having at least one of a hetero atom or an unsaturated bond; or a silyl group having at least one of a hetero atom or an unsaturated bond.
5. (Original) The cell culture member according to claim 1, wherein a surface-modifying group is directly bonded to a part of still other carbon atoms and/or still other silicon atoms constituting the polymer compound in the surface-modified region,the surface-modifying group is at least one selected from a group consisting of an -OR3 group; a -COOR4 group; a -CORS group; a hydrocarbon group; a silyl group; a hydrocarbon group having at least one of a hetero atom, a halogen atom, or an unsaturated bond; a silyl group having at least one of a hetero atom, a halogen atom, or an unsaturated bond; a cyano group; a nitro group; a nitroso group; a phosphate group; a sulfonyl group; a thiol group; a thionyl group; and a halogen atom excluding a fluorine atom,R3 and R4 are each independently a hydrogen atom; a metal atom; a hydrocarbon group; a silyl group; a hydrocarbon group having at least one of a hetero atom, a halogen atom, or an unsaturated bond; or a silyl group having at least one of a hetero atom, a halogen atom, or an unsaturated bond, andR5 is a hydrocarbon group; a hydrocarbon group having at least one of a hetero atom or an unsaturated bond; or a silyl group having at least one of a hetero atom or an unsaturated bond.
4. (Currently Amended) The cell culture member according toclaim 1any one of claims 1 to 3, wherein the polymer compound is at least one polymer selected from a group consisting of polyvinyl chloride, polystyrene, polyethylene, polypropylene, polyvinyl acetate, polyurethane, cyclic polyolefin, polyether ether ketone, polyimide, polyamide imide, polycarbonate, polymethyl methacrylate, polyethylene terephthalate, acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene, polyacrylonitrile, polyamide, polyvinyl alcohol, polyolefin, and a silicon-containing polymer compound.
6. (Original) The cell culture member according to claim 5, wherein the polymer compound is at least one polymer selected from a group consisting of polyvinyl chloride, polystyrene, polyethylene, polypropylene, polyvinyl acetate, polyurethane, cyclic polyolefin, polyether ether ketone, polyimide, polyamide imide, polycarbonate, polymethyl methacrylate, polyethylene terephthalate, acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene, polyacrylonitrile, polyamide, polyvinyl alcohol, polyolefin, and a silicon-containing polymer compound.
For claim 3 and 4, claim 1 of ‘250 does not explicitly discloses that a fluorine atom is attached to the surface-modified region of the holding region.
‘277 discloses a substrate that is treated to form a cell culture surface (Overview) that for claims 3 and 4 ‘277 discloses that the surface is also treated with a fluorine plasma and therefore a fluorine is added to the surface and would be connected to a carbon atom ([0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the fluorine of ‘277 within ‘250 in order to have a surface for cell adhesion ([0011]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Watanabe (JP 04-330277 A – hereafter ‘277 and reference will be made the enclosed machine translation).
‘277 discloses a substrate that is treated in order to form a surface for culturing cells (Overview) that includes the following limitations for claim 1:
“A cell culture member”: ‘277 discloses a culture substrate ([0007]) that is being interpreted as the cell culture member of the instant application.
“having at least a holding region that holds an adherent cell and contains a polymer compound”: ‘277 discloses that the substrate has a shape capable of culturing cells ([0008]) where this shape is being interpreted as the holding region. This region contains a polymer compound ([0007]) such as a fluorocarbon and an ammonia.
“wherein at least a port of the holding region is a surface-modified region in which a functional group containing a nitrogen atom is directly chemically bonded to a part of carbon atoms and/or silicon atoms constituting the polymer compound”: ‘277 discloses that the surface ammonia modified ([0014]) where this would have a functional group containing nitrogen (ammonia) is attached to a carbon atom.
For claim 1, ‘277 discloses that the surface is also treated with a fluorine plasma and therefore a fluorine is added to the surface and would be connected to a carbon atom ([0014]).
Therefore, ‘277 meets the limitations of claim 1.
Clam 2 is under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Watanabe (JP 04-330277 A – hereafter ‘277 and reference will be made the enclosed machine translation) as evidenced by (Nitrogen XPS Periodic Table ThermoFisher Scientific, thermofisher.com/us/en/home/materials-science/learning-center/periodic-table/non-metal/nitrogen.html, 2026) and (Fluorine XPS Periodic Table Thermo Fisher Scientific, thermofisher.com/us/en/home/materials-science/learning-center/periodic-table/halogen/fluorine.html, 2026).
For claim 2, the nitrogen and fluorine of ‘277 would inherently have a peak binding energy of 396 eV to 410 eV for Nitrogen (Nitrogen – 400 eV) and 680 eV to 690 eV for Fluorine (Fluorine – 688-689 eV for organic fluorine).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (JP 04-330277 A – hereafter ‘277 and reference will be made the enclosed machine translation) in view of Dambacher (US 2020/0199318 A1 – hereafter ‘318).
‘318 discloses a surface modified culture chamber, but differs from claim 3 regarding the specific surface-modifying group.
‘318 discloses modifying a plastic surface (Abstract) that for claim 3 includes using a secondary chemical moiety ([0016]) that includes an aryl azide that is being interpreted as the hydrocarbon of the instant application. This allows for the linking molecule to be photo-crosslinked to the plastic surface ([0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the aryl azide of ‘318 within ‘277 in order to provide a surface to bond a biological sample. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been in order to facility a covalent attachment between the surface and the carrier ([0037]).
It should be noted that the limitations drawn to R3, R4 and R5 are optional limitations that do not necessarily have to be addressed in order to meet the claims since the surface-modifying groups are listed as a Markush group.
For claim 4, ‘277 discloses that the substrate, i.e. the polymer compound, is made from polystyrene ([0014]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Trainor et al. (US 2021/0123008 A1) discloses a cell culture chamber.
/MICHAEL L HOBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799