CTNF 18/259,245 CTNF 77289 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-36 AIA The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the support structure must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-11,14,15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 ( 1 ) as being anticipated by Chung et al (KR 101747608; “Chung”) . Regarding claim 1,Chung discloses a modular light arrangement (30)for a Controlled Environment Agriculture (CEA) system, the modular light arrangement comprising: a structural carrier (33) having a bottom face with a first PCB mounting arrangement(331,332) , a first side face with a second PCB mounting arrangement and a second side face with a third PCB mounting arrangement (Fig.5 having multiple shows multiple PCBs attached on all faces of the carrier 33);a PCB having at least one light emitter(34), the PCB being removably mounted to one of the bottom face first side face and the second side face (“The LED lighting member 30 includes a pair of fixing brackets 31 coupled to the base frame, a rotation shaft 32 passing through the fixing bracket, a mounting bracket 33 And a plurality of LED modules M detachably attached to the mounting bracket, respectively”), and at least partially translucent cover (36)coupled to the structural carrier. Regarding claim 2, Chung further discloses wherein the PCB is removably mounted to the bottom face(fig. 5). Regarding claim 3, Chung further discloses wherein the modular light arrangement is provided with an additional PCB, one of the PCBs being removably mounted to the first side face and the other PCB being removably mounted to the second side face (“The LED lighting member 30 includes a pair of fixing brackets 31 coupled to the base frame, a rotation shaft 32 passing through the fixing bracket, a mounting bracket 33 And a plurality of LED modules M detachably attached to the mounting bracket, respectively”) Regarding claim 4, Chung further discloses wherein the at least one light emitter includes a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs)(figs.5 and 6). Regarding claim 5, Chung further discloses wherein the at least one light emitter (30,34)can be configured as a low, medium or high-power output light emitter. As broadly interpreted, Chung discloses “In addition, when the planting space in which the plant can be grown in the base frame is a multi-layered structure, power can be transmitted through the vertical connecting belt 45 so that the lighting color of the LED lighting member of the entire base frame can be simultaneously changed.”, is considered to anticipate this limitation. Regarding claim 6, Chung further discloses wherein structural carrier is an extruded length having at least one longitudinal channel on each of the bottom face, the first side face, and the second side face to aid the connection of any PCBs to the structural carrier (figs. 5 and 6). Regarding claim 7, Chung further discloses wherein at least one of the bottom face, the first side face, and the second side face is provided with a PCB support ridge to aid the connection of any PCBs to the structural carrier (332). Regarding claim 8, Chung further discloses wherein the structural carrier (33)is provided with a longitudinal aperture (333)and the cover is substantially tubular(36) with a longitudinal track such that during assembly the structural carrier can be inserted into the cover and the longitudinal aperture and the longitudinal track can be slidably coupled to one another(333,Figs. 4,5 and 6). Regarding claim 9, Chung further discloses wherein the modular light arrangement is provided with at least one end cap arrangement (31, 31-1)configured to support the modular light arrangement on a support structure(32, 32-1, 32-2), the end cap arrangement having a plurality of radial positioning elements to enable the modular light arrangement to be positioned in one of a plurality of radial orientations relative to the support structure.( The fixing bracket 31 is installed in a horizontal frame of the base frame so as to emit light of LED illumination to a cultivating box. The fixing bracket is inserted through the rotary shaft 32 to receive a normal bearing 37 As shown in Fig.6 and 7, the rotation shaft 32 is formed as a pair of one side and the other side rotation shafts 32-1 and 32-2 corresponding to the fixing brackets, and the rotation shafts 32-1 and 32-2. The inner side portion 322 is divided into the inner side portion 321 and the inner side portion 322 by the inner side portion and the inner side portion 322 is divided into the inner side portion 321 and the inner side portion 322”) Regarding claim 10, which is dependent on claim 9, Chung further discloses wherein, the end cap arrangement (331,32, fig. 6,) comprises two bodies(32,31), the first body (32)being configured to connect with the support structure(31 ), the second body (331)being configured to connect with at least one of the covers (36) and the structural carrier(33), the first and second bodies being rotationally lockable to one another in one of a plurality of radial orientations of the modular light arrangement relative to the support structure.(“ The LED lighting member includes a pair of fixing brackets 31 coupled to the base frame, a rotation shaft 32 passing through the fixing bracket, a mounting bracket 33 disposed between the pair of fixing brackets formed on the rotation shaft, And a plurality of LED modules (M) detachably attached to the mounting brackets, wherein one of the pair of fixing brackets and the LED module are respectively provided with a ground terminal (31-1), and the plurality of LED modules Through rotation by rotation, selectively emits light in accordance with energization with the grounding terminal (33-1) of the fixing bracket,”) Regarding claim 11, Chung discloses a method of assembling a modular light arrangement (30)comprising a structural carrier(33) having a bottom face with a first PCB mounting arrangement,(332) a first side face with a second PCB mounting arrangement and a second side face with a third PCB mounting arrangement(Fig. 5), the modular light arrangement further comprising at least one PCB(35) having at least one light emitter(34), the at least one PCB being removably mounted to one of the first, second and third PCB mounting arrangements(“The LED lighting member 30 includes a pair of fixing brackets 31 coupled to the base frame, a rotation shaft 32 passing through the fixing bracket, a mounting bracket 33 And a plurality of LED modules M detachably attached to the mounting bracket, respectively”), and an at least partially translucent cover (36)coupled to the structural carrier(33), the method comprising the steps of: mounting the at least one PCB (35)to at least one of the bottom face, the first side face and the second side face of the structural carrier(33); longitudinally inserting the structural carrier with the at least one PCB into the cover thereby slidably coupling the structural carrier to the cover(333,Figs. 4,5 and 6); fitting one or more end caps (331,32)to the longitudinal ends of the modular light assembly to substantially close off the modular light arrangement (figs. 3 and 6). Regarding claim 14, Chung further discloses wherein the modular light arrangement further includes a positioning arrangement configured to enable the modular light arrangement to be positioned in one of a plurality of radial orientations relative to a support structure(figs. 1,2 and 3), the method further including the steps of :determining the desired radial orientation of the structural carrier relative to the support structure; selecting one of the plurality of radial orientations provided by the end cap arrangement that most closely matches the determined desired radial orientation; rotatably locking the positioning arrangement. (Chung: The LED lighting member includes a pair of fixing brackets 31 coupled to the base frame, a rotation shaft 32 passing through the fixing bracket, a mounting bracket 33 disposed between the pair of fixing brackets formed on the rotation shaft, And a plurality of LED modules (M) detachably attached to the mounting brackets, wherein one of the pair of fixing brackets and the LED module are respectively provided with a ground terminal (31-1), and the plurality of LED modules. Through rotation by rotation, selectively emits light in accordance with energization with the grounding terminal (33-1) of the fixing bracket,”; “ the rotating means includes a driving motor 41, pulleys 42-1 and 42-2 formed at both ends of the LED lighting member, a driving motor 42 and a plurality of LED lighting members A driving belt 43 for connecting a pulley 42-1 formed in the LED lighting member of the LED lighting member, a driving belt 43 for connecting the LED lighting member connected to the driving belt and the pulley 42-2 formed at the end of the adjacent LED lighting member, By including the connection belt 44, a plurality of LED illumination members are allowed to rotate at the same time. ) Regarding claim 15, Chung teaches the limitations of claim 14 and further discloses wherein the end cap arrangement comprises two bodies, the first body being configured to connect with the support structure(31) the second body being configured to connect with at least one of the cover and the structural carrier(37), the first and second bodies being rotationally lockable to one another in one of a plurality of radial orientations relative to one another(figs 1,2,3,7), the method further comprising the steps off: determining the desired radial orientation of the structural carrier relative to the support structure; selecting one of the plurality of radial orientations provided by first and second bodies of the end cap, connecting and rotatably locking the first and second bodies in the selected radial orientation. (Chung , Figs. 1-3:The LED lighting member includes a pair of fixing brackets 31 coupled to the base frame, a rotation shaft 32 passing through the fixing bracket, a mounting bracket 33 disposed between the pair of fixing brackets formed on the rotation shaft, And a plurality of LED modules (M) detachably attached to the mounting brackets, wherein one of the pair of fixing brackets and the LED module are respectively provided with a ground terminal (31-1), and the plurality of LED modules. Through rotation by rotation, selectively emits light in accordance with energization with the grounding terminal (33-1) of the fixing bracket,”; “ the rotating means includes a driving motor 41, pulleys 42-1 and 42-2 formed at both ends of the LED lighting member, a driving motor 42 and a plurality of LED lighting members A driving belt 43 for connecting a pulley 42-1 formed in the LED lighting member of the LED lighting member, a driving belt 43 for connecting the LED lighting member connected to the driving belt and the pulley 42-2 formed at the end of the adjacent LED lighting member, By including the connection belt 44, a plurality of LED illumination members are allowed to rotate at the same time. ) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 12,16,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung . Regarding claim 12, Chung teaches the limitations of clam 11 and does not explicitly teach the method of further comprising the steps of: determining whether the modular light arrangement should be configured as a top-light arrangement, an inter-light arrangement, a bottom-light arrangement, a combi-light arrangement or an end-light arrangement; mounting the at least one PCB to the bottom face of the structural carrier if the configuration is to be a top-light arrangement; or mounting the at least one PCB to the first side face and at least one more PCB to the second side face if the configuration is to be an inter-light arrangement; or mounting the at least one PCB to one of the first and second side faces if the configuration is to be an end-light arrangement, or mounting the at least one PCB to one of the bottom, first and second side faces if the configuration is to be a bottom-light arrangement; or mounting the at least one PCB to one of the bottom, first and second side faces and at least one more PCB to another one of the bottom, first and second side faces if the configuration is to be a combi-light arrangement, Chung does disclose in figure 6 a final modular lighting arrangement of the LED module(s), 34, placed on the PCB substrates (35) as placed on the mounting bracket (33). Regarding the steps of determining the configuration of the light modules as shown above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attempt the steps of above to come to a final configuration of the light modules of the device of Chung since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc ., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, attempting the steps determining the configuration of the light modules as shown above in order to arrive to a final configuration of the light modules of the device of Chung would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application. Regarding claim 16, Chung does not specifically disclose the method of a method comprising: providing a first batch of pre-assembled modular light arrangements; removing a second batch of modular light arrangements from a light installation and replacing them with the first batch; treating the second batch of modular light arrangements; removing a third batch of modular light arrangements from a light installation and replacing them with the second batch. Chung does disclose: “The LED lighting member 30 includes a pair of fixing brackets 31 coupled to the base frame, a rotation shaft 32 passing through the fixing bracket, a mounting bracket 33 And a plurality of LED modules M detachably attached to the mounting bracket, respectively” and Chung discloses the plurality of modular lights arrangements in Figures 1 and 2 which strongly suggests that Chung acknowledges the need to replace the LED modules when necessary. Regarding using the steps of the method above in order to replace and service the modular light arrangements in a certain order , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the steps of the method above in order to replace and service the modular light arrangements of Chung in a certain order since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc ., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case performing the steps of the method above in order to replace and service the modular light arrangements of Chung in a certain order would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application, since one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that removing and servicing lights, parts and other pertinent working parts of the LED modular devices is a practice that is old and well known in the art. Regarding claim 17, Chung teaches the limitations of claim 16 and does not explicitly mention treating the modular light arrangements include at least one of the steps of: a. repairing b. upgrading c. overhauling d. refurbishing. Chung does disclose: “The LED lighting member 30 includes a pair of fixing brackets 31 coupled to the base frame, a rotation shaft 32 passing through the fixing bracket, a mounting bracket 33 and a plurality of LED modules M detachably attached to the mounting bracket, respectively” and Chung discloses the plurality of modular lights arrangements in Figures 1 and 2 which strongly suggests that Chung acknowledges the need to replace the LED modules when necessary. Regarding Chung performing the limitations of treating the modular light arrangements include at least one of the steps of: a. repairing b. upgrading c. overhauling d. refurbishing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the limitations of treating the modular light arrangements including at least one of the steps of: a. repairing b. upgrading c. overhauling d. refurbishing, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, performing the limitations of treating the modular light arrangements of Chung including at least one of the steps of: a. repairing b. upgrading c. overhauling d. refurbishing, would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application, since one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that removing and servicing lights, parts and other pertinent working parts of the LED modular devices including at least one of the steps of: a. repairing b. upgrading c. overhauling d. refurbishing, in order to reduce costs from having to purchase new LED modular devices is a practice that is old and well known in the art . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Storey et al (2017/0146226) Regarding claim 13, Chung discloses a structural carrier(33) which slidably holds multiple PCB with LEDs mounted on them, slots and a PCB mounting arrangement (332) which aid in sliding and holding the PCBs within the structural carrier. Chung does not specifically disclose a structural carrier wherein mounting the at least one PCB to the structural carrier includes extending a removable fastener through the at least one PCB and expanding a portion of the removable fastener into a generally T-shaped channel of the structural carrier thereby locking the PCB onto the structural carrier. Storey et al discloses a structural carrier wherein mounting the at least one PCB to the structural carrier includes extending a removable fastener through the at least one PCB and expanding a portion of the removable fastener into a generally T-shaped channel of the structural carrier thereby locking the PCB onto the structural carrier(figs. 6, 8 and 12). Regarding modifying the structural carrier of Chung to have require extending a removable fastener through the at least one PCB and expanding a portion of the removable fastener into a generally T-shaped channel of the structural carrier thereby locking the PCB onto the structural carrier as taught by Storey et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structural carrier of Chung to have require extending a removable fastener through the at least one PCB and expanding a portion of the removable fastener into a generally T-shaped channel of the structural carrier thereby locking the PCB onto the structural carrier as taught by Storey et al since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, to modifying the structural carrier of Chung to have require extending a removable fastener through the at least one PCB and expanding a portion of the removable fastener into a generally T-shaped channel of the structural carrier thereby locking the PCB onto the structural carrier as taught by Storey et al would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. 20170023221 discloses a tube light with end caps that twist and lock . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANABEL TON whose telephone number is (571)272-2382. The examiner can normally be reached Monday -Friday 9:00pm -6:00pm (EST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ABDULMAJEED AZIZ can be reached at (571)270-5046. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANABEL TON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/259,245 Page 2 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/259,245 Page 3 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/259,245 Page 4 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/259,245 Page 5 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/259,245 Page 6 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/259,245 Page 7 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/259,245 Page 8 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/259,245 Page 9 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/259,245 Page 10 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/259,245 Page 11 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/259,245 Page 12 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/259,245 Page 13 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/259,245 Page 14 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/259,245 Page 15 Art Unit: 2875