DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment has been considered and entered for the record.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03/30/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The amendment to the specification has been considered and entered for the record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Watanabe (JP 04-330277 A – hereafter ‘277 and reference will be made the enclosed machine translation).
‘277 discloses a substrate that is treated in order to form a surface for culturing cells (Overview) that includes the following limitations for claim 1:
“A cell culture member”: ‘277 discloses a culture substrate ([0007]) that is being interpreted as the cell culture member of the instant application.
“having at least a holding region that holds an adherent cell and contains a polymer compound”: ‘277 discloses that the substrate has a shape capable of culturing cells ([0008]) where this shape is being interpreted as the holding region. This region contains a polymer compound ([0007]) such as a fluorocarbon and an ammonia.
“wherein at least a port of the holding region is a surface-modified region in which, after bringing a first treatment gas containing: a gas containing a fluorine atom; and an inert gas as an optional component into contact without performing a plasma treatment, and thereafter brining a compound containing a nitrogen atom into contact without performing plasma treatment a functional group containing a nitrogen atom is directly chemically bonded to a part of carbon atoms and/or silicon atoms constituting the polymer compound”: ‘277 discloses that the surface ammonia modified ([0014]) where this would have a functional group containing nitrogen (ammonia) is attached to a carbon atom.
Regarding the newly added limitation of “after bringing a first treatment gas containing: a gas containing a fluorine atom; and an inert gas as an optional component into contact without performing a plasma treatment, and thereafter brining a compound containing a nitrogen atom into contact without performing plasma treatment”, Applicant is reminded that process steps in an apparatus are not accorded patentable weight. “The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production”. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)." Furthermore, the processing steps do not structurally define the instant application over the prior art since the claimed processing steps do not impart a distinctive structural characteristic to the final product. It should be further noted that this process does not appear to add any additional structural elements that define claimed invention over the prior art.
For claim 2, ‘277 discloses that the surface is also treated with a fluorine plasma and therefore a fluorine is added to the surface and would be connected to a carbon atom ([0014]).
For claim 4, ‘277 discloses that an amine group is attached to the surface which would have a structure similar to Formula A where R1 and R2 are hydrogen atoms ([0014]).
Therefore, ‘277 meets the limitations of claims 1, 2 and 4.
Clam 3 is under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Watanabe (JP 04-330277 A – hereafter ‘277 and reference will be made the enclosed machine translation) as evidenced by (Nitrogen XPS Periodic Table ThermoFisher Scientific, thermofisher.com/us/en/home/materials-science/learning-center/periodic-table/non-metal/nitrogen.html, 2026) and (Fluorine XPS Periodic Table Thermo Fisher Scientific, thermofisher.com/us/en/home/materials-science/learning-center/periodic-table/halogen/fluorine.html, 2026).
For claim 3, the nitrogen and fluorine of ‘277 would inherently have a peak binding energy of 396 eV to 410 eV for Nitrogen (Nitrogen – 400 eV) and 680 eV to 690 eV for Fluorine (Fluorine – 688-689 eV for organic fluorine).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (JP 04-330277 A – hereafter ‘277 and reference will be made the enclosed machine translation) in view of Dambacher (US 2020/0199318 A1 – hereafter ‘318).
‘318 discloses a surface modified culture chamber, but differs from claim 4 regarding the specific surface-modifying group.
‘318 discloses modifying a plastic surface (Abstract) that for claim 5 includes using a secondary chemical moiety ([0016]) that includes an aryl azide that is being interpreted as the hydrocarbon of the instant application. This allows for the linking molecule to be photo-crosslinked to the plastic surface ([0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the aryl azide of ‘318 within ‘277 in order to provide a surface to bond a biological sample. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been in order to facility a covalent attachment between the surface and the carrier ([0037]).
It should be noted that the limitations drawn to R3, R4 and R5 are optional limitations that do not necessarily have to be addressed in order to meet the claims since the surface-modifying groups are listed as a Markush group.
For claim 6, ‘277 discloses that the substrate, i.e. the polymer compound, is made from polystyrene ([0014]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues in the first paragraph on page 11 that the claimed method in claim 1 results in improved cell adhesion over the prior art. Whether this is true or not, the structural elements of the claim require a functional group with a nitrogen atom to be directly chemically bonded to a part of carbon atoms which is taught by Watanabe. Furthermore, the cited paragraphs do not clarify how this process results in a structural difference in the culture member and assuming arguendo that it does, this is a feature relied upon, but not claimed.
Applicant’s argument in the second paragraph on page 11 continues to argue the product-by-process limitation which it should be noted does not provide a structural distinction to the claimed invention. A review of the paragraphs cited by Applicant to support this process did not explicitly or implicitly describe the structural differences between the claimed invention and the prior art.
In the third paragraph, the Applicant details the differences in the process of the instant application and Watanabe. This is not found persuasive as Applicant has not discussed how the claimed process results in a structural distinction over Watanabe and would also be non-obvious. As the claim stands, the final product is still taught by Watanabe.
In the first paragraph on page 12, Applicant summarizes the process differences and it should be noted that while Watanabe does not disclose this process step, but Watanabe discloses the final product. Thus, Watanabe anticipates the claim.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments in the second paragraph makes reference to the Examples and Comparative Examples. Upon reviewing these sections, it is unclear what is structurally distinct from this process versus the prior art. The structure is only discussed in a general manner without the specificity implied by Applicant’s arguments. As it stands, the surface morphology of the cell culture member is not discussed with enough specificity in order to determine the structural differences of the claimed invention versus the prior art.
With regards to applicant’s arguments in the third paragraph on page 12, structural limitations can be defined by either functional limitations or by product-by-process. In this case, the specification does provide either explicit or implicit support for a structural distinction over the prior art. Also, while Applicant has discussed results that provide some indication of improved results, it should be noted that a nexus between the claimed invention, the improved results and the prior art of record have not been provided. Specifically, the comparative examples within the instant application only compare processes that have only a nitriding step after plasma treatment. These examples did not compare the claimed process with a process like Watanabe’s that includes both a nitriding and fluorination step after plasma treatment. Therefore, the device of Watanabe meets the limitations of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Boghosian et al. (US 2020/0207539 A1) discloses a degradable carrier made of a fluoropolymer with a plurality of functional groups attached to the fluoropolymer.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL L HOBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799