LITHIUM-ION BATTERY
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/259,300 Art Unit 1727 January 10, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
The Application filed on filed on June 26, 2023 has been received. Claims 118 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear as to what Applicant intends to seek protection for with the “preferably” or “more preferably” statements. For purposes of compact prosecution, the claims will not be construed to require the “preferably” and “more preferably” limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-12 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (CN 110931863 A; as found in IDS dated 01/21/2025 and using US 2020/0227784 A1 for citation purposes).
As to Claims 1-7 and 16-17, Lin discloses a lithium-ion battery, comprising a positive electrode; a negative electrode; and a nonaqueous electrolyte. The positive electrode comprises an active material represented by formula LiNixCoyMnzL(1-x-y-z)O2 wherein L is at least one of Al, Sr, Mg, Ti, Ca, Zr, Zn, Si or Fe, 0≤x≤1, 0≤y≤1, 0≤z≤1, 0<x+y+z≤1 (paragraphs [0016-0017]). Lin discloses wherein the electrolyte comprises a solvent, LiPF6 and a compound represented by formula 2/D2 (reads on claimed formula 1) which is present in an amount of 1 wt% based on the entire electrolyte (Paragraphs [0008, 0085], Table 2, Example 2).
As to Claims 10-12, Lin discloses wherein the electrolyte comprises vinylene carbonate and/or fluoroethylene carbonate (paragraph [0011]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (CN 110931863 A; as found in IDS dated 01/21/2025 and using US 2020/0227784 A1 for citation purposes) in view of Wan et al. (CN 111755753 A; using machine translation for citation purposes).
As to Claim 8, Lin does not specifically disclose at least one of the claimed compounds.
However, Wan teaches of an electrolyte additive comprising a compound I-V (reads on claims 2-8) (Abstract).
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrolyte of Lin to comprise the claimed compounds because Wan teaches that the cost of the electrolyte can be reduced and a high purity product can be provided (paragraph [0021]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (CN 110931863 A; as found in IDS dated 01/21/2025 and using US 2020/0227784 A1 for citation purposes).
As to Claim 9, Lin teaches wherein the positive electrode comprises an active material represented by formula LiNixCoyMnzL(1-x-y-z)O2 wherein L is at least one of Al, Sr, Mg, Ti, Ca, Zr, Zn, Si or Fe, 0≤x≤1, 0≤y≤1, 0≤z≤1, 0<x+y+z≤1 (paragraphs [0016-0017]). This overlaps with the claimed materials. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the active material of Lin to read on the claims because Lin teaches that a battery with improved output performance is provided (Abstract).
Claim(s) 13-15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (CN 110931863 A; as found in IDS dated 01/21/2025 and using US 2020/0227784 A1 for citation purposes) in view of Takahashi et al. (US 2020/0335823 A1).
As to Claims 13-15, Lin does not specifically disclose the claimed aromatic additive.
However, Takahashi teaches of an electrolyte solution, comprising at least one additive, such as: difluoroanisole (encompasses the claimed difluoroanisoles), biphenyl, vinylene carbonate, fluoroethylene carbonate, maleic anhydride and/or succinic anhydride (paragraph [0100]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrolyte of Lin to comprise one of the claimed additives because Takahashi teaches that an overcharge preventing function, negative electrode coating film formation function, positive electrode coating film formation function, etc., can be provided (paragraph [0100]).
As to Claim 18, Takahashi teaches wherein the positive electrode is composed of a current collector coated with the active material (paragraphs [0131-0134]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrode of Lin to comprise a current collector because Takahashi teaches that a functioning positive electrode for a battery can be formed (paragraphs [0131-0134]).
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727