DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hebb(WO 2016179712 A1) in view of Sano(US 20170266438 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hebb discloses a method for blocking or inhibiting the growth of neoplastic cells in a target region of a living organism, said method comprising: treating said neoplastic cells in said target region with said an antitumor drug; and applying electric current waves to said target region for a predefined period of time using a device while said neoplastic cells are being treated with said antitumor drug; wherein the device includes: one or more electrodes; wherein said one or more electrodes are electrodes of the implantable type, said one or more electrodes being adapted to be implanted at or near said target region(The approach of the present invention is referred to as intratumoral modulation therapy or IMT when applied to the treatment of neoplastic disease. I MT is novel in the management of tumors, including tumors of the nervous and somatic system tissues. The present invention may also be used to prevent tumors from forming or recurring(see attached copy, page 11, paragraph 5). In another embodiment the present invention is a method for the treatment of a tumor or cancer in a patient including: (a) implanting at least one electrode adjacent to or within a tumor or a site of the patient suspected of having tumor or cancer cells, the at least one electrode having electrical leads connected thereto; (b) generating continuous alternating or pulsed electric stimulation and applying the electric stimulation through the electrical leads to the at least one electrode adjacent to or within the tumor or the site; and (c) during electric stimulation, treating the patient with a therapeutic agent, radiation, or both the therapeutic agent and radiation, wherein a synergistic effect on the tumor treatment of the combination of the electric stimulation and the therapeutic agent, radiation or both the therapeutic agent and radiation is substantially greater than the effect of each the electric stimulation, therapeutic agent, radiation, or both the therapeutic agent and radiation taken alone(see attached copy, page 7, paragraph 2). Hebb fails to disclose “said electric current waves having a waveform with a fundamental frequency of about 4 MHz distorted by the presence of at least second and third order harmonics; and at least one radiofrequency circuit connected to said one or more electrodes, said at least one radiofrequency circuit being adapted to supply each of said one or more electrodes with one of the current waves having the fundamental frequency of about 4 MHz distorted by the presence of at least second and third order harmonics”.
However, Sano discloses “The electric field waveform may have a carrier frequency in the range of 100 kHz to 10 MHz. The carrier frequency or pulse duration of the waveforms may be based on the cross-over frequency of the cancer cells, undesired cells, or otherwise referred to as the target cells[0024]. Embodiments of the invention include a system for treating a cancer in a subject, comprising at least one electrode, and a voltage pulse generator operatively coupled to the electrode and configured to apply a pulse train comprising a plurality of electrical pulses, wherein the pulse train has an electric field waveform which is a superimposed, bimodal signal comprising a low frequency harmonic and a high frequency harmonic[0029]. FIG. 5D is a graph showing a bimodal sinusoidal signal comprising the low frequency harmonic of FIG. 5B and a high frequency harmonic of FIG. 5C.[0048]”. A harmonic is an AC circuit is an unwanted higher frequency waveform which are superimposed in the fundamental waveform creating a distorted waveform pattern. The presence of harmonics on the fundamental (or 1st) carrier frequency of Sano will innately distort the signal. Figs. 5B-5G show the effects of different order harmonics on the sinusoidal wave of the electric signal.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the modulation therapy method of Hebb with the harmonics of the electrical treatment of tumor cells of Sano. Doing so would specify the frequency waveform modulation that is transmitted to the electrodes during device use.
Regarding claim 2, Hebb in view of Sano teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein said waveform is a sinusoidal waveform(Electrodes are composed of clinical grade platinum or platinum/iridium alloy, with square or sinusoidal waves produced by a waveform generator and delivered continuously(see attached copy, page 15, paragraph 2)).
Regarding claim 3, Hebb in view of Sano teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein said antitumor drug comprises temozolomide(In another embodiment of the second and third embodiments, the method further comprises treating the patient with a therapeutic agent (including chemotherapeutics) and/or radiation. In one aspect of this embodiment, the therapeutic agent is temozolomide(see attached copy, page 5, paragraph 5)).
Regarding claim 4, Hebb in view of Sano teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein said neoplastic cells comprise glioblastoma cells and said target region comprises the central nervous system(In another embodiment of the present invention the tumor or tumor cell is a glial or non-glial tumor cell affecting the nervous or a somatic tumor cell(see attached copy, page 7, paragraph 2). An implantable device to deliver electrical stimulation, including alternating current, within tumor-affected brain regions may exploit the known electrosensitivity of GBM cells while providing targeted, sustained and titratable therapy for the subject patient. Adverse neurological effects may be avoided by focusing the treatment on tumor and tumor-affected regions of the nervous system that are inherently pathological (central nervous system or peripheral nervous system)(see attached copy, page 11, paragraph 5)).
Regarding claim 6, Hebb discloses a method for blocking or inhibiting the growth of neoplastic cells in a target region of a living organism, said method comprising: treating said neoplastic cells in said target region with an antitumor drug; and applying electric current waves to said target region for a predefined period of time using a device after treating said neoplastic cells with said antitumor drug, wherein the device includes: one or more electrodes; wherein said one or more electrodes are electrodes of the implantable type, said one or more electrodes being adapted to be implanted at or near said target region(The approach of the present invention is referred to as intratumoral modulation therapy or IMT when applied to the treatment of neoplastic disease. I MT is novel in the management of tumors, including tumors of the nervous and somatic system tissues. The present invention may also be used to prevent tumors from forming or recurring(see attached copy, page 11, paragraph 5). In another embodiment the present invention is a method for the treatment of a tumor or cancer in a patient including: (a) implanting at least one electrode adjacent to or within a tumor or a site of the patient suspected of having tumor or cancer cells, the at least one electrode having electrical leads connected thereto; (b) generating continuous alternating or pulsed electric stimulation and applying the electric stimulation through the electrical leads to the at least one electrode adjacent to or within the tumor or the site; and (c) during electric stimulation, treating the patient with a therapeutic agent, radiation, or both the therapeutic agent and radiation, wherein a synergistic effect on the tumor treatment of the combination of the electric stimulation and the therapeutic agent, radiation or both the therapeutic agent and radiation is substantially greater than the effect of each the electric stimulation, therapeutic agent, radiation, or both the therapeutic agent and radiation taken alone(see attached copy, page 7, paragraph 2). Hebb fails to disclose “said electric current waves having a waveform with a fundamental frequency of about 4 MHz distorted by the presence of at least second and third order harmonics, and at least one radiofrequency circuit connected to said one or more electrodes, said at least one radiofrequency circuit being adapted to supply each of said one or more electrodes with one of the current waves having the fundamental frequency of about 4 MHz distorted by the presence of at least second and third order harmonics”.
However, Sano discloses “The electric field waveform may have a carrier frequency in the range of 100 kHz to 10 MHz. The carrier frequency or pulse duration of the waveforms may be based on the cross-over frequency of the cancer cells, undesired cells, or otherwise referred to as the target cells[0024]. Embodiments of the invention include a system for treating a cancer in a subject, comprising at least one electrode, and a voltage pulse generator operatively coupled to the electrode and configured to apply a pulse train comprising a plurality of electrical pulses, wherein the pulse train has an electric field waveform which is a superimposed, bimodal signal comprising a low frequency harmonic and a high frequency harmonic[0029]. FIG. 5D is a graph showing a bimodal sinusoidal signal comprising the low frequency harmonic of FIG. 5B and a high frequency harmonic of FIG. 5C.[0048]”. A harmonic is an AC circuit is an unwanted higher frequency waveform which are superimposed in the fundamental waveform creating a distorted waveform pattern. The presence of harmonics on the fundamental (or 1st) carrier frequency of Sano will innately distort the signal. Figs. 5B-5G show the effects of different order harmonics on the sinusoidal wave of the electric signal.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the modulation therapy method of Hebb with the harmonics of the electrical treatment of tumor cells of Sano. Doing so would specify the frequency waveform modulation that is transmitted to the electrodes during device use.
Regarding claim 7, Hebb discloses a device configured to block or inhibit the growth of neoplastic cells in a target region of a living organism, said device comprising: one or more electrodes, wherein said one or more electrodes are electrodes of the implantable type, said one or more electrodes being adapted to be implanted at or near said target region(The approach of the present invention is referred to as intratumoral modulation therapy or IMT when applied to the treatment of neoplastic disease. I MT is novel in the management of tumors, including tumors of the nervous and somatic system tissues. The present invention may also be used to prevent tumors from forming or recurring(see attached copy, page 11, paragraph 5). In another embodiment the present invention is a method for the treatment of a tumor or cancer in a patient including: (a) implanting at least one electrode adjacent to or within a tumor or a site of the patient suspected of having tumor or cancer cells, the at least one electrode having electrical leads connected thereto; (b) generating continuous alternating or pulsed electric stimulation and applying the electric stimulation through the electrical leads to the at least one electrode adjacent to or within the tumor or the site; and (c) during electric stimulation, treating the patient with a therapeutic agent, radiation, or both the therapeutic agent and radiation, wherein a synergistic effect on the tumor treatment of the combination of the electric stimulation and the therapeutic agent, radiation or both the therapeutic agent and radiation is substantially greater than the effect of each the electric stimulation, therapeutic agent, radiation, or both the therapeutic agent and radiation taken alone(see attached copy, page 7, paragraph 2). The method according to any one of claims 1 -16, wherein prior to step (a) the method comprises providing a device, the device including the at least one electrode to deliver the electric stimulus and one or more reference electrodes that are implanted in proximity to the at least one electrode that delivers the electric stimulus(see attached copy, page 25, claim 17)). Hebb fails to disclose “said device being configured to generate electric current waves having a waveform with a fundamental frequency of about 4 MHz distorted by the presence of at least second and third order harmonics, and at least one radiofrequency circuit connected to said one or more electrodes, said at least one radiofrequency circuit being adapted to supply each of said one or more electrodes with a current wave having a fundamental frequency of about 4 MHz distorted by the presence of at least second and third order harmonics”.
However, Sano discloses “The electric field waveform may have a carrier frequency in the range of 100 kHz to 10 MHz. The carrier frequency or pulse duration of the waveforms may be based on the cross-over frequency of the cancer cells, undesired cells, or otherwise referred to as the target cells[0024]. Embodiments of the invention include a system for treating a cancer in a subject, comprising at least one electrode, and a voltage pulse generator operatively coupled to the electrode and configured to apply a pulse train comprising a plurality of electrical pulses, wherein the pulse train has an electric field waveform which is a superimposed, bimodal signal comprising a low frequency harmonic and a high frequency harmonic[0029]. FIG. 5D is a graph showing a bimodal sinusoidal signal comprising the low frequency harmonic of FIG. 5B and a high frequency harmonic of FIG. 5C.[0048]”. A harmonic is an AC circuit is an unwanted higher frequency waveform which are superimposed in the fundamental waveform creating a distorted waveform pattern. The presence of harmonics on the fundamental (or 1st) carrier frequency of Sano will innately distort the signal. Figs. 5B-5G show the effects of different order harmonics on the sinusoidal wave of the electric signal.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the modulation therapy method of Hebb with the harmonics of the electrical treatment of tumor cells of Sano. Doing so would specify the frequency waveform modulation that is transmitted to the electrodes during device use.
Regarding claim 8, Hebb in view of Sano teaches the device according to claim 7, wherein said waveform is a sinusoidal waveform(Electrodes are composed of clinical grade platinum or platinum/iridium alloy, with square or sinusoidal waves produced by a waveform generator and delivered continuously(see attached copy, page 15, paragraph 2)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 8/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 and 6-8 under Pozzato(US 8457751 B2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sano(US 20170266438 A1). Sano is analogous art to both Hebb and the application as all disclose a device or system to treat tumors with electrical therapy. Sano cures the deficiencies of Hebb by disclosing the frequency supplied to the electrodes being between 100KHz and 10 MHz and the presence of harmonics in the system affecting the frequency waveform[Fig. 5B-5G], [0152], [0132], and [0024]. Therefore, Hebb in combination with Sano teaches all the claimed material and 103 rejections for all claims stand.
Conclusion
/MARIA CATHERINE ANTHONY/Examiner, Art Unit 3796 /TAMMIE K MARLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796