DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7-15, 18 and 20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, 5, 7-15, 18 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7, 13, 14, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US Publication 2005/0134723 (hereafter “Lee”) and Aggarwal et al. US Publication 2015/0338307 (hereafter “Aggarwal”).
Referring to claim 1, Lee discloses a color correction device, configured to perform color correction on an external flash, comprising:
an illumination information acquisition circuit configured to acquire illumination information of the external flash, wherein the illumination information comprises one or more of brightness, chroma, and saturation of light emitted by the external flash (paragraph 23, In yet another operating mode 50 of the embodiments of the present invention (shown in FIG. 6B), the light module 14 is activated prior to image acquisitions so that the series of emitters provides the flash light LF to the subject 13 of an image (step 52). This pre-flash of the light module 14 is sufficiently long for the color detector 20 to sense the spectral content of the combination of the ambient light LA and flash light LF provided by light module 14 (step 54));
a color correction processing circuit electrically connected to the illumination information acquisition circuit, so as to be configured to perform color correction processing according to the illumination information and generate color correction result information (paragraph 23, The spectral content of the flash light LF provided by the light module 14 is then adjusted according to the control signal 17 that is communicated to the driver 16 to form an automatic or semi-automatic color-control feedback system (step 56). In this example, the driver 16 adjusts the drive signals SR, SG, SB to the emitters R1-RL, G1-GM, B1-BN in the light module 14 to achieve a target spectral content or color temperature of the combined ambient light LA and supplemental flash light LF); and
a communication circuit configured to communicate with the external flash, the communication circuit being electrically connected to the color correction processing circuit, so as to receive the color correction result information and send the color correction result information to the external flash (paragraph 18, The embodiment of the present invention shown in FIG. 4 is directed toward the light module 14 housed separately from the camera 12 and for use in connection with the camera 12. In this embodiment, the driver 16 (not shown) is integrated into the light module 14 or the camera 12, or the driver 16 is separate from the camera 12 and the light module 14), so that the external flash corrects illumination according to the color correction result information to match actual illumination parameters of the external flash corresponding to the illumination information with set illumination parameters (paragraph 23, The spectral content of the flash light LF provided by the light module 14 is then adjusted according to the control signal 17 that is communicated to the driver 16 to form an automatic or semi-automatic color-control feedback system (step 56). In this example, the driver 16 adjusts the drive signals SR, SG, SB to the emitters R1-RL, G1-GM, B1-BN in the light module 14 to achieve a target spectral content or color temperature of the combined ambient light LA and supplemental flash light LF);
wherein an acquisition window is provided on a housing of the color correction device, and the acquisition window is configured to face an illumination surface of the external flash to make the illumination information acquisition circuit acquire the illumination information of the external flash (paragraph 21, In another example, where the camera 12 is a digital camera, the sensor 22 is used instead of the external color detector 20 shown to sense the spectral content or color temperature of the ambient light LA (step 42)) (paragraph 11, In one example, the camera 12 is a digital camera that includes an array of sensors 22 positioned behind a lens or other focusing element 15).
Lee does not disclose expressly wherein a position of the acquisition window is directly opposite to a position of the illumination information acquisition circuit.
Aggarwal discloses wherein a position of the acquisition window is directly opposite (paragraph 42, FIG. 1 depicts camera 122 as rear-facing) to a position of the illumination information acquisition circuit (paragraph 42, Once the generated optical image depicting spectral characteristics of the light entering the optical accessory 100 is captured by the camera 122, the captured image is processed, for example, by circuitry and/or programming of the mobile device 120).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to position the acquisition window directly opposite to a position of the illumination information acquisition circuit. The motivation for doing so would have been to incorporate the flash correction of Lee into a low-cost smartphone that uses a rear facing camera to obtain image data. Furthermore, the particular placement of the acquisition window in relation to the illumination information acquisition is a matter of design choice. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Aggarwal with Lee to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Referring to claims 5 and 18, Lee discloses wherein the color correction device further comprises a timing control circuit, and the timing control circuit is electrically connected to the illumination information acquisition circuit and is connected to the external flash by the communication circuit; and
wherein the timing control circuit is configured to control the external flash to emit light at a preset timing and control the illumination information acquisition circuit to acquire the illumination information at the preset timing (paragraph 25, While the amplitudes of each of the drive signals SR, SG, SB determine the relative color contributions of the particular color emitters to the flash light LF provided by the light module 14, a pulse of predesignated duration or width determines the time interval during which the emitters are activated. The activation of the emitters to provide flash light LF is initiated by a trigger TRIG provided to the driver 16 from the camera 12).
Referring to claims 7 and 20, Lee discloses wherein the external flash comprises a plurality of LED light sources (paragraph 13, In one embodiment, the emitters of the light module 14 are solid state light sources such as laser diodes or LEDs (light emitting diodes)), wherein the illumination information comprises one or more of brightness, chroma and saturation of each LED light source of the plurality of LED light sources (paragraph 23, The spectral content of the flash light LF provided by the light module 14 is then adjusted according to the control signal 17 that is communicated to the driver 16 to form an automatic or semi-automatic color-control feedback system (step 56). In this example, the driver 16 adjusts the drive signals SR, SG, SB to the emitters R1-RL, G1-GM, B1-BN in the light module 14 to achieve a target spectral content or color temperature of the combined ambient light LA and supplemental flash light LF).
Referring to claim 13, Lee discloses wherein the color correction device is a handheld device (paragraph 18, the light module 14 and driver 16 are integrated into a conventional camera 12).
Referring to claim 14, Lee discloses a color correction system comprising an external flash and a color correction device,
wherein the color correction device, configured to perform color correction on an external flash, comprising:
an illumination information acquisition circuit configured to acquire illumination information of the external flash, wherein the illumination information comprises one or more of brightness, chroma, and saturation of light emitted by the external flash (paragraph 23, In yet another operating mode 50 of the embodiments of the present invention (shown in FIG. 6B), the light module 14 is activated prior to image acquisitions so that the series of emitters provides the flash light LF to the subject 13 of an image (step 52). This pre-flash of the light module 14 is sufficiently long for the color detector 20 to sense the spectral content of the combination of the ambient light LA and flash light LF provided by light module 14 (step 54));
a color correction processing circuit electrically connected to the illumination information acquisition circuit, so as to be configured to perform color correction processing according to the illumination information and generate color correction result information (paragraph 23, The spectral content of the flash light LF provided by the light module 14 is then adjusted according to the control signal 17 that is communicated to the driver 16 to form an automatic or semi-automatic color-control feedback system (step 56). In this example, the driver 16 adjusts the drive signals SR, SG, SB to the emitters R1-RL, G1-GM, B1-BN in the light module 14 to achieve a target spectral content or color temperature of the combined ambient light LA and supplemental flash light LF); and
a communication circuit configured to communicate with the external flash, the communication circuit being electrically connected to the color correction processing circuit, so as to receive the color correction result information and send the color correction result information to the external flash, so that the external flash corrects illumination according to the color correction result information (paragraph 18, The embodiment of the present invention shown in FIG. 4 is directed toward the light module 14 housed separately from the camera 12 and for use in connection with the camera 12. In this embodiment, the driver 16 (not shown) is integrated into the light module 14 or the camera 12, or the driver 16 is separate from the camera 12 and the light module 14) to match actual illumination parameters of the external flash corresponding to the illumination information with set illumination parameters (paragraph 23, The spectral content of the flash light LF provided by the light module 14 is then adjusted according to the control signal 17 that is communicated to the driver 16 to form an automatic or semi-automatic color-control feedback system (step 56). In this example, the driver 16 adjusts the drive signals SR, SG, SB to the emitters R1-RL, G1-GM, B1-BN in the light module 14 to achieve a target spectral content or color temperature of the combined ambient light LA and supplemental flash light LF);
wherein an acquisition window is provided on a housing of the color correction device, and the acquisition window is configured to face an illumination surface of the external flash to make the illumination information acquisition circuit acquire the illumination information of the external flash (paragraph 21, In another example, where the camera 12 is a digital camera, the sensor 22 is used instead of the external color detector 20 shown to sense the spectral content or color temperature of the ambient light LA (step 42)) (paragraph 11, In one example, the camera 12 is a digital camera that includes an array of sensors 22 positioned behind a lens or other focusing element 15).
Lee does not disclose expressly wherein a position of the acquisition window is directly opposite to a position of the illumination information acquisition circuit.
Aggarwal discloses wherein a position of the acquisition window is directly opposite (paragraph 42, FIG. 1 depicts camera 122 as rear-facing) to a position of the illumination information acquisition circuit (paragraph 42, Once the generated optical image depicting spectral characteristics of the light entering the optical accessory 100 is captured by the camera 122, the captured image is processed, for example, by circuitry and/or programming of the mobile device 120).
Before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to position the acquisition window directly opposite to a position of the illumination information acquisition circuit. The motivation for doing so would have been to incorporate the flash correction of Lee into a low-cost smartphone that uses a rear facing camera to obtain image data. Furthermore, the particular placement of the acquisition window in relation to the illumination information acquisition is a matter of design choice. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Aggarwal with Lee to obtain the invention as specified in claim 14.
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US Publication 2005/0134723 and Aggarwal et al. US Publication 2015/0338307 as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Minakuti et al. US Publication 2003/0076424 (hereafter “Minakuti”).
Referring to claims 2 and 15, Lee discloses receiving the color correction result information and transmitting the color correction result information to the external flash, but does not disclose expressly wherein the communication circuit comprises a wireless communication circuit.
Minakuti discloses wherein the communication circuit comprises a wireless communication circuit, and the wireless communication circuit is electrically connected to the color correction processing circuit, so as to receive the color correction result information and transmit the color correction result information to the external flash through wireless transmission (paragraph 57, Above the lens mount portion Mt, a radio communications interface (hereinafter, referred to as "radio I/F") 157 conformed with the Bluetooth (R) standard is provided. By the radio I/F 157, information such as color component values detected by the colorimeter 2 can be obtained from the colorimeter).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a wireless communication circuit to transmit information to an external flash. The motivation for doing so would have been to eliminate the need to physically connect the camera and flash and thereby increase the flexibility of arranging the devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Minakuti with Lee to obtain the invention as specified in claims 2 and 15.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US Publication 2005/0134723 and Aggarwal et al. US Publication 2015/0338307 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Beecroft et al. US Publication 2005/0229698 (hereafter “Beecroft”).
Referring to claim 8, Lee discloses wherein the color correction device comprises a main body and a light pick-up portion, and the illumination information acquisition circuit is located in the light pick-up portion (paragraph 23, In yet another operating mode 50 of the embodiments of the present invention (shown in FIG. 6B), the light module 14 is activated prior to image acquisitions so that the series of emitters provides the flash light LF to the subject 13 of an image (step 52). This pre-flash of the light module 14 is sufficiently long for the color detector 20 to sense the spectral content of the combination of the ambient light LA and flash light LF provided by light module 14 (step 54)).
Lee does not disclose expressly that light pick-up portion protrudes from one side of the main body.
Beecroft discloses wherein the color correction device comprises a main body and a light pick-up portion protruding from one side of the main body (paragraph 31, The SOC410 of FIG. 1 is comprised of two modular pieces, the measurement head 1, 2 and the command module 3, 4, 5, 6).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a light pick-up portion protruding from one side of the main body. The motivation for doing so would have been to use different light pick-up portions attachable to the main body because this would allow for measurement of different types of illumination for adaptability to different scenes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Beecroft with Lee to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Referring to claim 9, Beecroft discloses wherein the main body is detachably connected to the light pick-up portion (paragraph 31, The SOC410 of FIG. 1 is comprised of two modular pieces, the measurement head 1, 2 and the command module 3, 4, 5, 6).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US Publication 2005/013472, Aggarwal et al. US Publication 2015/0338307, and Beecroft et al. US Publication 2005/0229698 as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. US Publication 2017/0202075 (hereafter “Zhou”).
Referring to claim 10, Lee discloses wherein the color correction device further comprises a human-computer interaction assembly, and the human-computer interaction assembly is provided on the main body (paragraph 18, FIG. 3 shows an embodiment of the imaging system 10 wherein the elements are integrated into a mobile phone [FIG. 3 shows keys]), but does not disclose expressly
the human-computer interaction assembly used for receiving a color correction instruction, receiving a color correction setting parameter, or switching color correction modes.
Zhou wherein the human-computer interaction assembly is electrically connected to the illumination information acquisition circuit and the color correction processing circuit, and the human-computer interaction assembly is used for one or more of receiving a color correction instruction, receiving a color correction setting parameter, and switching color correction modes (paragraph 59, The detected region determining information may be, but not limited to, a detected region selecting instruction input by a user. For example, a user selects at least a part of regions from the photograph framing image and uses the region selected by the user as the detected region).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a human-computer interaction assembly. The motivation for doing so would have been to make it convenient for a user to select, according to actual needs, which regions in the photograph framing image need adjustment, so as to cause determining of whether illumination control needs to be performed on the to-be-adjusted region to match a user requirement better, thereby helping to satisfy various user requirements and improve user's experience. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou with Lee and Beecroft to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Referring to claim 11, Lee discloses wherein the human- computer interaction assembly comprises one or more of a key reception assembly, a voice input assembly, a touch input assembly, and a gesture control assembly (paragraph 18, FIG. 3 shows an embodiment of the imaging system 10 wherein the elements are integrated into a mobile phone [FIG. 3 shows keys]).
Referring to claim 12, Lee discloses wherein the color correction device further comprises a display screen, and the display screen is provided on the main body (paragraph 18, FIG. 3 shows an embodiment of the imaging system 10 wherein the elements are integrated into a mobile phone [FIG. 3 shows a display]).
Lee does not disclose expressly wherein a displayed content of the color correction control interface includes one or more of color correction start-stop information, color correction parameter setting information, and color correction mode switching information.
Zhou discloses wherein the display screen is configured to display a color correction control interface, and wherein a displayed content of the color correction control interface includes one or more of color correction start-stop information, color correction parameter setting information, and color correction mode switching information (paragraph 59, The detected region determining information may be, but not limited to, a detected region selecting instruction input by a user. For example, a user selects at least a part of regions from the photograph framing image and uses the region selected by the user as the detected region).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to receive a user instruction for color correction control. The motivation for doing so would have been to make it convenient for a user to select, according to actual needs, which regions in the photograph framing image need adjustment, so as to cause determining of whether illumination control needs to be performed on the to-be-adjusted region to match a user requirement better, thereby helping to satisfy various user requirements and improve user's experience. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhou with Lee and Beecroft to obtain the invention as specified in claim 12.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER K HUNTSINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682