DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-10, 12-18, 20 and 22 in the reply filed on 3/30/26 is acknowledged.
Claim 23 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/30/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 12-18, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-10, 12-18, 20 and 22, in claim 1, the recitation in the last paragraph “generating the fluoride salt, Clean Fuel Gas and Char source that are substantially-free of PFAS byproducts and halogenated organic compounds and do not include tars and/or oils” is overall narrative and imprecise and needs clarity:
Recitation “generating the fluoride salt, Clean Fuel Gas and Char source” lumps three separate limitations into one and is confusing. Examiner suggests reciting “generating the fluoride salt, the Clean Fuel Gas and a Char source” because Char source is first recited here, whereas the previous line provides antecedent basis for Clean Fuel Gas.
Recitation “that are substantially-free of PFAS byproducts and halogenated organic compounds and do not include tars and/or oils” is unclear whether all or some of these compounds are free, additionally the dash in “substantially-free” is unclear; examiner suggests reciting “that are each substantially free of PFAS byproducts and halogenated organic compounds and do not include tars and/or oils” for clarity.
Regarding claim 2, the recitation “10% fluorine content” lacks units and therefore is unclear.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "other surface repellant products for fabrics" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "other"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 4, the phrase "other recoverable products" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "other"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 13, the phrase "other halogenated organics" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "other"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 15, the phrase "other fluorinated compounds" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "other"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 16, “the Clean Fuel Gas source” disagrees with claim 1 recitation “the Clean Fuel Gas”.
Regarding claim 17, “the methods” has unclear antecedent basis, and “the method” would be given proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 17, “the Clean Fuel Gas and Char source” should be amended to agree with claim 1, i.e. “the Clean Fuel Gas and the Char source”.
Regarding claim 18, “the methods” has unclear antecedent basis, and “the method” would be given proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 20, “the fuel gas source” disagrees with claim 1 recitation “the Clean Fuel Gas”.
Regarding claim 20, the phrase "an alternative application of use" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by " an alternative application of use"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandhorst, Jr et al (US 2018/0072955) taken in combination with Strathmann et al (US 2020/0155885).
Regarding Claim 1, Brandhorst discloses a method for safely processing and/or recycling waste sources including polymeric material and toxic halogenated hydrocarbon compounds comprising: inputting the waste sources into a thermolysis system comprising at least: one reactor for a multicomponent and multistep energy-assisted chemical reaction (see [0012, 0013]); undergoing a depolymerization and a cracking reaction of hydrocarbons in the waste source which appears to break or cleave C-C bonds and C-H bonds in the waste sources and provide an excess hydrogen to destroy and/or remove toxic compounds present in the waste sources (see [0012, 0013, 0047, and 0108); and forming gas and processing the gas through at least one gas/aqueous scrubber to form a Clean Fuel Gas, wherein the gas is neutralized to form salts [see [0012, 0013, 0108- 0112); and generating the salts, Clean Fuel Gas and Char source that are substantially-free of and halogenated organic compounds and do not include tars and/or oils [0012, 0013, 0108-0112].
However, Brandhorst fails to explicitly disclose a method for safely processing and/or recycling PFAS materials and/or PFAS containing waste sources comprising: inputting a PFAS material and/or PFAS containing waste sources into a thermolysis system comprising at least: one reactor for a multicomponent and multistep energy-assisted chemical reaction to defluorinate PFAS compounds in the PFAS material and/or PFAS containing waste source; undergoing a depolymerization and a cracking reaction of hydrocarbons in the waste source to cleave C-C bonds and C-H bonds in the PFAS materials and/or PFAS containing waste sources to provide an excess hydrogen to cleave C-F bonds and destroy and/or remove toxic compounds present in the PFAS materials and/or PFAS containing waste sources; and forming HF gas and processing the HF gas through at least one gas/aqueous scrubber to form a Clean Fuel Gas, wherein the HF gas is neutralized to form fluoride salts; and generating the fluoride salts, Clean Fuel Gas and Char source that are substantially-free of PFAS byproducts and halogenated organic compounds and do not include tars and/or oils.
Strathmann teaches to treat waste substances comprising PFAS in a hydrothermal reactor to destroy, defluorinate, and mineralize the PFAS which appears to be capable of forming the recited HF gas and fluoride salts, and produce liquid and gaseous fuel products [see [0010, 0012, and 0078).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention at the time of the invention to modify Brandhorst with the PFAS teaching of Strathmann, since where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable method for safely processing and/or recycling PFAS materials and/or PFAS containing waste sources comprising: inputting a PFAS material and/or PFAS containing waste sources into a thermolysis system comprising at least: one reactor for a multicomponent and multistep energy-assisted chemical reaction to defluorinate PFAS compounds in the PFAS material and/or PFAS containing waste source: undergoing a depolymerization and a cracking reaction of hydrocarbons in the waste source to cleave C-C bonds and C-H bonds in the PFAS materials and/or PFAS containing waste sources to provide an excess hydrogen to cleave C-F bonds and destroy and/or remove toxic compounds present in the PFAS materials and/or PFAS containing waste sources; and forming HF gas and processing the HF gas through at least one gas/aqueous scrubber to form a Clean Fuel Gas, wherein the HF gas is neutralized to form fluoride salts; and generating the fluoride salts, Clean Fuel Gas and Char source that are substantially-free of PFAS byproducts and halogenated organic compounds and do not include tars and/or oils involves only routine skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, for the purpose of inputting a PFAS material and/or PFAS containing waste sources into the thermolysis system, and thereby destroying, defluorinating, and mineralizing the PFAS waste source, and prnd11r.e liquid and gaseous fuel products (Strathmann [0010, 0012, and 0078]).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Brandhorst discloses the method of claim 1. However Brandhorst fails to explicitly disclose the method, wherein the PFAS material has less that about 10 wt% fluorine content when inputted into the thermolysis system.
Strathmann teaches to treat waste substances comprising PFAS in a hydrothermal reactor to destroy, defluorinate, and mineralize the PFAS, which appears to be capable of having less that about 10 wt% fluorine content when inputted into a thermolysis system, and produce liquid and gaseous fuel products [see [0010, 0012, and 0078].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention at the time of the invention to modify Brandhorst with the PFAS teaching of Strathmann, since where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable method, wherein the PFAS material has less that about 10 wt. % fluorine content when inputted into the thermolysis system involves only routine skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, for the purpose of inputting a desired PFAS material into the thermolysis system, and thereby destroying, defluorinating, and mineralizing the PFAS material, and produce liquid and gaseous fuel products (Strathmann [0010, 0012, and 0078]).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Brandhorst discloses the method of claim 1. However, Brandhorst fails to explicitly disclose the method, wherein the PFAS-containing waste source is a plastic, foam, liquid crystals chemical crop protectant. h1hricant, stain-resistant product, waterproof product, other surface repellant products for fabrics, carpets, leather, paints, cleaning products, food packaging and/or nonstick product.
Strathmann teaches to treat waste substances including foam comprising PFAS in a hydrothermal reactor to destroy, defluorinate, and mineralize the PFAS, and produce liquid and gaseous fuel products (see [0004, 0010, 0012, and 0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention at the time of the invention to modify Brandhorst with the PFAS teaching of Strathmann, for the purpose of inputting a PFAS foam waste source into the thermolysis system, and thereby destroying, defluorinating, and mineralizing the PFAS foam, and produce liquid and gaseous fuel products [Strathmann [0010, 0012, and 0078]).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Brandhorst discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising an initial step of shredding the waste source to provide a substantially uniform waste source (see [0014, and 0094]).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Brandhorst discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the waste source has an average diameter of less than about 2 inches before it is inputted into the thermolysis system [see [0014, and 0094]).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Brandhorst discloses the method of claim 1, comprising adding a hydrogen source into the reactor where the depolymerization and a cracking reaction occurs to drive the reaction, (since the polypropylene in the waste sources disclosed in Brandhorst is an olefin which would appear to provide a hydrogen source to the thermolysis reactor see [0012, 0013, 0047, 0049, and 0083]).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Brandhorst discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the hydrogen source is an olefin polymer, or an organic source, (since the polypropylene in the waste sources disclosed in Brandhorst is an olefin which would appear to provide a hydrogen source to the thermolysis reactor see [0012, 0013, 0047, 0049, and 0083]).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Brandhorst discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the thermolysis system comprises at least one reactor with a process temperature of from about 400 C-800 C for the PFAS material and/or PFAS containing waste source to undergo at least partial gasification (see [0099]).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Brandhorst discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the thermolysis system provide indirect heat in a system that is free of oxygen and a pressure range from about 10 to about 100 millibar (see [0099-0100]).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Brandhorst discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the steps of undergoing depolymerization and cracking reaction of hydrocarbons in the waste source further cleaves additional hydrogen-halogen bonds (since the depolymerization and cracking in the thermolysis reactor disclosed in Brandhorst would appear to cleave bonds hydrogen-halogen bonds in chlorinated-brominated components, see [0017, and 0108]).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Brandhorst discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the toxic compounds destroyed and/or removed comprise polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs), halogenated dibenzodioxins, halogenated dibenzofurans, biphenyls, and/or pyrenes, or other halogenated organics. and wherein the salts, Clean Fuel Gas and Char source generated appear to contain less than about 10 ppb of the halogenated organic compounds (see [0012, 0013, 0017, 0032, and 0111]).
Brandhorst fails to explicitly disclose the method, wherein the toxic compounds destroyed and/or removed comprise PFAS byproducts, and wherein the fluorinated salts, Clean Fuel Gas and Char snurr.P. generated contain less than about 10 ppb of the halogenated organic compounds
Strathmann teaches to treat waste substances comprising PFAS in a hydrothermal reactor to destroy, defluorinate, and mineralize the PFAS, which appears to be capable of forming the recited fluorinated sails, and produce liquid and gaseous fuel products (see [0010, 0012, and 0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention at the time the invention was made to modify Brandhorst in view of the PFAS teaching of Strathmann, since where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable method, wherein the fluorinated salts, Clean Fuel Gas and Char source generated contain less than about 10 ppb of the halogenated organic compounds involves only routine skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, for the purpose of treating PFAS byproducts and toxic compounds; in the thermolysis reactor, and thereby destroying, defluorinating, and mineralizing the PFAS waste byproducts and toxic compounds, and producing desired liquid and gaseous fuel products (Brandhorst [0012, 0013, 0017, 0032, and 0111], and Strathmann [0010, 0012, and 0078]).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Brandhorst discloses the method of claim 1, however Brandhorst fails to explicitly disclose the method, wherein the HF gas is neutralized with a mineral basic component.
Strathmann teaches to treat waste substances comprising PFAS in a hydrothermal reactor to destroy, defluorinate, and mineralize the PFAS, and produce liquid and gaseous fuel products (see [0010, 0012, and 0078]).
Therefore, the treatment of the PFAS disclosed in Strathmann in the thermolysis reactor disclosed in Brandhorst would appear to produce the recited HF gc1s which would be neutralized with the alkaline gas scrubbing stage (see Brandhorst [0012, 0013, 0110, and 0111], and Strathmann [0010, 0012, and 0078]) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention at the time of the invention to modify Brandhorst with the teaching of Strathmann, since where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable method, wherein the HF gas Is neutralized with a mineral basic component involves only routine skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, for the purpose of neutralizing HF gas with a mineral basic component in the method, and thereby forming a desired salt in a scrubber (Brandhorst [0012, 0013, 0110, and 0111], and Strathmann [0010, 0012, and 0078]).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Brandhorst discloses the method of claim 1, however Brandhorst fails to explicitly disclose the method, wherein the formed fluoride salts can be used for synthesis of other fluorinated compounds.
Strathmann teaches to treat waste substances comprising PFAS in a hydrothermal reactor to destroy, defluonnate, and mineralize the PFAS, which appears to be capable of forming the recited fluorinated or fluoride salts, and produce liquid and gaseous fuel products [see l"'aras. 0010, 0012, and 0078].
Therefore, the treatment of the PFAS disclosed in Strathmann in the thermolysis reactor and scrubber disclosed in Brandhorst would appear to produce the recited fluoride salts which can be used for synthesis of other fluorinated compounds (see Brandhorst [0012, 0013, 0110, and 0111], and Strathmann [0010, 0012, and 0078]) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention at the time of the invention to modify Brandhorst with the teaching of Strathmann, since where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable method, wherein the formed fluoride salts can be used for synthesis of other fluorinated compounds involves only routine skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, for the purpose of forming the recited fluoride salts in the method, and thereby recovery a desired salt for further synthesis (see Brandhorst [0012, 0013, 0110, and 0111], and Strathmann [0010, 0012, and 0078]).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Brandhorst discloses the method of claim 1 and further wherein the Clean Fuel Gas source further comprise the separation of oil-soluble substances from a gas/vapor mixture following the thermolytic conversion of hydrocarbons in the PFAS material and/or waste source (see [0018]).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Brandhorst discloses the method of claim 1 and further wherein the methods do not generate any toxic halogenated organic compounds and/or PFAS byproducts in the process of converting the PFAS material and/or waste sources to the Clean Fuel Gas and Char source (see [0017]).
Regarding Claim 18 (as best interpreted), modified Brandhorst discloses the method of claim 17. However, Brandhorst fails to explicitly disclose the method, wherein the at least 99% of the PFAS compounds in the PFAS material and/or PFAS-containing waste source is destroyed and/or wherein the at least 99% destroyed PFAS compounds includes any PFAS byproducts formed during the method.
Strathmann teaches to treat waste substances comprising PFAS in a hydrothermal reactor to destroy, defluorinate, and mineralize the PFAS, which appears to be capable of destroying at least 99 wt % of the PFAS compounds, and produce liquid and gaseous fuel products (Strathmann [0010, 0012, and 0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention at the lime of the invention to modify Brandhorst with the PFAS teaching of Strathmann, since where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable method, wherein the at least 99% of the PFAS compounds in the PFAS material and/or PFAS-containing waste source is destroyed and/or wherein the at least 99% destroyed PFAS compounds includes any PFAS byproducts formed during the method involves only routine skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, for the purpose of destroying .=in effective amount of the PFAS compounds in the method, and thereby forming desired gaseous fuel products [Strathmann [0010, 0012, and 0078].
Regarding Claim 20, modified Brandhorst discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the Char and the fuel gas source are free of halogenated organic compounds, and wherein at least a portion of the fuel gas source generated is provided back to the method for indirect heat into the thermolysis system and/or converting additional PFAS material and/or waste sources to provide an energy source for such method and/or provided as a fuel source for an alternative application of use (since the fuel gas source produced in Brandhorst appears to be capable of providing indirect heat into the thermolysis system, see [0013, 0014 and 0016]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandhorst, Jr et al (US 2018/0072955) taken in combination with Strathmann et al (US 2020/0155885) as applied above and further in combination with Valdmaa et al (US 9,815,225).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Brandhorst discloses the method of claim 1, however, Brandhorst fails to explicitly disclose the method, further comprising a first step of separating metal and/or recoverable components from the waste source before inputting into the thermolysis system.
Valdmaa teaches a method to separate metals from a plastic waste prior to melting the plastic waste during thermal processing (see Fig. 1, C3:L64-67, C4:L1-26, C7:L47-61, and C8:L33-38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention at the time of the invention to modify Brandhorst with the separation teaching of Valdmaa, for the purpose of separating metals from the waste source, and thereby recovering metals from the waste source prior to thermolysis or thermal processing (see Valdmaa Fig. 1, C3:L64-67, C4:L1-26, C7:L47-61, and C8:L33-38).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandhorst, Jr et al (US 2018/0072955) taken in combination with Strathmann et al (US 2020/0155885) as applied above and further in combination with Erickson et al (US 5,531,975).
Regarding Claim 22, modified Brandhorst discloses the method of claim 1, however Brandhorst fails to explicitly disclose the method, further comprising a step of precipitating the fluoride salts from the gas/aqueous scrubber.
Erickson teaches a method to contact hydrogen fluoride vapors with a scrubber solution to form insoluble or precipitated fluoride salts in an adiabatic scrubber (Fig. 7, and C10:L40-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention at the time of the invention to modify Brandhorst with the precipitation teaching of Erickson, for the purpose of insolubilizing or precipitating fluoride salts from the scrubber in the method, and thereby recovering the fluoride salts from the scrubber solution (Erickson, Fig. 7, and C10:L40-60).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10, 12-18, 20 and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 9,816,033 in view of Strathmann et al (US 2020/0155885). The claims of the ‘033 patent are substantially overlapping with the instant claims, however are more generally directed to halogenated compounds and not specifically PFAS as claimed. Strathmann teaches to treat waste substances comprising PFAS in a hydrothermal reactor to destroy, defluorinate, and mineralize the PFAS which appears to be capable of forming the recited HF gas and fluoride salts, and produce liquid and gaseous fuel products (see [0010, 0012, and 0078]). Therefore it would have been obvious to treat PFAS substances in the method of the ‘033 patent as taught by Strathmann to treat more types of waste compounds.
Claims 1-10, 12-18, 20 and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,538,707 in view of Strathmann et al (US 2020/0155885). The claims of the ‘707 patent are substantially overlapping with the instant claims, however are more generally directed to halogenated compounds and not specifically PFAS as claimed. Strathmann teaches to treat waste substances comprising PFAS in a hydrothermal reactor to destroy, defluorinate, and mineralize the PFAS which appears to be capable of forming the recited HF gas and fluoride salts, and produce liquid and gaseous fuel products (see [0010, 0012, and 0078]). Therefore it would have been obvious to treat PFAS substances in the method of the ‘707 patent as taught by Strathmann to treat more types of waste compounds.
Claims 1-10, 12-18, 20 and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,613,704 in view of Strathmann et al (US 2020/0155885). The claims of the ‘704 patent are substantially overlapping with the instant claims, however are more generally directed to halogenated compounds and not specifically PFAS as claimed. Strathmann teaches to treat waste substances comprising PFAS in a hydrothermal reactor to destroy, defluorinate, and mineralize the PFAS which appears to be capable of forming the recited HF gas and fluoride salts, and produce liquid and gaseous fuel products (see [0010, 0012, and 0078]). Therefore it would have been obvious to treat PFAS substances in the method of the ‘704 patent as taught by Strathmann to treat more types of waste compounds.
Claims 1-10, 12-18, 20 and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 9,850,433 in view of Strathmann et al (US 2020/0155885). The claims of the ‘433 patent are substantially overlapping with the instant claims, however are more generally directed to halogenated compounds and not specifically PFAS as claimed. Strathmann teaches to treat waste substances comprising PFAS in a hydrothermal reactor to destroy, defluorinate, and mineralize the PFAS which appears to be capable of forming the recited HF gas and fluoride salts, and produce liquid and gaseous fuel products (see [0010, 0012, and 0078]). Therefore it would have been obvious to treat PFAS substances in the method of the ‘433 patent as taught by Strathmann to treat more types of waste compounds.
Claims 1-10, 12-18, 20 and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,961,461 in view of Strathmann et al (US 2020/0155885). The claims of the ‘461 patent are substantially overlapping with the instant claims, however are more generally directed to halogenated compounds and not specifically PFAS as claimed. Strathmann teaches to treat waste substances comprising PFAS in a hydrothermal reactor to destroy, defluorinate, and mineralize the PFAS which appears to be capable of forming the recited HF gas and fluoride salts, and produce liquid and gaseous fuel products (see [0010, 0012, and 0078]). Therefore it would have been obvious to treat PFAS substances in the method of the ‘461 patent as taught by Strathmann to treat more types of waste compounds.
Claims 1-10, 12-18, 20 and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,814,585 in view of Strathmann et al (US 2020/0155885). The claims of the ‘585 patent are substantially overlapping with the instant claims, however are more generally directed to halogenated compounds and not specifically PFAS as claimed. Strathmann teaches to treat waste substances comprising PFAS in a hydrothermal reactor to destroy, defluorinate, and mineralize the PFAS which appears to be capable of forming the recited HF gas and fluoride salts, and produce liquid and gaseous fuel products (see [0010, 0012, and 0078]). Therefore it would have been obvious to treat PFAS substances in the method of the ‘585 patent as taught by Strathmann to treat more types of waste compounds.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Further citations to Brandhorst are cited herein. Kaneko et al (US 6,178,899) teaches a waste treatment method.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772