Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-6, 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-13 are contain condition limitations, for example, claim 1 recites “.. if the first condition is met, acquiring…” The Examiner notes that the claimed limitation is not a positive recitation, but merely a contingent limitation. The claims should be amended such that the limitations are positively recited, for example in claim 1, “.. if the first condition is met, acquiring..” should be amended to “when the first condition is met, acquiring…”.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
Figures 1-4 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first determination module” and “first parameter acquisition module” in claim 8; “second determination module” and “second parameter acquisition module” as in claim 12; and “first parameter calculation parameter module” and “.. second parameter calculation module…” as in claim 13.
Generic Placeholder coupled with functional language
Corresponding structural support from the specification
“… first determination module…”
[0094], “…the above-mentioned modules can also be considered as functional modules realized by hardware and are used to realize the functions involved when the image stitching apparatus 70 executes the image stitching methods. For example, the control logics of various processes involved in the image stitching method are burned into field programmable gate array (FPGA) chips or complex programmable logic devices (CPLDs) in advance, and then these chips or devices execute the functions of the above-mentioned modules. The particular realization mode depends on the engineering practice.”
“… first parameter acquisition module…”
[0094]
“…second determination module…”
[0094]
“… a second parameter acquisition module …”
“… a first parameter calculation module.. “
[0094]
[0094]
“… a second parameter calculation module…”
[0094]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Wu et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0019594 A1).
As per claim 1, Wu teaches an image stitching method comprising: acquiring a current frame of first picture photographed by a first camera and a current frame of a second picture photographed by a second camera (fig. 2 el. 200 and 250; and [0017];, “… a pair of neighboring cameras can capture a series of video frames (box 210 represents the video capture area A and box 215 represents the video capture area of camera B) that overlap in area 220”), wherein an overlap exists between photographed regions in the first picture and the second picture (figs. 2 and fig. 4 and [0016-0018]); determining whether a first condition is met, the first condition comprising the relative position relationship between the first camera and the second camera remaining unchanged when a current frame and a previous frame of the pictures are photographed (fig. 3 el. 445 and [0049], “.. a determination is made as to whether a significant change in the depth of field of the camera array has occurred. Whether a change is significant may depend on the current location relative to the scene of the camera array…”) if the first condition is met, acquiring a first projection transformation parameter used when a projection transformation is performed for the previous frame of a third picture photographed by the first camera and a second projection transformation parameter used when a projection transformation is performed for the previous frame of a fourth picture photographed by the second camera (fig. 4 el. 410-445; and [0044-0048]; performing homographies on the captured images based on mapping. The Examiner notes that the limitation is a condition limitation and given their broadest reasonable interpretation. In this case, the broadest reasonable interpretation only requires the steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.),); and blending the first picture and the second picture using the first projection transformation parameter to perform a projection transform for the first picture and the second projection transformation parameter to perform a projection transformation for the second picture (fig. 4 and [0036-0038]).
As per claim 2, Wu teaches wherein determining whether a first condition is met comprises, determining whether positions of the first camera and the second camera both remain unchanged when the current frame and the previous frame of pictures are photographed (fig. 4 el. 405-445).
As per claim 8 Wu teaches an image stitching apparatus comprising: an image acquisition module ([0026], “field-programmable gate array (FPGA)) configured to acquire a current frame of a first picture photographed by a first camera and the current frame of second picture photographed by a second camera (fig.2; fig. 3 el. 302, 305, 338, fig.4 and abstract, [0012]); a first determination module ([0026]) configured to determine whether a first condition is met, the first condition referring to: a relative position relationship between the first camera and the second camera remaining unchanged when the current frame and the previous frame are photographed (fig. 4 el. 415-445; and [0045-0046], [0048-0049]); a first parameter acquisition module ([0026]) configured to acquire a first projection transformation parameter used when a projection transformation is performed for the previous frame of a third picture photographed by the first camera and second projection transformation parameter used when a projection transformation is performed for the previous frame of a fourth picture photographed by the second camera if the first condition is met (fig. 4 and [0045-0048]; performing homographies on the captured images based on mapping. The Examiner notes that the limitation is a condition limitation and given their broadest reasonable interpretation. In this case, the broadest reasonable interpretation only requires the steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. ); and an image processing module ([0026]] configured to blend the first picture and the second picture (fig. 4 el. 440), wherein the first projection transformation parameter is used to perform a projection transformation for the first picture and the second projection transformation parameter is used to perform a projection transformation to the second picture (fig. 4 el. 420-445; and [0045-0048]; “..the captured video frames are stitched together based on the calculated video mode homographies calculated at 425 and/or 435”).
As per claim 9, Wu teaches wherein the first determination module ([0026]) is configured to determine that the relative position relationship between the first camera and the second camera remains unchanged if the position of the first camera and the second camera both remain unchanged when the current frame and the previous frame of pictures are photographed (fig. 4 and [0049], “.. a determination is made as to whether a significant change in the depth of field of the camera array has occurred. Whether a change is significant may depend on the current location relative to the scene of the camera array…”).
As per claim 15, which is the corresponding image stitching apparatus with the limitations of the apparatus as recited in claim 8, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 8 also applies here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0019594 A1) and in view of Applicants Admitted Prior Art (AAPA).
As per claim 7, Wu teaches the method is executed by an edge processing device connected with both the first camera and the second camera (fig. 3 and [0031-0034]), however, Wu does not explicitly disclose the first camera and the second camera comprise cameras in a CCTV system, or cameras in a roadside parking system.
However, AAPA teaches wherein the first camera and the second camera comprise cameras in a CCTV system, or cameras in a roadside parking system (see fig. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of AAPA with Wu for the predictable results of imaging a desired location.
As per claim 14, Wu teaches wherein: the method is executed by an edge processing device connected with both the first camera and the second camera (fig. 3 and fig. 3 and [0031-0034]). Wu does not explicitly disclose the first camera and the second camera comprise cameras in a CCTV system or cameras in a roadside parking system.
However, AAPA discloses the first camera and the second camera comprise cameras in a CCTV system or cameras in a roadside parking system (figs. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of AAPA with Wu for the predictable results of imaging a desired location.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 and 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact
JESSICA PRINCE
Examiner
Art Unit 2486
/JESSICA M PRINCE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486