DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, please insert the word “a” before “combination thereof”.
In claims 11 and 15, please write out the names for 6PPD, 7PPD and TMQ.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the reinforcing filler carbon black of 20-400m2/g surface area". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the reinforcing filler silicas of 20-400m2/g surface area". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
It is noted that since claims 6-14 ultimately or directly depend from claim 5, they are rejected along with claims 5 because they incorporate all of the limitations of claims 5, including those that are indefinite.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 18/259,366 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed invention claims the product claimed by the method claims of App. No. ‘366.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (US 2015/0232639), as evidenced by J&N Sourcing (Carbon Black N326, J&N Sourcing, 2026, 4 pages).
Yang exemplifies a composition comprising the following:
Formulation W4 includes NR, a diene elastomer; a carbon black reinforcing filler, and 4-HDPA (4-hydroxydiphenylamine), without the hexamethylenetetramine methylene donor.
N326 is known to have a surface area of about 70-85 m2/g, as evidenced by J&N Sourcing (p. 2).
W4 anticipates instant claims 1-2, 4 and 6-10.
Claims 1-2 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (US 2015/0232639).
Yang discloses a method of preparing a tire component comprising mixing together components of a rubber composition into a non-productive mix, where the components include a highly unsaturated diene elastomer, a reinforcing filler and a methylene acceptor selected from 3-hydroxydiphenylamine, 4-hydroxydiphenylamine, or combinations thereof, where a methylene donor and a vulcanizing agent are added to convert the non-productive mix to a productive mix.
The highly unsaturated diene elastomer includes natural rubber, and the reinforcing filler includes silica and carbon black.
The non-productive mix, before adding the methylene donor and vulcanizing agent, meets the claimed rubber composition of claims 1-2 and 6.
As to claims 4-5 and 7-10, Yang exemplifies the inclusion of 55 phr filler and 5 phr hydroxydiphenylamine.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Al-Nowaiser (Evaluation of some Diphenylamine Derivatives as Thermal Stabilizers and Antifatigue Agents in Natural Rubber Vulcanizates, International Journal of Polymeric Materials, 2005, 54, pages 963-973), as evidenced by Rao (Mechanical and Thermal Properties of Carbon Black Reinforced Natural Rubber/Polyvinyl alcohol Fully-Interpenetrating Polymer Networks, Journal of Vinyl & Additive Technology, 2016, 9 pages).
Al-Nowaiser exemplifies a rubber composition comprising the following (p. 966, Table 2, Formula No. F4):
100 parts natural rubber;
5 parts zinc oxide;
0.5 parts stearic acid;
40 parts high abrasion furnace carbon black (HAF), which as evidenced by Rao has a surface area of about 71-85 m2/g (Table 1);
0.85 parts HDP, 4-hydroxy diphenylamine;
3 parts processing oil;
2 parts sulfur; and
1 parts N-cyclohexyl-2-benzothiazol sulfenamide.
Al-Nowaiser anticipates instant claims 1-4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AU 4066093 in view of Hill (US 2,657,983), and further in view of Louis (US 6,326,424), as evidenced by epsilon (N375 Product Data Sheet, epsilon carbon, 2026, 1 page).
AU ‘093 exemplifies a rubber composition for truck tire treads, the composition comprising the following (p. 28, Table 12, Example 6):
100 parts of a mixture of natural rubber and butadiene rubber, which meet applicants’ diene elastomer;
55 phr carbon black N-375;
2 parts stearic acid;
4 parts zinc oxide;
8 parts aromatic oil (plasticizing oil);
2 parts 6PPD;
1.2 parts CBS (sulfenamide accelerator);
1.2 parts sulphur (vulcanization agent);
0.5 parts coagent BCI-MX (anti-reversion agent); and
1 part MTG (methyl-thioglycolate).
AU ‘093 teaches that the compositions can include other additives such as antioxidants and antiozonants; however, does not teach the inclusion of a hydroxydiphenylamine, as claimed.
Hill teaches synergistic stabilizing compositions, teaching that hydroxyarylamino antioxidants, such as N-phenyl-p-aminophenol (also known as 4-hydroxydiphenylamine), in combination with esters of thioglycolic acid, such as methyl thioglycolate, provide a synergistic protection of rubbers against oxygen. See col. 3, l. 23 to col. 4, l. 25 and col. 6, l. 45 to col. 7, l. 40.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a combination of N-phenyl-p-aminophenol with the methyl thioglycolate of AU ‘093, as Hill teaches that the combination provides a synergistic protection for the rubber against oxygen degradation.
AU ‘093 in view of Hill is prima facie obvious over instant claims 1-2, 14-17 and 19-21.
As to claims 4, carbon black N-375 has a surface area of about 93 m2/g, as evidenced by epsilon (p. 1).
As to claim 5, AU ‘093 teaches that silica can be used as the reinforcing filler, but does not teach or suggest the surface area of the silica; however, Louis teaches a tire tread composition comprising silica, teaching that suitable silica have a BET surface area of about 40-600 m2/g, more usually in a range of 50-300 m2/g (col. 7, ll. 50-57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used silica as the reinforcing filler, as this modification is suggested by the teachings of AU ‘093, and Louis teaches that silica having a surface area of 50-300 m2/g is usually used in the art of tire tread rubber compositions.
As to claims 6 and 17, Hill teaches the hydroxylarylamine to include N-phenyl-p-aminophenol, which is also known as 4-hydroxydiphenylamine.
As to claim 7 and 18, Hill teaches that the thioglycolic ester is present in an amount of about 30-100 parts based on 100 parts by weight of the hydroxyl arylamine (col. 8, ll. 4-14), and the total synergistic mixture is present in an amount of about 0.1-2 phr. Therefore, adding about 1 phr hydroxylarylamine in the composition of AU ‘093 is prima facie obvious.
As to claims 8-10, AU ‘093 teaches that rubbers additives can be added in their usual amounts and include carbon black and silica as reinforcing agents (p. 14, l. 31 to p. 15, l. 2). Therefore, substituting the carbon black for silica in Example 6 of Table 12 of AU ‘093, described above, is prima facie obvious.
As to claims 11-13, AU ‘093 exemplifies the composition as comprising a sulfur vulcanization agent, 6PPD antioxidant, aromatic plasticizing oil, and a sulfenamide accelerator.
/Brieann R Johnston/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766