DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to RCE dated 6/11/26. Claims 1-6, 8-19, and 21-32 have been examined. Claims 7 and 20 have been cancelled.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations reciting “means for identifying …obtaining … transmitting …” in claim 29 in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. For purposes of examination, these “means for” limitations have been construed for a corresponding structure to SMF or UPF, as in [para. 0009] of Applicant’s Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
As per Applicant’s amendment, the rejection of claims 5-6 and 18-19 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10-19, 21, 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by “Study on Enhanced Support of Non-Public Network,” 3GPP TSG Services and System Aspects, TR23.700-07, v1.2.0, Release 17, November 2020 (hereafter TR23; included in IDS) in view of Carbone et al. (WO 2017/098324; hereafter Carbone).
Regarding Claim 1 (Currently Amended),
A first network entity for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to:
identify a protocol data unit (PDU) session with a user equipment (UE) [TR23: p. 38; Sec. 6.4.2; SNPN (i.e. standalone non-public network) and UE establishes the PDU Session to access to SP (i.e. service provider) services; Sec. 6.4.3; in this procedure AAA-S owns the access and mobility related subscription and session management subscription data as individual UE subscription and provides them to AMF or SMF via AAA-P; see Fig. 6.4.3-1 (5): UE requested PDU session establishment in clause 4.3.2.2.1 of TS 23.502];
request, from a second network entity associated with a second data network provider, a subscription, wherein the subscription is a template subscription, the template subscription being used by all visiting UEs to the second data network provider that are authenticated by a third network entity associated with a first network data provider [TR23: second network entity == UDM or AUSF or AAA-P; template subscription == common UE subscription; common subscription data; p. 39; the SMF may retrieve the UE subscription from AAA-P, which obtains the UE subscription from AAA-S as individual UE subscription or obtain the local configuration per SO (subscription owner) as common UE subscription; the UE subscription data may include, e.g., information on DNN, S-NSSAI, session-AMBR, service flow template, UE address, etc. to enable SMF perform PDU session management; this figure 6.4.3-2 outlines the procedure for Architecture approach 2; in this procedure, UDM/UDR owns the mobility related subscription and session related subscription as individual or common UE subscription, and provides them to AMF or SMF during UE's access and mobility management, session management procedure; p. 36; this solution assumes that the AAA Server is the separate entity that owns and authenticates UE's SNPN security related subscription (non-3GPP identities e.g. non-IMSI and credentials); in addition, there are several ways to provide the access and mobility subscription data, e.g., information on DNN, S-NSSAI, UE-AMBR, dedicated SMF, etc. to enable AMF perform UE's access and mobility management, optionally SMF selection, or the session management subscription data, e.g., information on DNN, S-NSSAI, session-AMBR, service flow template, UE address, etc. to enable SMF perform PDU session management; p. 60; Sec. 6.8.2.3; in the case of SNPN UDM/UDR provides the common subscription data, the AMF/SMF can retrieve the data using a SUPI; it is assumed that the SUPI may be generated based on CdP-UE ID (i.e. CdP is credential provider), which can be derived from UE's SUPI/SUCI; the SNPN UDM/UDR provides a pointer to the common subscription data; p. 64; Sec. 6.10.1; the blue path shows the signaling flow exchange for the UE subscription data provisioning in the SNPN's UDM/UDR; p. 27; a V-SNPN may broadcast identities of Home SPs that the V-SNPN has an agreement with, i.e. which supports access to the V-SNPN using the credentials of those Home SPs],
obtain, based at least in part on identifying the PDU session and the subscription, configuration information associated with the first data network provider, wherein the first network entity is associated with the second data network provider [TR23: first network entity == SMF; p. 39; Sec. 6.4.3; when SMF receives the PDU Session Establishment request, the SMF may retrieve the UE subscription from AAA-P, which obtains the UE subscription from AAA-S as individual UE subscription or obtain the local configuration per SO as common UE subscription; see Fig. 6.4.3-1 (4.1): UE Subscription Retrieval from AAA-P/AAA-S],
and wherein the configuration information includes a tunnel configuration for a tunnel between the UE via the second data network provider and the third network entity via the first data network provider, and wherein the configuration information includes a proxy call session control function (P-CSCF) address within … a message, the P-CSCF) address for use by the visiting UEs to access the second data network provider; and transmit the configuration information to the UE [TR23: p. 39; Sec. 6.4.3; the SMF may retrieve the UE subscription from AAA-P, which obtains the UE subscription from AAA-S as individual UE subscription or obtain the local configuration per SO (subscription owner) as common UE subscription; the UE subscription data may include, e.g., information on DNN, S-NSSAI, session-AMBR, service flow template, UE address, etc. to enable SMF perform PDU session management; p. 36; Sec. 6.4.1; , there are several ways to provide the access and mobility subscription data, e.g., information on DNN, S-NSSAI, UE-AMBR, dedicated SMF, etc. to enable AMF perform UE's access and mobility management, optionally SMF selection, or the session management subscription data, e.g., information on DNN, S-NSSAI, session-AMBR, service flow template, UE address, etc. to enable SMF perform PDU session management; p. 89; the UE is accessing SNPN and has established security tunnel with the PLMN N3IWF the UE has established PDU sessions in PLMN, the PDU session establishment procedure may be through SNPN or not; p. 102; Sec. 6.21.2; the SMF provides the P-CSCF address to UE during PDU session establishment for IMS DNN; p. 104; Sec. 6.22.4; SMF of SNPN; send the P-CSCF address to UE at PDU session establishment; p. 48; Sec. 6.5.3.2; SMF may deliver the Provisioning Server address(es) as part of extended Protocol Configuration Options (PCO) in PDU Session Establishment Response to UE].
Note:
A tunnel or a flow is a part of managing a PDU session.
However, TR23 does not teach that the configuration information includes a proxy call session control function (P-CSCF) address within a protocol configuration option (PCO) of a message
Carbone teaches:
wherein the configuration information includes a proxy call session control function (P-CSCF) address within a protocol configuration option (PCO) of a message [ p. 16; before the roaming registration, P-CSCF discovery occurs using a standard procedure following one of two options: (a) within the GTP Create Session Response, the PGW at VPMN populates the Protocol Configuration Options (PCO) parameter where it includes the IP address/hostname of the VPMN's Proxy Call Session Control Function (P-CSCF); the P-CSCF address/hostname identifies the VoLTE-WB, which is the first touch point for the UE; (b) Learning the P-CSCF address by DHCP mechanism].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of TR23 and Carbone in order to make the best use of edge and cloud computing [Carbone: p. 6].
Regarding Claim 2 (Previously Presented),
wherein the second data network provider is a standalone non-public network [TR23: p. 38; Sec. 6.4.2; SNPN and UE establishes the PDU Session to access to SP services; Sec. 6.4.3; in this case, UE selects and registers to the desired SNPN using network configuration in E-Sub and received broadcast system information].
Regarding Claim 3 (Previously Presented),
wherein the one or more processors, to obtain the configuration information, are configured to: request the configuration information based at least in part on the subscription [TR23: p. 39; Sec. 6.4.3; when SMF receives the PDU Session Establishment request, the SMF may retrieve the UE subscription from AAA-P, which obtains the UE subscription from AAA-S as individual UE subscription or obtain the local configuration per SO as common UE subscription; see Fig. 6.4.3-1 (4.1): UE Subscription Retrieval from AAA-P/AAA-S].
Regarding Claim 4,
wherein requesting the subscription indicating to request the configuration information is based at least in part on successful authentication of the UE [TR23: p. 39; Sec. 6.4.3; the AMF decides to trigger EAA based on UE request and local policy, the AMF may ask the UE to start EAA procedure, and selects an AAA-P that supports for exchange of EAA signalling between UE and AAA-S; based on the UE Identity that contains the SO-ID, the AAA-P addresses the AAA-S; the EAA is performed between the UE and the AAA-S via SNPN and the AMF receives the EAA results; besides that, AAA-S provides the anchor key to AAA-P, AAA-P further provides it to AMF, and the AMF generates the security context with that anchor key.
Regarding Claim 5 (Currently Amended),
wherein the one or more processors, to obtain the configuration information, are configured to: obtain the configuration information from the second network entity [TR23: p. 39; Sec. 6.4.3; when SMF receives the PDU Session Establishment request, the SMF may retrieve the UE subscription from AAA-P, which obtains the UE subscription from AAA-S as individual UE subscription or obtain the local configuration per SO as common UE subscription; see Fig. 6.4.3-1 (4.1): UE Subscription Retrieval from AAA-P/AAA-S].
Regarding Claim 6 (Previously Presented),
wherein the second network entity associated with the first data network provider is an authentication, authorization, and accounting server [TR23: p. 39; Sec. 6.4.3; when SMF receives the PDU Session Establishment request, the SMF may retrieve the UE subscription from AAA-P, which obtains the UE subscription from AAA-S as individual UE subscription or obtain the local configuration per SO as common UE subscription; see Fig. 6.4.3-1 (4.1): UE Subscription Retrieval from AAA-P/AAA-S].
Regarding Claim 8,
wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the configuration information to the UE, are configured to: transmit the configuration information to the UE in a protocol configuration options component of a message [TR23: p. 245; SMF may deliver onboarding configuration data as part of extended Protocol Configuration Options (PCO) in PDU Session Establishment Response to UE; 0048; SMF may deliver the Provisioning Server address(es) as part of extended Protocol Configuration Options (PCO) in PDU Session Establishment Response to UE].
Regarding Claim 10,
wherein the configuration information is obtained from an access and mobility management function [TR23; p. 39; Sec. 6.4.3; AMF retrieves the UE subscription from AAA-P, which obtains the UE subscription from AAA-S as individual UE subscription or obtain the local configuration per SO as common UE subscription; the UE subscription data may include, e.g., information on DNN, S-NSSAI, UE-AMBR, dedicated SMF, etc. to enable AMF perform UE's access and mobility management, optionally SMF selection].
Regarding Claim 11,
wherein the tunnel is associated with enabling the UE to access a service provided by an Internet Protocol media subsystem of the first data network provider [TR23: 0100; Sec. 6.20.3.3; the determination whether the user belongs to the PLMN or an SNPN can be based on information included in the home network domain provided by the UE during IMS registration procedure and IMS user identities; this is: the P-CSCF determines the SNPN the UE belongs to, based on the home network domain name contained in the Request-URI of the SIP REGISTER sent to the P-CSCF; the P-CSCF may also determine that the UE is accessing from an SNPN by the access network configuration (e.g. from the IP addresses used by the SNPN); p. 97; Sec. 6.20.2.1; this solution proposes that the IMS Core system is accessed over N6 reference point as a Data Network offered by the SNPN; Gm reference point between the UE and the P-CSCF is managed as user plane traffic via UPF; Sec. 6.26; Solution #26: PLMN assisted IMS voice service and emergency service for SNPN].
Regarding Claim 12,
wherein the tunnel configuration indicates at least a tunnel server address or one or more credentials for the tunnel [TR23: credentials == IMS subscription; 0112; Sec. 6.26.2.1; the UDM of SNPN supports IMS HSS and is provisioned with IMS subscription of SNPN UE; PLMN IMS network connects to SNPN UDM via standard N70/Cx/Dx/N71/Sh interfaces; if N5 is used between PLMN P-CSCF and SNPN PCF, P-CSCF includes IMS network domain name in session binding procedure to discover correct PCF; if Rx is used, P-CSCF discovers correct PCF based on local configuration (the mapping between IMS network domain name of SNPN and PCF address) or via Diameter Routing Agent based on UE IP address].
Regarding Claim 13,
wherein the tunnel is associated with a Layer 2 tunneling protocol or an Internet Protocol security protocol [TR23: p. 90; Sec. 6.17.3; the PLMN N3IWF finds out the retained context for the security tunnel based on the received N2 message or the DL data, e.g. 5G-GUTI in the N2 message or destination IP of the DL data, and encapsulates the received N1 message or DL data in an IPSec protocol data destined to the UE with the context, e.g. encapsulation with the destination IP in the context, encryption and/or integrity protection with the keys, algorithms, and parameters in the context; the PLMN N3IWF sends out the IPSec protocol data, which will be routed to the SNPN UPF].
Regarding Claims 14-19 and 21, 23-26, which recite a method of wireless communication performed by a first network entity having the same claim limitations as those in claims 1-6, 8, 10-13 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claims 1-6, 8, 10-13 is applicable.
Regarding Claims 27-28, which recite a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication having the same claim limitations as those in claims 1-2 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claims 1-2 is applicable.
Regarding Claims 29-30, which recite an apparatus for wireless communication having the same claim limitations as those in claims 1-2 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claims 1-2 is applicable.
Claim(s) 9, 22, 31, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TR23-Carbone in view of Jung (WO 2021/242940).
Regarding Claim 9 (Currently Amended),
In TR23-Carbone combination, TR23 teaches:
wherein the tunnel configuration indicates the tunnel is a shared tunnel [TR23: p. 39; Sec. 6.4.3; AMF retrieves the UE subscription from AAA-P, which obtains the UE subscription from AAA-S as individual UE subscription or obtain the local configuration per SO as common UE subscription; the UE subscription data may include, e.g., information on DNN, S-NSSAI, UE-AMBR, dedicated SMF, etc. to enable AMF perform UE's access and mobility management, optionally SMF selection].
However, TR23-Carbone does not teach that the shared tunnel is based on a previously established tunnel.
Jung teaches:
wherein the tunnel configuration indicates the tunnel is a shared tunnel, and wherein the shared tunnel is based on a previously established tunnel [Jung: 0044; During the PDU Session Establishment procedure, the SMF retrieves SM subscription data related to 5GLAN type service from the UDM as part of the UE subscription data for the DNN. - In order to realize N19 traffic routing, the SMF correlates PDU sessions established to the same 5G VN group and uses this to configure the UPF with the group level N4-session including packet detection and forwarding rules for N19 tunnelling forwarding; 0046; N19-based, where the UL/DL traffic for the 5G VN group communication is forwarded between PSA UPFs of different PDU sessions via N19. N19 is based on a shared User Plane tunnel connecting PSA UPFs of a single 5G VN group; 0049; When receiving a new PDU session establishment request for a 5G VN group, to avoid unnecessary N19 tunnels between UPFs, SMF can check previously selected UPFs for the same 5G VN group, and decide whether a previously selected UPF could serve the requested PDU session].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of TR23-Carbone and Jung in order to enable roaming scenarios [Jung: 0020].
Regarding Claim 22, which recites the same claim limitations as those in claim 9 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 9 is applicable.
Regarding Claim 31, which recites the same claim limitations as those in claim 9 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 9 is applicable.
Regarding Claim 32, which recites the same claim limitations as those in claim 9 above, the same rationale of rejection as presented in claim 9 is applicable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues regarding claims 1, 14, 27, and 29 on page 12 of the Remarks section that the 3GPP reference (TR23) does not teach a P-CSCF address within a PCO of a message.
Examiner’s Response:
For purposes of brevity, please see the rejection in the Office Action above, where Carbone in TR23-Carbone combination teaches the limitation at issue.
Conclusion
SAAD A. WAQAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2468
/Saad A. Waqas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468