DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
With respect to the rejection of Claims 2-7 and 9-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al., as understood the traversal relies on arguments. Applicant argues “Wu is silent as to any pH adjustment of its polymerization effluent before adding sorbent. The minute amount of water or alcohol (250ppm or 0.025%) utilized in Wu is instead used for the purpose of deactivating the catalyst in the polymerization effluent (see, e.g., [0061] of Wu). It is thus not clear that Wu is treating a solution containing spent metal-containing homogeneous catalyst, as is required by present claim 10, if it is necessary first to deactivate the catalyst in the polymerization effluent of Wu.” [Remarks, Page 9, Paragraph 4-5, emphasis in the original]. As understood the traversal relies upon how the phrase “spent metal-containing homogenous catalyst” (herein after referred to just as “spent catalyst”) is interpreted. Ultimately the Specification serves as a guide for the definition of claim terms, MPEP 2111.IV states “To act as their own lexicographer, the applicant must clearly set forth a special definition of a claim term in the specification that differs from the plain and ordinary meaning it would otherwise possess.”. The instant Specification does not clearly set forth a special definition for the term “spent catalyst” and it is therefore given its ordinary meaning in the art. In the art a catalyst is considered “spent” after it has been used and it no longer functions adequately without recovery/regeneration steps. Although the Specification does not clearly define “spent”, this interpretation is consistent with the use of “spent catalyst” within the specification, see, e.g., “In contrast, spent homogenous catalysts, in particular soluble organometallic compounds, may be difficult to recover after use” [Page 1, Lines 19-20].
On the other hand, Applicant appears to be interpreting “spent catalyst” to mean a deactivated catalyst, or one that is wholly incapable of further use. This is unpersuasive.
Looking at Wu et al. they disclose “At the end of each polymerization, the metal contents of the polymerization effluent are shown in Table 1. The effluent was treated with 250 ppm water (or alcohol).” [0074], or in other words water is added only after the polymerization is considered ended. Furthermore, a typical polymerization effluent is given by Wu et al. in example 2, “A polymerization effluent consisting of 75% polymer, 8% unreacted olefins, 15% Norpar 12 solvent, 2% Toluene, and about 360 ppm aluminum from MAO was washed” [0075]. Although there is still unreacted monomer (8%) one with ordinary skill in the art of polymer reactions would know that polymers have extremely large viscosities. This effectively limits the reaction to the rate of diffusion of the monomer through the solution and to the catalyst. When the final mixture is 75% polymer and only 15% solvent the reaction becomes so slow that it effectively ended itself by preventing the vast majority of the monomer from being able to find the catalyst, even though a tiny fraction of monomer may still be reacting. Therefore Wu et al. would have considered their catalyst to be spent at the end of the polymerization reaction and before the addition of water.
Applicant further argues “The Office Action appears to recognize that Wu is entirely silent as to any pH adjustment of its polymerization effluents prior to sorbent addition and relies instead on a theory of inherency to support the anticipation rejection … Here, the addition of such a minute amount of water or alcohol, for the very different purpose of deactivating the catalyst in the polymerization effluent, would not necessarily effect a pH adjustment, and certainly would not be recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art as performing that function.” [Remarks, Page 9, Paragraph 6-7]. This is unpersuasive. The self-ionization of water is well known, Kw = 10-14 at room temperature. This means that the addition of water to a solvent will necessarily include adding both H+ and OH- ions to the solution. The only way this could possibly not effect the pH is if the concentration of H+ ions already in solution is the same as the water added. As established in the previous Office Action toluene and water have very different pKas, meaning they have very different amounts of H+ ions present. In other words, the addition of any amount of water to toluene necessarily must affect the pH of the toluene. One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of this as it follows from basic acid-base equilibria, and would not need to be specifically and explicitly made aware that water was affecting the pH. The rejections are MAINTAINED.
With respect to the rejection of Claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Wu et al. in view of Kumar et al., as understood the traversal relies on arguments. Applicant argues “Kumar does not bring Wu closer to the subject matter of Claim 10 in this respect and therefore claim 8 is believed also to be allowable at least by virtue of its dependency.” [Remarks, Page 10, Paragraph 2]. This is unpersuasive. Wu et al. has not been found to be deficient in teaching Claim 10 (see above). The rejections are MAINTAINED.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-7, 9-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2008/0020928 A1 Wu et al. Claim 10 requires “A method for recovering a spent metal-containing homogeneous catalyst using a solid adsorbent selected from bleaching agents, filter aids and mixtures thereof, comprising the following steps:”. Wu et al. discloses a homogeneous catalyst removed by a solid sorbent “In yet another preferred embodiment, the catalyst system can be any single site catalyst or other constraint geometry catalyst or any other homogeneous catalysts that can be absorbed by proper solid sorbent.” [0009]. Regarding the identity of the sorbent Wu et al. discloses “Particularly preferred sorbents useful in the process of the invention include silica, alumina, activated alumina, di-atomaceous earth filter aid, zeolites of different pore size, MCM41, natural or synthetic clay materials, micro crystalline material or powdered cellulose material with hydroxyl group. These material are available from commercial solid sorbent suppliers with different trade names. Examples suitable for this applications include Celite 545, Celite 577, Hyflow, Perlite, Hyflo-SuperCelTM Celite, etc. Powered cellulose may have many different trade names. Examples are Solka-Floc® and Alpha-CelTM brand powdered cellulose.” [0065]. These are understood to be filter aids.
Claim 10 further requires “(A) providing a solution containing said spent metal- containing homogeneous catalyst, said solution containing at least one solvent selected from water and an organic solvent,”. Wu et al. discloses “Solvents for polymerization process can be any common paraffinic or aromatic hydrocarbons, such as pentanes, hexanes, heptane, Norpar™ or Isopar solvent, benzene, toluene, xylenes, ethylbenzene, propylbenzene, i- or t-butylbenzene, etc. Other solvents that are compatible with the homogenous or colloidal catalyst systems can also be used. Examples are methylene chloride, chloroform, chlorobenzene, etc.” [0019].
Claim 10 further requires “(B) adding to said provided solution said solid adsorbent to obtain a suspension of a solid and a solvent,”. Wu et al. discloses in Example 1 “1.5 wt % of a solid material Hyflo-SuperCelTM from Celite, which is a kind of diatomaceous earth solid, was added to the reactor effluent. The slurry was stirred at room temperature for 15 minutes.” [0074]. It is understood that a slurry is a suspension of a solid in a liquid solvent.
Claim 10 further requires “(C) separating said suspension to obtain a purified solvent and said solid adsorbent containing said spent metal-containing homogeneous catalyst adsorbed thereon.”. Wu et al. discloses “The slurry was filtered to remove solid sorbent. The effluent contained less than 1 ppm of metal catalyst components-Al, Zr, Si and B.” [0074].
Claim 10 further requires “wherein, prior to step (B), at least one of the following pre-treatments is performed:- the pH of the solution provided in step (A) is adjusted to a basic, neutral or acidic pH,- the solution provided in step (A) is homogenised,- the solution provided in step (A) is submitted to at least one liquid-solid separation to remove optional precipitates contained in the solution.”. Wu et al. discloses adding a protic solvent prior to adding the sorbent “The effluent was treated with 250 ppm water (or alcohol). Then, 1.5 wt % of a solid material Hyflo-SuperCelTM from Celite, which is a kind of diatomaceous earth solid, was added to the reactor effluent.” [0074]. Although Wu et al. does not explicitly disclose that the pH of the solution is adjusted to a basic, neutral or acidic pH one of ordinary skill in the art would know that non-protic solvents used by Wu et al., such as toluene, have a very high pH due to having a high pKa (43) and that adding water (pKa = 14) would adjust the pH to be more acidic. Regardless of whether the final pH results in a solution that is acidic, basic, or neutral the water addition step would fall within the range claimed. Although toluene was used as an example the same logic would apply to any of the solvents used by Wu et al.
Claim 2 requires “the solid adsorbent is selected from bleaching earths, perlites, diatomaceous earths and mixtures thereof.”. Wu et al. discloses perlites, diatomaceous earths and mixtures thereof (“Particularly preferred sorbents useful in the process of the invention include …, di-atomaceous earth filter aid …, Perlite, … These solid sorbent material can be used by itself or mixed with other sorbents to make them more effective.” [0065].).
Claim 3 requires “the solid adsorbent is a solid composition comprising from 50.0 to 95.0 wt% of silicium oxide (SiO2), from 5.0 to 50.0wt% of one or more oxides selected from aluminium oxide (Al2O3), iron III oxide (Fe2O3), potassium oxide (K2O), calcium oxide (CaO), sodium oxide (Na2O) and magnesium oxide (MgO).”. Wu et al. does not disclose the atomic composition of the solid adsorbents used. However, it is understood from the instant application specification that perlite has an atomic composition of “Perlite may comprise from 50.0 to 80.0 wt% of silicium oxide (SiO2), from 4.0 to 18.0 wt% of aluminium oxide (Al2O3), from 0.0 to 2.5 wt% of iron III oxide (Fe2O3), from 0.5 to 7.0 wt% of potassium oxide (K2O), from 0.0 to 2.5wt% of calcium oxide (CaO), , from 0.2 to 5.0 wt% of sodium oxide (Na2O) and from 0.1 to 1wt% or from 20 to 35wt% of magnesium oxide (MgO).” [Page 9, Lines 18-22] which reads on the range claimed. Wu et al. discloses perlite (“Particularly preferred sorbents useful in the process of the invention include …, Perlite” [0065].).
Claim 4 requires “the solid adsorbent is a solid composition comprising from 50.0 to 75.0 wt% of silicium oxide (SiO2), from 1.0 to 40.0 wt% of a compound or mixture of compounds selected from aluminium oxide (Al2O3) and magnesium oxide (MgO), from 0.5 to 5.0wt% of iron III oxide (Fe2O3), from 0.5 to 6.0 wt% of potassium oxide (K2O), from 0.0 to 6.0wt% of a compound or mixture of compounds selected from calcium oxide (CaO) and sodium oxide (Na2O).”. Similarly to Claim 3 the composition of perlite reads on the ranges presented and Wu et al. discloses perlite (“Particularly preferred sorbents useful in the process of the invention include …, Perlite” [0065].).
Claim 5 requires “the solid adsorbent is a solid composition comprising from 50.0 to 80.0 wt% of silicium oxide (SiO2), from 4.0 to 18.0 wt% of aluminium oxide (Al2O3), from 0.0 to 2.5 wt% of iron III oxide (Fe2O3), from 0.5 to 7.0 wt% of potassium oxide (K2O), from 0.0 to 2.5wt% of calcium oxide (CaO), , from 0.2 to 5.0 wt% of sodium oxide (Na2O) and from 0.1 to 1wt% or from 20 to 35wt% of magnesium oxide (MgO).”. This is understood to be equivalent to perlite. Wu et al. discloses perlite (“Particularly preferred sorbents useful in the process of the invention include …, Perlite” [0065].).
Claim 6 requires “the solid adsorbent is a solid composition comprising from 80.0 to 95.0 wt% of silicium oxide (SiO2), from 0.1 to 9.0 wt% of aluminium oxide (Al2O3), from 0.1 to 4.5 wt% of iron III oxide (Fe2O3) from 0.0 to 4.5wt% of calcium oxide (CaO) and from 0.0 to 1.5 wt% of magnesium oxide (MgO).”. Wu et al. does not disclose the atomic composition of the solid adsorbents used. However, it is understood from the instant application specification that diatomaceous earth has an atomic composition of “Typically, diatomaceous earths comprise from 80.0 to 95.0 wt% of silicium oxide (SiO2), from 0.1 to 9.0 wt% of aluminium oxide (Al2O3), from 0.1 to 4.5 wt% of iron III oxide (Fe2O3), from 0.0 to 4.5 wt% of calcium oxide (CaO) and from 0.0 to 1.5 wt% of magnesium oxide (MgO).” [Page 9, Lines 26-29]. Wu et al. discloses diatomaceous earth (“Particularly preferred sorbents useful in the process of the invention include …, di-atomaceous earth filter aid” [0065].).
Claim 7 requires “said solid adsorbent is in powder form or in granular form.”. Wu et al. discloses “The sorbent used in slurry phase have fine particle size, from 1 micron to 1000 micron average particle size” [0063]. Fine particles are understood to be a powder.
Claim 9 requires “said spent metal-containing homogeneous catalyst contains one or more metals selected from Ag, Au, Pt, Pd, Rh, Ir, Ru.”. Wu et al. discloses a palladium catalyst “said homogenous or colloidal catalyst is a transition metal complexed with diimide ligands, and wherein said transition metal is selected from the group consisting of Pd, Ni, Co, W, and Мo” [0090].
Claim 11 requires “prior to step (B), the following pre-treatment is performed - the polarity of the solution provided in step (A) is adjusted by addition of a polar solvent.”. Wu et al. discloses adding a polar solvent prior to adding the sorbent “The effluent was treated with 250 ppm water (or alcohol). Then, 1.5 wt % of a solid material Hyflo-SuperCelTM from Celite, which is a kind of diatomaceous earth solid, was added to the reactor effluent.” [0074]. Although Wu et al. does not explicitly disclose that the polarity and/or proticity of the solution is altered one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the addition of water (or alcohol) to a non-polar solvent (such as Norpar or toluene) would adjust both the polarity and proticity of the solvent. In other words Wu et al. implicitly discloses the adjustment of the polarity and proticity of the solvent prior to adding the sorbent.
Claim 12 requires “step (B) is performed at ambient temperature or from 35 °C to Tb-10 °C optionally under stirring, with Tb being the boiling temperature of the solvent(s) of the solution.”. In Example 5 Wu et al. discloses “A distilled polymerization effluent from polymerization method A … was mixed with 1.5% of diatomaceous earth solid sorbent filter aid Hyflo-SuperCelTM from Celite. The slurry was stirred at room temperature for 15 minutes.” [0078].
Claim 13 requires “the solid adsorbent added in the solution represents from 0.1 to 10 wt% of the total suspension.”. Wu et al. discloses “A distilled polymerization effluent from polymerization method A … was mixed with 1.5% of diatomaceous earth solid sorbent filter aid Hyflo-SuperCelTM from Celite.” [0078].
Claim 14 requires “step (C) includes at least one solid-liquid separation step selected from a centrifugation, a filtration and a decantation.”. Wu et al. discloses “The slurry was filtered to remove solid sorbent.” [0078].
Claim 15 requires “the solid adsorbent containing said spent metal-containing homogeneous catalyst adsorbed thereon is submitted to at least one of the following steps, after step (C) or during step (C) : a washing step with a solvent, a steam stripping step, a drying step.”. Wu et al. discloses washing and drying after being used in step C “These sorbent can be further re-activated and regenerated by calcinations or by washing/drying/calcinations. Thus the solid sorbent can be re-used.” [0066].
Claim 16 requires “prior to step (B), the proticity of the solution provided in step (A) is adjusted by addition of a polar solvent.”. Wu et al. discloses adding water prior to the sorbent “The effluent was treated with 250 ppm water (or alcohol). Then, 1.5 wt % of a solid material Hyflo-SuperCelTM from Celite, which is a kind of diatomaceous earth solid, was added to the reactor effluent.” [0074]. This is understood to affect the proticity of the solvent.
Claim 17 requires “in step (B), the solid adsorbent added in the solution represents from 1 to 5 wt% of the total suspension.”. Wu et al. discloses “A distilled polymerization effluent from polymerization method A … was mixed with 1.5% of diatomaceous earth solid sorbent filter aid Hyflo-SuperCelTM from Celite.” [0078].
Claim 18 requires “the solvent utilized in said washing step is water.”. Wu et al. discloses “These sorbent can be further re-activated and regenerated by calcinations or by washing/drying/calcinations. Thus the solid sorbent can be re-used. This method is much more efficient than conventional washing method, which generated a large amount of aqueous waste.” [0066]. Considering the disclosure of aqueous waste, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that water must be the solvent if aqueous waste is generated.
Claim 19 requires “the solid adsorbent is a solid composition comprising from 50.0 to 95.0 wt% of silicium oxide (SiO2), from 5.0 to 50.0wt% of one or more oxides selected from aluminium oxide (Al2O3), iron III oxide (Fe2O3), potassium oxide (K2O), calcium oxide (CaO), sodium oxide (Na2O) and magnesium oxide (MgO).”. It is understood that perlite meets these requirements (see Claim 3). Wu et al. discloses perlite (“Particularly preferred sorbents useful in the process of the invention include …, Perlite” [0065].).
Claim 20 requires “the solid adsorbent is a solid composition comprising from 50.0 to 75.0 wt% of silicium oxide (SiO2), from 1.0 to 40.0 wt% of a compound or mixture of compounds selected from aluminium oxide (Al2O3) and magnesium oxide (MgO), from 0.5 to 5.0wt% of iron III oxide (Fe2O3), from 0.5 to 6.0 wt% of potassium oxide (K2O), from 0.0 to 6.0wt% of a compound or mixture of compounds selected from calcium oxide (CaO) and sodium oxide (Na2O).”. It is understood that perlite meets these requirements (see Claim 4). Wu et al. discloses perlite (“Particularly preferred sorbents useful in the process of the invention include …, Perlite” [0065].).
Claim 21 requires “A method for recovering a spent metal-containing homogeneous catalyst using a solid adsorbent selected from bleaching agents, filter aids and mixtures thereof, comprising the following steps: (A) providing a solution containing said spent metal-containing homogeneous catalyst, said solution containing at least one solvent selected from water and an organic solvent, (B) adding to said provided solution said solid adsorbent to obtain a suspension of a solid and a solvent, and (C) separating said suspension to obtain a purified solvent and said solid adsorbent containing said spent metal-containing homogeneous catalyst adsorbed thereon”. These limitations are presented in Claim 10 and therefore support for them may be found within the rejection of Claim 10.
Claim 21 further requires “wherein, prior to step (B), at least one of the following pre-treatments is performed: - the pH of the solution provided in step (A) is adjusted to a basic, neutral or acidic pH by addition of a base or an acid, - the solution provided in step (A) is homogenised, - the solution provided in step (A) is submitted to at least one liquid-solid separation to remove optional precipitates contained in the solution.”. Wu et al. discloses adding water prior to step (B) (see Claim 10), this meets the first limitation because water is both an acid and a base.
Claims 10 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4388279 Quick. Claim 10 requires “A method for recovering a spent metal-containing homogeneous catalyst using a solid adsorbent selected from bleaching agents, filter aids and mixtures thereof, comprising the following steps:”. Quick discloses “A further object of this invention is found in a process for the recovery of trace amounts of metals which are present in products resulting from organic reactions in which the metal was used as a catalyst therefor. In one aspect, an embodiment of this invention is found in a process for the recovery of trace amounts of metal from the products resulting from a reaction involving the use of said metal as a catalyst therefor which comprises contacting said products with a solid adsorbent selected from the group consisting of salts of metals from Group IA and Group IIA of the Periodic Table, molecular sieves and an ion exchange resin at process conditions, and recovering said metal.” [Col. 2, Lines 31-43]. These are understood to be filter aids.
Claim 10 further requires “(A) providing a solution containing said spent metal-containing homogeneous catalyst, said solution containing at least one solvent selected from water and an organic solvent”. Quick discloses “Following the completion of the desired reaction period, heating is discontinued and after the apparatus has returned to room temperature, the excess pressure is discharged and the reaction mixture is recovered therefrom. The recovered reaction mixture which contains the reaction product comprising an alcohol in which the rhodium catalyst is dissolved” [Col. 3, Lines 52-59]. Alcohol is identified as an organic solvent.
Claim 10 further requires “(B) adding to said provided solution said solid adsorbent to obtain a suspension of a solid and a solvent”. Quick discloses “The removal of trace amounts of metal from reaction products by contacting the reaction products with a solid adsorbent of the type hereinbefore set forth in greater detail may be effected in either a batch or continuous manner of operation.” [Col. 4, Lines 7-11]. It is understood that the result of mixing the rhodium catalyst dissolved in alcohol with a solid adsorbent is a suspension of a solid and a solvent.
Claim 10 further requires “and (C) separating said suspension to obtain a purified solvent and said solid adsorbent containing said spent metal-containing homogeneous catalyst adsorbed thereon”. Quick discloses “Upon completion of the desired residence time, the mixture is recovered and the organic reaction product is separated from the adsorbent by conventional means such as filtration, decantation, centrifugation, etc. The solid adsorbent which contains the metal may then be treated in any manner known in the art to recover the desired metal.” [Col. 4, Lines 21-28].
Claim 10 further requires “wherein, prior to step (B), at least one of the following pre-treatments is performed: - the pH of the solution provided in step (A) is adjusted to a basic, neutral or acidic pH, - the solution provided in step (A) is homogenised, - the solution provided in step (A) is submitted to at least one liquid-solid separation to remove optional precipitates contained in the solution.”. Quick discloses adding ammonia before step (B) “The recovered reaction mixture which contains the reaction product comprising an alcohol in which the rhodium catalyst is dissolved is then placed in a second apparatus wherein the reaction mixture is contacted with what, for purposes of 60 the present invention, will be designated as a stripping agent such as aqueous ammonium hydroxide, anhydrous ammonia, an amine compound, etc. Upon completion of the extraction or treatment period, the stripping agent solution containing substantially all of the rhodium complex catalyst is separated from the organic phase which comprises the alcohol product and the amine modifier. The product alcohol which still contains a trace amount of the rhodium complex catalyst is then treated in a manner hereinafter set forth in greater detail whereby substantially all of the trace amounts of the catalyst are recovered from the product alcohol” [Col. 3, Line 56 – Col. 4 Line 4].
Claims 21 and 22 similarly require the steps (A)-(C) of Claim 10 are performed, support for these limitations may be found in the rejection of Claim 10 (above).
Claim 21 further requires “wherein, prior to step (B), at least one of the following pre-treatments is performed: - the pH of the solution provided in step (A) is adjusted to a basic, neutral or acidic pH by addition of a base or an acid, - the solution provided in step (A) is homogenised, - the solution provided in step (A) is submitted to at least one liquid-solid separation to remove optional precipitates contained in the solution.”. Quick discloses adding a base (ammonia) which would make the solution basic (see Claim 10).
Claim 22 further requires “wherein, prior to step (B), at least one of the following pre-treatments is performed: - the pH of the solution provided in step (A) is adjusted to a basic, neutral or acidic pH by addition of a base selected from the group consisting of sodium hydroxide, potassium hydroxide, calcium hydroxide, triethylamine, ethylenediamine and ammonia; or an acid selected from the group consisting of hydrochloric acid, nitric acid, sulfuric acid, phosphoric acid, formic acid, acetic acid and sulfamic acid, - the solution provided in step (A) is homogenised, - the solution provided in step (A) is submitted to at least one liquid-solid separation to remove optional precipitates contained in the solution.”. Quick discloses the addition of ammonia (see Claim 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over US 2008/0020928 A1 Wu et al. in view of US 2013/0341563 A1 Kumar et al. Regarding Claim 8, Wu et al. discloses all of the limitations of Claim 10. Claim 8 further requires “wherein said solid adsorbent has a specific surface area from 150 to 400 m2/g.”. Wu et al. discloses “The Solid Sorbents generally have Surface hydroxyl group or Surface oxygen group to react chemically or to interact physically with the catalyst components and/or catalyst residuals. Generally they should have surface area greater than 0.1 m2/gram” [0063]. Although this range overlaps with the range claimed, it is not sufficiently specific to motivate a surface area of between 150-400 m2/g on its own.
Kumar et al. is similarly directed to methods of recovering spent polyolefin catalysts from post-polymerization solution (“In accordance with the present disclosure, there is provided a solid shaped composite adsorbent for reducing deactivated catalyst residues and contaminants from a post polyolefin solution polymerization mixture” [0016].). Kumar et al. discloses “Typically, the adsorbent has surface area in the range of 150 m2/g to 250 m2/gm.” [0023].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the method of Wu et al. with the solid sorbent of Kumar et al. for at least the reason that they are directed to methods of solving the same problem: removal of spent catalyst after the reaction.
The motivation to have combined the sorbent of Kumar et al. with the method of Wu et al. is given by Kumar et al. “A particularly preferred spherical agglomerated composite adsorbent having 8-10 mesh size (Tyler series) has about 270 m2/g surface area, 0.47 cc/g total pore volume, LOI of 2.8 wt % at 280-1000° C. crush strength about 5.5 kgf and bulk density of about 0.80 gm/cc of formed composites spheres. The agglomerated composite spheres have almost Zero attrition compared to activated alumina, which is an important parameter required for a polymerization mixture purification adsorbent in a solution polymerization adsorber.” [0043].
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOSHUA MAXWELL SPEER whose telephone number is (703)756-5471. The examiner can normally be reached M-T and Th-F 8am-6pm PST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Anthony Zimmer can be reached at 571-270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/J.M.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/DANIEL BERNS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736