DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (Pub. No. 20160249331).
* Regarding to claims with optional language such as “OR” “at least one of”, only one limitation selected for exam.
- With respect to claims 1, 11, 12, Park teaches a configuration parameter determination method, comprising: determining a configuration parameter set (e.g. abstract discloses “the step search space including CCE indexes or an enhanced CCE indexes constituting a PDCCH candidate”), wherein the configuration parameter set is configured to determine a transmission resource in time domain for a first type of common search space (e.g. TDMA and TDD discloses in par. 36-37 and par. 107 discloses type of search space); and the configuration parameter set at least comprises: a control channel element (CCE) aggregation level (e.g. the CCE indexes in abstract), and at least one of: a number of repetitions corresponding to the CCE aggregation level or a candidate transmission position corresponding to the CCE aggregation level (par. 58 discloses “As described above, the PDCCH/EPDCCH includes a plurality of CCEs/ECCEs, and the BS can transmit a plurality of DCIs to a plurality of UEs with regard to each subframe. In this case, the BS does not separately provide the UE with CCE/ECCE assignment information, which are needed by the UE to receive the DCIs via the PDCCH/EPDCCH (that is, information regarding the CCE aggregation level used to transmit one DCI and information regarding the position of CCE transmission resources); therefore, the UE performs blind decoding, in order to confirm DCIs transmitted to itself, with regard to the possible aggregation level and CCE/ECCE transmission resources.”); and wherein values of the number of repetitions corresponding to same CCE aggregation level are different.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7-9, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (Pub. No. 20160249331) in view of Zhang et al. (Pub. No. 20220303037).
- With respect to claims 7, 18, Park fails to teach the first type of common search space is a type 0 common search space (type 0 CSS). Zhang discloses common search space is type 0 CSS (see par. 64 discloses “PDCCH that schedules a SIB1 may be transmitted in a Type 0 common search space set “CSS.” The Type-0 CSS may have a number of PDCCH candidates per CCE aggregation level “), therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement the type 0 CSS of Zhang into Park’s invention for transmitting PDCCH in communication system.
- With respect to claim 8, 19, Zhang teaches in response to retransmitting a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) of type 0 CSS, determining transmitting a PDCCH based on a predefined rule (e.g. table 1 discloses candidates).
- With respect to claim 9, 20, Park teaches the predefined rule comprises at least one of the following: the same candidate transmission position; or the same CCE index (e.g. par. 108 discloses same CCE index).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5-6, 13-14, 16-17, 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUC H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471