DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al. (US 2006/0205585 A1) in view of Masayuki (JP 2016-086081 A) and Hattori (US 2008/0100985 A1).
Regarding Claims 20-22, Mori teaches a ceramic joined body (Abstract; Fig. 5) comprising a pair of ceramic plates (Item 11 and 13), where an electrode that is interposed between the pair of ceramic plates (Item 12), and an insulating layer that is disposed in a periphery of the electrode layer between the pair of ceramic plates and integrally formed with one of the plates. (Edge of 13), such the insulating layer and the ceramic plates comprise the same material. Mori does teach the insulating layer and ceramic plates can comprise Al2O3. (Abstract).
Mori does not specifically teach the insulating layer and the pair of ceramic plates comprise the same insulating material and the same conductive material of the claimed composition.
Masayuki teaches a ceramic body for use in electrostatic chucks (Abstract), where the ceramic insulating body is formed from an insulating material of aluminum oxide, and dispersed conductive material, including SiC, Mo, W, and Ta (Paragraph 0010, 0028-0030). Masayuki teaches this composition for the ceramic cover for the electrodes provides the advantage of excellent gas, heat and shock resistance without negatively affecting the necessary volume resistivity to operate as an electrostatic chuck. (Paragraph 0025, 0030).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to use claimed material taught by Masayuki as the insulating layer and ceramic plate in Mori to improve resistances without degrading volume resistivity necessary to operate as an electrostatic chuck.
Mori and Masayuki do not specifically teach the electrode is formed of a composite sintered body of an insulating ceramic and particles of a conductive material.
Hattori teaches an electrode for an electrostatic chuck, where the electrode comprises a sintered body of an insulating ceramic of Al2O3 and a particles of a conductive material. (Paragraph 0022, 0032, 0041). Hattori teaches this composition for the electrode allows for a balanced CTE between the surrounding plates and insulating layers, which reduces the chance of cracking and destroying the chuck. (Paragraph 0033-0034). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to form the electrode of Mori with the claimed structure to reduce the chance of cracking the chuck during high temperature operation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, and 9-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,538,748 in view of Masayuki
Regarding Claim 1-7 and 9-22, Patent teaches the ceramic joined body, where the joint surface is considered the integrally formed insulating layer, except for the insulating layer and ceramic plates being formed of both an insulating material and a conductive material.
Masayuki teaches a ceramic body for use in electrostatic chucks (Abstract), where the ceramic insulating body is formed from an insulating material of aluminum oxide, and dispersed conductive material, including SiC, Mo, W, and Ta (Paragraph 0010, 0028-0030). Masayuki teaches this composition for the ceramic cover for the electrodes provides the advantage of excellent gas, heat and shock resistance without negatively affecting the necessary volume resistivity to operate as an electrostatic chuck. (Paragraph 0025, 0030).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to use claimed material taught by Masayuki as the insulating layer and ceramic plate in Patent to improve resistances without degrading volume resistivity necessary to operate as an electrostatic chuck.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered
Applicant’s arguments regarding the density of the electrode have been found persuasive and the §103 rejection has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/Michael Zhang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781