DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 6, 8, 9, 14, 16, 17, 19, 22, 24, 25 and 50-54 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendment filed 06/30/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 14 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 9, 16, 17, 19, 24, 25 and 50-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al (US 2024/0098462 A1) in view of Bayesteh et al (US 2021/0076417 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 50, Jiang teaches a communication method, comprising:
controlling, by a base station, a terminal having a wireless sensing capability to communicate with a target cell, wherein the target cell is a cell that supports Integrated Sensing and Communication (ISAC) (Jiang: Figs. 1-2; [0078], [0110]-[0113], base station with ISAC capability and device/terminal with sensing capability); and
notifying the terminal that a current base station or cell supports wireless sensing and a supported first wireless sensing parameter through system messages or downlink messages, wherein the first wireless sensing parameter comprises a wireless sensing direction, a wireless sensing signal type, a wireless sensing range and a wireless sensing type (Jiang: Figs. 1-2; [0109]-[0125], second device/base station transmits sensing signal configuration to a first device/terminal; the configuration/parameter comprising sensing direction [0125], sensing signal type [0124], sensing range [0121]-[0122] and sensing type [0106]); and wherein the wireless sensing signal type corresponds to the signal type or transmission of wireless communication (Jiang: [0124], signal type such as SRS, PRS…).
Jiang does not explicitly disclose wherein the wireless sensing direction comprises uplink wireless sensing or downlink wireless sensing, the wireless sensing type comprises active sensing or passive sensing, the wireless sensing range is the coverage area of the current base station or cell.
Bayesteh teaches wherein the wireless sensing direction comprises uplink wireless sensing or downlink wireless sensing (Bayesteh: Fig. 4; [0114]-[0115], UL/DL sensing), the wireless sensing type comprises active sensing or passive sensing (Bayesteh: Fig. 4; [0005], [0147]-[0148], active/passive sensing), the wireless sensing range is the coverage area of the current base station or cell (Bayesteh: Fig. 9; [0069] sensing coverage area of the base station).
wherein the wireless sensing direction comprises uplink wireless sensing or downlink wireless sensing, the wireless sensing type comprises active sensing or passive sensing, the wireless sensing range is the coverage area of the current base station or cell as disclosed by Bayesteh to provide a system for sensing in half duplex networks (Bayesteh: Abstract).
Regarding claims 9 and 25, Jiang teaches a communication method, comprising:
communicating, by a terminal, with a target cell when the terminal has wireless sensing capability, wherein the target cell is a cell that supports Integrated Sensing And Communication (ISAC) (Jiang: Figs. 1-2; [0078], [0110]-[0113], base station with ISAC capability and device/terminal with sensing capability); and
receiving system messages or downlink messages, wherein the system messages or downlink messages are used to notify the terminal that the current base station or cell supports wireless sensing and a supported first wireless sensing parameter, wherein the first wireless sensing parameter comprises a wireless sensing direction, a wireless sensing signal type, a wireless sensing range and a wireless sensing type (Jiang: Figs. 1-2; [0109]-[0125], second device/base station transmit sensing signal configuration to a first device/terminal; the configuration/parameter comprising sensing direction [0125], sensing signal type [0124], sensing range [0121]-[0122] and sensing type [0106]) and wherein the wireless sensing signal type corresponds to the signal type or transmission of wireless communication (Jiang: [0124], signal type such as SRS, PRS…).
Jiang does not explicitly disclose wherein the wireless sensing direction comprises uplink wireless sensing or downlink wireless sensing, the wireless sensing type comprises active sensing or passive sensing, the wireless sensing range is the coverage area of the current base station or cell.
Bayesteh teaches wherein the wireless sensing direction comprises uplink wireless sensing or downlink wireless sensing (Bayesteh: Fig. 4; [0114]-[0115], UL/DL sensing), the wireless sensing type comprises active sensing or passive sensing (Bayesteh: Fig. 4; [0005], [0147]-[0148], active/passive sensing), the wireless sensing range is the coverage area of the current base station or cell (Bayesteh: Fig. 9; [0069] sensing coverage area of the base station).
wherein the wireless sensing direction comprises uplink wireless sensing or downlink wireless sensing, the wireless sensing type comprises active sensing or passive sensing, the wireless sensing range is the coverage area of the current base station or cell as disclosed by Bayesteh to provide a system for sensing in half duplex networks (Bayesteh: Abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Jiang teaches a base station, comprising: a memory configured to store computer programs; a processor configured to read computer programs stored in the memory; and a transceiver configured to transmit and receive data under the control of the processor, wherein the computer programs, when executed by the processor, cause the base station to:
control a terminal having a wireless sensing capability to communicate with a target cell, wherein the target cell is a cell that supports Integrated Sensing and Communication (ISAC) (Jiang: Figs. 1-2; [0078], [0110]-[0113], base station with ISAC capability and device/terminal with sensing capability); and
notifying the terminal that a current base station or cell supports wireless sensing and a supported first wireless sensing parameter through system messages or downlink messages, wherein the first wireless sensing parameter comprises a wireless sensing direction, a wireless sensing signal type, a wireless sensing range and a wireless sensing type (Jiang: Figs. 1-2; [0109]-[0125], second device/base station transmit sensing signal configuration to a first device/terminal; the configuration/parameter comprising sensing direction [0125], sensing signal type [0124], sensing range [0121]-[0122] and sensing type [0106] and wherein the wireless sensing signal type corresponds to the signal type or transmission of wireless communication (Jiang: [0124], signal type such as SRS, PRS…).
Jiang does not explicitly disclose wherein the wireless sensing direction comprises uplink wireless sensing or downlink wireless sensing, the wireless sensing type comprises active sensing or passive sensing, the wireless sensing range is the coverage area of the current base station or cell.
Bayesteh teaches wherein the wireless sensing direction comprises uplink wireless sensing or downlink wireless sensing (Bayesteh: Fig. 4; [0114]-[0115], UL/DL sensing), the wireless sensing type comprises active sensing or passive sensing (Bayesteh: Fig. 4; [0005], [0147]-[0148], active/passive sensing), the wireless sensing range is the coverage area of the current base station or cell (Bayesteh: Fig. 9; [0069] sensing coverage area of the base station).
wherein the wireless sensing direction comprises uplink wireless sensing or downlink wireless sensing, the wireless sensing type comprises active sensing or passive sensing, the wireless sensing range is the coverage area of the current base station or cell as disclosed by Bayesteh to provide a system for sensing in half duplex networks (Bayesteh: Abstract).
Regarding claims 8, 16 and 24, Jiang teaches receiving a second wireless sensing parameter reported by the terminal, wherein the second wireless sensing parameter comprises a wireless sensing direction, a wireless sensing signal type, a wireless sensing range, and a wireless sensing type (Jiang: Figs. 1 and 3; [0155]-[0163]).
Regarding claims 19 and 52, Jiang teaches wherein the computer programs, when executed by the processor, further cause the base station to: control the terminal to transmit uplink access related messages through uplink wireless sensing when the target cell is the first cell and the first cell is an independent working cell (Jiang: Figs. 1-3; [0109]-[0125], second device/base station transmit sensing signal configuration to a first device/terminal; the configuration/parameter comprising sensing direction [0125], sensing signal type [0124], sensing range [0121]-[0122] and sensing type [0106]).
Regarding claims 51 and 53, Jiang teaches wherein the target cell comprises any one of the following: a first cell having wireless communication downlink frequency resource coverage and wireless sensing uplink frequency resource coverage in a base station coverage area (Jiang: Figs. 1-2; [0109]-[0125]).
Regarding claim 54, Jiang teaches wherein the communicating, by the terminal, with the target cell when the terminal has wireless sensing capability comprises: transmitting, by the terminal, uplink access related messages through uplink wireless sensing when the target cell is the first cell and the first cell is an independent working cell (Jiang: Figs. 1-3; [0109]-[0125], second device/base station transmit sensing signal configuration to a first device/terminal; the configuration/parameter comprising sensing direction [0125], sensing signal type [0124], sensing range [0121]-[0122] and sensing type [0106]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478