DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communication filed on 12/4/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
The Examiner cites particular sections in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant(s). Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant(s) fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant's argument that no combination of the applied references would have rendered claim 1, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Applicant's arguments filed 12/4/2025 regarding “cause the trust agent “wherein the hash generation and comparison occur after successful operating system bring-up and before allowing execution of the application” have been fully considered but they are moot and/or not persuasive. The amended limitation is taught by the combination of references, although new paragraphs have been cited.
Applicant argues that generation and comparison occur after successful operating system bring-up and before allowing execution of the application is not taught by Zeng in view of Crowder.
Examiner disagrees because Crowder teaches “files can be verified on an "as-needed" basis when they are loaded at a later time” which is performed after loading the operating system and before the application (file) is allowed to be executed, which reads on generation and comparison occur after successful operating system bring-up and before allowing execution of the application, see Crowder [0015, 0028-0030, 0070-0076, Fig. 6 and corresponding paragraphs 0086-0105]
Applicant's arguments filed 12/4/2025 regarding “cause the trust agent, during a secure boot process, to process…” have been fully considered but they are moot and/or not persuasive. The amended limitation is taught by the combination of references, although new paragraphs have been cited.
Applicant argues that Crowder does not disclose the processing being performed “during a secure boot process” because “(Crowder, para. [0052], states "the gaming machine first authenticates the contents of the manifest and then verifies the contents of the files using the hash value stored in the manifest”, indicating that manifests are created and authenticated before boot verification begins, not during a secure boot process by a verified trust agent.
Examiner disagrees because in the verification of the trusted agent in Crowder is being performed as a necessary step to perform process for secure booting and further cites paragraph Crowder [0030, 0056 and Fig. 5 along with corresponding paragraphs 0067-0085].
Applicant argues that the dependent claims are allowable based on the allowability of the independent claims. Examiner find the independent claims not allowable therefore the dependent claims are not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (U.S. 20230169216), in view of Crowder (U.S. 20100062844).
Regarding claims 1 and 8,
Zeng discloses: An apparatus, comprising:
a processor; and (Zeng [0030-0040] processor and a memory)
a memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the apparatus to: (Zeng [0030-0040] processor and a memory)
cause firmware executed by a processor to verify a bootloader; (Zeng [0082-0098]; [0100-0117] 2.6. Integrity verification is performed on the bootloader firmware using boot code stored in ROM)
in response to verifying the bootloader, cause the bootloader to be executed to verify a kernel; (Zeng [0082-0098]; [0100-0117] 2.7. Subsequently, by using a method similar to that in 2.3 to 2.6, the bootloader firmware may perform integrity verification on the UEFI firmware, and the UEFI firmware may perform integrity verification on the kernel software package)
in response to verifying the kernel, cause the kernel to be executed to verify a trust agent; (Zeng [0004] the firmware or software is started only after the integrity verification is successful; [0082-0098]; [0100-0117]; [0220-0246] teaches loading and executing a kernel software package, by a kernel module (trusted agent), after verification is successful)
compare the hash for all of the one or more files combined or for each of the one or more files individually with a hash included in an application manifest file stored in a secure storage… and (Zeng [0069] 1.2. A root public key A and a root private key A that are provided by a device provider are obtained, and the root public key A or a hash (Hash) value of the root public key A is written into the storage area 11 of the chip 100. Compared with writing the root public key A, writing the hash value of the root public key A saves storage space; [0082-0098]; [0100-0117] 2.4. Check whether the root public key A provided by the device provider is tampered with. Specifically, whether the hash value of the root public key A′ is the same as a hash value of the root public key A″ is compared; [0111] Case 1: If the hash value of the root public key A′ is the same as the hash value of the root public key A″, the root public key A provided by the third-party integrator is not tampered with. In this case, 2.5′ is performed)
in response to confirming a hash match between the hash for all of the one or more files combined or for each of the one or more files individually and the hash included in the application manifest file, cause the one or more files that are part of the application to be executed. (Zeng [0069] 1.2. A root public key A and a root private key A that are provided by a device provider are obtained, and the root public key A or a hash (Hash) value of the root public key A is written into the storage area 11 of the chip 100. Compared with writing the root public key A, writing the hash value of the root public key A saves storage space; [0082-0098]; [0100-0117] 2.4. Check whether the root public key A provided by the device provider is tampered with. Specifically, whether the hash value of the root public key A′ is the same as a hash value of the root public key A″ is compared; [0111] Case 1: If the hash value of the root public key A′ is the same as the hash value of the root public key A″, the root public key A provided by the third-party integrator is not tampered with. In this case, 2.5′ is performed)
Zeng does not explicitly disclose: in response to verifying the trust agent, cause the trust agent, during a secure boot process, to process an application list to identify one or more files that are part of an application and to generate a hash for all of the one or more files combined or for each of the one or more files individually;
wherein the hash generation and comparison occur after successful operating system bring-up and before allowing execution of the application;
However, in the same field of endeavor Crowder discloses: in response to verifying the trust agent, cause the trust agent, during a secure boot process, to process an application list to identify one or more files that are part of an application and to generate a hash for all of the one or more files combined or for each of the one or more files individually; (Crowder [0020-0030]; [0052]; [0078-0092] teaches generating and verifying hashes of files within a software package manifest; [0030] performing a digital signature calculation on a file accessed during a bootup process; validating the contents of the accessed file by comparing the calculated digital signature to the saved digital signature; and presenting an error message on a video display when the contents of the accessed file is not validate; [0056] Placing the verification software 70 in the BIOS 64 is advantages because the code in the BIOS 64 is usually the first code executed upon boot or start-up of the gaming machine 10, making it hard to bypass the verification process; [Figure 5 and corresponding paragraphs 0067-0085] illustrate the securing booting process (which includes hash/digital signature generation))
wherein the hash generation and comparison occur after successful operating system bring-up and before allowing execution of the application; (Crowder [0015, 0028-0030, 0070-0076, Fig. 6 and associated paragraphs 0086-0105] If the operating system only needs to load 20% of the files during boot time, then the remaining 80% of the files can be verified on an "as-needed" basis when they are loaded at a later time)
Zeng and Crowder are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor hash verification.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zeng and Crowder before him or her, to modify the method of Zeng to include the generating of hashes of files within a manifest of Crowder because it will verification to be performed on those filed.
The motivation for doing so would be [“validating the contents of the accessed file by comparing the calculated digital signature to the saved digital signature”] (Paragraph [0030] by Crowder)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zeng and Crowder to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claims 2 and 9,
Zeng in view of Crowder discloses: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the trust agent is a kernel module. (Zeng [0004] the firmware or software is started only after the integrity verification is successful; [0082-0098]; [0100-0117]; [0220-0246] teaches loading and executing a kernel software package, by a kernel module (trusted agent), after verification is successful)
Regarding Claims 3 and 10,
Zeng in view of Crowder discloses: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the firmware verifies the shim to verify the bootloader and causes the shim to be executed to verify the grub, and in response to verifying the grub, the grub verifies the kernel such that the bootloader verifies the kernel. (Zeng [0082-0098]; [0220-0247]; [0092] Case 1: If the verification is successful, the level-2 public key B provided by the device provider is not tampered with. In this case, 2.6 is performed; [0095] Specifically, integrity verification is performed on the bootloader firmware based on the level-2 public key B′ and the signature information corresponding to the bootloader firmware; [0096] Case 1: If the verification is successful, the bootloader firmware is not tampered with. In this case, the bootloader firmware is loaded and executed; SHIM and GRUB correspond to first and second of UEFI firmware verification)
Regarding Claims 4 and 11,
Zeng in view of Crowder discloses: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is further caused to:
in response to receiving an application package comprising the one or more files that are part of the application by way of a secure download from a source, cause a hash calculator to calculate a hash for the application package; (Crowder [0091-0095] teaches loading and verifying “as-needed” when reads on verifying in response to receiving; [0020-0030]; teaches the verification is performed using hashes)
generate the application manifest file, wherein the hash included in the application manifest file is the hash for the application package; and (Crowder [0020-0030]; [0052]; [0078-0092] teaches generating and verifying hashes of files within a received manifest list for an application package)
cause the application manifest file to be stored in the secure storage. (Crowder [0020-0030]; [0052]; [0078-0092] teaches generating and verifying hashes of files within a received manifest list for an application package and secure storage)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeng with Crowder for similar reasons as cited in claim 1.
Regarding Claims 5 and 12,
Zeng in view of Crowder discloses: The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the application manifest file is generated before the firmware is executed. (Crowder [0020-0030]; [0056]; [0078-0092] teaches generating and verifying hashes of files within a received manifest list for an application package before executing the firmware)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeng with Crowder for similar reasons as cited in claim 1.
Regarding Claims 6 and 13,
Zeng in view of Crowder discloses: The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the application manifest file is generated (Crowder [0020-0030]; [0056]; [0078-0092] teaches generating and verifying hashes of files within a received manifest list for an application package before executing the firmware) after the firmware is executed and before the trust agent is executed. (Zeng [0082-0098]; [0100-0117]; [0220-0246] teaches loading and executing a kernel software package after initial firmware verification but before the final verification)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeng with Crowder for similar reasons as cited in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7 and 14,
Zeng in view of Crowder discloses: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is further caused to:
during a secure download of the one or more files that are part of the application by way of a secure download from a source, cause a hash calculator to calculate a hash for an application package comprising the one or more files that are part of the application; (Crowder [0091-0095] teaches loading and verifying “as-needed” when reads on verifying in response to receiving; [0020-0030]; teaches the verification is performed using hashes)
generate the application manifest file, wherein the hash included in the application manifest file is the hash for the application package; and (Crowder [0020-0030]; [0052]; [0078-0092] teaches generating and verifying hashes of files within a received manifest list for an application package)
cause the application manifest file to be stored in the secure storage. (Crowder [0020-0030]; [0052]; [0078-0092] teaches generating and verifying hashes of files within a received manifest list for an application package and secure storage)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeng with Crowder for similar reasons as cited in claim 1.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (U.S. 20230169216), in view of Crowder (U.S. 20100062844) and in further view of Ghetie (U.S. 20210026966).
cause firmware executed by a processor to verify a bootloader; (Zeng [0082-0098]; [0100-0117] 2.6. Integrity verification is performed on the bootloader firmware using boot code stored in ROM)
in response to verifying the bootloader, cause the bootloader to be executed to verify a kernel; (Zeng [0082-0098]; [0100-0117] 2.7. Subsequently, by using a method similar to that in 2.3 to 2.6, the bootloader firmware may perform integrity verification on the UEFI firmware, and the UEFI firmware may perform integrity verification on the kernel software package)
in response to verifying the kernel, cause the kernel to be executed to verify a trust agent; (Zeng [0004] the firmware or software is started only after the integrity verification is successful; [0082-0098]; [0100-0117]; [0220-0246] teaches loading and executing a kernel software package, by a kernel module (trusted agent), after verification is successful)
compare the hash for all of the one or more files combined or for each of the one or more files individually with a hash included in an application manifest file stored in a secure storage… and (Zeng [0069] 1.2. A root public key A and a root private key A that are provided by a device provider are obtained, and the root public key A or a hash (Hash) value of the root public key A is written into the storage area 11 of the chip 100. Compared with writing the root public key A, writing the hash value of the root public key A saves storage space; [0082-0098]; [0100-0117] 2.4. Check whether the root public key A provided by the device provider is tampered with. Specifically, whether the hash value of the root public key A′ is the same as a hash value of the root public key A″ is compared; [0111] Case 1: If the hash value of the root public key A′ is the same as the hash value of the root public key A″, the root public key A provided by the third-party integrator is not tampered with. In this case, 2.5′ is performed)
in response to confirming a hash match between the hash for all of the one or more files combined or for each of the one or more files individually and the hash included in the application manifest file, cause the one or more files that are part of the application to be executed. (Zeng [0069] 1.2. A root public key A and a root private key A that are provided by a device provider are obtained, and the root public key A or a hash (Hash) value of the root public key A is written into the storage area 11 of the chip 100. Compared with writing the root public key A, writing the hash value of the root public key A saves storage space; [0082-0098]; [0100-0117] 2.4. Check whether the root public key A provided by the device provider is tampered with. Specifically, whether the hash value of the root public key A′ is the same as a hash value of the root public key A″ is compared; [0111] Case 1: If the hash value of the root public key A′ is the same as the hash value of the root public key A″, the root public key A provided by the third-party integrator is not tampered with. In this case, 2.5′ is performed)
Zeng does not explicitly disclose: in response to verifying the trust agent, cause the trust agent, during a secure boot process, to process an application list to identify one or more files that are part of an application and to generate a hash for all of the one or more files combined or for each of the one or more files individually;
wherein the hash generation and comparison occur after successful operating system bring-up and before allowing execution of the application;
However, in the same field of endeavor Crowder discloses: in response to verifying the trust agent, cause the trust agent, during a secure boot process, to process an application list to identify one or more files that are part of an application and to generate a hash for all of the one or more files combined or for each of the one or more files individually; (Crowder [0020-0030]; [0052]; [0078-0092] teaches generating and verifying hashes of files within a software package manifest; [0030] performing a digital signature calculation on a file accessed during a bootup process; validating the contents of the accessed file by comparing the calculated digital signature to the saved digital signature; and presenting an error message on a video display when the contents of the accessed file is not validate; [0056] Placing the verification software 70 in the BIOS 64 is advantages because the code in the BIOS 64 is usually the first code executed upon boot or start-up of the gaming machine 10, making it hard to bypass the verification process; [Figure 5 and corresponding paragraphs 0067-0085] illustrate the securing booting process)
wherein the hash generation and comparison occur after successful operating system bring-up and before allowing execution of the application; (Crowder [0015, 0028-0030, 0070-0076, Fig. 6 and associated paragraphs 0086-0105] If the operating system only needs to load 20% of the files during boot time, then the remaining 80% of the files can be verified on an "as-needed" basis when they are loaded at a later time)
Zeng and Crowder are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor hash verification.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zeng and Crowder before him or her, to modify the method of Zeng to include the generating of hashes of files within a manifest of Crowder because it will verification to be performed on those filed.
The motivation for doing so would be [“validating the contents of the accessed file by comparing the calculated digital signature to the saved digital signature”] (Paragraph [0030] by Crowder)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zeng and Crowder to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Claims 15 additionally discloses: A non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon (Ghetie [0082] The computer-readable or machine-readable storage medium may be non-transitory)
Zeng and Crowder are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor hash verification.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zeng, Crowder and Ghetie before him or her, to modify the method of Zeng and Crowder to include the non-transitory Ghetie because it will allow for a non-transitory method to be performed.
The motivation for doing so would be [“threat mitigation”] (Paragraph [Abstract] by Ghetie)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zeng, Crowder and Ghetie to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 16,
Zeng in view of Crowder and Ghetie discloses: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the trust agent is a kernel module. (Zeng [0004] the firmware or software is started only after the integrity verification is successful; [0082-0098]; [0100-0117]; [0220-0246] teaches loading and executing a kernel software package, by a kernel module (trusted agent), after verification is successful)
Regarding Claim 17,
Zeng in view of Crowder and Ghetie discloses: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the firmware verifies the shim to verify the bootloader and causes the shim to be executed to verify the grub, and in response to verifying the grub, the grub verifies the kernel such that the bootloader verifies the kernel. (Zeng [0082-0098]; [0220-0247]; [0092] Case 1: If the verification is successful, the level-2 public key B provided by the device provider is not tampered with. In this case, 2.6 is performed; [0095] Specifically, integrity verification is performed on the bootloader firmware based on the level-2 public key B′ and the signature information corresponding to the bootloader firmware; [0096] Case 1: If the verification is successful, the bootloader firmware is not tampered with. In this case, the bootloader firmware is loaded and executed; SHIM and GRUB correspond to first and second of UEFI firmware verification)
Regarding Claim 18,
Zeng in view of Crowder and Ghetie discloses: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is further caused to:
in response to receiving an application package comprising the one or more files that are part of the application by way of a secure download from a source, cause a hash calculator to calculate a hash for the application package; (Crowder [0091-0095] teaches loading and verifying “as-needed” when reads on verifying in response to receiving; [0020-0030]; teaches the verification is performed using hashes)
generate the application manifest file, wherein the hash included in the application manifest file is the hash for the application package; and (Crowder [0020-0030]; [0052]; [0078-0092] teaches generating and verifying hashes of files within a received manifest list for an application package)
cause the application manifest file to be stored in the secure storage. (Crowder [0020-0030]; [0052]; [0078-0092] teaches generating and verifying hashes of files within a received manifest list for an application package and secure storage)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeng with Crowder for similar reasons as cited in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 19,
Zeng in view of Crowder and Ghetie discloses: The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the application manifest file is generated before the firmware is executed. (Crowder [0020-0030]; [0056]; [0078-0092] teaches generating and verifying hashes of files within a received manifest list for an application package before executing the firmware)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeng with Crowder for similar reasons as cited in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 20,
Zeng in view of Crowder and Ghetie discloses: The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the apparatus is further caused to:
during a secure download of the one or more files that are part of the application by way of a secure download from a source, cause a hash calculator to calculate a hash for an application package comprising the one or more files that are part of the application; (Crowder [0091-0095] teaches loading and verifying “as-needed” when reads on verifying in response to receiving; [0020-0030]; teaches the verification is performed using hashes)
generate the application manifest file, wherein the hash included in the application manifest file is the hash for the application package; and (Crowder [0020-0030]; [0052]; [0078-0092] teaches generating and verifying hashes of files within a received manifest list for an application package)
cause the application manifest file to be stored in the secure storage. (Crowder [0020-0030]; [0052]; [0078-0092] teaches generating and verifying hashes of files within a received manifest list for an application package and secure storage)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeng with Crowder for similar reasons as cited in claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Jung 6/25/2017 (US 20180373878) teaches a secure boot mechanism for a multi-core system. In some examples, multiple execution environments may be sequentially booted according to a chain of trust that corresponds to the defense-in-depth hierarchy. A first stage of the secure boot may be based on the hardware root of trust of the multi-core processor. Subsequent stages may be based upon the trust in the previous stages. In some examples, if any stage is determined to be compromised, then the secure boot ceases, and neither the stage determined to be compromised nor any subsequent stages are booted.
Ansari 9/10/2020 (US 20230327883) teaches a bootloader authentication system with a multimedia device to mount within a vehicle, a memory device, and a processor. The memory device stores data indicative of a public key associated with the vehicle and a signed hash bootloader image indicative of a signature of a private key. The processor is in communication with the memory device and is programmed to: generate a signature verification block based on a combination of a random number and the signed hash bootloader image; compare the signature verification block to the public key to verify the signature of the private key; authenticate a bootloader in response to verifying the signature of the private key; and activate the multimedia device in response to bootloader authentication.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THOMAS A. CARNES
Examiner
Art Unit 2436
/THOMAS A CARNES/Examiner, Art Unit 2436
/MOEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436