Notice for all Patent Application as subject to AIA
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 29-48 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claims 38-39 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 38 recites the limitations "the authentication server” and “the login information”; claim 39 recites the limitation "the login information”; and claim 46 recites the limitations "the authentication server” and “the login information” There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2)
Claims 29-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0151315 A1).
Lee’s patent application meets all the limitations for claims 29-48 recited in the claimed invention.
As to claim 29, Lee et al teach an application login method (see abstract, figures 1-2, pars. 0024 & 0029), comprising: establishing, by a first electronic device, a communication connection with a second electronic device having a cellular communication function available (figure 1, par. 0025 lines 1-12, par. 0025 lines 1-13, a first electronic device (a TV having an input function) establish a communication channel with a second electronic device (a smartphone inherently having a cellular communication function); displaying, by the first electronic device after an application is started, a login interface comprising a second control (figure 1, par. 0025 lines 14-25, figure 7 (701), pars. 0088-0090, a first electronic device displaying a loin interface including login window having login key), wherein the second control is used to provide a first login manner in which the first electronic device logs in to the application via one touch by using the cellular communication function of the second electronic device (figure2, pars. 0031, 0035-0036, 0048, the first electronic device logs in to the application by the second electronic device by using a touch function); receiving, by the first electronic device, a first user operation on the second control; and logging, by the first electronic device in response to the first user operation, in to the application in the first login manner (figure 2, pars. 0030-0037, figure 7, pars. 0089-0092, the first electronic device logs in to the application by the second electronic device by using a user operation).
As to claim 30, Lee et al teach that the first electronic device is an electronic device without a cellular communication function (figure 1, par. 0025 lines 51-54, the first electronic device is a TV including an input function).
As to claim 31, Lee et al teach that when the first electronic device obtains authorization from the second electronic device, identification information of the second electronic device is further displayed on the login interface (figures 1-2, pars. 0025 & 0030, figure 7, par. 0091, ID of the second electronic device display on the first electronic device based on authentication information).
As to claim 32, Lee et al teach that obtaining, by the first electronic device, authorization from the second electronic device, and logging in to the application in the first login manner in response to the first operation (figures 1-2, pars. 0025 & 0042, the first electronic device receiving authentication information from the second electronic device and logging into the application).
As to claim 33, Lee et al teach that displaying, by the first electronic device, a device selection interface including at least one available host, and each of the at least one available host is an electronic device that can cooperate with the first electronic device to log in to the application in the first login manner (figure 7, pars. 0089-0092, displaying available second electronic devices); sending, by the first electronic device, an authorization request to the second electronic device in response to an operation of selecting the second electronic device from the at least one available host, wherein the authorization request requests the second electronic device to cooperate with the first electronic device to log in to the application in the first login manner; receiving, by the first electronic device, an authorization notification from the second electronic device, wherein the authorization notification indicates that the second electronic device already accepts the authorization request (figures 1-2, pars. 0025, 0030, 0042, the first electronic device receiving authentication information from the second electronic device and logging into the application).
As to claim 34, Lee et al teach that updating, by the first electronic device, the login interface after the authorization notification is received, wherein an updated login interface displays identification information of the second electronic device; and
logging, by the first electronic device, in to the application in the first login manner in response to an operation on the second control on the updated login interface (figures 1-2, pars. 0030 & 0038-0042, the first electronic device periodically receiving authentication information from the second electronic device).
As to claim 35, Lee et al teach that broadcasting, by the first electronic device, a device information obtaining request to a router in a local area network in which the first electronic device is located (figure 5, par. 0075 lines 19-24, figure 9, pars. 0109-0111, using a hub to broadcasts input information request); receiving, by the first electronic device, device information sent by the at least one available host in the local area network; and displaying, by the first electronic device, the device selection interface based on the device information sent by the at least one available host (figure 7, pars. 0089-0092, ID of the second electronic device display on the first electronic device).
As to claim 36, Lee et al teach that sending, by the first electronic device, a device information obtaining request to a cloud server corresponding to a device account logged in to by the first electronic device; receiving, by the first electronic device, device information that is of the at least one available host and that is sent by the cloud server (pars. 0036-0037 & 0041-0042, figure 3, par. 0055 $ 0113, receiving authorization from the specific server including available second electronic devices); and displaying, by the first electronic device, the device selection interface based on the device information sent by the at least one available host (figure 7, pars. 0089-0092, ID of the second electronic device display on the first electronic device).
As to claim 37, Lee et al teach that displaying, by the first electronic device, an application home interface including a first control, wherein the first control is used to control the first electronic device to display the login interface; and displaying, by the first electronic device, the login interface in response to an operation performed by the user on the first control (figure 7, pars. 0095-0098, figure 8, pars. 0100-0102, displaying application home interface including control key).
As to claim 38, Lee et al teach that sending, by the first electronic device, a first login request to the authentication server via the second electronic device, wherein the first login request requests to obtain the login information; receiving, by the first electronic device, the login information from the authentication server via the second electronic device; logging, by the first electronic device, in to the application based on the login information (pars. 0036-0037 & 0041-0042, figure 3, par. 0055, receiving authorization from the specific server and logging into the application based on the received authorization information).
As to claim 39, Lee et al teach that sending, by the first electronic device, a second login request to an application server corresponding to the application, wherein the second login request comprises the login information and is used by the application server to log in to the application based on the login information; and receiving, by the first electronic device, a login result notification sent by the application server (figure 3, pars. 0055 & 0057, figure 4, pars. 0065 & 0070, logging in to an application based on a history of the input information and receiving a logging result).
As to claim 40, Lee et al teach that the first electronic device and the second electronic device are electronic devices in a same local area network, the first electronic device and the second electronic device communicate with each other by using a router in the local area network (figure 9, pars. 0109-0111, using a local hub to communicates between both electronic devices).
As to claim 41, Lee et al teach that the first electronic device and the second electronic device log in to a same device account, the first electronic device and the second electronic device communicate with each other via a cloud server corresponding to the device account, or via a peer-to-peer connection (pars. 0113-0114, using a cloud server without using devices accounts).
As to claim 42, Lee et al teach that login information is obtained from an authentication server via the cellular communication function of the second electronic device, thereby logging in to the application based on the login information (pars. 0036-0037, 0041-0042, 0047 & 0067, figure 8, par. 0100-0102, receiving authorization from the specific server and logging into the application based on the received authorization information).
As to claims 43-47, they are also rejected for the same reasons set forth to rejecting claims 29-32, 38-39, and 42 above, since claims 43-47 are merely an apparatus for the method of operations defined in the claims 29-32, 38-39, and 42, and claims 43-47 do not teach or define any new limitations than above rejected claims 29-32, 38-39, and 42.
As to claim 48, it is also rejected for the same reasons set forth to rejecting claim 1 above, since claim 48 is merely a program product for the method of operations defined in the claim 1, and claim 48 do not teach or define any new limitations than above rejected claim 1.
Additional References
The examiner as of general interest cites the following references.
a. Whyte et al, U.S. Patent No. 11,233,799 B1.
b. Kim et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0308901 A1.
c. LI et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0285949 A1.
Content Information
/BHARAT BAROT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453March 16, 2026