Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 11/17/2025, with respect to the rejections under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 101 rejection of claims 1-10 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 11/17/2025, with respect to the rejections under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 3 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 11/17/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1,2, and 10 under 35 USC 102 and 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jou et al (US20210353137A1); hereinafter Jou.
The applicant also argues that the prior art reference of Kawarai does not teach the timer in sane way as is claimed in the present invention. However, in paragraph [0240], Kawarai teaches “the timer is set at a time period for lighting LED for the treatment, according to the irradiation conditions (especially, dose conditions and illuminance conditions, or irradiation time conditions)”. Therefore, Kawarai does teach that the timer calculates a time value and then based on that calculated value, sets a time period for irradiation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,7,10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wuhan et al (CN 104307105A); hereinafter Wuhan (cited previously) in view of Jou et al (US20210353137A1); hereinafter Jou.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Wuhan teaches an ultraviolet therapy apparatus, comprising:
an LED light source configured to emit light including ultraviolet light (UV semiconductor LED chip (11) that emits UV light);
a controller configured to control lighting of the LED light source (temperature controller (6) controls the input current of a semiconductor cooling chip (9) on the basis of the temperature data); and
a measurement unit configured to detect change in a temperature of the LED light source from a reference temperature (temperature sensing probe (10) detects an increase in the temperature of a UV semiconductor LED),
the controller including:
a calculator configured to calculate a modifying value for modifying an irradiation dose of the ultraviolet light on the basis of change in a degree of effect on a human body caused by change in spectral spectrum of the light due to change in the temperature detected by the measurement unit (temperature of the UV semiconductor LED chip (11) is lowered to within an appropriate range and the wavelength generated by the UV semiconductor LED chip (11) is restricted to within a prescribed range - in order for the controller to be aware of the difference between the current temperature and what is appropriate, a calculation must be done), and
a lighting controller configured to control an irradiation time of the UV light emitted by the LED light source on the basis of the modifying value calculated by the calculator to provide a desired ultraviolet radiation dose to an affected area of human skin of a human body in accordance with the change in the temperature of the LED light source detected by the measurement unit (the wavelength generated by the UV semiconductor LED chip (11) is restricted within a prescribed range).
Wuhan fails to teach the apparent irradiance is obtained by modifying an irradiance on human skin of the ultraviolet light in view of an erythema action on the human skin at each wavelength. Jou teaches the apparent irradiance is obtained by modifying an irradiance on human skin of the ultraviolet light in view of erythema action on the human skin at each wavelength ([0005] after using the mathematical formulas provided by ANSI to calculate effective radiance (LB) and effective irradiance (EB), numeric value of the MPE limit of the specific light would be therefore calculated). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention to modify Wuhan with Jou because there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. Jou teaches “there is a lack of a device for helping generic users in the calculation of MPE of any one kind of light” ([0007]).
The electrical connection between the control unit and the storage unit and the subsequent retrieval of information is obvious because it well-known in the art that calculated values are kept in storage and must be retrieved by the controller.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wuhan and Jou teaches the apparatus according to claim 1. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention to modify Wuhan wherein the measurement unit measures any one of a temperature of an LED substrate of the LED light source (temperature sensing probe (10) detects an increase in the temperature of a UV semiconductor LED), a forward voltage of the LED light source, and characteristics of the ultraviolet light from the LED light source. Wuhan already teaches measuring the temperature of the UV light source, so it would have been an obvious improvement to also measure the temperature of the LED substrate on which the LED light source is mounted.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wuhan and Jou teaches a method for applying ultraviolet light using the ultraviolet therapy apparatus according to claim 1. Wuhan further teaches the method compromising:
Detecting change in temperature of LED light source from a reference temperature by the measurement unit (temperature sensing probe (10) detects an increase in the temperature of a UV semiconductor LED);
Calculating the modifying value for modifying the irradiation dose of the ultraviolet light, by the calculator on the basis of the change in temperature detected by the measurement unit (temperature of the UV semiconductor LED chip (11) is lowered to within an appropriate range and the wavelength generated by the UV semiconductor LED chip (11) is restricted to within a prescribed range - in order for the controller to be aware of the difference between the current temperature and what is appropriate, a calculation must be done); and
Controlling the LED light source to emit on the basis of the modifying value by the lighting controller (the wavelength generated by the UV semiconductor LED chip (11) is restricted within a prescribed range).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wuhan and Jou in view of Kawarai et al (US 20210275826 A1); hereinafter Kawarai (cited previously).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wuhan and Jou teaches the UV therapy apparatus according to claim 1. Wuhan fails to teach specifically calculating an inputted current and a temperature adjustment. Kawarai teaches another modifying value, any one of the inputted current for the LED light source ([0240] setting an LED current…according to the irradiation conditions), and a temperature adjustment amount for the LED light source ([0241] predefined temperature).
And wherein the lighting controller is further configured to control any one of an inputted current for the LED light source and a temperature adjustment amount for the LED light source on the basis of another modifying value calculated by the calculator ([0237] irradiation conditions – the controller changes the parameters based on the irradiation conditions calculated).
It would have been obvious to modify Wuhan with Kawarai because there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. Kawarai teaches that by including a timer, strict control of the irradiation dose can be achieved.
Regarding claim 9, Wuhan teaches the UV therapy apparatus according to claim 1. Wuhan teaches the measurement unit detects the change in temperature of the LED light source before the LED light source is turned on by the lighting controller (temperature sensing probe (10) detects an increase in the temperature of a UV semiconductor LED). Wuhan fails to teach calculating and irradiation time. Kawarai teaches the calculator calculates an irradiation time of the ultraviolet light as the modifying value before the LED light source is turned on by the lighting controller ([0156] controller comprises a timer), and
wherein the control unit has a display controller configured to display the light irradiation time calculated by the calculator on a display unit before the LED light source is turned on by the lighting controller ([0156] controller comprises a timer… strict control of the irradiation dose can be achieved). It would have been obvious to modify Wuhan with Kawarai because there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. Kawarai teaches that by including a timer, strict control of the irradiation dose can be achieved.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.S.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/CARL H LAYNO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796