DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Groups I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 7/10/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that groups I and II share a peptide thioester synthesis method. This is not found persuasive because the shared technical feature does not make a contribution over the cited prior art references (p3, last para) in the restriction requirement dated 6/1/2026. Thus, groups I and II lack unity of invention without a special feature.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 13-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/10/2026.
Claim Status
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claims 13-16 are withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected invention, the election having been made on 7/10/2026.
Claims 1-12 have been examined.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2021/141673 filed on 12/27/2021 and claims foreign priority of CHINA 202011579916.9 filed on 12/28/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/27/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The resolution of synthetic route for peptide thioester disclosed in the SPEC [0010, 0014] is poor; thus, the examiner requests a substitute SPEC to improve resolution of the synthetic route for peptide thioester.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The resolution of synthetic route for peptide thioester in claim 1 is poor thus, the examiner requests amendment of claim 1 to improve resolution of the synthetic route for peptide thioester.
Furthermore, claim 1 contains the acronym “TCFH”, and an acronym in the first instance of claims should be expanded upon/spelled out as “N,N,N′,N′-Tetramethylchloroformamidinium hexafluorophosphate” with the acronym indicated in parentheses as (TCFH). The abbreviations can be used thereafter.
Similarly, the acronym “Boc” in claim 2 should be revised to tert-butyloxycarbonyl protecting group (Boc) in the first instance.
Similarly, the acronym “DIPEA” in claim 5 should be revised to “N,N-Diisopropylethylamine (DIPEA)”.
Similarly, the acronym “NMI” in claim 5 should be revised to “N-methylimidazole (NMI)”.
Similarly, the acronym “DMF” in claim 7 should be revised to “N,N-Dimethylformamide (DMF)”.
Similarly, the acronym “DMSO” in claim 7 should be revised to “Dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO)”.
Similarly, the acronym “DMA” in claim 7 should be revised to “N,N-Dimethylacetamide (DMA)”.
Similarly, the acronym “EDT” in claim 11 should be revised to “1,2-ethanedithiol (EDT)”.
Similarly, the acronym “TFA” in claim 11 should be revised to “trifluoroacetic acid (DMF)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation 4 h-24h, and the claim also recites 16 h-24 h, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Similarly, claim 10 recites the broad recitation 20°C-100°C, and the claim also recites 25°C-50°C, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Similarly, claim 12 recites the broad recitation (50-95):(1-12.5):(1-12.5):(l-12.5):(l-12.5), and the claim also recites 87 .5 : 5 : 2.5 : 2.5 : 2.5, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-2, 5-8, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stawikowski et al. (Curr Protoc Protein Sci. 2002 Feb;CHAPTER:Unit–18.1, previously cited 6/1/2026), Agrigento et al. (Org. Lett. 2014, 16, 3922−3925, cited in IDS), McMechen et al. (Molecules. 2019 May 18;24(10):1919.), Jahani et al. (Tetrahedron Letters 52 (2011) 1260–1264), and Jad et al. (Org. Process Res. Dev. 2017, 21, 365−369).
Claim 1 is drawn to a method of synthesizing a peptide thioester as shown follows comprising:
Sequentially coupling a resin conjugated amino acid in an order from the C-terminal to the N-terminal according to a target sequence by means of solid-phase synthesis;
Cleaving the resin from the resin peptide with an agent to activate a carboxylic acid;
Esterification of the activated peptide with p-chlorothiophenol under the action of a coupling agent of TCFH and an alkali in a solvent; and
Cleaving the protected groups to generate an esterified peptide.
Stawikowski et al. teach a solid phase peptide synthesis (SPPS) procedure as shown as follows (Fig 18.1.1).
With respect to step (1), Stawikowski et al. show sequentially coupling a resin conjugated amino acid in an order from the C-terminal to the N-terminal according to a target sequence by means of solid-phase synthesis (Fig 18.1.1).
With respect to step (2), Stawikowski et al. show cleavage of synthesized peptide from the solid resin to generate the C-terminal carboxylic acid (R = OH). Stawikowski et al. teach cleavage cocktail of reagent K comprising TFA-phenolthioanisole-1,2-ethanedithiol (same as EDT)-H2O at a ratio of 82.5:5:5:2.5:5 (p8, para 1).
Stawikowski et al. do not show esterification of the synthesized peptide reaction with p-chlorothiophenol under the action of a coupling agent of TCFH and an alkali in a solvent.
Agrigento et al. show modification of a peptide with p-chlorothiophenol at the C- terminus of a synthetic peptide via a thioester bond for ligation or cyclization (Abstract; p3922, Table 1; p3924, Table 6-7). Agrigento et al. suggest the reaction performed in a basic organic solvent (p3924, Table 6. Cyclization condition screening). Furthermore, McMechen et al. teach optimization a result effective variable, a mixture of N,N,N’,N’-tetramethylchloroformamidinium hexafluorophosphate (TCFH) and N-methylimidazole (NMI), as coupling reagents as for peptide synthesis (p8, Sec 3.7.4) in Table 1 as shown follows, reading on step (3).
With respect to step (4), it would be obvious to cleave the protection groups to generate esterified peptide for further modification ligation or cyclization as suggested by Agrigento et al. (p3924, Table 6. Cyclization condition screening).
With respect to claim 2, Stawikowski et al. teach use of t-butyloxycarbonyl (Boc) group for Nα protection during SPPS (p2, para 2). Jahani et al. is cited to show the use of di-tert-butyl decarbonate to generate N-Boc protection of the amine group of amino acids known in the art (abstract; p1263, table 2 and scheme 1).
With respect to claims 5-6, Agrigento et al. suggest a ratio of an amine donor compound (reading on an amino acid in a peptide) to a thioester donor compound (reading on p-chlorothiophenol) at 1: 1.2 (p3924, Table 4, legend). McMechen et al. suggest a ratio of TCFH to alkaline (NMI) as 3:9 (1:3) in Entry 4 of Table 1, reading on the ratio range in claim 5. Although the combined prior art references did not specify the ratio 1:1.2:1.5:4, the coupling efficiency of a thioester compound to a peptide is a result effective variable that can be optimized within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation. Thus, the cited prior art references are further obvious to the instant claim 6. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
With respect to claims 7-8, Stawikowski et al. teach the use of a solvent mixture comprising DMF to reduce racemization (p7, 2nd last para). Jad et al. is further cited as common knowledge known to one of ordinary skill in the art by showing DMF (N,N-dimethylformamide) is the most widely used solvent for Fmoc-SPPS, which is the conventional method of choice for peptide synthesis. It is usually employed for coupling, washing, and Fmoc-removal steps (Abstract). Thus, it would be obvious to optimize the concentration of DMF for different purposes comprising coupling, washing, and Fmoc-removal steps during peptide synthesis. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A).
With respect to claims 11-12, Stawikowski et al. teach cleavage cocktail of reagent K comprising TFA-phenolthioanisole-1,2-ethanedithiol (same as EDT)-H2O at a ratio of 82.5:5:5:2.5:5 (p8, para 1).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention would have found it obvious to combine (i) Stawikowski et al. and (ii) Agrigento et al. in view of McMechen et al. because (a) Stawikowski et al. teach a process of peptide synthesis (p12, Fig, 18.1.1), (b) Agrigento et al. teach thioester leaving group can be synthesized to the C-terminus of a synthetic peptide for ligation or cyclization of peptide (p3924-3925, Table 4-7), and (c) McMechen et al. teach the use of N,N,N’,N’-tetramethylchloroformamidinium hexafluorophosphate (TCFH)/N-methylimidazole (NMI) as coupling reagents for peptide synthesis (p8, Sec 3.7.4). The combination would have reasonable expectation of success because all three references teach synthetic peptides.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention would have found it further obvious to combine (i) Stawikowski et al. in view of Agrigento et al. McMechen et al. and (ii) Jahani et al. in view of Jad et al. because (a) Stawikowski et al. in view of Agrigento et al. McMechen et al. teach a process of peptide synthesis, (b) Jahani et al. is cited to show the use of di-tert-butyl decarbonate to generate N-Boc protection of the amine group of amino acids used for peptide synthesis known in the art (abstract; p1263, table 2 and scheme 1), and (c) Jad et al. is further cited as common knowledge to show DMF (N,N-dimethylformamide) is the most widely used solvent for Fmoc-SPPS, which is used for coupling, washing, and Fmoc-removal steps during peptide synthesis known in the art (Abstract). The combination would have reasonable expectation of success because (1) the use of di-tert-butyl decarbonate to generate N-Boc protection of the amine group of amino acids used for peptide synthesis and (2) DMF (N,N-dimethylformamide) is the most widely used solvent for coupling, washing, and Fmoc-removal steps during Fmoc-SPPS known in the art.
2. Claims 1-2 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stawikowski et al., Agrigento et al., McMechen et al., Jahani et al., and Jad et al. as applied to claims 1-2, 5-8, and 11-12 and further in view of Beutner et al. (Org. Lett. 2018, 20, 4218−4222).
Claim 9 is drawn to the coupling reaction in step (3) is performed for a time of 4 h-24 h,
Stawikowski et al., Agrigento et al., McMechen et al., Jahani et al., and Jad et al. teach a process of peptide esterification with p-chlorothiophenol in the presence of N,N,N’,N’-tetramethylchloroformamidinium hexafluorophosphate (TCFH)/N-methylimidazole (NMI) as applied to 1-2, 5-8, and 11-12.
Stawikowski et al., Agrigento et al., McMechen et al., Jahani et al., and Jad et al. do not specify coupling reaction time for the reaction.
Stawikowski et al., Agrigento et al., McMechen et al., Jahani et al., and Jad et al.
Beutner et al. teach the combination of TCFH and NMI to activate a carboxylic acid in favor of nucleophile reaction to form ester and amide bond (p4218, col 2, para 2). Beutner et al. suggest NMI catalyzing nucleophile reaction (esterification or amidation) by forming a transient intermediate of acyl imidazotium in favor of nucleophile reaction by a thiol group to form a thioester bond or by amine to form an amide bond (p4219, Scheme 2). Beutner et al. suggest the nucleophile reaction catalyzed by TCFH and NMI can be performed at room temperature (reading on 20-25°C) in less than 24 hours (p4220, col 1, para 1). Beutner et al. suggest acyl imidazotium mediated nucleophile reaction form a thioester bond or an amide bond is a result effective variable (p4819, Fig 1) that can be optimized within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation, reading on claims 9-10. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention would have found it obvious to combine (i) Stawikowski et al., Agrigento et al., McMechen et al., Jahani et al., and Jad et al. with Beutner et al. because (a) Stawikowski et al., Agrigento et al., McMechen et al., Jahani et al., and Jad et al. teach a process of peptide esterification with p-chlorothiophenol in the presence of N,N,N’,N’-tetramethylchloroformamidinium hexafluorophosphate (TCFH)/N-methylimidazole (NMI) and (b) Beutner et al. suggest the nucleophile reaction catalyzed by TCFH and NMI is a result effective variable that can be performed at room temperature (reading on 20-25°C) in less than 24 hours (p4220, col 1, para 1). The combination would have reasonable expectation of success because nucleophile reaction catalyzed by TCFH and NMI can be used for a thiol group to form a thioester bond or for an amine to form an amide bond as suggested by Beutner et al. (p4219, Scheme 2).
Examiner’s Note:
The examiner did not find the use of 10%-90% trifluoroisopropanol in a dichloromethane solution for cleavage for solid-phase peptide synthesis. The closest prior art reference of Milton et al. teach “An improved solid-phase synthesis of a difficult-sequence peptide using hexafiuoro-2-propanol” (Title). Milton et al. teach 2,2,2-trifluoroethanol and 1,1,1,3,3,3-hexafluoro-2-propanol (HFIP) able to be used for solid phase peptide synthesis (p193, col 1-2), but Milton et al. did not teach the use of trifluoroisopropanol as a cleavage agent for solid phase peptide synthesis. Thus, claims 3-4 are allowable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/J.L/Examiner, Art Unit 1658
08-October-2026
/Melissa L Fisher/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1658