DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 36, 38-40, 41, 44-46, 47-48, and 50-54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US 2023/0209465 A1) in view of Wu et al. (US 2022/0209920 A1).
Regarding claims 36 and 41, Zhou discloses:
a user equipment (fig.1b depicts a UE in a wireless communications system) in a communications system (fig.1b depicts a wireless communications system), the UE comprising:
a transceiver (fig.15 depicts a wireless device 1502, which comprises a TX/RX coupled via bus); and
a processor (fig.15 depicts the processor element 1518) coupled with the transceiver (fig.15 depicts the processor coupled with transmitter and receiver combination) and configured to:
receiving a first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration (fig.31 and par.[0295] which describes a first DRX configuration), and a second DRX configuration (fig.31 discloses a second DRX configuration), wherein the first DRX configuration is used for both unicast transmission and point-to-point (PTP) transmission associated with multicast broadcast service (MBS) (par.[0297] which describes a DRX configuration for unicast transmissions, e.g. PTP transmission. The office notes that PTP is a unicast connection (i.e. dedicated link) which may be used MBS/MBMS. That is, a separate dedicated data stream sent to a single recipient for individual data or on-demand data) and the second DRX configuration is used for point-to-multipoint (PTM) transmission associated with MBS (par.[0298] describes a DRX configuration for SC-PTM, which is a multicast transmission scheme associated with MBS. Par.[0273]),
in case that the UE is configured to monitor downlink control information (DCI) (par.[0295] and fig.31 describes PDCCH monitoring utilizing a first DRX configuration and a second DRX configuration. The PDCCH carrying the DCI, par.[0105]) corresponding to a wake-up signal (WUS) (par.[0303] which describes the base station performing a power saving operation, the power saving operation comprising a wake-up signalling (WUS) or other types of WUS signalling. The Power Saving Signaling (i.e. the WUS) is sent in the DCI, which is carried on the PDCCH)
receiving (as discussed above the DRX configurations for unicast and multicast are utilized for monitoring PDCCH. The PDCCH comprise the DCI), the DCI corresponding to the WUS (as discussed above the DCI is detected during PDCCH monitoring, and the DCI comprises the power saving signal which is a WUS),
identity, based on the DCI corresponding to the WUS, whether to monitor the first DCI for the PTP transmission on a first DRX on-duration of the first DRX configuration, wherein the first DCI is addressed to a cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) (par.[0272] describes the DCI being addressed for a first type of transmission using the C-RNTI);
monitor the first DCI on the first DRX on-duration in case of identifying to monitor the first DCI (fig.31 and as discussed above the UE is configured with two DRX configurations for unicast and broadcast, wherein the WUS corresponding to the DCI with the C-RNTI would indicate that the UE should remain awake to receive further communications in a now or future period, par.[0303 – 0304]), and
monitor the second DCI for the PTM transmission on a second DRX on-duration of the second DRX configuration, wherein the second DCI is addressed to a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) (fig.31 depicts a second DRX configuration SC-PTM, par.[0298 – 0299, 0301 – 0302] which teaches the MBS directed to the G-RNTI in the DCI).
While Zhou substantially discloses the above claim, it may not disclose:
identifying not to perform a measurement-related operation associated with a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) in case that the UE is no in a first DRX active time of the first DRX configuration, and the UE is not in a second DRX active time of the second DRX configuration
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Wu teaches:
identifying not to perform a measurement-related operation associated with a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) in case that the UE is no in a first DRX active time of the first DRX configuration, and the UE is not in a second DRX active time of the second DRX configuration(par.[0110] describes the terminal skipping monitoring of the PDCCH, par.[0112-0117] describes the procedures that may be skipped when the UE decides to skip monitoring, such as perform SSB or CSI-RS measurement. That is, the UE is configured with a one or more DRX configurations with a configured on and off duration, and may receive or may not receive a WUS for PDCCH monitoring. When the UE does not receive the WUS, the UE will skip monitoring the PDCCH for the on duration/active time, and also not perform the CSI-RS measurement, fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Zhao for DRX providing a WUS, with the disclosure of Wu, for not performing normal DRX OnDuration operations when the UE is not in the active mode. The motivation/suggestion would have been to reduce the power consumption at the UE.
Regarding claims 38, 47, and 50, Zhao discloses:
wherein the second DCI is monitored on the second DRX on-Duration regardless of the DCI corresponding to the WUS (fig.31 depicts two distinct DRX configuration for unicast (i.e. PTP) and multicast (PTM), thus, the second DCI monitored using the second DRX has no bearing on the first DCI for the DRX because they are separate configurations).
Regarding claims 39 and 44, Zhao discloses:
skipping monitoring the first DCI on the first DRX on-duration in case of identifying not to monitor the first DCI (par.[0303] describes the DCI with the Power Saving (PS) signal, which can comprise a go-to-sleep, or PDCCH skipping indication, par.[0305]. Thus, if the UE receives the PDCCH with the DCI with an RNTI and PS on a DRX configured for either unicast PTP or multicast PTM the UE would perform the action of skipping the PDCCH).
Regarding claims 40 and 45, Zhao discloses:
wherein the first DRX on-duration is identified based on the first DRX configuration and an offset from the DCI corresponding to the WUS (par.[0303] describes the PS signal, and par.[0341] describes the RRC signaling with the PS configuration, and comprises a start offset relative to the OnDuration for a unicast transmission).
Regarding claims 46 and 54, Zhou discloses:
a base station (fig.15 depicts a base station) in a communication system (fig.1 and 15 depict communications systems), the base station comprising:
a transceiver (fig.15 element 1510 and 1512 in communication with one another over a bus); and
a processor (fig.15 element 1508 depicts a processor) coupled with the transceiver (fig.15 depicts the processor coupled with the transceiver) and configured to:
transmitting a first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration (fig.31 and par.[0295] which describes a first DRX configuration), a second DRX configuration (fig.31 discloses a second DRX configuration) and wherein the first DRX configuration is used for both unicast transmission and point-to-point (PTP) transmission associated with multicast broadcast service (MBS) (par.[0297] which describes a DRX configuration for unicast transmissions, e.g. PTP transmission. The office notes that PTP is a unicast connection (i.e. dedicated link) which may be used MBS/MBMS. That is, a separate dedicated data stream sent to a single recipient for individual data or on-demand data) and the second DRX configuration is used for point-to-multipoint (PTM) transmission associated with MBS (par.[0298] describes a DRX configuration for SC-PTM, which is a multicast transmission scheme associated with MBS. Par.[0273]),
in case that the UE is configured to monitor downlink control information (DCI) (par.[0295] and fig.31 describes PDCCH monitoring utilizing a first DRX configuration and a second DRX configuration. The PDCCH carrying the DCI, par.[0105]) corresponding to a wake-up signal (WUS) (par.[0303] which describes the base station performing a power saving operation, the power saving operation comprising a wake-up signalling (WUS) or other types of WUS signalling. The Power Saving Signaling (i.e. the WUS) is sent in the DCI, which is carried on the PDCCH),
identifying whether to transmit first DCI for the PTP transmission on a first DRX on-duration of the first DRX configuration, wherein the first DCI is addressed to the cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) (par.[0272] describes the DCI being addressed for a first type of transmission using the C-RNTI. As discussed above, the UE can receive a PDCCH w/ DCI transmitted from the base station, depending on the type of transmission dedicated or group based);
transmitting the first DCI on the first DRX on-duration in case of identifying to transmit the first DCI (fig.31 and as discussed above the UE is configured with two DRX configurations for unicast and broadcast, wherein the WUS corresponding to the DCI with the C-RNTI would indicate that the UE should remain awake to receive further communications in a now or future period, par.[0303 – 0304]), and
transmitting the second DCI for the PTM transmission on a second DRX on-duration of the second DRX configuration, wherein the second DCI is addressed to a group-radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) (fig.31 depicts a second DRX configuration SC-PTM, par.[0298 – 0299, 0301 – 0302] which teaches the MBS directed to the G-RNTI in the DCI).
While Zhou substantially discloses the above claim, it may not disclose:
identifying not to perform a measurement-related operation associated with a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) in case that the UE is no in a first DRX active time of the first DRX configuration, and the UE is not in a second DRX active time of the second DRX configuration
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Wu teaches:
identifying not to perform a measurement-related operation associated with a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) in case that the UE is no in a first DRX active time of the first DRX configuration, and the UE is not in a second DRX active time of the second DRX configuration(par.[0110] describes the terminal skipping monitoring of the PDCCH, par.[0112-0117] describes the procedures that may be skipped when the UE decides to skip monitoring, such as perform SSB or CSI-RS measurement. That is, the UE is configured with a one or more DRX configurations with a configured on and off duration, and may receive or may not receive a WUS for PDCCH monitoring. When the UE does not receive the WUS, the UE will skip monitoring the PDCCH for the on duration/active time, and also not perform the CSI-RS measurement, fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Zhao for DRX providing a WUS, with the disclosure of Wu, for not performing normal DRX OnDuration operations when the UE is not in the active mode. The motivation/suggestion would have been to reduce the power consumption at the UE.
Regarding claims 48 and 51, Zhou discloses:
skipping transmitting the first DCI on the first DRX on-duration in case of identifying not to transmit the first DCI, wherein the DCI corresponding to the WUS indicates not to monitor the first DCI in case of identifying not to transmit the first DCI (par.[0303] describes the DCI with the Power Saving (PS) signal, which can comprise a go-to-sleep, or PDCCH skipping indication, par.[0305]. Thus, if the UE receives the PDCCH with the DCI with an RNTI and PS on a DRX configured for either unicast PTP or multicast PTM the UE would perform the action of skipping the PDCCH. In either case the base station would indicate a GTS or skipping indication which would indicate to the UE that the base station does not have data or information on the downlink being sent in the onDuration).
Regarding claim 52 and 53, Wu teaches:
Identify to perform the measurement-related operation, in case that the UE is not in the first DRX active time of the first DRX configuration and the UE is in the second DRX active time of the second DRX configuration (par.[0110 – 0111] wherein the UE skips the monitoring of the power saving, it may still perform default DRX behavior such as CSI-RS measurement. Thus, even when not in the active time on the first DRX and in the active of a second DRX, the UE may still perform the measurement. Additionally, if the UE is in active utilizing a second DRX, then performing default DRX behavior such as CSI-RS measurement is default, thus even when the UE is not in DRX utilizing a first configuration, utilizing a second configuration could perform default behavior).
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102 & 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 36, 38-41, 43-48, 50-54 have been considered but are moot because the claims have been cancelled, and the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s arguments, see 112 rejection, filed 05/18/2026, with respect to claims 36, 38-41, 43-48, and 50-54, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 Rejection of the above claims has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim et al. (US 2018/0206289 A1) “Method and Device for Terminal Performing PDCCH Monitoring on SC-PTM” par.[0053 – 0054] describes the multicast and unicast traffic channels for PTM and PTP respectively. Describes reception of DRX for unicast and DRX for multicast par.[0007, 0014]. Also describes the PDCCH being addressed to a G-RNTI or a C-RNTI par.[0015, 0126-0127].
Lin et al. (US 2023/0093727 A1) “User Equipment and Method for Multicast/Broadcast Service”
Liu (US 2023/0254749 A1) “Multicast Service Transmission Method and Apparatus, and Communications Device”
Navratil et al. (WO 2021/043403 A1) “Data Transmission” teaches two different DRX configurations for unicast and multicast pg.13 lines 27-28. Also teaches PTP and PTM transmission for MBS as discussed in the previous rejection of the claims.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMAAL HENSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2411
/JAMAAL HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411