DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 8-9 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tokumoto et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2006/0020211 A1).
Claim 1: Tokumoto teaches –
A cannula insertion system [puncture adapter] [probe] (Figure 13, Element 200 & 228) to insert a cannula into a blood vessel of a human or animal body [an opening edge through which a puncture needle is inserted] (Para 0087), comprising:
Examiner’s Note: Para 0080 discloses that Figures 12-16 are directed to one embodiment and references to any of the Figures of 12-16 are not an improper mixing of embodiments.
an ultrasound probe [probe] (Figure 13, Element228) to provide an ultrasound signal [wave transmitting and receiving surface of the probe 228 in close contact with the living body surface 236] (Para 0086) to determine a location [probe 228 rotates] (Para 0086) of the blood vessel in the human or animal body [the scan plane intersects the axial direction of such a blood vessel 237] (Para 0086); and
Examiner’s Note: The ultrasound probe of Tokumoto is capable of determining the location of the blood vessel when the probe rotates in order to make the location determination.
a cannula insertion device [guide mechanism] (Figure 12 & 15, Element 206) configured to insert the cannula into the blood vessel [an opening edge through which a puncture needle is inserted] (Para 0087) [a guide mechanism for guiding a puncture needle with respect to the target blood vessel in a diagonal direction along the axial direction of the target blood vessel] (Claim 11);
wherein the ultrasound probe [probe] (Figure 13, Element228) comprises a contact surface [Each projecting leg 212A, 212B, 214A, or 214B projects toward the living body side and has a contact surface] (Para 0082 and Figure 12, Element 212A, 212B, 214A & 214B) to contact a skin of the human or animal body [the tip end surface (contact surface) of each projecting leg depresses the living body surface 236] (Para 0086),
the contact surface comprising a sensor measurement area [wave transmitting and receiving surface] (Para 0085 and Figure 13), and
wherein the contact surface comprises a first protrusion (Figure 12, Element 212A), a second protrusion (Figure 12, Element 214A) [Each projecting leg 212A, 212B, 214A, or 214B projects toward the living body side and has a contact surface] (Para 0082 and Figure 12, Element 212A, 212B, 214A & 214B), and a recess [movement region] (Figure 12-13, Element 210) between the first and second protrusion [a pair of leg portions (a pair of side plates) 212 and 214 spaced apart from each other with a rectangular movement region 210 in which the wave transmitting and receiving surface of the probe moves being interposed therebetween] (Para 0082),
wherein the recess is configured to receive the blood vessel when the contact surface is pressed on the skin [it is possible to reduce or solve the problem of deformation or collapse of the blood vessel while close contact between the wave transmitting and receiving surface and the living body surface 236 is secured] (Para 0086)
such that the first and second protrusions prevent lateral shift of the blood vessel [it is possible to reduce or solve the problem of deformation or collapse of the blood vessel while close contact between the wave transmitting and receiving surface and the living body surface 236 is secured] (Para 0086 and See Figures 13-14),
Examiner’s Note: The protrusions of Tokumoto apply pressure to either side of the blood vessel. The Disclosure of the Applicant teaches a similar mechanical effect of applying pressure to either side of the blood vessel to prevent lateral shift of the blood vessel. Thus, Tokumoto is capable of performing the claimed function.
wherein the first and second protrusion are offset from the sensor measurement area (as shown in Figure 13).
Claim 3/1: Tokumoto teaches wherein the sensor measurement area [wave transmitting and receiving surface] (Para 0085 and Figure 13) extends in a sensor measurement area direction [level] (Figure 13, Element 232), wherein the first protrusion (Figure 12, Element 212A) and the second protrusion (Figure 12, Element 214A) are arranged on a line extending parallel to the sensor measurement area direction (See Exhibit 1).
[AltContent: textbox (Exhibit 1 – Annotated Figure 12 of Tokumoto )]
Claim 5/3/1: Tokumoto teaches wherein the line extending parallel to the sensor measurement area direction (See Exhibit 1) is spaced [an arch shape recess 220D is formed between a pair of projecting legs 212B and 214B] (Para 0083) from the sensor measurement area [wave transmitting and receiving surface] (Para 0085 and Figure 13).
Claim 6/1: Tokumoto teaches wherein the cannula insertion device is arranged to insert the cannula into the blood vessel at a cannula insertion location [The guide mechanism 206 guides a puncture needle] (Para 0081 and Figure 12, Element 206), and wherein the first protrusion and the second protrusion are positioned to be pressed on the skin at opposite sides of the cannula insertion location [the blood vessel 237 is located immediately below the intermediate position between two leg portions, and not immediately below any one leg portion] (Para 0086 and as shown in Figure 13 & 14).
Claim 8/1: Tokumoto teaches wherein the ultrasound probe comprises a housing [puncture adapter] (Figure 12, Element 200) and an exchangeable probe cap [base unit] (Figure 12, Element 202) mounted on the housing and forming at least part of the contact surface of the ultrasound probe (as shown in Figure 10; even though Figure 10 is a different embodiment, it is understood that Element 202 is mounted in a similar manner to Element 200).
Claim 9/8/1: Tokumoto teaches wherein the first and second protrusions [a pair of leg portions (a pair of side plates) 212 and 214 spaced apart from each other with a rectangular movement region 210 in which the wave transmitting and receiving surface of the probe moves being interposed therebetween] (Para 0082) are integrated in the probe cap [base unit] (Figure 12, Element 202).
Claim 17: Tokumoto teaches –
An ultrasound probe [probe] (Figure 13, Element228) to provide an ultrasound signal to determine a location [wave transmitting and receiving surface of the probe 228 in close contact with the living body surface 236] (Para 0086) of a blood vessel in a human or animal body [the scan plane intersects the axial direction of such a blood vessel 237] (Para 0086),
Examiner’s Note: The ultrasound probe of Tokumoto is capable of determining the location of the blood vessel when the probe rotates in order to make the location determination.
wherein the ultrasound probe comprises a contact surface [Each projecting leg 212A, 212B, 214A, or 214B projects toward the living body side and has a contact surface] (Para 0082 and Figure 12, Element 212A, 212B, 214A & 214B) to contact a skin of the human or animal body [the tip end surface (contact surface) of each projecting leg depresses the living body surface 236] (Para 0086),
the contact surface comprising a sensor measurement area [wave transmitting and receiving surface] (Para 0085 and Figure 13)
wherein the contact surface comprises a first protrusion (Figure 12, Element 212A), second protrusion (Figure 12, Element 214A) [Each projecting leg 212A, 212B, 214A, or 214B projects toward the living body side and has a contact surface] (Para 0082 and Figure 12, Element 212A, 212B, 214A & 214B), and a recess [movement region] (Figure 12-13, Element 210) between the first and second protrusions [a pair of leg portions (a pair of side plates) 212 and 214 spaced apart from each other with a rectangular movement region 210 in which the wave transmitting and receiving surface of the probe moves being interposed therebetween] (Para 0082),
wherein the recess is configured to receive the blood vessel when the contact surface is pressed on the skin [it is possible to reduce or solve the problem of deformation or collapse of the blood vessel while close contact between the wave transmitting and receiving surface and the living body surface 236 is secured] (Para 0086)
such that the first and second protrusions prevent lateral shift of the blood vessel [it is possible to reduce or solve the problem of deformation or collapse of the blood vessel while close contact between the wave transmitting and receiving surface and the living body surface 236 is secured] (Para 0086 and See Figures 13-14),
Examiner’s Note: The protrusions of Tokumoto apply pressure to either side of the blood vessel. The Disclosure of the Applicant teaches a similar mechanical effect of applying pressure to either side of the blood vessel to prevent lateral shift of the blood vessel. Thus, Tokumoto is capable of performing the claimed function.
wherein the first and second protrusions are offset from the sensor measurement area (as shown in Figure 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokumoto et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2006/0020211 A1), and further in view of Schwach et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2008/0195043 A1).
Claim 7/1: Tokumoto teaches wherein the cannula insertion system further comprises:
a cannula insertion device positioning system to support and position the cannula insertion device [The guide mechanism 206 guides a puncture needle] (Para 0081 and Figure 12, Element 206) [base unit including a guide mechanism for guiding a puncture needle and a moving mechanism for movably supporting the holder to move a wave transmitting and receiving region of the ultrasonic wave relative to a puncture route of the puncture needle] (Para 0008);
an ultrasound probe positioning system to support and position the ultrasound probe [preferable close contact can be maintained even when the probe 228 rotates] (Para 0086) [base unit including a guide mechanism for guiding a puncture needle and a moving mechanism for movably supporting the holder to move a wave transmitting and receiving region of the ultrasonic wave relative to a puncture route of the puncture needle] (Para 0008); and
a control device [the moving mechanism may be configured to be driven automatically] (Para 0012) arranged to control the ultrasound probe positioning system such that during insertion of the cannula into the blood vessel [the moving mechanism moves the holder such that a beam scan plane which is the wave transmitting and receiving region intersects the puncture route and an intersection between the puncture route and the beam scan plane moves along the puncture route] (Para 0013),
the ultrasound probe positioning system positions the first protrusion and the second protrusion on the skin at opposite sides of the cannula insertion location [the blood vessel 237 is located immediately below the intermediate position between two leg portions, and not immediately below any one leg portion] (Para 0086 and as shown in Figure 13 & 14) [the moving mechanism may be configured to be driven automatically] (Para 0012).
Tokumoto fails to teach a control device arranged to control the cannula insertion device positioning system. However, Schwach teaches –
a control device [control unit] (Figure 1, Element 112) arranged to control [the control unit 112 generates corresponding driving signals to the cannula control 114, which in turn is adapted to move the cannula mount 116 into a corresponding position] (Para 0051) the cannula insertion device positioning system [cannula control] (Figure 1, Element 114)
the cannula insertion device positioning system positions the cannula insertion device to insert the cannula into the blood vessel at a cannula insertion location [the control unit 112 generates corresponding driving signals to the cannula control 114, which in turn is adapted to move the cannula mount 116 into a corresponding position] (Para 0051) [cannula 117 advances towards the blood vessel 102] (Para 0052) in order to have a puncture system that is more reliable, less painful, and does not require a skilled handling of the user (Para 0016)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of Tokumoto to include the cannula controller as taught by Schwach in order to have a puncture system that is more reliable, less painful, and does not require a skilled handling of the user (Para 0016).
Claim(s) 8, 11 & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokumoto et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2006/0020211 A1), and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2014/0340685 A1).
Claim 8/1: Tokumoto teaches wherein the ultrasound probe comprises a housing [puncture adapter] (Figure 12, Element 200) [base unit] (Figure 12, Element 202). In an alternative interpretation of the claim limitations, Tokumoto fails to teach an
exchangeable probe cap. However, Kim teaches wherein the ultrasound probe comprises a housing [bracket] (Figure 6b, Element 110) and an exchangeable probe cap [inner cover] (Figure 6b, Element 140) mounted on the housing (as shown in Figure 6b) and forming at least part of the contact surface of the ultrasound probe (as shown in Figure 6b) in order to thoroughly manage and control the cleanliness of diagnostic equipment in order to avoid cross-contamination (Para 0095)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasound probe of Tokumoto to mount the exchangeable probe cap of Kim in order to thoroughly manage and control the cleanliness of diagnostic equipment in order to avoid cross-contamination (Para 0095).
Claim 11/8/1: Tokumoto fails to teach, in an alternative interpretation, a probe cap. However, Kim teaches wherein the probe cap completely forms the contact surface of the ultrasound probe (as shown in Figure 6b) in order to thoroughly manage and control the cleanliness of diagnostic equipment in order to avoid cross-contamination (Para 0095)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasound probe of Tokumoto to mount the exchangeable probe cap of Kim in order to thoroughly manage and control the cleanliness of diagnostic equipment in order to avoid cross-contamination (Para 0095).
Claim 13/8/1: Tokumoto fails to teach, in an alternative interpretation, a probe cap. However, Kim wherein the probe cap is an exchangeable hygienic barrier between the housing of the ultrasound probe and the human or animal body (as shown in Figure 6b) in order to thoroughly manage and control the cleanliness of diagnostic equipment in order to avoid cross-contamination (Para 0095)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasound probe of Tokumoto to mount the exchangeable probe cap of Kim in order to thoroughly manage and control the cleanliness of diagnostic equipment in order to avoid cross-contamination (Para 0095).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokumoto et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2006/0020211 A1), and further in view of Matsumura et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2007/0244390 A1).
Claim 15/1: Tokumoto teaches wherein the cannula insertion system comprises first and second protrusions [Each projecting leg] (Para 0082) are pressed on the skin of the human or animal body [it is possible to reduce or solve the problem of deformation or collapse of the blood vessel while close contact between the wave transmitting and receiving surface and the living body surface 236 is secured] (Para 0086 and See Figures 13-14).
Tokumoto fails to teach force sensors. However, Matsumura teaches wherein the cannula insertion system comprises one or more force sensors [pressure sensor groups 1002 and 1003 are disposed in the vicinity of the ultrasound transmission and reception surface 1001 on the probe 100] (Para 0068) that are arranged to measure a force [measures the pressure applied to the object to be examined 10 through the probe 100 on the basis of signals output from a pressure sensor group 1002 and 1003 of the probe 100] (Para 0074) in order to more accurately diagnosis by objectively and quantitatively understanding the compression state of the body tissue (Abstract)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Tokumoto with the force sensors as taught by Matsumura in order to more accurately diagnosis by objectively and quantitatively understanding the compression state of the body tissue (Abstract)
Claim(s) 16 & 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokumoto et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2006/0020211 A1), and further in view of Neerken et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2008/0275396 A1).
Claim 16: Tokumoto fails to teach a value representative for a non-roundness of the blood vessel. However, Neerken teaches wherein the cannula insertion system [puncture system] (Figure 1, Element 100) is arranged to (See Examiner’s Note) control a pressure with which the ultrasound probe is pressed [lowering of the acquisition module 108 in comparison to the skin surface] (Para 0064) on the human or animal body on the basis of a value representative [decreases its cross section] (Para 0064) for a non-roundness [collapsing or non-collapsing] (Para 0064 and as shown in Figure 4b) of the blood vessel [the acquisition module 108 is pressed against the skin as indicated by the arrow and the lowering of the acquisition module 108 in comparison to the skin surface 303 on the left hand side and on the right hand side of acquisition module 108…vein 300 collapses, i.e. decreases its cross section due to the pressure P. This collapsing or non-collapsing can be detected by appropriate means, for example by an Ultrasound or optical technique] (Para 0064) in order to perform an optimization procedure in order to determine an optimal puncture location of the blood vessel (Para 0033)
Examiner’s Note: The claim limitation includes informing a user on how to control through information to the user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processing of Tokumoto to include the value representative for a non-roundness of the blood vessel as taught by Neerken in order to perform an optimization procedure in order to determine an optimal puncture location of the blood vessel (Para 0033).
Claim 19/16/1: Tokumoto fails to teach controlling the ultrasound probe pressure. However, Neerken teaches wherein the cannula insertion system is configured to control pressure with which the ultrasound probe is pressed on the human or animal body [lowering of the acquisition module 108 in comparison to the skin surface] (Para 0064) such that the blood vessel is deformed to have an oval-shaped cross-section [vein 300 collapses, i.e. decreases its cross section due to the pressure P] (Para 0064 and Figure 4b) in order to perform an optimization procedure in order to determine an optimal puncture location of the blood vessel (Para 0033)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processing of Tokumoto to include the probe control as taught by Neerken in order to perform an optimization procedure in order to determine an optimal puncture location of the blood vessel (Para 0033).
Claim 20/1: Tokumoto fails to teach controlling the ultrasound probe pressure. However, Neerken teaches wherein the cannula insertion device configured to automatically insert the cannula into the blood vessel to withdraw blood [puncture system provides an entirely automated insertion of a needle or cannula into a person's or animal's blood vessel, which is applicable to e.g. blood sampling or blood withdrawal] (Para 0023) in order to perform an optimization procedure in order to determine an optimal puncture location of the blood vessel (Para 0033)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processing of Tokumoto to include the probe control as taught by Neerken in order to perform an optimization procedure in order to determine an optimal puncture location of the blood vessel (Para 0033).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant submitted arguments that Tokumoto fails to disclose or suggestion “wherein the recess is configured to receive the blood vessel when the contact surface is pressed on the skin such that the first and second protrusions prevent lateral shift of the blood vessel”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The protrusions of Tokumoto apply pressure to either side of the blood vessel. The Disclosure of the Applicant teaches a similar mechanical effect of applying pressure to either side of the blood vessel to prevent lateral shift of the blood vessel. The protrusions of Tokumoto are structurally capable of preventing lateral shift of the blood vessel similar to the protrusions described in the Disclosure of the Applicant. Thus, Tokumoto is capable of performing the claimed function. The argument is unconvincing as the Applicant fails to argue the structural differences between the protrusions of the invention of the Applicant and the protrusions of Tokumoto that would result in the protrusions of Tokumoto not being capable of preventing lateral shift.
The rejection is deemed proper and is hereby maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Helene Bor/Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/CHRISTOPHER KOHARSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797